Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driver left off with drink driving after being unlawfully handcuffed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

I don’t know why the guards even bother anymore with crap like that to deal with. Pathetic decision by the Judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

What a joke...

So now they can't put handcuffs on arrested people unless they have a valid reason?

I thought arresting someone is a pretty valid reason, apparently not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭recyclebin

This kind of thing happens every day of the week. It's not how bad you have been, it's how good your legal team is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

wonski wrote: »
    What a joke...

So now they can't put handcuffs on arrested people unless they have a valid reason?

I thought arresting someone is a pretty valid reason, apparently not.

Arresting someone is a valid reason for putting on handcuffs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Oh FFS!

Thought cuffs were applied precisely for the reasosn of protecting the arresting guard(s). They cant do right for doing wrong it seems now. Four times over the limit, and it gets thrown out for trivia.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Oh FFS!

Thought cuffs were applied precisely for the reasosn of protecting the arresting guard(s). They cant do right for doing wrong it seems now. Four times over the limit, and it gets thrown out for trivia.

If the person is threatening the arresting guard the handcuffs can be put on. That is undoubted. The point is they can't be put on because the guard feels like it. Not every person arrested threatens the guard. A very small minority are difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭McCrack

4ensic15 wrote: »
    If the person is threatening the arresting guard the handcuffs can be put on. That is undoubted. The point is they can't be put on because the guard feels like it. Not every person arrested threatens the guard. A very small minority are difficult.

Yes

There was a supreme court decision on this very point

The arresting guard here fcuked up unfortunately

The District Court is bound by the Superior Courts and had to throw it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

I don’t know why the guards even bother anymore with crap like that to deal with. Pathetic decision by the Judge.

It's the guards fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

AnneFrank wrote: »
    It's the guards fault

It's the supreme court judges fault for setting president or deciding it should be this way. It should be entirely down to the Gard in each case. It's their safety that's involved, not judge sitting safely at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

The rich dont have the laws apply to them. They get a good brief and get off on a technicality

4ensic15 wrote: »

And by the time they find out the arrested person is threatning, the guard(s) may not be able to get the cuffs on.

Now you have an injuried guard or two. If the person doe not seem a threat, then take the cuffs off. Four times over the limit, and he could have done anything, even harmed him self. There is little justice in this country, and has the man learned his lesson, proabably not, and if memory serves me correct, the insurance question is also have you been convicted, not arrested and case thrown out.

:mad:

It's the supreme court judges fault for setting president or deciding it should be this way. It should be entirely down to the Gard in each case. It's their safety that's involved, not judge sitting safely at home.

Actually you're wrong, it's the guards fault for not following procedures, judge had no choice

The barrister used his clever thinking to get his client off on a technicality- the law is an ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Try_harder wrote: »
    The rich dont have the laws apply to them. They get a good brief and get off on a technicality

And the poor just get unlimited suspended sentences.

Whos the rich person in this case?

Pkiernan wrote: »
    And the poor just get unlimited suspended sentences.

Ive seen plenty of people lose their licence - rich guy gets a brief, adjourns til he gets an easy judge them he gets his client off. I see that every week

The Guard made a decision in a second of two, taking into account his, and his colleagues safety, and the duty of care of his detainee. I doubt court precident entered his head.

Again, it's the law. So it was that guards fault. What part do you not understand?

The law is an ass. Its a plaything for clever barristers without any regard for the affect on society.

The barrister used his clever thinking to get his client off on a technicality- the law is an ass.

Again, it's the law. So it was that guards fault. What part do you not understand?

What part of the law is an ass do you not understand? Im aware its legally kosher, but morally and ethically it stinks! Ok Anne!

Not my point. The gard should be free to decide whether handcuffs are needed. Interfereing judges have it this way.

From my reading it's up to the gard to decide, unless a judge , at a later date, decides some scumbag probably wouldn't have attacked the gard. Ill bet you 50 quid the judge wouldnt have been happy being in the back of the car with the guy that day not handcuffed. Suddenly the guy being handcuffed would have been fully warranted.

And precident it seem. Its the justice system thats an ass.

The Guard made a decision in a second of two, taking into account his, and his colleagues safety, and the duty of care of his detainee. I doubt court precident entered his head.

Jesus wept do you understand what the law is ? The guard broke procedure, whinge all you like but it was his fault, hence the judge had no choice.

Gardai are human. Humans are not infallible- sols exploit this to get their clients off. Thats what Ive a problem with. The law is a game for the rich.

