Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hostel hanky panky

• 25-10-2018 10:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26

So I was staying in hostel in Barcelona last week and I ended up hooking up with a beautiful Canadian girl in a dorm of 8 people(humble brag).  She didn't even try and be discreet.  So how do after hours feel about the whole getting it on in an hostel dorm. Is it rude, or is it just accepted as the norm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Cato the Elder

It's a bit rude in fairness.

Furthermore, I consider that Carthage must be destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I stay in hotels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

It's a hostel - no time for etiquette and decorum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Of course its rude to have sex in front of strangers who are trying to sleep, it is common in hostels but doesnt make it any less rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

I stay in hotels

Likewise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭homosapien91

I see you've literally just joined boards, did you set up a profile just to brag about your wild night in a hostel? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRMZEeMRXfBdd5Is7KdWMhXThnaB0MibzpmUB84lTakqUCFvxqi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 diceyriley

I see you've literally just joined boards, did you set up a profile just to brag about your wild night in a hostel? :D
    Of course.  But I am a bit creeped out by you stalking my history

I don't know what carthage is:ermm:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I didn't even realise there were hostels any more. Do they have a post outside to tether your horse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Imagine staying in a hostel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Relikk

diceyriley wrote: »

That's not that hard to believe. Can't say the same about your OP, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

CARTHAGO DELENDA EST.

Relikk wrote: »

That's not that hard to believe. Can't say the same about your OP, though.
    I'm confused on the relevance of a north African place to my post. Enlighten me

We  I wouldn't have believed it would happen to me but I guess the jager bomb can work majic

Did you have to get tested?
    No I don't think I need to.  I had a good smell and she seemed fairly clean down there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭7aubzxk43m2sni

It's not ideal but it happens, doesn't really hurt anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭homosapien91

Of course.  But I am a bit creeped out by you stalking my history

I am not stalking your history, it says under your user name your join date :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

I'm too jealous to care whether it's rude or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,558 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

So I was staying in hostel in Barcelona last week and I ended up hooking up with a beautiful Canadian girl in a dorm of 8 people(humble brag).  She didn't even try and be discreet.  So how do after hours feel about the whole getting it on in an hostel dorm. Is it rude, or is it just accepted as the norm?

it's fairly rank behaviour alright

did you blow your load?

Hostel Bunk beds just don't allow for the full expression of one's sexual repertoire so would avoid unless absolutely necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

It's an arseholey thing to do. I would have told you to stfu or gtfo. You are sharing a room with 7 other people but treating it as a private room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,825 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Ah sure look, these homeless wans do be off their head on smack when they get into the hostels.

Wasn't a Canadian accent you heard, just a combination of your own drunkeness mishearing her slurred junkie speech.

I just hope ya double bagged the little fella first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Hope you dunked it in dettol the following morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

I'm confused on the relevance of a north African place to my post. Enlighten me

We  I wouldn't have believed it would happen to me but I guess the jager bomb can work majic

Poor aul dicey riley she has taken to the sup

It's an arseholey thing to do. I would have told you to stfu or gtfo. You are sharing a room with 7 other people but treating it as a private room.

He then could have turned it into a gang bang situation.

You have to make the most of the hand youre dealt.

I'd say it was a bit dicey alright, like your future here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

An 8 person dorm in a hostel? yuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

It's under such situations that the phrase "Get a Room!" originated.

valoren wrote: »

Or "have a ****"

Haha yeah fair few knob jockeys on here alright, think i'll stick to annoying people down the local instead of ye assholes

valoren wrote: »

Or "have a ****"
    I'd be way more creeped out if someone was having a hand shandy in the room than two people going at it . maybe that's just me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Imaginary wild night .... He's no JohnnyFlash or Pintman Paddy Losty!

What do you think Bertie? Gone before or after 5 o'clock?

I'm betting he won't make it till 5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭henryforde80

Remember the scene in inbetweeners 2 with Jay pulling the plumbs of himself looking at Will and Katie. Be a bit creepy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Back on topic, I remember seeing it sometimes in the US when I'd stay in the odd Hostel, but yeah ... it's true , you are too jealous to be annoyed by it !! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

I was in a hostel years ago and became friends with the other people in the dorm. We went downstairs to the TV room and one guy got up to get something from the room. He said that one of our dorm-mates is having sex. I was the only one who wanted to go there and watch. People are weird.

He said that one of our dorm-mates is having sex. I was the only one who wanted to go there and watch. People are weird.

Hang on now, are you saying they were weird for not wanting to go watch?

Or you're weird for wanting to go watch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

mloc123 wrote: »

The foul stench of unchanged straw on the wooden bunks would probably stay with you for life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Ah what happened to Thou shalt never ever cock block or pussy prevent in the nae of equality.

I wouldn't have been up cheering you on however it wouldn't have bothered me too much either.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭henryforde80

The foul stench of unchanged straw on the wooden bunks would probably stay with you for life

Stayed in six bed hostels with friends with no problems. Just get a decent place.

Would not stay on my own with strangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Stayed in six bed hostels with friends with no problems. Just get a decent place.

Would not stay on my own with strangers.

I stayed with randomers when I was between houses in Dublin one time, had no issues.

First they came for the socialists...

wexie wrote: »

What do you think Bertie? Gone before or after 5 o'clock?

I'm betting he won't make it till 5
    Yeah I clock out at 5 o'clock.  I don't waste my own time on here tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

mloc123 wrote: »

8 bed is standard, stayed in a few 32 bed dorms in Cambodia, $1USD a night, the bedbugs were free though :cool:

Yeah I clock out at 5 o'clock.  I don't waste my own time on here tbh

ah....so you won't be here to entertain us this evening?

that's too bad, was really looking forward to your hilarious stories and sparkling personality.

:(

Back on topic, I remember seeing it sometimes in the US when I'd stay in the odd Hostel, but yeah ... it's true , you are too jealous to be annoyed by it !! :D:D
    Didn't know you had backpacker hostels in the U.S   I must check those out before my J1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

I was staying in a hostel on a lads trip to Barcelona before and a Brazilian couple were going at it hammer and tongs in their bunk without caring a blip for who else was in the room. One of my mates is one of these crusty #wanderlustlife back-packer types and he told me that being comfy having sex in front of other people is one of the central tenets of that lifestyle. Not for me, to be honest.

Haha yeah fair few knob jockeys on here alright, think i'll stick to annoying people down the local instead of ye assholes

Off with you then, delight the punters with a medley of farting noises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

wexie wrote: »
    Hang on now, are you saying they were weird for not wanting to go watch?

Or you're weird for wanting to go watch?

It's an opportunity to watch a live sex show in 3D, Wexie. Of course they're weird for not wanting to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

I stayed in a dorm room once and a couple had sex in one of the other beds. Yuck, feck off, I don't want to be kept awake by the sound of your genital squelch. :(