Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some Lithuanians in Ireland & criminality

• 06-11-2018 6:21pm

Lithuania is a very small and beautiful country, clean and orderly, a lovely place to visit. The old town of Kaunas has a pair of historic telephone boxes that wouldn't last two minutes in Dublin as they'd be vandalised here. Everything seems to be respected there, and even the sole homeless man I saw was very neat in his habits, carting all his belongings around in a tidy suitcase. When visiting it is hard to imagine how this country in particular, and one of its very small size, can export such a disproportionately large number of people who appear in the annals of criminality in our country, particularly for murders. All countries have their criminality, mafias, gangsters, but why does Lithuania appear to have such a high number? Is it that our own well-known gangsters have made especially strong links with theirs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

No doubt you have the statistics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,286 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

No screening on any migrants to our fine nation, never had it never will.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

kneemos wrote: »
    No doubt you have the statistics?

Google Lithuanian gang ireland and draw a few graphs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

humberklog wrote: »
    Google Lithuanian gang ireland and draw a few graphs.

Lots of talk about "a gang". Don't see anything about Lithuanians being particularly lawless as a race.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Lots of talk about "a gang". Don't see anything about Lithuanians being particularly lawless as a race.

Yeah I don't see much about the Lithuanian race either...my bad.

But boys oh boys there is one large ferocious Lithuanian gang operating in Ireland at the moment. Acid attack on a Garda and stalking his children outside of a school.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Drink. Too much drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The Lithuanian’s I’ve met have been decent and hardworking. Can’t really say I’ve had the same experience with Latvians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

He said they weren’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

2 murders of Lithuanians on rte news today.
    One tall fella in tralee, and one young one missing presumed murdered in dundalk.

A lot of high end bmws, audis n mercedes stolen near me n apparently the majority head that direction.
    Prison here would be childs play compared to over there if they did get nabbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I was in Vilnius this time last year for 2 weeks with work, lovely city, e2.50 a pint, didn’t met any gangsters, I pass by far worse on my walk to Docklands station in the evenings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I was in Vilnius this time last year for 2 weeks with work, lovely city, e2.50 a pint, didn’t meet any gangsters, I pass by far worse on my walk from a To Docklands station in the evenings

The fact that Lithuanians murder “their own” isn’t a great thing. They have highest murder rate in Europe, although it is still a very safe country to visit. One notable thing was that the plane full of Lithuanians landing in Kaunas had no rubbish left behind, instead I witnessed one after the other empty their pockets into the rubbish bin places at entry door to arrivals. The orderliness of the country inspired such confidence that I was even contemplating major surgery there to save cost. Lithuanians respondimmediately and thoroughly to enquiries I made, and when there I couldn’t place in my mind an association of lawlessness with that country. It has one of Europe’s highest sand dunes in a well kept National Park, and has an ancient tradition of “wild” beekeeping, and a very old language.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I know quite a few Lithuanians and like them very much and they are generally well qualified hard working decent people if not over friendly

Ive been to Vilnius and found it the same as the OP , clean organised and fairly safe to walk around in.

but a lot of what they call " marossa " came to Ireland during the boom years , you would call them gobniks or scrotes.

they are usually ethnic Russians uneducated and are in the main the ones who get into trouble here.

There is also the fact that even the most law abiding easterner has a healthy post soviet distrust for state authorities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

they tend to drink heavily at house parties, and don't do their drinking in pubs as much as Irish people do, the result is if a fight breaks out, there are kitchen knives in these houses, that is why they are involved in a lot of stabbing deaths . the same fights can break out in pubs involving Irish people but when they do, there is not any knives to get hold of.

most of them are nice people in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

There is definatly a disproportionate high amount of crime , very serious crime like murder etc comitted by forigners.Take that savage black woman who murdered a man just this week.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    they tend to drink heavily at house parties, and don't do their drinking in pubs as much as Irish people do, the result is if a fight breaks out, there are kitchen knives in these houses, that is why they are involved in a lot of stabbing deaths . the same fights can break out in pubs involving Irish people but when they do, there is not any knives to get hold of.

I remember a relative of mine was living next door to a house occupied by Lithuanians. One night such a party occurred with some disturbance and ambulances arrived at the house to take victims away. Relative thought drugs probably involved here. Thankfully nobody was seriously hurt. A man of the household apologised to my relative for the disturbance and he and others quickly putting right any damage done. They ordinarily kept Garden etc in good order, mowing lawn, trimming hedge. It seems unintended “explosions” take place in these situations. There are serious cases of partner abuse too.
    Interestingly house prices are very much on the rise in Lithuania, with some very nice and tasteful properties on the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

AllForIt wrote: »
    There is definatly a disproportionate high amount of crime , very serious crime like murder etc comitted by forigners.Take that savage black woman who murdered a man just this week.

There's clearly something seriously wrong with that woman , she's to have a psychiatric evaluation in custody.Thats unusual for a woman to behave so viciously .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

pgj2015 wrote: »

Amazing insight.

