Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which modern celebrity would make the best messiah?

• 27-09-2018 6:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭

If you had to choose a modern celebrity figure to take up the mantle of Jesus, flying spaghetti monster or Mohammad and become the chosen one who would it be?
    For me it would have to Morrisey, not Marty the other one from Manchester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Donald Trump

PA-236921191-1024x678.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Bill Murray

Norm Macdonald.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Joaquin Phoenix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Mattress Mick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Sarah Silverman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Russell brand of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Josh Groban or Adam Buxton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭noble00

Morgan freeman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

noble00 wrote: »
    Morgan freeman

He'd be more of a Deity, being as he is the literal voice of god already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I thought Bono was the Messiah , anyway if it's not him I'd like to nominate Conor McGregors sister .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Yer Ma

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,044 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Liam Neeson.

He will always look for you.

He will always find you.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

I would say a transgendered and/or gender fluid lesbian Muslim traveller obese dwarf with red hair and a cocaine addiction.

Think most bases would be covered there?

Bonus points if they are a siamese twin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

He'd be more of a Deity, being as he is the literal voice of god already.

His voice gives me the creepers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Jay Cartwright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Defaulter1831

Pat Kenny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

George Clooney, that way we could have tequila for mass :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I'm going for a female messiah, Ellen DeGeneres, she'd be great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,044 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Pat Kenny

Cant be the Messiah. He's already a defective Cylon model.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭tigerboon

Scooter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Joe Duffy

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Thinly disguised "which cleb would like to crucify" thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Marty Morrissey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Wibbs

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Yer man that was in that film a while back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

tigerboon wrote: »
    Scooter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

Brian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

I think he has aids unfortunately.

Riddled with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Jared Leto when he has a decent beard going.

screen-shot-2018-04-04-at-4-05-52-pm.png?w=780

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Mo Salah. Always up for the cross. Looks the part too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

indioblack wrote: »
    Brian.

He's not the Messiah. He's a very naughty boy.

Well someone had to say it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

We'd need some one with mass appeal (pardon the pun), good looks (you never really have an ugly cult leader do you?) and of course a razor sharp intellect.

So that leaves either Brian Cox or Joey Essex:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I think he has aids unfortunately.
    Riddled with it.

Jesus, how did he pick that up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Keanu Reeves, clearly.

Guy is Zen as fnck. He's had a tragic personal life, but continues on with quiet dignity. Gives most of his money to charity, is genuinely nice to everyone he meets, and is not above accepting small roles in small films to help young directors, writers and producers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

This time round the Messiah have to be a Messiahess methinks.
    I can't think of any candidates this hour of the morning though, except the bould Mother Sinead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

seamus wrote: »
    Keanu Reeves, clearly.

Guy is Zen as fnck. He's had a tragic personal life, but continues on with quiet dignity. Gives most of his money to charity, is genuinely nice to everyone he meets, and is not above accepting small roles in small films to help young directors, writers and producers.

He's also immortal - which is a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Brian Blessed.

He'd be perfect for delivering phrases such as the below.

"Those who exalt themselves will be humbled!!!!!! Those who humble themselves will be exalted!!!!!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I would happily worship Kathy Griffin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Conor McGregor because the thought of it made me laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

valoren wrote: »
    Brian Blessed.

He'd be perfect for delivering phrases such as the below.

"Those who exalt themselves will be humbled!!!!!! Those who humble themselves will be exalted!!!!!!!"

I was watching an episode of Blakes 7 last night and he played the high priest of a cult who thought of himself as a god. There was loads of lines similar to yours. Spooky.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Elon Musk - not that he’s a celebrity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I'd like to see James Corden get crucified. Actually crucified.

It'd want to be a cross made of steel girders to hold him up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I don't get the hatred for James Corden on here!

Anyway i'm going with Silent Bob!

Lorelli! wrote: »
    I don't get the hatred for James Corden on here!

Anyway i'm going with Silent Bob!

Why would you want to crucify Silent Bob ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Why would you want to crucify Silent Bob ?

I wouldn't!! But I think he'd make a good messiah :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

Kanye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

I forgot about the crucifixion part of the deal, in that case I nominate Ryan Tubridy

On another note, I've been spelling crucifixion wrong the last 30-odd years