Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Low Wage Jobs Revealed

• 19-10-2018 5:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

We are being told that we are all back on top and the economy is booming.

But - was out today and seen how Ireland is still the have and have-nots

I know there are signs that things are picking up and the government keep finding money. But the budget was miserable and wages at the low end are still low. Low for the general cost of living.

Was in a fairly well know Tyre Fit company and the guys are great there , it is an experienced job , skilled , your life is in their hands and fairly technical. Some of the guys are mechanics or fitters and are doing report cards, computer work. Got chatting to one of them and asked how wages are picking up ? Told me he doesn't get over a 10er :eek:

I couldn't believe it - you'd get more in Mcdonalds, way more in Aldi.

Was also in Aldi and that in itself is fascinating, you have every mix of people in there - a day out in Aldi is now a luxury for some. It is the only way of getting by for others. I also hit Iceland and was then in a fairly upmarket place in Clontarf.

I know things are on the up - but the bull**** from the government is bull too.
    Being able to buy an ok to cheap piece of plonk in ALDI , should not be considered the great Irish dream - a meal out once a month is middle class and we are refusing 14 billion from apple and Terms and Conditions in jobs are being torn apart day by day.

Heath is a basket case
    Schooling still on an edge
    Housing is crisis and a crash is on the cards

Ireland 2018.

I know childcare pay is ridiculously low - any other jobs that are still bust time levels and too slow to come up.

Name and shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Stan. wrote: »
    You would be better off on the dole than go out working when wages are low.

I know that is said - but if we avoid the dole bashing.

We are in full employment - so lets make us look at people being payed low and avoid the dole bashing in this thread.

For a change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Wouldn't call Tyre fitting a skilled job. Dirty and laborious for a tenner an hour though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

kneemos wrote: »
    Wouldn't call Tyre fitting a skilled job. Dirty and laborious for a tenner an hour though.

You'd be caked in more grease after a shift in McDonalds though.

it is skilled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Allinall

Going around asking people what they earn is wierd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,586 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

it is skilled

It's bottom of the barrell when it comes to mechanics.

The industry is crying out for qualified mechanics, especially in the Dublin area, if that fella was any use he could walk into a garage like mine tomorrow and immediately double his wages.

If he was any use, that is.

We are being told that we are all back on top and the economy is booming.

But - was out today and seen how Ireland is still the have and have-nots

I know there are signs that things are picking up and the government keep finding money. But the budget was miserable and wages at the low end are still low. Low for the general cost of living.

Was in a fairly well know Tyre Fit company and the guys are great there , it is an experienced job , skilled , your life is in their hands and fairly technical. Some of the guys are mechanics or fitters and are doing report cards, computer work. Got chatting to one of them and asked how wages are picking up ? Told me he doesn't get over a 10er :eek:

I couldn't believe it - you'd get more in Mcdonalds, way more in Aldi.

Was also in Aldi and that in itself is fascinating, you have every mix of people in there - a day out in Aldi is now a luxury for some. It is the only way of getting by for others. I also hit Iceland and was then in a fairly upmarket place in Clontarf.

I know things are on the up - but the bull**** from the government is bull too.
    Being able to buy an ok to cheap piece of plonk in ALDI , should not be considered the great Irish dream - a meal out once a month is middle class and we are refusing 14 billion from apple and Terms and Conditions in jobs are being torn apart day by day.

Heath is a basket case
    Schooling still on an edge
    Housing is crisis and a crash is on the cards

Ireland 2018.

I know childcare pay is ridiculously low - any other jobs that are still bust time levels and too slow to come up.

Name and shame

You kind of need tidy that up a bit. Ireland is a wealthy country, could we do better, of course, we could. There are low wage jobs in every economy we have reasonably good social supports and we are a lot better than others in the UK the basic welfare rate is 70 pounds a fortnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

it is skilled

What’s skilled about it? Pretty sure no qualification is required to fit tyres.

hi_im_fil wrote: »
    What’s skilled about it? Pretty sure no qualification is required to fit tyres.

Any eejit could do it in a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭enricoh

U get the wrong fella doing your tyres, brake pads etc and u'll know all about it!
    Not turning this into a "they took our jobs thread" but since the east Europeans came over jobs that used to pay well - mechanic, welder, truck driver have been become near minimum wage jobs as the Polish etc would work for less than paddy.
    Something seriously wrong when driving an artic truck pays less than mc Donald's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

But are you surprised by any of this, There will always be have-nots, that is how society works, We are a hierarchal species and society reflects that. If every one got paid similar money then no one would want to do the crap jobs. The have-nots as you called them OP still make society move forward but I guess if the middle class grew here we would have to import low wage migrant workers from the third world to do the crap work which is good for business men who want to sell their products to a growing middle class that have money to buy their products, I think there is a hint of this with the EU pro emigration stance. Any government in power will try and convince the public they have done a good job with the economy so they can get into power when election day comes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You man isn't going to be able to re-tyre too early at that rate

boom-boom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,612 ✭✭✭✭blade1

You man isn't going to be able to re-tyre too early at that rate

boom-boom

Or afford his own flat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

enricoh wrote: »
    U get the wrong fella doing your tyres, brake pads etc and u'll know all about it!
    Not turning this into a "they took our jobs thread" but since the east Europeans came over jobs that used to pay well - mechanic, welder, truck driver have been become near minimum wage jobs as the Polish etc would work for less than paddy.
    Something seriously wrong when driving an artic truck pays less than mc Donald's!

