Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ask Brian: My girlfriend's choosing to remain pregnant-can I opt out of being a dad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

He can opt out of raising the child but he has a financial responsibility. The only way for a man to ensure he doesn't father a child is to either abstain from sex or get a vasectomy. You cannot force a woman to have an abortion. That is barbaric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    You cannot force a woman to have an abortion. That is barbaric.

Indeed, but that's not the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Sounds like the child would be better off without this gob****e in his or her life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

He doesn't have to raise the child, but he is financially responsible. No birth control is 100 per cent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,903 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

He can opt out of raising the child but he has a financial responsibility. The only way for a man to ensure he doesn't father a child is to either abstain from sex or get a vasectomy. You cannot force a woman to have an abortion. That is barbaric.
    But you should have the option to have a legal abortion where you sign away any rights and responsibility to the child.
    Only women at this moment in time have the option to end a pregnancy - whereas a man is enforced to be a father without the choice that we voted to give women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

The only way for a man to ensure he doesn't father a child is to either abstain from sex or get a vasectomy.

When did the results come in that condoms don't actually work at preventing pregnancy?

ELM327 wrote:
    But you should have the option to have a legal abortion where you sign away any rights and responsibility to the child.

So he can shirk his financial responsibility to the child? Shift responsibility onto the taxpayer. Makes sense......

Effects wrote: »
    When did the results come in that condoms don't actually work at preventing pregnancy?

They've never been 100% effective. It says so on the box

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    So he can shirk his financial responsibility to the child? Shift responsibility onto the taxpayer. Makes sense......
    No.
    You must be trolling here. Who mentioned the taxpayer?

Since a woman has the option to terminate but a man does not, the man should have the option to terminate his interest in the pregnancy, meaning if the woman wishes to continue, she shall do so alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,486 ✭✭✭Cordell

You had the opportunity to opt it out, but you chose to opt it in, multiple times probably. So now it's a bit late for this particular question.

ELM327 wrote:
    No. You must be trolling here. Who mentioned the taxpayer?

Who do you think picks up the tab if the woman needs support for the child, if as you suggest the father is able to abdicate all responsibility.

Cordell wrote: »
    You had the opportunity to opt it out, but you chose to opt it in, multiple times probably. So now it's a bit late for this particular question.
    Same as the woman, yet she can terminate up to 24 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

They prevent pregnancy 82% of the time. If never wanted kids while still wanting to get his hole he should have got the snip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’d have a special government department just to chase down absent fathers and make them contribute to their child’s up bringing.

Men who dodge responsibility to their children are the lowest form of cowards, no stone should be left unturned in bringing them to their responsibilities, and I expect its cowering under some stone is where they would be found.
    I disagree with the “equality” mentality that suggests men are somehow left out without a legal opt out option.

Who do you think picks up the tab if the woman needs support for the child, if as you suggest the father is able to abdicate all responsibility.
    The same person who picks up the tab anyway.

You seem to miss the key point here, which I shall illustrate for your comprehension. Picture these scenarios and outcomes, on the result of a positive pregnancy test.

1. Woman wants pregnancy, Man wants pregnancy: Result - Child, and the state picks up the tab (children's allowance, education, etc)
    2. Woman doesnt want pregnancy, man doesnt want pregnancy: Result - Termination
    3. Woman doesnt want pregnancy, man wants pregnancy: Result - Termination
    4. Woman wants pregnancy, man doesn't want pregnancy: Result - Child.

As you can see, #3 and #4 are completely controlled by the woman and enforces her choice on the man. Even if she trapped him by puncturing a condom or lying about the pill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Collie D wrote: »
    They've never been 100% effective. It says so on the box

I know of only one guy, personally, who has had a baby while saying he was wearing condoms. He's also a complete liar, day to day. They are effective enough.

ELM327 wrote:
    You seem to miss the key point here, which I shall illustrate for your comprehension. Picture these scenarios and outcomes, on the result of a positive pregnancy test.

