Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

They’re Here

• 31-10-2018 5:30pm

BOO!

I’ve a mountain of sweets purchased and so far I’ve had 2 lots of ankle munches. 8 kids total.

Lights out at 8:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

They never seem to knock on our front door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

trespassers will be shot, survivors will be shot again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I live in the sticks. One car load has arrived. Maybe two more car loads and the local minibus and we're done for the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Another night of hell for the dog.

Poor bugger is being driven demented with bangers and fireworks.

F Halloween, it's been going on for the entire month in our town.

Haha. I didn’t even bother decorating the house with anything but I did have great ideas in my head.

Still only 8 kids. If I had only bought a few sweets I’d be inundated by now!

Haha ing at the image not the dogs. I’ve 2 dogs but no fireworks thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm away this year with work and herself is sick so over with her mother.

I'd usually make a bit of an effort, play spooky music out the bedroom window, have a pumpkin carved , some sort of mask to throw on and a hape of sweets for the kids. Sure it's a bit of craic, we were all young once.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,546 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Lights out at 8:30.

Sounds like you're threatening the kids to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Zero so far. More sweets for me!!!

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

About 30 so far, the effort this year is sub-par, 3/10 on average

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I've lived here 15 years and nary a child has knocked on the door yet. Maybe it's because all the lights are off.

everlast75 wrote: »
    Sounds like you're threatening the kids to me!

Too right I am. Only two hours to go till I scoff all the sweets!

16 kids so far. Way down on last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

4 groups so far but one group had 8 kids in it!
    Bit of a lack of effort in a lot of the outfits though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

I have my gun ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

I'm nearly out of stock already. Started with about 80 bags of crisps, 100 lollies and 70 mini bars. In fairness, it only cost about €30 in Aldi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Good few around my place, actually some really good costumes. Nice to see some of the neighbours who we generally don't see much of.

Bloody fireworks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

dog is getting demented but gives a good scare for kids, 60+ kids so far as usual giving to much candy and running low :o 7 lights out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Two lots of them knocked here, which is two more than last year. Normally the undecorated houses are left alone.
    Lights were off from early just in case anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

Had to bring my dog to the in laws in the countryside due to feckers setting off fireworks. Poor thing is terrified :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

We live in the boonies, nearest neighbours nearly a mile down the road so we drive the kids down.

Bring over party bags for their kids, collect party bags for our kids.

Job done, peace restored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

Saw Focus Ireland knocking on doors on my walk home, cheeky bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Monocle nearly fell into my snifter, one of the housemaids has just told me Jeeves has the west gate booby trapped with all the others closed.....

I'm in danger of missing all the fun, and no-one to bring the blinking car around to get me to the west gate...

What a hideous night this is shaping up to be, what....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

22 so far in just over an hour. I've never had more than 20 in a whole night before so I had 20 bags made up. I've had to dip into my own stash now.

Pelvis wrote: »
    Saw Focus Ireland knocking on doors on my walk home, cheeky bastards.

Would not be happy with that and I can't see it's earning them much good will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

I always have stuff for the kids, mainly because when we were kids people were nasty mean old bastards who gave us little I'd anything. They're only kids after all. Best trick we got was a rotten spud wrapped in tin foil

screamer wrote: »
    Best truck we got was a rotten spud wrapped in tin foil

Toffee onions is the way to go I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Four kids in a group so far including a little scumbag who sliced my cat's tail last year. That's the first callers we've had here in the past 5 years. I would consider it as a likely prelude to more antisocial behaviour since we've had no interaction with the little psycho in the past ten months so the fact he had the cheek to call doesn't bode well. Fireworks are bad but not the worst ever so far. Bonfire surrounded by yobs as expected. Hopefully there'll be no murders this year.

Hopefully there'll be no murders this year.

As opposed to other years like?

Strangely no bonfire yet - shame as I was hoping to get rid of a load of rubbish from the garden.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Our council put trees down where the bonfire has been the last few years, pretty close to houses. Hasn't stopped them this year. The trees are going to go up in flames.

I have my gun ready.

I think Arlessienne is looking to borrow it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭no.8

Strangely no bonfire yet - shame as I was hoping to get rid of a load of rubbish from the garden.

Duuuuurtbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

wexie wrote: »

As opposed to other years like?

Ah sure it's two years now since we had a bonfire murder. Nothing to worry about!

i dont mind kids under 10 with parents, as someone said little joy to small ones, but fck older kids really, neighbors doing great job standing outside giving out candy so get a lot of traffic diverted seems almost over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Our council put trees down where the bonfire has been the last few years, pretty close to houses. Hasn't stopped them this year. The trees are going to go up in flames.

That’s rotten. :(

I'd love to have been part of that discussion....
    Heoor, we've got to do something about these bonfires.....

Oh oh, I know I know!!! let's put down more flammable stuff, that'll definitely stop them

oh....you mean planted trees?

nvm :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Avoiding the house until 7 or so. Forgot to buy sweets last year and the little treasures near bankrupted me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

What's this got to do with American culture wars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Another night of hell for the dog.

Poor bugger is being driven demented with bangers and fireworks.

F Halloween, it's been going on for the entire month in our town.

There seems to be a lot more fireworks than usual in south Dub this year. It's nothing like you get anywhere along the border but a noticeable increase over the last couple of weeks.

Been an odd one here - not so much in the run up but loads today (more than usual).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

scamalert wrote: »
    i dont mind kids under 10 with parents, as someone said little joy to small ones, but fck older kids really, neighbors doing great job standing outside giving out candy so get a lot of traffic diverted seems almost over.

Ah give em a break there'll be teenagers out doing a lot worse than' trick or treating' tonight.

Much quieter here than usual...and I've started dipping into the sweet bowls :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

First Halloween in a new area and we’ve grossly underestimated the number of kids around here. We were wiped out of sweets by 18:15. Been sitting in the dark ignoring the door bell for quite a while now, thankfully I’ve this tub of Haribo to get me through it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Damiencm

hairyslug wrote:
    About 30 so far, the effort this year is sub-par, 3/10 on average

Same as that. Several without even a cheap mask, plenty of teenagers too. But what do you do? Refuse and take your chances that your car/house doesn't suffer any consequences..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

costumes been poor so far. one lad was dressed as donald trump in a suit, wig and orange face paint. threw him a fiver. rest an auld shi tty mask or fairy costumes only get one small bar. gotta earn those treats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭KaneToad

About 10 groups so far. Poor standard of costumes but nice, pleasant children. Lights will be turned off at 7:30. Hope it pisses rain on all the teenagers later ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

wexie wrote: »
    Toffee onions is the way to go I think

Amateur. Boiled brussel sprouts dipped in chocolate and covered in hazel nut bits :)

Am hunkered down with the lights on low, Booh Humbug, nobody better come near me.

I think that’s it. No childer for the last 15 mins.

I’d say there’s been about 30 tonight. Was double that if not more last year.

agree since its working day so 5-6 once back home to get kids out hour and a half enough to raid 50-70 houses for little ones. none since 7, hopefully keeps that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

I had at least a hundred. Not a bit left for myself to pig out on.