Not my point. The gard should be free to decide whether handcuffs are needed. Interfereing judges have it this way.

From my reading it's up to the gard to decide, unless a judge , at a later date, decides some scumbag probably wouldn't have attacked the gard. Ill bet you 50 quid the judge wouldnt have been happy being in the back of the car with the guy that day not handcuffed. Suddenly the guy being handcuffed would have been fully warranted.

Your point is waffle and irrelevant.

Gardai are human. Humans are not infallible- sols exploit this to get their clients off. Thats what Ive a problem with. The law is a game for the rich.

Guards know the rules and procedures

This guard made a mistake and the case got thrown out

Google and read dpp v cullen

Irrelevant waffle. Try harder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Then the Guard should’ve been penalised with something meaningless. The guilty party was still completely wrong and whether handcuffs were used or not had no bearing on this

McCrack wrote: »
    Guards know the rules and procedures

This guard made a mistake and the case got thrown out

Google and read dpp v cullen

Im not arguing the technical correctness of the decision!

Im just arguing the social ethics

Irrelevant waffle. Try harder

Anne climb back in your wardrobe

Sure the law know how to cover their own asses. Judge can look up child porn - get it thrown out on a technicality and then retire.

The law is an ass.

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Then the Guard should’ve been penalised with something meaningless. The guilty party was still completely wrong and whether handcuffs were used or not had no bearing on this

The guard isn't being penalised

The guard presents the case and facts and the court applies the law

In this instance correct procedure wasn't followed and the arrest unlawful and the District Court is bound by the ddp v cullen decision and had to throw it out

This isn't a new BTW, every guard knows this and the vast majority of drink driving arrests will not fall on this point because guards know about it

The guard isn't being penalised

The guard presents the case and facts and the court applies the law

In this instance correct procedure wasn't followed and the arrest unlawful and the District Court is bound by the ddp v cullen decision and had to throw it out

This isn't a new BTW, every guard knows this and the vast majority of drink driving arrests will not fall on this point because guards know about it

No but the brief will find some small error to get a case thrown out. The Irish summons a case in point.

Small errors generally don't get cases dismissed

The slip rule is applied for these small errors

Im aware of the slip rule, my understanding is that refers mostly to issues in court.

No but the brief will find some small error to get a case thrown out. The Irish summons a case in point.

Small errors generally don't get cases dismissed

The slip rule is applied for these small errors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

What can’t the judge be allowed to use common sense though? It’s ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,469 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Why does this result in the case being thrown out?

Its not like the handcuffs changed the facts of the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

The guard didn't make a mistake. His prority is himself and his colleagues safety. He effected the arrest. He accomplished that task. The courts ****ed up their side.
    That same guard will do the exact same thing the next time because his first priority is his safety not the defendants conviction.

cursai wrote: »
    The guard didn't make a mistake. His prority is himself and his colleagues safety. He effected the arrest. He accomplished that task. The courts ****ed up their side.
    That same guard will do the exact same thing the next time because his first priority is his safety not the defendants conviction.

Dpp v cullen

Every guard knows about it

Anne climb back in your wardrobe

Anne Frank was never in a wardrobe, it was an annex,and you just keep digging a bigger hole. You are talking pure rubbish.Reality and your imagined perfect world are two very, very different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

How is a Garda ment to know. The guy is pissed, how are they the Gardai ment to know if this guy is going to start been aggressive mid transport or do something to him in custody. It's for the safety of everyone that your handcuffed, even if your not acting up.

The judge is brushing over the real issue here which is the guy knowing when and drove while 4 times over the limit. The judge could have recommended to the Garda they he may think about his handcuff use and continue on with the case.

Judges are away with the fairies if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,678 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Reading this thread I was reminded of this incident -

http://claredaly.ie/statement-from-clare-daly-td/

What can’t the judge be allowed to use common sense though? It’s ridiculous

Have you ever heard of the law ?

Anne Frank was never in a wardrobe, it was an annex,and you just keep digging a bigger hole. You are talking pure rubbish.Reality and your imagined perfect world are two very, very different things.

Anexing Ms Frank sounds good to me

It is down to the guard in each case. That guard had a blanket policy and did not decide in each individual case.

Anexing Ms Frank sounds good to me

Cringe.

Why do people refer to a Garda as a Guard? Its Garda, Gardai!

The guard stated he had a blanket policy. He made no decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Dpp v cullen

Every guard knows about it

Guard v kick in skull.

Every guard knows about it.

The guards aren't the courts training bags.

The guard wasn't penalised. The guard wasn't on trial!