Not missing any point. He's an adult who engaged in sex, pregnancy is a consequence of sex when contraception fails. He has a responsibility to the child. He can chose to abstain from sex in the future if parenthood is not for him, but he is responsible for the child she is carrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

ELM327 wrote: »
    1. Woman wants pregnancy, Man wants pregnancy: Result - Child, and the state picks up the tab (children's allowance, education, etc)

Food, clothes, accommodation, education are not paid in full by state (with the exception of those who never work)

This has been a big argument since the abortion referendum question.

Men cannot be forced to be a father. Yes, they are financially responsible, but plenty get away with that too.
    Abortion being legal seems to be used as an excuse for fathers to somehow not be fathers. The thing is, women cannot be forced to be a mother either. In exactly the same way as men, they can walk away if they wish. They can give their child away. So, basically it's the exact same as men.
    Neither can be forced to be a parent.
    Abortion allows for women to end an unwanted pregnancy, forcing women to be pregnant & give birth against their will is barbaric.
    Take the way that a child is brought into the world, out of the argument, men & women have exactly the same responsibility for a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,279 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

There's no where near as many unplanned pregnancies as men are led to believe

Sleeper12 wrote:

Interesting claim to make, based on what though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭liamk

Many lone parents are just that in name in my experience

No contraception is 100% safe. That is the risk you take every time you have sex.

Hitman3000 wrote:
    Interesting claim to make, based on what though?

Women have been using that old chestnut for hundreds of years trying to trap their man

Not missing any point. He's an adult who engaged in sex, pregnancy is a consequence of sex when contraception fails. He has a responsibility to the child. He can chose to abstain from sex in the future if parenthood is not for him, but he is responsible for the child she is carrying.
    But a woman can make the decision post conception where the man can't.
    How can you miss that inequality.

As you can see, #3 and #4 are completely controlled by the woman and enforces her choice on the man. Even if she trapped him by puncturing a condom or lying about the pill.

Of course the man isn’t compelled to have sex with the woman, mam knows risks full well and dives on in anyway of his own free will, he is therefor responsible.

You forgot option #5 - woman wants pregnancy but man doesn't. He emotionally blackmails her into having an abortion. Result - termination.

That happens just as often as women continuing against their partner's wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭Wheety

We didn't vote for forced abortions. It's the woman's body. It's completely up to her.

If you think the man can force an abortion, then in the situation where the man wants the baby and the woman doesn't, you must also believe that a man can force a woman to carry the fetus for full term and hand the baby over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

People like the author of this letter (should they actually exist in reality) should do the following...
    1. Extract a lot of sperm and have it medically stored AND
    2. Get they snip
    OR
    1. Totally abstain from sex

Debating on a position when
    A.) A woman should be forced to have an abortion based on the wishes of the man involved OR
    B.) That a man should be able to abdicate all fiscal responsibility for a child he created because "he doesn't want to".....

is just pretty fcuking stupid really...not much else to say on it....

But a woman can make the decision post conception where the man can't.
    How can you miss that inequality.

That’s the way it is, the man still has his chance not to have a child.

There are “inequalities” if you want to view things from that perspective, is the tax payer expected to pick up the tab because the man can’t breastfeed, what am inequality there !!

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Women have been using that old chestnut for hundreds of years trying to trap their man
    You can't trap a man in this day and age. Getting pregnant doesn't mean a shot gun wedding with no divorce. Men can and do break up with/divorce/abandon their partners. Pregnancy isn't a lifetime trap anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Miose

Sex insurance. Hear me out here. Pay your yearly premium and if you father a child accidentally, the insurance company pays out rather than you.

_Brian wrote: »
    That’s the way it is, the man still has his chance not to have a child.
    And the woman has one more chance.

Here's an interesting article on the subject.
    http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-12-04/financial-abortion-men-opt-out-parenthood/8049576

Sleeper12 wrote:

So it's just your opinion. Grand so.

Miose wrote: »
    Sex insurance. Hear me out here. Pay your yearly premium and if you father a child accidentally, the insurance company pays out rather than you.
    No insurance company would take that risk. It would just encourage reckless behaviour. Don't have a condom? Feck it, I'll take the chance as it won't be my problem.

Paddy Cow wrote:
    You can't trap a man in this day and age. Getting pregnant doesn't mean a shot gun wedding with no divorce. Men can and do break up with/divorce/abandon their partners. Pregnancy isn't a lifetime trap anymore.

