Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People on the dole for years

• 06-11-2018 11:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I have often wondered how do some people do this? I know of a few people who have never worked to any degree, and they get money every week from the state. If this was job seekers allowance, they would be hounded into getting a job, and their money stopped if they didn't. So, is it illness benefit that they are on? And if so, is it the case that they can get a doctor to certify them unfit for work easily in some cases e.g. a phantom bad back, or phantom anxiety? Do you have to get re-certified by a doctor after a certain time period, or does it last for years?
    I do accept that some people are genuinely unwell, but surely there are a few that are acting the mick? I'd be interested in hearing how they manage to pull it off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Obligatory "oh no, not another dole bashing thread" post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Ah but if they share the secret we'd all be doing it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Obligatory "oh no, not another dole bashing thread" post.

Not bashing. Just curiosity. How do they keep getting money, no questions asked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Not bashing. Just curiosity. How do they keep getting money, no questions asked?

The answer to the above is to ask the people you know below.

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I know of a few people who have never worked to any degree, and they get money every week from the state.

That's it glad to have helped you OP.:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 Kolpe

Getting an income for having children needs to be addressed. Crazy the more children you have the richer you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Kolpe wrote: »
    Getting an income for having children needs to be addressed. Crazy the more children you have the richer you get.

The term is "childer"

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

nullzero wrote: »
    The term is "childer"

*uneducated

Given the chance any young lady would prefer to better themselves and gain a purpose in life, as oposed to churning out kids. The problem lies in cultural norms.

Easier Open the legs that open ones mind to education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Ally Dick wrote:

Basically there is a cohort of people who don't want to work and never will. The society we are part of have decided we will not let anyone starve to death. We will support them, now it is fair to question the level of support, but I wouldn't agree with letting them just p*ss off and die. I am gald we have a welfare system and I find it a comfort to know it is there if I find myself in need.
    The level of support needs to be examined and a cap placed on benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Basically there is a cohort of people who don't want to work and never will. The society we are part of have decided we will not let anyone starve to death. We will support them, now it is fair to question the level of support, but I wouldn't agree with letting them just p*ss off and die. I am gald we have a welfare system and I find it a comfort to know it is there if I find myself in need.

What support type keeps paying for years and years. Can't be job seekers allowance. Is it illness benefit?? That's all I am asking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Yes, but people need somewhere for their horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

I recently offered a guy a job offshore Norway, a 2 week on 3 week off rotation, the 5 week shift after tax would put approx €5500 in his pocket... his first question to me was "could I sign on for the 3 weeks off !" this guy was a great welder and worked hard as long as i know him, but after 2 years on the dole he just could not accept going out to work when there was "free money+extras" on offer at home, after listening to his reasons, I wouldn't blame him...he'd lose medical card, rent supplement, and a few other benefits for the sake of a two years work, he reckoned it would take him years to get back to his current standard of living..he don't drink or smoke, married with two rugrats and in a council house. It makes ya wonder, are we fecken eejits to work (self esteem aside)!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

God i love these threads :D

Ally Dick wrote:
    What support type keeps paying for years and years. Can't be job seekers allowance. Is it illness benefit?? That's all I am asking

JSA, eventhough it's obvious they aren't seeking work.

Yes, but people need somewhere for their horses.

You shouldn't be able to afford a horse on the good grace of the taxpayer tbh.

Kolpe wrote: »

I'm off to have another ten children then. I was under the clearly ridiculous notion that child benefit is only €140 per month per child and that each child is costing me slightly over €1,150 per month in créche fees at the moment. I can't believe the wife has been lying to me. Happy days; I can give up work and watch all that child benefit come in to cover the expense of raising a child.

nlrkjos wrote:
    I recently offered a guy a job offshore Norway, a 2 week on 3 week off rotation, the 5 week shift after tax would put approx €5500 in his pocket... his first question to me was "could I sign on for the 3 weeks off !" this guy was a great welder and worked hard as long as i know him, but after 2 years on the dole he just could not accept going out to work when there was "free money+extras" on offer at home, after listening to his reasons, I wouldn't blame him...he'd lose medical card, rent supplement, and a few other benefits for the sake of a two years work, he reckoned it would take him years to get back to his current standard of living..he don't drink or smoke, married with two rugrats and in a council house. It makes ya wonder, are we fecken eejits to work (self esteem aside)!!!!!!

