Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Never been to a mart or a factory?

• 18-10-2018 11:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

There's a few excellent stockmen in my area. Some would know there way around the marts no bother, both as a buyer and a seller, but would never have been to the factory.

I know another dairy farmer that never sets foot in his local mart and it basically on his doorstep.

Some get agents to bring cattle to factory. Some lads buy their cattle through a dealer.

It got me thinking, how many livestock farmers here that never set foot in a mart?
    Many never set foot in a factory lairage?

Depending on the way you farm, there may never be a need for a farmer to be in one or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Was in a factory once when I was 12 or 13. Only time in a mart was doing the AI course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

When I first started working on a dairy farm in England as a harvest student I remember finding it strange that the farm manager didn't go to the mart to sell the calves. Bull calves (Ho/fr & cont) were loaded onto a lorry and I presume an agent sold them.
    Very quickly realised that farming there wasn't a lifestyle choice and you didn't just head off to the mart for the day to stand around a ring waiting for your turn in an auctioneers box. Gave me a totally different perspective on the business/costing your own time aspect of a farm than growing up with my father.
    I used to love going to the mart with my father, now i see it as a necessity rather than a pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

been all the way through a factory(except the killing box)
    never been in the sellers box of the mart, joys of having an ould lad that likes goin to the mart so i don't have to take days off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

I've been to my nearest mart once, years ago, just for a look.
    Its a 90 mile return journey from where I live and is generally ran by a few tanglers not the employees.
    In the limited capacity in which I farm I generally buy privately and sell locally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I've seen cattle killed for Halal. Their throats cut, no stun gun. Old enough too to remember marts before the whole 30 month thing. Marts then were crazy. Huge numbers of over fit, old cattle sold for poor money late at night. Nobody except a few had slatted sheds , so bringing them home was not an option. Annoys me now when I hear about over 30 month cattle being penalised. It was brought in for that reason.
    Reckon, I've been to about 8 different marts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,209 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mart is about 10 minutes from me so go there a bit. Have been in a few factories over the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I've been through the factory although years ago you had full access from the killing box through to where the graders did their work. In fact there would be a group of farmers standing close to the graders watching how their animals fared. H&S has stopped that. When the new video imagining grading machines were introduced I had a look at how they operated then. Nowdays I just drop them to the lairage.

I seldom go to marts as I prefer to buy direct from farmers as it's mostly calves that we buy and they have less chance of contracting an illness. Also wouldn't have the time to stand in a mart for most of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Would never have been in a factory only for i was working for a lad. Tis strange seeing the eye go back and cone forward again. Cutting the throat is as far as i could go.
    Have been to about 7 different marts in my time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I've seen cattle killed for Halal. Their throats cut, no stun gun. Old enough too to remember marts before the whole 30 month thing. Marts then were crazy. Huge numbers of over fit, old cattle sold for poor money late at night. Nobody except a few had slatted sheds , so bringing them home was not an option. Annoys me now when I hear about over 30 month cattle being penalised. It was brought in for that reason.
    And lots of the sporting handlebar horns :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Think I went through the full line of a factory 20 years ago with my dad. I've been to a few rendering plants where they deal with the meat waste. I used to go to the mart a lot when younger but times change and I'm too busy for it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

I attend marts regurally & I've been to fair few factories,

going to show my age now

I walked cattle about 8 miles to a fair , only sold half of them and bought maiden heifers and walked them all home

I think I was about 11 at the time, & togged out for an U12 hurling match that evening ,was taken off before half time , guy marking me was having a field day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,018 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Some good stories there! Is the 30 months ban in that long?
    I’ve tried to count up I think I’ve been to 7 marts and one factory. I enjoy heading our local one is a mile away so we can land down about 10.30 with bullocks or 11.30 with heifers then be home round 2.00.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭kk.man

Was brought to marts from a young age by my father and uncle. They were great days. The father used to tell stories about fairs and driving cattle on foot at all hours.
    I went to factories as I got to take over and being to every part of them. I learned how they operated and it helps alot when buying stock. Haven't being to one in years. I still love going to the mart when I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Who2

Been to a few factories and don’t really like them. It’s probably odd for a farmer but I wouldn’t be keen on killing animals. ( I’m no vegan) . I love the mart, I even left my wife in the car and told her I’d be back in a few minutes one time when we were on holidays and slipped into the mart in ma’am cross. The banter and Craic is good in them and you get filled in on all the local gossip and lies that’s doing the rounds. In saying that I’ve had a quiet year around the ring and have maybe been 10-15 times this year.

10-15 is a fair bit with a quarter left in the year! Our mart is on fortnightly so maybe 22-26 per year I’d say I’ve hit maybe 20.
    My da was up the country at a local wedding one week and therefore away all day. I went into the mart for an hour betweeen jobs and that evening ones that went up to the wedding around his age were all telling him they saw me there. All likevto see younger fellas interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Who2

squinn2912 wrote: »
    10-15 is a fair bit with a quarter left in the year! Our mart is on fortnightly so maybe 22-26 per year I’d say I’ve hit maybe 20.
    My da was up the country at a local wedding one week and therefore away all day. I went into the mart for an hour betweeen jobs and that evening ones that went up to the wedding around his age were all telling him they saw me there. All likevto see younger fellas interested

Not really Theres 6 Mart’s within a half an hour of me in different directions. A few of those run evening sales and some on saturdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I go to the local mart whenever I've animals to put through but never been near a factory.

