Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What job for ex dairy farmer in his 50's?

• 22-09-2018 8:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭

Just looking for opinions, what job with a reasonable wage and reasonable hours could an ex dairy farmer in his 50's get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

President of Ireland.

Your question doesn't have an answer. You haven't given us any information. He may have zero skills, so no job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Have you tried any so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

RossieMan wrote: »
    President of Ireland.

Your question doesn't have an answer. You haven't given us any information. He may have zero skills, so no job.

So he couldn't work on a dairy farm :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Level of education?
    Skillset?
    Any other work experience?
    Willing to retrain?

Have you tried any so far?

Not for me, he tried plenty but all bare minimum wage for lots of work. Picker in a warehouse being one example.

Muckit wrote: »
    Level of education?
    Skillset?
    Any other work experience?
    Willing to retrain?

Intercert cert in farming, plenty tillage machinery experience
    Skillset, haven't a clue what that is
    Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Ai man/scanner.

(If he's still reasonably fit).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Pick up C or D Licence (might already have them?) and go driving?

Ai man/scanner.

(If he's still reasonably fit).

Still very fit, AI man? unless you have lots of calls with multiple cows in the same area you are making zero profit. Any positions in his area are saturated already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Not for me, he tried plenty but all bare minimum wage for lots of work. Picker in a warehouse being one example.

Could be worse like picking spuds in Scotland:D

He could try portering in the HSE facilities or in hotels/ community centres etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,488 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Still very fit, AI man? unless you have lots of calls with multiple cows in the same area you are making zero profit. Any positions in his area are saturated already.
    Lad that used to scan my cows gave up the scanning as he was making too much money and was in higher tax band, he's also an ai man . He wouldnt have the biggest amount of cow to ai . He was the best scanning man we ever had here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,810 ✭✭✭✭Water John

FRS are screaming out for staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Councils are back hiring
    Start looking at what they prefer/require
    eg Rigid licence, manual handling, safe pass.....

Facilities management ie caretaker
    Our place has 2 lads in permanently to sort little bits and pieces, they're in through agency but never taxed

Motorway maintenance
    Near any of the depots?
    Rigid licence

Teleporter driver
    Any number of jobs in Dublin/cork
    Especially for those that know what they're doing
    Get ticket done

There is plenty construction on in general
    Find out who's hiring in tractor and dumpers locally
    Most piplaying crews will have one or two
    Union rates aren't bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I have done a fair share of odd jobs but the problem with most jobs is the monotony ,at least with dairy farming you have a variety of different jobs once the milking is over and done with .A job with plenty of human interaction is ideal but without a boss breathing down your back!!The nice jobs i would consider would be
    Taxi driver but no late nights
    Driving school mini bus
    working in warehouse ,picking orders
    Shop delivery van driver,
    small cattle truck driver collecting a few cows and calves but definitely nothing to do with dairying which is only hardship of the highest order

What part of the country is he in?

Councils are back hiring
    Start looking at what they prefer/require
    eg Rigid licence, manual handling, safe pass.....

Facilities management ie caretaker
    Our place has 2 lads in permanently to sort little bits and pieces, they're in through agency but never taxed

Motorway maintenance
    Near any of the depots?
    Rigid licence

Teleporter driver
    Any number of jobs in Dublin/cork
    Especially for those that know what they're doing
    Get ticket done

There is plenty construction on in general
    Find out who's hiring in tractor and dumpers locally
    Most piplaying crews will have one or two
    Union rates aren't bad

He already applied for council waterworks caretaker usual response we had so many replies we had to shortlist you didn't make the shortlist, good luck. Those jobs have a candidate before they announce the position.

whelan2 wrote: »
    What part of the country is he in?
    Cork

FRS fencing section.
    As someone said taxi in the city by day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

A relation of mine is a part-time farmer and postman!
    An Post often recruit temporary staff for the Christmas period!
    Keep an eye on their webpage.
    http://www.anpost.ie/AnPost/MainContent/About+An+Post/Careers/Temporary+Postal+Operatives+-+Cork.htm

Cork
    Might be a bit far to commute :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

relief milker?
    Commission based sales person(commission caused it easier to get hired that way)

Any IT skills?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,431 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

He's probably too old, most employers would be getting rid at that age

Water John wrote: »
    FRS are screaming out for staff.

Running around like a headless chicken milking cows for bad wages and pay for your own traveling expenses? Unless a local herd with plenty milkings.

wrangler wrote: »
    He's probably too old, most employers would be getting rid at that age

Yeah the young fellas work ethic would be so much better, maybe he should curl up into a ball in the corner and die instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,431 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Running around like a headless chicken milking cows for bad wages and pay for your own traveling expenses? Unless a local herd with plenty milkings.

Yea agreed,
    they're short of workers for a reason

He already applied for council waterworks caretaker usual response we had so many replies we had to shortlist you didn't make the shortlist, good luck. Those jobs have a candidate before they announce the position.

They usually do not anymore

Just more qualified men out there ie last 2 hired in kilkenny were a former pump installer and an electrician

However one gone into tip lately who was a brickie.