Have you completed your PhD in sociology yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Piss poor immigration control and the total inability to remove serious offenders from the state is another issue we need to look at ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭mammajamma

Gatling wrote: »
    Piss poor immigration control and the total inability to remove serious offenders from the state is another issue we need to look at ,

The same old question that apparently dare not be asked: what is Ireland, and Irish people, gaining from this immigration?

At best, it seems great for immigrants (not for us), at worst there are literally murderers allowed to Swan on in.

You have immigrant "areas" now. Saw the poor bloke that died sleeping rough on the streets last night on the news. One of the obvious questions is why wasn't this person able to get a place to live when there are entire families being housed from foreign countries.

Then it turns out the poor bloke was polish! What was he doing here?

What kind of shytshow are we pretending to run as a country?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I get the impression this thread (and others along the same lines) is mainly made up of the same person talking to themselves.

And another gem that I know of is the "trick" of getting 2 social houses by pretending to be a separated family. Every case I've come across has involved eastern Europeans so far.

Move over here, wrangle a free house. "separate" for long enough, get another.

Can you think of many other places where you can talk your way into free houses worth hundreds of thousands of euro?

To be clear, if thing were reversed I'm sure irish people would be over in their droves to country "x" to hoover it up too. So the blame lies at our feet for allowing it to happen at all.

Lithuania? Isn't that what Sylveste put on his chest, big chest, row of 40 medals on his chest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Last job worked with a bunch of Lithuanians
    Hard working and sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭mea_k

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    The Lithuanian’s I’ve met have been decent and hardworking. Can’t really say I’ve had the same experience with Latvians.

Do tell. I'm very interested in the subject. Have you any statistic or something? I'm just beeing nosey really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Last job worked with a bunch of Lithuanians
    Hard working and sound.

It also rolls off the tongue in a special Dublinese way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Lit

Dooo

Waay

Nee

An

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

lithunian women are gorgeous (well the ones i've met)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I am lithuanian, live here for 13 years and work my ass off to the point where I barely see my misses and daughter.
    Thing is, that it is true, Lithuanian gangs are brutal, and in the last 10 years a lot of them move to places like London and Dublin. Started with simple "bullying" of fellow countrymen and now they are a very big force. As much as Irish don't like it, trust me, Lithuanians are not fond of it too.
    I dont want to talk much on public forum about this, but let me say this: I would not live in Dublin as Lithuanian and if I would hear someone talking Lithuanian I would hide the fact I am one just to be on a safe side.

As for Lithuanians themselves. Well most people who meet me say, that at this point I am more Irish then Lithuanian. They are right though, I lived here for so long, my misses is Irish, daughter too ( I did not make it, just took over lease and payments :pac: ), I love going to pubs, love Irish stand up comedians and we go to gigs to see them, if not work, I would barely talk Lithuanian language, people who meet me say that I have strong Cork accent, irony is I live in limerick for 3+ years now!
    One thing I can say about Lithuanians is that most of them integrate very damn well in Ireland. Yeah, there are still some who will only be around their own community, but majority of Lithuanians I know pretty much live their lifes as Irish person just with different passport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

How dare you come on here with your first person narrative of fair mindedness.

I am lithuanian, live here for 13 years]

I’m quite sure you and other Lithuanians are p1ssed off hearing brutal attempts by Irish newsreaders of Lithuanian names! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

listermint wrote: »
    It also rolls off the tongue in a special Dublinese way.

Im from Cork you langer boi

There's clearly something seriously wrong with that woman , she's to have a psychiatric evaluation in custody.Thats unusual for a woman to behave so viciously .

Going off topic here, but psychiatric services in this country are sometimes disastrous and serve neither Irish citizens nor immigrants. Remember the guy from Sicily who took a bad turn in his diagnosed schizophrenia and murdered (in a gruesome fashion) a man he was playing cards with in Castkeknock when some minor argument turned into a psychotic episode. It turned out the Sicilian man had been instructed by his Italian psychiatrist never ever to withdraw from his medication as it could be dangerous to do so. He had been told to keep attending a psychiatrist for monitoring of treatment. Alas, his Irish psychiatrist decided it would be a good idea to withdraw from the tablets which had been keeping him stable and functioning. The result was tragedy for both victim and perpetrator. A cohort of our street homeless have various serious psychiatric conditions which have not been sufficiently addressed, both Irish and non-national.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Going off topic here, but psychiatric services in this country are sometimes disastrous and serve neither Irish citizens nor immigrants. Remember the guy from Sicily who took a bad turn in his diagnosed schizophrenia and murdered (in a gruesome fashion) a man he was playing cards with in Castkeknock when some minor argument turned into a psychotic episode. It turned out the Sicilian man had been instructed by his Italian psychiatrist never ever to withdraw from his medication as it could be dangerous to do so. He had been told to keep attending a psychiatrist for monitoring of treatment. Alas, his Irish psychiatrist decided it would be a good idea to withdraw from the tablets which had been keeping him stable and functioning. The result was tragedy for both victim and perpetrator. A cohort of our street homeless have various serious psychiatric conditions which have not been sufficiently addressed, both Irish and non-national.