Few issues with your post, your friend would keep the medical card for 3 years after he returns to work. There is no rent supplement when living in a council house as the rent is what's called differential rent, based on percentage of the weekly household income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I'm off to have another ten children then. I was under the clearly ridiculous notion that child benefit is only €140 per month per child and that each child is costing me slightly over €1,150 per month in créche fees at the moment. I can't believe the wife has been lying to me. Happy days; I can give up work and watch all that child benefit come in to cover the expense of raising a child.

140 euro per month BUT they don't need to pay a creche as they are not working so can look after the kids themselves.

Few issues with your post, your friend would keep the medical card for 3 years after he returns to work. There is no rent supplement when living in a council house as the rent is what's called differential rent, based on percentage of the weekly household income.

Think the fact that he'd be working and paying tax outside EU was the reason he pulled out, I don't know about medical cards and rent supplement as I've never had either...just saying that his reasoning was pretty on the ball !

• Kolpe wrote: »

The richer you get. Jaysus you’re some boyo if you thinks that’s how children work. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

JSA, eventhough it's obvious they aren't seeking work.

There is a cohort in every society who are unemployable.

Possibly they should be on disability. Possibly they are low intelligence but not quite bad enough for disability. Possibly they just had really **** parents who taught them nothing sbout being contributing citizens.

Everyone in town knows they aren't fit for work and won't offer them a job. So even if they were looking, no one will employ them.

Welfare staff know this - and they know that if the dole is cut to them, the people will have no option but to turn completely to crime for an income. We don't want that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

pgj2015 wrote: »

140 euro per month BUT they don't need to pay a creche as they are not working so can look after the kids themselves.
    Check and mate.

nlrkjos wrote:
    Think the fact that he'd be working and paying tax outside EU was the reason he pulled out, I don't know about medical cards and rent supplement as I've never had either...just saying that his reasoning was pretty on the ball !

There is no rent supplement in a council house as the rent is already substantially below market rates and he keeps the medical card for 3 years. So in fact his reasoning was not on the ball.

• pgj2015 wrote: »

Yeah cos the only expense to having children is crèche :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Fuaranach mentioned 1,150 euro creche fees per month, I was addressing that in my reply.

• pgj2015 wrote: »
    Fuaranach mentioned 1,150 euro creche fees per month, I was addressing that in my reply.

That’s neither here nor there. The fact of the matter is no one is getting rich of bloody child benefit. It barley covers a baby food for a month never mind the extra expenses, clothes etc. It’s such a stupid thing to say I don’t even know where to begin.

And becoming a subscriber. Look at me with my five pink stars and girlie avatar.

Rule number 1 of boards is attack the post not the poster. On the back of that,

Your post can **** off.

There is no rent supplement in a council house as the rent is already substantially below market rates and he keeps the medical card for 3 years. So in fact his reasoning was not on the ball.

but his rent would be tied to his earnings and would take time to re-adjust back to what he is paying, Norwegian healthcare is pretty good so he reckoned medical card would at the very least be questioned, as NAV and HSE share information.

Rule number 1 of boards is attack the post not the poster. On the back of that,

Your post can **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I'm seriously interested though: if you have to sign on they'll often put you on Jobpath or a similar scheme, they call you in to see if you're looking for work and that might have an effect on your payments.
    For long-term unemployed, would that be different? How are they keeping their payments up?

Not being smart or so, genuinely interested.

nlrkjos wrote:
    but his rent would be tied to his earnings and would take time to re-adjust back to what he is paying, Norwegian healthcare is pretty good so he reckoned medical card would at the very least be questioned, as NAV and HSE share information.

His rent would only be reviewed once in the year period. There is also a mechanism for a tenant to engage in a change of circumstance. As for NAV irrelevant he and his family would avail of the med card for 3 years on a return to work. It's only years work so no medical loss at all.

• LirW wrote: »
    I'm seriously interested though: if you have to sign on they'll often put you on Jobpath or a similar scheme, they call you in to see if you're looking for work and that might have an effect on your payments.
    For long-term unemployed, would that be different? How are they keeping their payments up?