You can't expect to get the first one.
    Need to be professional about getting in.
    Interviewers all ask similar questions in public service as they have too. These are now known by a lot of lads. Your man just show up or come prepared?

Has he a rigid licence, safe pass, manual handling, abrasive wheels, any machinery tickets?

Good jobs don't fall from the sky.

Yeah the young fellas work ethic would be so much better, maybe he should curl up into a ball in the corner and die instead.
    lad who does a few milkings for me is 62, always here early and job done right, ultra reliable

Cork

Motorway maintenance......egis lagan little island

Lagan fermoy

Find out the qualifications they want

3D personnel would be main agency for the likes of Rhatigan in Cork. They'd be 8 to 5.30. Labourer would be purely for tidying and managing pedestrians etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,826 ✭✭✭White Clover

Good money in milking. The getting paid for driving to work part I don't get Dan. I drive to work 5 days per week and I don't get paid for it.

Driver for a main car dealer. Collecting and dropping off cars to customers, for nct, valeting etc

Good money in milking. The getting paid for driving to work part I don't get Dan. I drive to work 5 days per week and I don't get paid for it.

driving around to 2-3 different herds in an evening miles apart at your own transport expense. Big difference to driving to and from work.

I'd say lads milking 2 or 3 herds of an evening wouldn't be common at all. Why not just do one, say within 5 miles or something?

FRS do lot more than milking. Many work contracts they do now are in the industrial sphere.
    You seem to be shooting down lots of suggestions, not taking the positives from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭Who2

Find out what he likes and work from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Surely relief milking is a slam dunk here.
    Reliable man with experience, I thought dairy farms were crying out for good relief millers ??

_Brian wrote: »
    Surely relief milking is a slam dunk here.
    Reliable man with experience, I thought dairy farms were crying out for good relief millers ??
    Surely he’d be still milking himself if I liked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭einn32

Security gig at a factory. Most people I meet at gates are 50 plus. They never seem too taxed either!

Who2 wrote: »
    Surely he’d be still milking himself if I liked it.

There may be other reasons why he gave up milking his own cows.

einn32 wrote: »
    Security gig at a factory. Most people I meet at gates are 50 plus. They never seem too taxed either!

What are pay rates like ?

Many of the security jobs go to ex-guards. That's what gives the age profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭cute geoge

surely security is the most monotonus job of the lot like ,how the hell they keep alert is beyond me .I would say far from easy!!!

Agri sales rep . Grand handy number flexible enough hours, company car, phone and he’d be more inclined to get sales as he probably knows the real life experiences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 scanbox

Motorway maintenance......egis lagan little island

Lagan fermoy

Find out the qualifications they want

3D personnel would be main agency for the likes of Rhatigan in Cork. They'd be 8 to 5.30. Labourer would be purely for tidying and managing pedestrians etc

PJ Personnel, based in Galway, also have a lot of work on-going with large contractors in the Cork/Limerick area. I know this as I did my Work Placement there from April-August. Could be worth giving them a shout if needs be..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

cute geoge wrote: »
    surely security is the most monotonus job of the lot like ,how the hell they keep alert is beyond me .I would say far from easy!!!
    Water John wrote: »
    Many of the security jobs go to ex-guards. That's what gives the age profile.
    It's hardly the most strenuous of work either in most places either physically or mentally. It's very suitable for someone winding down in semi retirement.

It's not a role for a young ambitious hard worker. Very suitable for a retired guard after the early retirement looking to do something to have a routine and something to live for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭einn32

It's hardly the most strenuous of work either in most places either physically or mentally. It's very suitable for someone winding down in semi retirement.

It's not a role for a young ambitious hard worker. Very suitable for a retired guard after the early retirement looking to do something to have a routine and something to live for.

It's usually processing people onto site, inducting them and general security from what I see. I have met younger people at it too. It's usually shift work as well. I wouldn't know rates etc. But I would think there are very quiet periods

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Lots of great suggestions here and each one being shot down with total negativity

Seems to me this farmer has some kind of stupid idea about the “perfect”job

Or else doesn’t really want to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,827 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Nonsense. I hear lately a swing back towards valuing mature workers due to the experience and maturity they usually bring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,827 ✭✭✭✭road_high

They usually do not anymore

Just more qualified men out there ie last 2 hired in kilkenny were a former pump installer and an electrician

However one gone into tip lately who was a brickie.

You can't expect to get the first one.
    Need to be professional about getting in.
    Interviewers all ask similar questions in public service as they have too. These are now known by a lot of lads. Your man just show up or come prepared?

Has he a rigid licence, safe pass, manual handling, abrasive wheels, any machinery tickets?

Good jobs don't fall from the sky.

This is great advice. You need to cover all bases when applying- might be no harm to go to a professional for job and interview preparation.

There may be other reasons why he gave up milking his own cows.

Too much upgrading to do and he reckons he’s too old to be getting a loan and none of his family are interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭Grueller

road_high wrote: »
    Nonsense. I hear lately a swing back towards valuing mature workers due to the experience and maturity they usually bring.

Bullsh1t twist on the truth that is the younger workers are now employed so lets go to the next shelf down. Experience and maturity is mid 40s not 50s.