Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

letterbox or rather none

• 16-11-2018 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭

Has anyone removed their letterbox?
    And/or contacted an post, and said they no longer want mail?

Is this allowed?

I want to do it.

slipperyox wrote: »

Is this allowed?

I want to do it.

Did you hand in your resignation from the human race?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Not your best effort. Revisit some other threads and refine them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭slipperyox

I'm not with you srameen...?

That's for certain.

🤡

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Jack Moore

My next door will have no letter slot
    But I will fit a post box and a parcel box
    Works well with a RING unit and a bit of know how

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

IF you have no letter box ,how will you recieve gas bill.,s or esb bills ?
    if you simply block up the letterbox on the inside, they will stop delivering letters,
    letters will be sent back to the sender.
    i don,t think the esb or gas company will be happy about that.
    i know that junk mail , leaflets from the local pizza/ chinese are annoying.
    i don,t think parcels will be delivered unless there is someone at home
    to sign for them, in my experience.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

No letterbox , no summons. Freeman on the land. Fight the powah !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

How will you receive foreign lottery winning cheques then??

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

i think gardai knock on the door if they have a summons,
    if you have to go to court,
    Lack of a letterbox wont make any difference to them.

No reason for them in 2018, other than bad news letters (what % letters are good news?)

bank is online, as are my payslips etc.

I'd rather a visit than a christmas card, and theres always parcel motel for other stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭mrmoonlight

I don't have any mail in my letter box bar junk mail I've gone completely paperless billing for everything that i possibly can Including electric bills e.c.t which can all be viewed via online accounts. Ain't nobody got time to be dealing with actual paper clogging up the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

riclad wrote: »

Don't most people use online billing and direct debits for this now?

Since I get mail almost everyday no I won’t get rid of my letter box, what a ridiculous idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Jessie Belle

I always say if the front door won't open try the back door.
    Disclaimer(not always in the same context)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

"The world " stops at the big gate here. There is a box or bag thereon for mail. Had an argument wth the local An Post office once as they were trying to make me get a "proper" expensive box, but I found the relevant legislation in the Irish statute book that allowed for receptacle provided by recipient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Should it not be "letter hole " ? instead of "letter box".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Insurance companies need to issue certificates. Getting documents such as passports or birth certs. Job offers. Small parcels. Hospital appointments.
    Probably more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Is this allowed?

I want to do it.

You don't want a letterbox or you don't want mail?

A letterbox can easily be solved by having a postbox on the wall.

The other is easily achieved as well. Just means going off to live in the woods

if you simply block up the letterbox on the inside, they will stop delivering letters,

Most utility bills are sent via email. If bills aren’t being paid, utility is cut off.

Graces7 wrote: »
    "The world " stops at the big gate here. There is a box or bag thereon for mail. Had an argument wth the local An Post office once as they were trying to make me get a "proper" expensive box, but I found the relevant legislation in the Irish statute book that allowed for receptacle provided by recipient.

Expensive? The official an post mail box is only 70 euro, is well made and far more secure than just leaving your post in a box. Only you and the post man can open it most parcels fit inside too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Most utility bills are sent via email. If bills aren’t being paid, utility is cut off.

At least the bailiff won't be able to shout through the letterbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

Is this allowed?

I want to do it.

No legal requirement for a letterbox.

But it'll be awfully awkward without one.
    Car tax disks and insurance disks are posted to your address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Early night home from the pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Expensive? The official an post mail box is only 70 euro, is well made and far more secure than just leaving your post in a box. Only you and the post man can open it most parcels fit inside too.

Educated guess,the PO were not happy with his choice of mail holder ,wasn't secure , normally a word with the postie solves the problem
    I've had people use old microwaves on a fence post as a post box In my time as postie.

Loads of other strange/normal to a postie ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Silent Running

When I lived in Spain there was no need for a letterbox on the house. The postman delivered the post to a central point in the community, where everyone had a box only they could open. Is this the way apartment complexes operate here?

I collected business post from a box in the local bank, rented annually from them. Fincas and independent villas all had a box rented in the local post office, where their post was deposited daily.

We have PO boxes here, don't we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

What about the Christmas/birthday cards with money in them?

The 'no junk mail" sign is far more effective than I expected so we get F.A. post. But I'd rather we had a letter box to receive what we do get

Young person: as a pensioner, E70 is far more than I spend a month on food. We are very few on the island and no thieves, thank you :rolleyes:

Educated guess,the PO were not happy with his choice of mail holder ,wasn't secure , normally a word with the postie solves the problem
    I've had people use old microwaves on a fence post as a post box In my time as postie.

I use a cat box.... works great.

It was way before the posh new boxes. Given they knew I am all but housebound, a great fuss re nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

I live somewhere with no postal service. You have to go to a shop to pay broadband and phone. Electricity is payed to the landlord. I've easily saved over a grand on not doing any internet shopping this year.

I wonder would it be a constitutional right to not receive post at your address?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

We have a post box on the wall beside our door. We also have a letterbox under the window on the other side of the door. It's hidden behind the kids scooter and porch gets full of leaves. The postman insists on shoving letters through it and we end up with leaves in the hall. Sometimes they're soggy.

