Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much alcohol can I take so I can drive home?

• 19-09-2018 7:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭

I have an important dinner meeting on Saturday and I'd like to have 1 glass of wine to be a little social with this person. I would like to be able to drive home afterwards.

Will one glass of white wine get me in trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

I have an important dinner meeting on Saturday and I'd like to have 1 glass of wine to be a little social with this person. I would like to be able to drive home afterwards.

No one can tell you the answer to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

I'd err on the side of caution.

Maybe just get a non-alcoholic beer if you want to look "sociable".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Some peoples glass is a lot bigger than others, how big is your glass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

If your colleague/client knows you are driving, I'd expect them to have the common sense to understand why you would be sticking with minerals.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Some peoples glass is a lot bigger than others, how big is your glass?

Will have to be as small as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Body weight, metabolism, how much food you ate with the wine, how long you left before driving after you have drank the wine etc..

These are all too variable to make a judgement on and that is all it would be, a judgement.

Modern society is too black and white about such things to take a risk.

A person who takes one glass of wine with a meal and then hops into a car afterwords could be over the limit and lose their licence just as badly as a person with a bottle of whiskey in their guts.

You'll get no allowance in the modern drive towards zero tolerance.

The worst aspect is that a persons judgement gets clouded after a drink or two and then suddenly a dozen drinks before driving seems like a good idea.

Alcohol can do that to some people.

This is why those in authority advocate no drink no drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

Will have to be as small as possible.

... I mean, hate to be "that guy", but do you have to drink?

I don't think there's an exact science of how alcohol effects us. So, you'd technically be over the limit, but if I was tired say that one glass of wine would hit me like a ton of bricks (I rarely drink).

If your colleague/client knows you are driving, I'd expect them to have the common sense to understand why you would be sticking with minerals.

This is an unusual set of circumstances where I have a meeting with a company director who could change my life for the better if I play this one out properly. He likes to have a few drinks and I don't want him to feel uncomfortable with me drinking water.. It is what is it...... Promotion opportunity in this and I can't feck it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I have an important dinner meeting on Saturday and I'd like to have 1 glass of wine to be a little social with this person. I would like to be able to drive home afterward

The average person processes one unit per hour, a 100ml glass of wine is a unit, but a 100ml glass is very small and typically 200 is served..

So if you take a glass of wine it could take up to 2 hours to process the alcohol out of your system.

Stretching a 200ml glass of wine over a dinner is hard going, I'd rather a bottle of beer, its just slightly more than a unit, so a little more than an hour.. If ive had a drink with dinner out I always have a coffee afterwards, not that the coffee does anything but lingering for 20 minutes chat over the coffee gives more chat time and more time to be sure the alcohol is gone..

Lastly I don't know the nature of this meeting, but remember some people have a very, very poor notion of a driver who has ANY alcohol, it doesnt make sense, its a thing. they ignore the science of alcohol and the way yor body processes it, its possible to drink a unit an hour and be fine.

Hienakin zero has brought a new level of drinkability to alcohol free beers... its really nice so worth a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

This is an unusual set of circumstances where I have a meeting with a company director who could change my life for the better if I play this one out properly. He likes to have a few drinks and I don't want him to feel uncomfortable with me drinking water.. It is what is it...... Promotion opportunity in this and I can't feck it up.

If you say you can't drink because you are driving you will stand out more as an upstanding chap. Plenty of alcohol free beers too. If you are only having one glass of wine it's not as if having it will have you singing arm and arm with him in to the early hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Taxi. Seriously.

• Site Banned Posts: 386 ✭✭Jimmy.

The Healy Rae’s say two pints will be fine.

SeaFields wrote: »
    Taxi. Seriously.

I think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,483 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

doolox wrote: »
    Body weight, metabolism, how much food you ate with the wine, how long you left before driving after you have drank the wine etc..

These are all too variable to make a judgement on and that is all it would be, a judgement.

Modern society is too black and white about such things to take a risk.

A person who takes one glass of wine with a meal and then hops into a car afterwords could be over the limit and lose their licence just as badly as a person with a bottle of whiskey in their guts.

You'll get no allowance in the modern drive towards zero tolerance.

The worst aspect is that a persons judgement gets clouded after a drink or two and then suddenly a dozen drinks before driving seems like a good idea.

Alcohol can do that to some people.

This is why those in authority advocate no drink no drive.

100% agree with this, if you must drink then get a taxi home. As said above, too many factors. The same glass of wine could have a completely different effect on you than it would someone else.

Beside, the Gardaí are more active in MAT Checkpoints and random stops now these days and are less likely to give you a slap on the wrist as would have happened years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Look at the big picture and think of the possible consequences of that "social"drink if you drive home afterwards.Can you use public transport/taxi to get to and from you meeting ?.If you can then there is no problem with that drink(s).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Taxi or don't drink. Explain you would be driving and how you wouldn't risk getting caught because you know your luck etc and all that. Say you'd love to get a few proper drinks in when you knew you didn't have to drive. Etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭GolfVI

An extremely selfish reply.. you could also change someone else’s life for the worse by agreeing to drink and drive.. have a bit of common sense and put the wine down or get a taxi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The 1970s called, they're looking for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Book in?

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Why not have a mineral or fruit juice instead, leave the car at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,586 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

"Don't drink and drive."