Many women think otherwise. In many cases it speeds up the courtship pace if nothing else

And the woman has one more chance.

Here's an interesting article on the subject.
    http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-12-04/financial-abortion-men-opt-out-parenthood/8049576
    If a man is adamant he doesn't want children, why doesn't he have a vasectomy, ensuring 100% he won't put himself in the position of being financially responsible for a child?

Hitman3000 wrote:
    So it's just your opinion. Grand so.

How many lone parents with 3 or 4 or more children claim that they were all unplanned while milking the system? The father never seems to be anywhere to be found

Sleeper12 wrote:
    How many lone parents with 3 or 4 or more children claim that they were all unplanned while milking the system? The father never seems to be anywhere to be found

What has the above got to do with your claim women have been using 'that old chestnut ' to trap men?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,163 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

If the man doesn't want a child and didn't agree to it before sex then he shouldn't be burdened with a financial responsibility be for something he never wanted.
    I'm a father btw and my whole life is about my son just in cas somebody thinks I don't understand.

If the father is nowhere to be found the plan to trap him appears to have backfired a bit, doesn't it?

eagle eye wrote: »
    If the man doesn't want a child and didn't agree to it before sex then he shouldn't be burdened with a financial responsibility be for something he never wanted.
    I'm a father btw and my whole life is about my son just in cas somebody thinks I don't understand.

Yes, he should. I'd imagine most car accidents are unwanted too. Should whoever is at fault be free of financial burden because they didn't want to crash?

Hitman3000 wrote:
    What has the above got to do with your claim women have been using 'that old chestnut ' to trap men?

I'm sorry. I thought I read that you don't believe that some women have claimed unplanned pregnancies when they were planned.

Are you honestly saying that you don't believe that this never happens?

Collie D wrote:
    If the father is nowhere to be found the plan to trap him appears to have backfired a bit, doesn't it?

Nope. You do realise that a huge proportion of lone parents are actually with the father of the children. They claim not to be to get lone parents and to get higher on the housing list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

"We shouldn't have to pay child benefit, women on welfare shouldnt be having sex without contraception if they can't pay for the consequences" A line many consider barbaric / awful etc... I've been called out on it many times before.

yet the double standard appears when the same people say "well if you can't pay for a child a man shouldn't be having sex"

Men should be allowed completely opt out and never have name to paper / no traceability up to 12 weeks if they wish, Its completely unfair to make somebody financially responsible for a possible failed condom / one night stand considering there are now so many options for women who wish to opt out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

unplanned by the men perhaps.

I've never met a man with 3+ children for whom the third and subsequent kids were planned by them. I'd say its about 50/50 on first kids planned or not for most.

Sleeper12 wrote:
    Are you honestly saying that you don't believe that this never happens?

I'm sure it probably does but I tend to avoid making baseless sweeping statements and trying to convince others that they are fact.

unplanned by the men perhaps.

That was my original point.

Some naive posters seem to think that this never happens.

Nope. You do realise that a huge proportion of lone parents are actually with the father of the children. They claim not to be to get lone parents and to get higher on the housing list

But that wasn't your original point. You made the claim about trapping people and then moved on to something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

It’s the indo. They are always making these up.
    These bull**** 'agony uncle' pieces are always so over the top or suit what is getting clicks at that moment. "Brian, I blew a homeless lad, does that make me homeless?"

His stories include;
    Ask Brian: My social media stalking puts me off every guy I fancy
    Ask Brian: My boyfriend got drunk and arrested and then told me he has sex with men
    Ask Brian: My friend can't keep it in his pants at music festivals
    Ask Brian: I caught my boyfriend performing a sex act on his male friend at a music festival
    Ask Brian: My girlfriend's addicted to Love Island and now expects me to get abs

Who really is asking Brian for help with their issues? What gives Brian the skills and ability to solve anyones personnel issues?

"Brian is skilled in social media management, News Writing, Editing, Journalism, and Copy Editing. Strong media and communication professional with a Master of Arts (M.A.) focused in Journalism from Independent College Dublin."

Who is going to email the indo with their personnel problems since they can't be trusted with anything on their email servers.
    Is the Indo completely devoid of any kind of editorial ethics?

I call shenanigans. Rant over.