Who2 wrote: »
    squinn2912 wrote: »

Not really Theres 6 Mart’s within a half an hour of me in different directions. A few of those run evening sales and some on saturdays.

Ah I thought you meant in the one mart.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I've never been beyond the lairage of a factory, I was meant to go on a tour of a.local plant in the spring but was sick on the day and didn't make it. The opportunity to observe how the slaughter process works would be of interest to me and I will set foot in a plant in the future.

Attending marts has always been a passion of mine since I was a child and I've attended many different marts through out the country. I love the atmosphere and would frequent several sales a week. I should stress that I'm not a dealer although I do work part-time in my local mart.
    Despite working in my local mart I would still attend atleast one other sale per week on average in my spare time. Living in the north west means there is an abundance of marts locally compared to other regions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭390kid

Went to the factory once on a trip from college might go to the marts for a while before we plan to sell. I know the boss here has only been to one twice in my lifetime

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

if you are in the beef game the only place you will make money is in the mart.to make decent money in cattle someone else has to loose either the fella selling them or the fella buying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Have only ever dropped stock off at factory 3 times, mart when I have to but don’t like the place at all.

In a similar conversation with someone this week, we’ve never finished animals here at all, well pigs for the table but that doesn’t count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

The mart is the coldest hoore of a place on earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Only that I did the AI course in Kildare Chilling I wouldn’t have set foot in a factory
    Found it interesting but when I can get local agent to take them for €20 a head why would I waste half a day driving them myself?

I’d say i’d Hit the mart 4 time a a year max. The novelty soon wears off for me

K.G. wrote: »
    if you are in the beef game the only place you will make money is in the mart.to make decent money in cattle someone else has to loose either the fella selling them or the fella buying them.

Sad, but true. The only problem is the ringside is packed with a group of people whose whole livelyhood depends on buying or selling that value. Those tanglers will buy anything they think is cheap. They sell on then at a small profit at either another mart, or take advantage of some other unsuspecting gob****e farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Only that I did the AI course in Kildare Chilling I wouldn’t have set foot in a factory
    Found it interesting but when I can get local agent to take them for €20 a head why would I waste half a day driving them myself?

I’d say i’d Hit the mart 4 time a a year max. The novelty soon wears off for me
    Factory must be a fair drive away. €20 is a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Factory must be a fair drive away. €20 is a lot.

Standard is 18-20 around here. 40 kilometers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Was in a few factories, never down the line, just drop them off and say goodbye was it. Was in plenty marts when I had dry stock, just counted it there now have been to 26 different marts, very seldom be in marts now as too busy and don’t keep beef anymore, sell most calves at home, off few go to Mart and a couple calved heifers in mart too, cull cows go to factory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

simx wrote: »
    Was in a few factories, never down the line, just drop them off and say goodbye was it. Was in plenty marts when I had dry stock, just counted it there now have been to 26 different marts, very seldom be in marts now as too busy and don’t keep beef anymore, sell most calves at home, off few go to Mart and a couple calved heifers in mart too, cull cows go to factory

26 is impressive! My dream holiday!

Pidae.m wrote: »

Do you remember Fitz's Mart in Limerick City?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Pidae.m wrote: »

My idea of hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

I don’t no

I’m less than 30 still :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Centrepassage

Bought a bull in the paddocks in Limerick (Fitzhead). Been to most of the clare marts and killmallock and portumna and loughrea. Even at the reenactment of the fair in Derrybrien about ten years ago. Huge mart in gort last night. Special simental heifer sale on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Bought a bull in the paddocks in Limerick (Fitzhead). Been to most of the clare marts and killmallock and portumna and loughrea. Even at the reenactment of the fair in Derrybrien about ten years ago. Huge mart in gort last night. Special simental heifer sale on.

What was it like du see the sim Weanling heifers selling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Who2 wrote: »
    Been to a few factories and don’t really like them. It’s probably odd for a farmer but I wouldn’t be keen on killing animals. ( I’m no vegan) ..
    Is this a widespread viewpoint among farmers ? I dislike killing animals almost to the point of not keeping them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Is this a widespread viewpoint among farmers ? I dislike killing animals almost to the point of not keeping them .

I really don't like killing em either, sometimes it's unavoidable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Just drop off the sheep at the mart but watch every lamb going up the line when their going to be factory. Think it’s time well spent. You see the carcass and get less cuts because your there watching them grade the lambs. Also handy that you can jump the que in the lairage. Lambs come off the trailer and an hour later I leave with a cheque in my hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

How bout Decourceys Patsy or is that before your time??