No. It is not different. But those schemes and payment conditions are fairly new, only introduced in the last few years.

Your posts are very educated of the Mickey scheme.

And?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ANDREWMUFC

Cut the dole off if she has more than 3 childer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

There does need to be a cap or cut-off regarding children's payments.

If you aren't working and haven't worked for some time and yet still decide its a good idea to have a fourth child.....you have to be responsible for that decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭bunderoon

The answer to the above is to ask the people you know below.

That's it glad to have helped you OP.:P

Pretty straight forward.
    a) The system isnt working as it should. (Under resourced & not fit for purpose)
    b) The people on the dole for >4years survive on it. They have no plans for the future. They live and think week to week.

I know a few people who havent worked a lot longer than 4 years. They are in a rut. I was on the dole for ~9 months, back about 15 years ago. I know first hand how you can fall into a bad routine.
    For some that are living at home, ~190 euro a week is more than enough as they have no bills, bar giving a few euro to their parents for upkeep.

Depression or a situation very close to depression isnt dealt with alongside social welfare. And I believe that thousands of those in ruts are battling more than just not getting the job/education that they are capable of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

nlrkjos wrote: »
    But surely if he goes well for the two yrs he'll get another offshore contract.

The lack of drive and ambition is so sad. How does he ever expect to get out of his rut if doesn't push himself and take a chance on a great opportunity.

To set an example to the two kids if nobody else.

There really is no helping some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

I've said it a few times on here that I strongly believe we should implement a similar solution to that a couple of EU countries already use.

Drop the weekly welfare payment from the end of the 1st year, on a yearly-basis so that by the Xth straight year of welfare income a person is making 50-70% of what they'd make on year 1 (in the Netherlands for example. it's 65% by the 5th year). Of course there would need to be some exclusions; disabled people, pensioners / too old to work etc. but implement it for those that are fit to work yet unemployed.

Under a system like this they could even make it that for the first 3-6 months of unemployment, the payment is higher that it is now to help those who are legitimately between jobs and the savings on welfare spending / gains from people back in employment would mean the state could pay more to those on pensions who've worked their whole lives, have a disability etc. as well as paying more to the public service employees that deserve it; Nurses, Gardai, Army etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Kirby wrote: »
    There does need to be a cap or cut-off regarding children's payments.

If you aren't working and haven't worked for some time and yet still decide its a good idea to have a fourth child.....you have to be responsible for that decision.

These "children's payments" don't actually fully or even mostly cover the cost of raising children you know. Unless you mean cut off all payments and plunge the entire family into even worse poverty. Yeah that sounds workable. Great solution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

LirW wrote: »

Imagine you are a job-path caseworker, and you have Johnny Lifer in front of you.

He doesn't have much of a criminal record (only one burglary and few car conversions when he was young, nothing for the last 5 years). He's never held a paying job, and neither has anyone else in the family except his older sister and he say's she's a stuck up bitch who never even visits the mammy any more since she got the flash job up in some office in Mallow. Johnny left school after junior cert, his marks in that show that he can read but maybe not very much. You've been told that Intreo referred him to a couple of CE schemes, but they wouldn't take him 'cos of the burglery: the schemes have people working with vulnerable people and a dishonest conviction is just too risky. The only interest that you can get Johnny to talk about is boxing ... and there aren't too many paying jobs which require boxing skills. In fact a couple of employers in town have explicitly told you not to waste their time by sending Johnny to them, they think his attitude is as bad as his BO, and they don't like the family because of what Cousin ConJob did a few years ago.

Now - what exactly are you going to say to Johnny? He turns up and does what you say, but you know no one will even interview him much less employee him.

Imagine you are a job-path caseworker, and you have Johnny Lifer in front of you.

