Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another ridiculous injury claim

• 30-10-2018 3:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/injured-toddler-settles-10k-action-after-ambulance-rolled-backwards-into-tree-37474629.html

€10k for child who suffered no injuries but was nervous of ambulance sirens following an incident where the ambulance in which she was being treated in (and no doubt was lying down on the gurney/bed) rolled back and bumped into a tree.

If the child had been injured then fair enough but to claim the child now becomes nervous if she hears an ambulance siren is downright ridiculous. Will the parents also now sue the gardai and fire service for frightening their child with their sirens???

The judge yet again displays their complete detachment from reality. First of all the ambulance was stopped while they awaited a doctor (to obviously attend to the sick child) Secondly, as it was stopped the siren would not have been going and lastly, if the child was so ill that they needed to stop in order for a doctor to attend to the child then I think it would be safe to say that the 2yr old child didn't even realise the ambulance had rolled back and bumped into a tree.

Hopefully the €10k will be put into trust for the child when they reach the age of 18yrs old so that the childs greedy and deceitful parents don't benefit from it any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

be grateful it wasn't €10 million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I can hardly read stories like this anymore. Too depressing.
    There is actually no end to this immorality. Too many vested interests.
    Another day in the arena here for me. Must just keep my head down and pay my dues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Can I have €50k for how much suffering and distress reading about these ridiculous payouts have caused me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

ELM327 wrote: »
    Can I have €50k for how much suffering and distress reading about these ridiculous payouts have caused me?

We'll make it 100k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Its going to be used for thermal insulation to stop the child from melting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

ELM327 wrote: »

Now I’m nervous because I feel that it’s something I should be worried about.

I’ll settle for €25k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭PLOPS

One time i got a lump of glass in my eye as a waitress had dropped a tray of drinks and a shard went into my eye. Had to go straight to the eye and ear, my eye has been sliced to the side of my pupil. My whole eye filled with blood. No lasting damage though. Went to a solicitor and they recommended that i don't bring a case. Since then, every time i hear a case with a big payout for a stupid reason i wonder why i was advised to not proceed with a case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

This BS boils my p!ss.

Why is the first thing that comes into the parents heads "lets claim". Absolute joke. And the judge, should have fúcked this out the window.

Sh!t happens, people make mistakes. How can a 16 month old be nervous from such an incident? My 6 year doesn't like to sleep with the light off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

So it rolled back into a tree? That 10 grand is to cover whoever left the handbrake off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

It should come out of the drivers wages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Geez, if the bank incident had happened to the Rubberbandits today, they'd make a fortune!

On a serious note, who could be complained to about these rulings and payouts? Saw a kid cycling full pelt behind a Luas the other day and my first thought was wondering how much they'd get if it braked and they went into the back of it...

There are clearly cases where payment is justified, but some of these are crazy.

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Dalomanakora

PLOPS wrote: »
    One time i got a lump of glass in my eye as a waitress had dropped a tray of drinks and a shard went into my eye. Had to go straight to the eye and ear, my eye has been sliced to the side of my pupil. My whole eye filled with blood. No lasting damage though. Went to a solicitor and they recommended that i don't bring a case. Since then, every time i hear a case with a big payout for a stupid reason i wonder why i was advised to not proceed with a case.

I had a legitimate claim against a job a number of years ago - I've been left with lasting damage due to their negligence (I literally asked them to change the dangerous situation one week before my accident and they said no because it was expensive to fix lol).

My solicitor begged me to take it to court and reject their offers. I accepted an offer of a few grand more than my medical bills.

I fecking wish I went to court now. If we're comparing my lasting injury to this child, I'd be a bloody millionaire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Why do judges always get it in the neck on these threads? It wasn't the judge who came up with the €10,000 figure. And why are people so quick to dismiss the injuries that a child received based on a newspaper article?
    If the child had been injured

Apparently psychological injuries are imaginary now. What a shower of ***** AH attracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

She's nervous of ambulance sirens now. Wonder how she feels about trees ???

I'm sorry but the court that entertained this should be ashamed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Yet again this was a settlement, the court didn't make the award.

Too late, the outrage bus has already arrived.

FFS make sure the handbrake is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I just don't understand why judges entertain these cases ?
    Don't they have the power just to throw it out of court ?

I just don't understand why judges entertain these cases ?
    Don't they have the power just to throw it out of court ?