Mechanics havnt become minimum wage employees. They were always on the lower end of the trade scale for pay but anyone working for a tenner an hour isnt a mechanic. Lads don't need to be trained mechanics for the job.

A lad I worked with in a main dealers a few years back had come from a job as a tyre fitter for a chain. He was a first year apprentice when I knew him. He was a tyre fitter in the previous place and we doing tyres, oil changes and brake pad changes for **** money.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

enricoh wrote: »

You could say the same about McDonalds, "You get the wrong guy frying your burger...."

Tyre fitting is not a skilled job, end of. A mechanic working as a tyre fitter will be paid as a tyre fitter, the same goes for a surgeon.

Any mechanic in this climate that is working for that sort of money can't be a very good mechanic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

I work in a hospital. I'm currently doing the work of 2 people because the hospital I work in are having such problems filling vacancies. Nobody wants to work there because it's so badly run.

I work 8 - 4, 5 days a week and most days I have enough time to take about a 30 minute break. The department I'm in is extremely busy, the phone literally rings non stop from 8 until 4. I sit clinics every day so spend my day either prepping for clinics or sitting the clinics, scheduling appointments, sending out appointment letters and assisting the department with any admin work. This may not seem like hard work and it's not hard but there's just so much of it, it's unbelievably busy.
    I'm run off my feet from 8am until 4pm and could easily work 7am to 5pm and still not get everything done. The work itself is very easy and mundane, however, there's just so much of it.
    As a secretary I get absolutely no support from HR or hospital management. They literally don't care. If you don't like it, leave, that's the attitude.
    I get a lot of abuse from the public, I've been called every name, I've been threatened, I've been cursed at, screamed at etc.

All that for €23,000 a year.

I'm not qualified in anything, never went to college and, even though I have 13 years experience, there's very little work for someone like me because I don't live in Dublin or Cork.

your crazy
    and there is way more to fitting tyres these days

Put any eejit in there for a week you'd have a pile up on the M50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

blade1 wrote: »
    Or afford his own flat!

Depends on inflation of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BoneIdol

No country should be considered wealthy until a living wage is paid to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

All these workers in nursing homes and care at home are on a tenner an hour. Pretty sad if you think about what they have to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭enricoh

I worked as a tyre fitter many moons ago, I wouldn't call it unskilled then and there's a lot more to it nowadays.
    Big alloys with low profile tyres that'd scratch if u looked at them crooked! ,sensors in wheels, run flat tyres and complicated tracking machines.
    There's a lot more to it than stacking shelves and should be paid more imo.

your crazy
    and there is way more to fitting tyres these days

Put any eejit in there for a week you'd have a pile up on the M50

There's enough dickheads crashing on the M50 daily as it is. You should get a 2 year ban if you manage to crash on a motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

All these workers in nursing homes and care at home are on a tenner an hour. Pretty sad if you think about what they have to do.

They don't HAVE to do anything. They chose the job at the pay rate, just like the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

They don't HAVE to do anything. They chose the job at the pay rate, just like the rest of us.

Bollocks, it's not that simple and you damn well know it.

I thought some low wage jobs were going to be revealed here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

BoneIdol wrote: »
    No country should be considered wealthy until a living wage is paid to all.

But then absolutely no country would qualify as "wealthy" and everyone would be ranked as poor.

How would you classify countries by wealth after that? On a scale ranging from ""very poor" for the poorest to "slightly poor" for the richest?

Or would it be a Prince-like situation where we say "the USA, a country formerly known as wealthy."?

bluewolf wrote: »
    I thought some low wage jobs were going to be revealed here

Yes , the higher the profile the better

I know Dunnes have a shocking track record

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Tyre fitters (low-skilled) will be replaced in no time thanks to automation
    https://www.hunter.com/tire-changers/revolution

Many garages are crying out for good multi-skilled mechanics,
    as long as they're time served with qualifications and experience
    they can earn up and over the national average wage.

The biggest and more worrying change in low-skilled jobs, is probably the shift to zero-hours contracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

blade1 wrote: »
    Or afford his own flat!

Depends on inflation of course.

Must be hard balancing things all right.

A quick search reveals healthcare assistants would expect 12-15 quid an hour,staff nurses around 45,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

But somebody has to do it. It's a necessary job for a humane society. And should be decently paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It's not a knock on tyre fitters but it's not a skilled job, anyone can do it with a bit of training. 'Unskilled' doesn't mean it involves zero skill or talent/aptitude, it means it's generally a job anyone can do with relatively minor training.