He's having a right laugh at us he is. I even put something on the other side to block it off but he still just shoves them in. Ive told him to knock it off and he says grand. But he still does it.

I'm going to rig a bloody shocker to it and send him flying over the wall the miserable oul prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

The simplest is a large box with a padlock. The postman drops the letter/package inside & snaps the lock shut.

The Anpost ones are too small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

What kind of a size parcel can the an post ones hold?
    We've been thinking about getting one for a while because post man always calls in middle of day when we're at work and the post centre is only open Monday to Friday till 7.

Not sure if the post boxes from an post would fully solve out problem If they can only take small parcels.

Uriel. wrote: »
    We've been thinking about getting one for a while because post man always calls in middle of day when we're at work and the post centre is only open Monday to Friday till 7.

Not sure if the post boxes from an post would fully solve out problem If they can only take small parcels.

One problem could be proof of delivery. I have heard that the electronic signature that the postman gets from the AnPost Box counts as POD.

The Postman won't leave anything, anywhere else, if it needs a signature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭crossmolinalad

Get nothing from anyone , got all of my bills by email ESB and friends would be happy not sending a bill by post to you anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭crossmolinalad

Mr.S wrote: »
    How are you going to receive a new bank card once your current one expires, or if you lose it?

Ulster bank sent a text message and then I have to go to their branche to pick up the new card

I use a cat box.... works great.

Do u live in Galway city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

What about proze bond win notifications ?
    Valentine cards? I get a lot of them

Uriel. wrote: »

Think sky box sized ,twice as deep perhaps, slightly taller, grand for mid sized items, barcode supplied with box acts as proof of delivery for scanned items .. but not registered post,that still needs sig.

How would I receive all the books I buy online, my magazine subscriptions, and the copious other items not sent electronically? In a rural setting the letterbox is an absolute must.

Discodog wrote: »
    One problem could be proof of delivery. I have heard that the electronic signature that the postman gets from the AnPost Box counts as POD.

The Postman won't leave anything, anywhere else, if it needs a signature.

Mine does. As I am disabled and cannot easily get to door or gate I signed a waiver. But then this is a small place and trust applies

My old postman used to sign for everything & put it through an open window. It was so useful. Then he retired & they changed the system so that we don't get the same postman each day. Now I have to go to the post office as they ignore my requests to have a neighbour sign for the mail.

My old postman used to sign for everything & put it through an open window. It was so useful. Then he retired & they changed the system s o that we don't get the same postman each day. Now I have to go to the post office as they ignore my requests to have a neighbour sign for the mail.

Ah that is sad. Have you heard of the Jobsworth award?

I also in my waiver letter gave a second local address of a kind neighbour they could deliver to.

Tiny community has its blessings .

He also takes outgoing mail for me; I leave it out for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭SPDUB

Ah that is sad. Have you heard of the Jobsworth award?

I also in my waiver letter gave a second local address of a kind neighbour they could deliver to.

Tiny community has its blessings .

He also takes outgoing mail for me; I leave it out for him.

Not Jobsworth .

The retired postman could actually have been fired for signing for items himself and putting it through a window .

In training it is some of the things you are told not to do .

People have sued for breaking their "valuable" vase when items fell on them

SPDUB wrote: »
    Not Jobsworth .

The retired postman could actually have been fired for signing for items himself and putting it through a window .

The retired Postman used to get a very nice Christmas present from me. He offered a valuable, common sense service which are words that don't exist anymore.

A Postie dropped a vase on a customer - really ?

SPDUB wrote: »
    Not Jobsworth .

All of your post exemplifies the jobsworth ethos fully ... in small very rural places things are different. and to deny delivery to an often bedbound person who has signed a waiver is ... my postman is also a neighbour..

scuse me please; bed calls loud and ling....or even looooong.... happy evening! over and out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭SPDUB

The retired Postman used to get a very nice Christmas present from me. He offered a valuable, common sense service which are words that don't exist anymore.

A Postie dropped a vase on a customer - really ?

It has only ever been the job of An Post or the P & T to provide a service delivering letters and packets .

if other things happened because of that it was a accident and no member of staff could be disciplined for not doing those things .

If you gave cash at Xmas that's actually bribery of an official in a public office and therefore illegal
    All of your post exemplifies the jobsworth ethos fully ... in small very rural places things are different. and to deny delivery to an often bedbound person who has signed a waiver is ... my postman is also a neighbour..

If you have signed a waiver and the local delivery office is aware of it then yes that should be sufficient for your circumstances to be taken into account .

My point is no postman should be doing such things off their own bat because while you might be reasonable there are people who will complain at the drop at the slightest thing .

To give an example years ago when I was on delivery duty I had a woman complain I was holding back her ESB bill because some of her neighbours got theirs before her .

That was just the way they came into the office and she apparently ignored all the other post I put into her house at least every second day so why would I not bring out the ESB bill if I had it

scuse me please; bed calls loud and ling....or even looooong.... happy evening! over and out....

They introduced a system in rural Wales called Postbus. The postman uses a minibus & takes elderly people on his route. Other areas are getting Postmen to look in on vulnerable people as they deliver mail. It's sad that An Post appear to be going in the opposite direction.