He doesn't have much of a criminal record (only one burglary and few car conversions when he was young, nothing for the last 5 years). He's never held a paying job, and neither has anyone else in the family except his older sister and he say's she's a stuck up bitch who never even visits the mammy any more since she got the flash job up in some office in Mallow. Johnny left school after junior cert, his marks in that show that he can read but maybe not very much. You've been told that Intreo referred him to a couple of CE schemes, but they wouldn't take him 'cos of the burglery: the schemes have people working with vulnerable people and a dishonest conviction is just too risky. The only interest that you can get Johnny to talk about is boxing ... and there aren't too many paying jobs which require boxing skills. In fact a couple of employers in town have explicitly told you not to waste their time by sending Johnny to them, they think his attitude is as bad as his BO, and they don't like the family because of what Cousin ConJob did a few years ago.

Now - what exactly are you going to say to Johnny? He turns up and does what you say, but you know no one will even interview him much less employee him.

For those, you build into the social system a program where guidance and education/training (at various levels) is a must for the person to get a weekly dole payment. This would have to be strict, not nonsense like needing just 51% attendance for a training course to entitle you to full dole.

You need to change their mindset, gradually. The end result would take years, but thats because the state has allowed this crap to continue from one generation to another. It would actually take years to get to the outcome.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

This forum should be renamed DOLE.IE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

This forum should be renamed DOLE.IE

I dunno why we can't just have one dole megathread instead of new thread every second day!!

Apropos of nothing in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Does an applicant with a conviction have to tell their employer they have one? Because many employers just wouldn't check. If it's a finance/legal/tech firm then sure, they'd probably check but a min. wage position or a manual labour position? Most wouldn't.

In that situation all the person needs is some experience & recent references, once they have that they won't struggle much finding a job if the theft was far in the past. They just to work hard, low-paying jobs until they get there in retail, support, construction / labour or remote / online working.

I'm surprised there has been little investment into giving access to online courses / training for scenarios exactly like the one you proposed. There's well-paying, massively in-demand roles in design, programming, marketing etc. that can be learned to a proficient level within only 6-12 weeks of part-time study and in those industries it would be easy to get hired very quickly on a decent wage, whether online / freelancing or employed in an Irish company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

ShaneC93 wrote: »
    Does an applicant with a conviction have to tell their employer they have one? Because many employers just wouldn't check. If it's a finance/legal/tech firm then sure, they'd probably check but a min. wage position or a manual labour position? Most wouldn't.

In that situation all the person needs is some experience & recent references, once they have that they won't struggle much finding a job if the theft was far in the past. They just to work hard, low-paying jobs until they get there in retail, support, construction / labour or remote / online working.

I'm surprised there has been little investment into giving access to online courses / training for scenarios exactly like the one you proposed. There's well-paying, massively in-demand roles in design, programming, marketing etc. that can be learned to a proficient level within only 6-12 weeks of part-time study and in those industries it would be easy to get hired very quickly on a decent wage, whether online / freelancing or employed in an Irish company.

In that example & others who've been long term unemployed it's getting the experience that can be difficult. Who wants to hire someone who's been unemployed for years with little or no qualifications?

You're not becoming proficient in anything in 12 weeks in fairness, unless you're a genius at it. There's people who spend 4 years in college who aren't even proficient in those areas, never mind knowing now it actually works in industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I have worked most(if not all)my life.....
    But even I can see that some people need and deserve social welfare payments, what kind of a country would we live in if these deserving people had no income, no cash, no handouts etc etc... We all know these people, we all know their struggles and issues etc..
    What kind of a person starts a thread like this? A jelly, nosey, sad bordering on depressed person!? That's who starts a thread like this.....
    And if they're not careful and let other people's issues cloud their life.. then maybe they will end up seeking social welfare payments themselves.....

I have worked most(if not all)my life.....
    But even I can see that some people need and deserve social welfare payments, what kind of a country would we live in if these deserving people had no income, no cash, no handouts etc etc... We all know these people, we all know their struggles and issues etc..
    What kind of a person starts a thread like this? A jelly, nosey, sad bordering on depressed person!? That's who starts a thread like this.....
    And if they're not careful and let other people's issues cloud their life.. then maybe they will end up seeking social welfare payments themselves.....

Is it not clear to you that it was started as to question the people who are not the ones that you are referring to.
    You have those who need a hand up (we all agree that is a good thing) and others who are given a hand out over many years without progression (which isnt). The OP is clearly asking about the latter.