It also doesn't mean the jobs not challenging/demanding, like the hospital secretary outlined above...but it does mean you can be quickly and easily replaced so the pay remains low. Salaries vary in unskilled roles and some companies handsomely reward service/ability in unskilled roles in recognition of the work put in/loyalty shown/benefit to the company in kind.

I mean Aldi pay €12 an hour to some regular floor staff. That's good money for what it is. Some customer support roles start off at something like €26K + bonuses/healthcare/salary increases....there are attractive unskilled options accessible to everyone that offer advancement opportunities as well, if you look. I was fortunate enough during the worst of the recession (2008-2012) to hang onto a retail job that paid €27k in a floor-staff role. In fact once I progressed to my career job with relevant qualification I initally got paid less than that!

Carers definitely have a bad deal though. A bit like the teachers/nurses and defence forces that might come around to bite them severely in the ass in the not too distant future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

A quick search reveals healthcare assistants would expect 12-15 quid an hour.

Some might get that, but there are a lot of carers on less than €12 an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

RustyNut wrote: »

Get a grip. It’s time to re..tyre these puns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    But somebody has to do it. It's a necessary job for a humane society. And should be decently paid.

While I don't disagree with the principle that these type of jobs should pay enough for a living and certainly be more attractive than the dole, where is the money required to do this going to come from? The "pot" of money their pay comes from is determined by the amount of money people are willing to pay.

Say garage A doubled their prices to pay tyre fitters a higher wage, while garage B kept their prices the same and pay for their fitters stayed at a tenner an hour.

There's a good chance that garage A will lose business to garage B and garage A will have to lay off workers or even close down.

So instead of getting a higher wage as a result of this initiative, the tyre fitters from garage A are now either unemployed, or working for Garage B earning a tenner an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Heath is a basket case
    Surely you mean casket. It's been 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

FFred wrote: »

Get a grip. It’s time to re..tyre these puns.
    Yea I'm starting to see a pattern develop in this tread

While I don't disagree with the principle that these type of jobs should pay enough for a living and certainly be more attractive than the dole, where is the money required to do this going to come from? The "pot" of money their pay comes from is determined by the amount of money people are willing to pay.

Say garage A doubled their prices to pay tyre fitters a higher wage, while garage B kept their prices the same and pay for their fitters stayed at a tenner an hour.

There's a good chance that garage A will lose business to garage B and garage A will have to lay off workers or even close down.

So instead of getting a higher wage as a result of this initiative, the tyre fitters from garage A are now either unemployed, or working for Garage B earning a tenner an hour.

Garage A and garage B should have to pay their staff the same.

The money comes from the consumer. The government should have a constant review of what the living wage should be and amend it appropriately depending on the state of the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

Garage A and garage B should have to pay their staff the same.

The money comes from the consumer. The government should have a constant review of what the living wage should be and amend it appropriately depending on the state of the economy.

So a company should not be allowed to pay above a minimum wage if they wish to do so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

it is skilled

Semi skilled at best.

But then absolutely no country would qualify as "wealthy" and everyone would be ranked as poor.

How would you classify countries by wealth after that? On a scale ranging from ""very poor" for the poorest to "slightly poor" for the richest?

Or would it be a Prince-like situation where we say "the USA, a country formerly known as wealthy."?

The USA isn't wealthy. Never was and the way they run their country never will be.

The Nordic countries are doing their best to implement a system where wages reflect the cost of living. Its terrible for tourism and expats living there but at least they're trying to look after their own.

Yea I'm starting to see a pattern develop in this tread

Lots of beading around the bush alright. Some posters really should keep a low profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Most by the end of the first day.

I think you have to categorize

An sme with a tiny turnover and creating jobs in a small rural area is totally different to a multinational recording massive profits.

All well and good a living wage - but it should be based on ability to pay.

_Brian wrote: »
    Semi skilled at best.

I'm not saying it is surgery or a technician in cern ,

but it involves - taking job cards
    Recording history
    Dealing with the public
    following technical procedures
    Using dangerous tools and equipment
    Heavy lifts
    Physical exertion
    Exposure to chemicals, pathogens, carcinogens.
    Safe disposal of chemicals and waste
    High Energy and pressure tools

And on top of all that - one slip of the hand , you lose a hand / finger

It is not top stuff , but in the skills range where zero is no skill , it is mid range. Not , a week and you are good to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,586 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

A week?

Cop on, a few hours and you are good to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Lots of beading around the bush alright. Some posters really should keep a low profile.

ah come on now lads. the pressure must be getting to ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

The USA isn't wealthy.

The Nordic countries are doing their best to implement a system where wages reflect the cost of living. Its terrible for tourism and expats living there but at least they're trying to look after their own.

Fair play to them. How do these oil rich countries do it. Bloody FG gobermint.

ah come on now lads. the pressure must be getting to ye

Bar the few odd puns, nothing gripping here much at all. It just keeps going around and around and around.

Some fairly slick puns here, and the thread has gone flat, was hoping for high pressured tread , but we are going around the bend

Any other jobs please :D

We are just down to the wire at this stage. Might put a cap on it