While the government push a metal health advertising and awareness campaign to be seen as pro active. The reality on the ground is they have no real interest in it.

And to shadowheart, good for you stepping up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

While the government push a metal health advertising and awareness campaign to be seen as pro active. The reality on the ground is they have no real interest in it.

And to shadowheart, good for you stepping up.

Not really stepping up, but maybe clearing it up. Lithuanians themselves are not excited knowing that these "gangsters" came over here. We had enough of it back there and trust me, we know what eastern Europe organized crime gangs are capable off.
    My post was not intended to "get offended" and "triggered" by someone saying all immigrants and Lithuanians are scumbags, derp derp. Its internet, you learn to ignore "special snowflakes" if you know what I mean. For whats its worth, in 13 years here I encountered extremely small amount of Pricks who would treat me differently, because I was not Irish. People here are cool as f***. There is a reason why I decided to live here for the rest of my life. I just need to sort out that irish passport, but there is one problem! I need to get finger out and do it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 320 ✭✭WillieMason

They work too hard meaning everyone else has to work more otherwise a sound bunch

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

mammajamma wrote: »
    The same old question that apparently dare not be asked: what is Ireland, and Irish people, gaining from this immigration?

At best, it seems great for immigrants (not for us), at worst there are literally murderers allowed to Swan on in.

You have immigrant "areas" now. Saw the poor bloke that died sleeping rough on the streets last night on the news. One of the obvious questions is why wasn't this person able to get a place to live when there are entire families being housed from foreign countries.

Then it turns out the poor bloke was polish! What was he doing here?

What kind of shytshow are we pretending to run as a country?

It's funny that that question "dare not be asked". Especially as I see it asked multiple times every day on boards

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,998 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

He said they weren’t.
    Well, then, here's a thought: maybe the criminality of this particular bunch of lads has actually nothing at all to do with their nationality?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Great mechanics though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Only met 2 Lithuanians personally.

One moved over in his early 20s or so. Went to do a course while working in his parents cake shop here.

The other is in my course. Here half his life, aims to be a pilot one day.

Both decent lads. I do read a lot about scumbags though which is our own fault as we don't deport anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

You d'ont have to look too far for scumbags of our own kind - they populate the red line luas every day.

I only know one Lithuanian myself - a bird who works in Tesco. Absolutely cracking she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Gatling wrote: »

Yes.

The following was a local instance that caught my attention lately:

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/345815/man-jailed-for-jumping-on-bonnet-of-patrol-car-in-limerick-city.html

The key line in the article (for which no explanation is given) is:
    He has been in the direct provision system for some time and is the subject of a deportation order, which has never been executed.

ebbsy wrote: »
    You d'ont have to look too far for scumbags of our own kind - they populate the red line luas every day.

You are correct in stating that.

You would not be correct if you were venturing that this was some kind of rationale for not seeking to exclude scumbags that are not ours. That filter is important. It concerns me when evidence is abundant that this filter is not functioning. It raises questions as to why our authorities are laissez-faire on the matter.

Brian? wrote: »
    It's funny that that question "dare not be asked". Especially as I see it asked multiple times every day on boards

If it wasn't obvious enough, I meant elsewhere. Where else has anyone in any form of media, presented this as a question to the public at large?

Your man peter casey mumbled something about travellers and housing and look at the outcry that made. Now just imagine the media reaction if someone asked my question.

The government needs to keep this under wraps as best as they can, because it would utterly up-end there economic pinning on international corporations, and "attracting" people here. I also think that if the question were posed in any meaningful way to irish people, the vast majority would be behind it, simply for that one reason, there is FA benefit from it.

Emperors new clothes, but no person is willing to shout out the obvious.

Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

spurious wrote: »
    I get the impression this thread (and others along the same lines) is mainly made up of the same person talking to themselves.

Yep it is, keep telling yourself that as you stuff your head deeper into the sand.
    Don't mind me , I'm just a bot ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Deport any criminal immigrants forever
    There is no reason for us to allow us to be easy pickings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

topper75 wrote: »
    You are correct in stating that.

You would not be correct if you were venturing that this was some kind of rationale for not seeking to exclude scumbags that are not ours. That filter is important. It concerns me when evidence is abundant that this filter is not functioning. It raises questions as to why our authorities are laissez-faire on the matter.

All the scumbags I have seen on the red line :

- racially abusing people
    - high on drugs etc
    - shouting at women (Monday)
    - bag snatching

….were Irish.

Scum the lot of them. I doubt they even paid for a ticket.

biko wrote: »

Apart from the obvious loss incurred by Irish people from this criminality, these types also do other immigrants a disservice in bringing down the name of all that come to our land.

It is absolutely nobody's interest to retain them here, if you discount a few unscrupulous elements of the legal fraternity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

biko wrote: »

Imagine if every country took that step? Ireland would be swamped with criminal traveller gangs even worse than it is now!