High bike wrote: »
    How bout Decourceys Patsy or is that before your time??

Was it known as Fitz's before De Courcy's bought it? The area is known as Fitzhaven now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Have being in a good few marts in Ireland and in the north, Scotland, Wales, England and one big one in France which was a bit of the old way of ringing the bell and the buyers haggling with the farmer and then bidding with a box on a screen,
    Worked in several meat factories with cattle, sheep,pigs and worked in two Marts as a young lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Joe Daly

I had to go into one of the offices in Cillian hill last Thursday you wouldn't even know the mart was going on towards Barracks street kilkenny when they were in there the minute you went in the gate the noise was unbelievable . Some people its a social out let for them going to the mart even when they don't have cattle for sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Centrepassage

Pidae.m wrote:
    What was it like du see the sim Weanling heifers selling

Not a great trade really. Went on too late . Left at 11 and still selling weanlings. In the ring next door most of the good money was for charolais x limousine or vice versa. Red lim cow would appear to be best option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Pod123

Was it known as Fitz's before De Courcy's bought it? The area is known as Fitzhaven now.

If I remember Fitz’s was up where Fitzhaven is now and De courcys was where the new fire station and Leonard’s garage on Musgrave street are. Now we are going back in time !!!!!

W.B Fitt. (T/A the Paddocks) up near Punch's Cross, , drew cattle to it with a Nuffield 10/60
    lights and indicators were unheard of , and brakes were a luxury , up O'Connell St. and sh1t shooting out the side creels , women ducking for cover,
    a pint or two in Fennesy's Pub before home or waiting/hoping for a backload.

DeCourcey's was where the firestation is now , remember leaving it in the dark one December night with just 1 light on the front of the tractor, had a scrap with a CIE bus turning up a junction , Guards came and asked where I was heading , told me I had a long road ahead and I best be on my way. Gave the bus driver a bollicking for not giving me more room. (BTW the G. was a farmer's son & I played rugger with his brother :rolleyes: )

Happy days , never to be repeated .

Remember de courcys well small little gates in it for calves. Do ye remember mattersons and the pigs 🖠squeaking.

orm0nd wrote: »
    W.B Fitt. (T/A the Paddocks) up near Punch's Cross, , drew cattle to it with a Nuffield 10/60
    lights and indicators were unheard of , and brakes were a luxury , up O'Connell St. and sh1t shooting out the side creels , women ducking for cover,
    a pint or two in Fennesy's Pub before home or waiting/hoping for a backload.

DeCourcey's was where the firestation is now , remember leaving it in the dark one December night with just 1 light on the front of the tractor, had a scrap with a CIE bus turning up a junction , Guards came and asked where I was heading , told me I had a long road ahead and I best be on my way. Gave the bus driver a bollicking for not giving me more room. (BTW the G. was a farmer's son & I played rugger with his brother :rolleyes: )

Happy days , never to be repeated .

Good man. I searched on line and couldn't find anything about Limerick City marts. I clearly remember Fitt's. I remember being there with my father selling cattle. They had the old cast iron type penning. Later on then, we bought calves there. After it closed, they had the odd machinery sale there.

I don't remember DeCourceys though. I've heard the older generation talk about walking cattle to 'The Fair Green' to sell on fair day. And maybe having to bring them home again if they didn't sell. Now guys complain about having to stand for a few hours at a mart.

Something on The Paddocks.
    http://www.limerickcity.ie/media/mar061.pdf
    http://www.limerickcity.ie/media/shops%20191.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

Pod123 wrote: »
    If I remember Fitz’s was up where Fitzhaven is now and De courcys was where the new fire station and Leonard’s garage on Musgrave street are. Now we are going back in time !!!!!
    That's the one I prob showed my age by mentioning De Courceys,🀣

Good man. I searched on line and couldn't find anything about Limerick City marts. I clearly remember Fitt's. I remember being there with my father selling cattle. They had the old cast iron type penning. Later on then, we bought calves there. After it closed, they had the odd machinery sale there.

I don't remember DeCourceys though. I've heard the older generation talk about walking cattle to 'The Fair Green' to sell on fair day. And maybe having to bring them home again if they didn't sell. Now guys complain about having to stand for a few hours at a mart.

Something on The Paddocks.
    http://www.limerickcity.ie/media/mar061.pdf
    http://www.limerickcity.ie/media/shops%20191.pdf

My late father's cousin was an auctioneer at Fitt's , I was often accused of getting the "fast tap" on animals I bought. Nothing could be further from truth, same man was 100% and endured to get the last penny for the seller.

I remember De courcys. The “trailers” that came there all tied and held together with PROPER baling twine. Calves back legs tighted across their backs and put into boots of cars.

The Fairgreen now Ger malone had cattle and horse fairs and fossets circus.
    Amazing what you think off and feels like yesterday time goes so fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Reckon, I've been to about 8 different marts.

I went to the local butchers abattoir when doing the green cert and saw the whole process, one of the older fellas in his mid 20's doing the course almost conked out and had to be helped to the door :D