No, it's a settlement. The only function they have is to affirm the settlement if they deem it sufficient. The defendant can be as generousd as they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Whether it's a settlement or a payout decided by the court, we're the ones paying the increased fees as the insurance companies justify their increases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Do out of court settlements not occur anymore. What’s the point in going before a judge if it’s already settled? I thought insurance companies settled out of court to avoid the cost of going to court? Seriously confused?!:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

KevinCavan wrote: »
    Do out of court settlements not occur anymore. What’s the point in going before a judge if it’s already settled? I thought insurance companies settled out of court to avoid the cost of going to court? Seriously confused?!:-)
    I'm probably wrong but I think once it involves a minor a judge has to approve the settlement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

TheChizler wrote: »
    I'm probably wrong but I think once it involves a minor a judge has to approve the settlement.

Oh okay that makes sense. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If they thought they'd win presumably they wouldn't be settling. Solicitors are obviously telling them they've a good chance of losing and be on the hook for multiples of that amount.

If these stupid claims were dismissed out of hand, the settlements wouldn't be happening.

If they thought they'd win presumably they wouldn't be settling. Solicitors are obviously telling them they've a good chance of losing and be on the hook for multiples of that amount.

If these stupid claims were dismissed out of hand, the settlements wouldn't be happening.

How could the defendants win? They were negligent. Not putting on the handbrake when an ambulance is stopped causing it to roll back into a tree is negligent. The only question was how much that negligence going to cost them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Raisins

The irony that insurance companies make this offer and then brief newspapers to write about it so that they can drum up outrage is lost on 99% of people. The truth is the child’s barrister probably told the court this is a great offer we might well lose the case and the judge probably responded and said yeah I agree I have to approve it it’s a brilliant offer. That’s what happens in courts on infant rulings day in day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

FFS, I broke my spine when I was 17 in an RTA (RTC now, by definition). Never claimed a penny, I was just glad to be able to walk again*

* Took several months, and thankfully had an excellent health insurance (family) policy in place, hence no costs.

When I read this sh1t, I almost wish I made a substantial claim.

PS. From my investigations after (I had no intention of claiming, it was basic research. Proof I had no intention was the statue of limitations had been long reached. Knowledge re. statute of limitations was from an interest in legal studies during my teens), this would have been a guaranteed payout as it was classed as a hit-and-run hence would have gone through MIBI. Again, I was just glad to be able to walk.

Raisins wrote: »
    The irony that insurance companies make this offer and then brief newspapers to write about it so that they can drum up outrage is lost on 99% of people. The truth is the child’s barrister probably told the court this is a great offer we might well lose the case and the judge probably responded and said yeah I agree I have to approve it it’s a brilliant offer. That’s what happens in courts on infant rulings day in day out.

How could the child lose the case? the ambulance service were negligent. Or do you not think that not putting on the handbrake and rolling into a tree is negligent?

If she had fell out and broken her face or arm, she'd deserve a payout. The parents are claiming she has a fear now. Complete and utter bull****.

And what qualification have you to be declaring that ?

I had a legitimate claim against a job a number of years ago - I've been left with lasting damage due to their negligence (I literally asked them to change the dangerous situation one week before my accident and they said no because it was expensive to fix lol).

My solicitor begged me to take it to court and reject their offers. I accepted an offer of a few grand more than my medical bills.

I fecking wish I went to court now. If we're comparing my lasting injury to this child, I'd be a bloody millionaire!

I had a legitimate case, but the solicitor basically said unless I have lasting damage i had no case. She was obviously an honest solicitor as another could have told me to claim i had ongoing problems etc. I didn't want to go down the road of pretending I had an issue with my eye, but i did feel the waitress had carried an over loaded tray, and my eye did get glass in it, and it took a month before the blood left it that i deserved some compensation, not 1000's but something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Raisins

Negligence is not the only thing you need to prove to win a case. I don’t think that’s the criticism. The criticism is the level of damages and the discomfort people have with damages for psychological injury. The public just don’t believe the veracity of psychiatric evidence in these types of cases. Whether correct or not it suggests a culture where something happens to an infant that’s the fault of a well funded organization, child has no physical injury, you want a few quid, get your solicitor to organize a psychological assessment, tell them of a loss of sleep, upset etc = automatic 10k and as you said you can’t lose. Insurance companies won’t run infant cases and of they do run costs orders are never made its a fee shot.

I suspect it's more likely the costs would be the issue, even if they won I'm not sure (open to correction) that costs automatically follow. Even if they did follow the chances of actually getting them are probably not great.

Many stupid claims are dismissed out of hand, the Judge also commented in the recent case with Luas surfing that there was a good chance of the case being dismissed - the issue is it's easier for insurance companies to just settle as they know the Courts will just get blamed rather than them. They then have all the justification for increasing premiums to cover it plus a nice juicy chunk of profit all while we fight over it blaming anyone but them. They're almost as good at diverting attention from the real issue as the Goverment is over rental issues.

gctest50 wrote: »

I'm a parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Being afraid of sirens is farsical.

The child, and in particular the parents, need to get over it.

We shouldn’t be entertaining this nonsense at all.

It’s costing each and every one of us. Someone has to fund this nonsense and it’ll always be the customer..

As was mentioned above, if there wasn’t a significant risk of a major payout these settlements wouldn’t ever make it near the table.

Too many vested interests feeding from the trough as always..

I'm sorry plus +1 on a 16 month old having feck all idea what was going on, all they got was a jolt probably no worse than mammy's driving during the school run. The injury is a total crock and the medical profession should be better regulated.

I'm a parent.

Really OMG!!!!!11!!!

sorry i didn't know

Much cheaper knock someone up than go to university i suppose

I must tell the next doctor i see that they were silly spending all that money and those countless hours

all they had to do was go out n knock some slapper up - sorted

I'm sorry plus +1 on a 16 month old having feck all idea what was going on, all they got was a jolt probably no worse than mammy's driving during the school run. The injury is a total crock and the medical profession should be better regulated.

A 16 month wouldn't have a clue what just happened. It rolled into a tree, it didnt roll down the side of a mountain. Its the same with people suing Creches, claiming their child has a 1mm scar on their finger (in the paper last week). My young lad fell in the yard, face first playing an organised game of bull dogs with the teacher. were we happy? No! but we didn't think we could sue the school, kids fall, they get up.

Really OMG!!!!!11!!!

sorry i didn't know

Much cheaper knock someone up than go to university i suppose

I must tell the next doctor i see that they were silly spending all that money and those countless hours

all they had to do was go out n knock some slapper up - sorted

Kids don't remember things from when they are 16 months.

source ?

source ?

I don't remember.

source ?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Childhood_amnesia

Heard a guy on with Sean Moncrieff a few months ago, said its impossible for children to remember before the age of 3-4.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Childhood_amnesia

Heard o guy on with Sean Moncrieff a few months ago, said its impossible for children to remember before the age of 3-4.

Thanks for your valued input

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Yes this really was a case of an ambulance chasing member of the legal profession.

Do you seriously think the kid was owed 10k for what happened ?

Oh wait are you a legal professional ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

About 10 years ago I was in night club when bouncers were trying to chuck out a girl , she turned , grabbed a pint glass and threw it at bouncers , they duck and I get hit in face with pint glass.

I have a small scar just above right eye .

The amount of people who told me to sue the night club , I would get a hell of a lot of money !!!!

I suppose they were right , but hay ....i was ok , no harm done . Scars are sexy anyway .

I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

You did right by your own internal moral compass. I have worked with people that openly discussed defrauding a county council by claiming to have caught their foot on a bollard in the middle of the night. Intentionally done. Payment just short of 40,000.. Christmas sorted.

I swallowed one of these quick boil spuds recently, inside was a metal bristle from the machine used to scrub them, just about the width of the spud, fully embedded. Caught in the roof of my mouth, took it out, checked for damage, polished off the rest of the spuds and went about my business.

I've had a big chunk of rounded glass in a bag of branded muesli, more living creatures in salads than I could shake a stick at and this week a large hard brown lump in a, 'shredded wheat biscuit that you cover in milk'..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

About 10 years ago I was in night club when bouncers were trying to chuck out a girl , she turned , grabbed a pint glass and threw it at bouncers , they duck and I get hit in face with pint glass.

I have a small scar just above right eye.

An easy 10k..

Kudos to you and anyone else on this thread who walked away from a chance to claim.

Greed has to be one of the ugliest of all human traits and we see it at it's worst in these cases..

Pure unadulterated greed.

There are 2 types of people when presented with a chance of "free" money..

Those that take it and those that don't.

I make sure, as much as possible, to only ever keep the latter in my life.

jmayo wrote: »
    Yes this really was a case of an ambulance chasing member of the legal profession.

Do you seriously think the kid was owed 10k for what happened ?

Oh wait are you a legal professional ?

The question i asked in the post you responded to was quite straightforward. Unfortunately you were unable to answer it.

Raisins wrote: »
    Negligence is not the only thing you need to prove to win a case. I don’t think that’s the criticism. The criticism is the level of damages and the discomfort people have with damages for psychological injury. The public just don’t believe the veracity of psychiatric evidence in these types of cases. Whether correct or not it suggests a culture where something happens to an infant that’s the fault of a well funded organization, child has no physical injury, you want a few quid, get your solicitor to organize a psychological assessment, tell them of a loss of sleep, upset etc = automatic 10k and as you said you can’t lose. Insurance companies won’t run infant cases and of they do run costs orders are never made its a fee shot.

how can you disbelieve the evidence you are not privy to? You haven't heard the evidence yet you disbelieve it.