Such a simple phrase, just four words to sum up an incredibly obvious concept. And yet morons everywhere still can't wrap their minds around it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭henryforde80

Taxi,hotel,b&b, designated driver to collect you.

One will lead to many

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Jimmy. wrote: »
    The Healy Rae’s say two pints will be fine.

But the dinner would be dangerous according to them.

If it really is that important a meeting spend the bit extra to get a taxi or even book into a hotel. (If you REALLY want to impress book him in to the room too ;) )

LOL.... I'll get a Taxi home thanks.

It's incredible that you even thought it warranted starting a thread.

Hitman3000 wrote: »

No harm in asking questions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

No you're grand. But leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Tip for posting on Boards!!!!! NEVER ask for tips on how to drink and drive!!!

You on a hiding to nothing...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 137 ✭✭toyotafan

Dont drink if you drive, please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭mr c

not drinking at all or a pre booked Taxi would be the only solution
    its just not worth the risk to even have a glass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

No you're grand. But leave it at that.

Thing is, the OP would probably be grand to drive but could be over he limit if stopped.

It’s just not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Masala wrote: »
    Tip for posting on Boards!!!!! NEVER ask for tips on how to drink and drive!!!

You on a hiding to nothing...

Tip for life.

Don't ask random strangers on the Internet if it's OK to DUI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Corb_lund

????

He asked if one glass of wine is okay. Of course it is. There is 0.05 limit. If you have a glass of wine over dinner or a hour meeting there is zero chance of being over the limit.

I wouldn't advocate a few bottles of wine with s few whiskey chasers, but cmon lads a bit of perspective..

Scare mongering and sanctimonious cúnts going mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

If a company director can't understand that you're not drinking because you are driving and therefore wouldn't give you this promotion based on that, well let's just say he's not the type of person I would like to work for.

I'm a bit miffed as to why you're even asking this question. Either drink and have a few and get a taxi or don't drink at all if you feel you have to have more.

As Brian said, the average person processes 1 unit of alcohol per hour. 1 unit is a glass, 2 units is a pint. The normal serving of wine in a glass would be 2 units in most places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭skallywag

It's a fair question OP, and I would simply disregard the 'how dare you even ask' mentality from some contributors on this thread.

It's a fair question in my opinion due to the ambiguity between the messages which we are constantly hearing, from government backed sources amongst others (i.e. 'never ever drink and drive', etc.) and the real legal situation which then exists (i.e. 'never ever drink too much and drive'). In order to remove this ambiguity the legal situation would need to change to something along the lines of Norway, where it is clear that any drink taken whatsoever is going to land you in trouble. I would myself definitely be in favour of this.

For me personally if I take a single drink I will not drive. Not because I am concerned about getting into trouble at a checkpoint, but because that I know that after even one drink my sensory perception of things is different, and I am less safe behind the wheel.

I can also see how having a few drinks with someone like this could benefit your future prospects. If in your position I would leave the car at home and have the few drinks.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

Corb_lund wrote: »
    ????

He asked if one glass of wine is okay. Of course it is. There is 0.05 limit. If you have a glass of wine over dinner or a hour meeting there is zero chance of being over the limit.

I wouldn't advocate a few bottles of wine with s few whiskey chasers, but cmon lads a bit of perspective..

Scare mongering and sanctimonious cúnts going mad!

Not really, its a simple answer, if you drink don't drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,103 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

feic it, i'm a better driver after having a few

Calms the nerves, less jittery

He needs to loosen up before the boss makes him work for that promotion, you'd hardly tell him to take that on stone cold sober

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Just get a taxi.
    If its potential life changing meeting then just relax and enjoy yourself. Best not to be worrying about having a second if the meeting is going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

You know those online calculators...

The general understanding is that the body processes 1 unit an hour. So let's say you put in 12 units over 12 hours... well does that not mean that in 1 hour after the last drink there should be no alcohol in the system?

Calculator will say 12 hours.

Surely that's bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭TheShow

The best advice is to stay dry. If you have to drive, why risk the chance that you may be over the limit and may get caught, or worse have an accident and cause an injury to somebody including yourself.

Either get a taxi or drink NA beer.

SBPhoto wrote: »
    Not really, its a simple answer, if you drink don't drive

So how long after a drink do you have to wait before you drive?

Or is the 'simple answer' if you've ever drunk any alcohol you can never drive again in your life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,704 ✭✭✭✭namenotavailablE

As said by others- a taxi or else have someone else collect you. It's the sort of 'sensible' attitude which might even impress the director. Personally, I wouldn't be thinking at all about the 'comfort level' of the director when it comes to such a decision.

It's really not possible to be sure how any particular volume of wine will impact you alone and it just wouldn't be worth any promotion leap if it adversely impacted you and others as a result of an accident.

Or is the 'simple answer' if you've ever drunk any alcohol you can never drive again in your life?

I'm a lite weight, 5 pints max can't handle shorts. But I always allow 12 hours between the throttle and the bottle .
    If I'm ever in an accident I would like to think alcohol played no part .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

If you had to go to the internet to work through this, the promotion is a bad decision on the company's part.

For the love of god.

I'm a lite weight, 5 pints max can't handle shorts. But I always allow 12 hours between the throttle and the bottle .
    If I'm ever in an accident I would like to think alcohol played no part .

12 hours?!?

So if you have a glass of wine at 10 in the evening you won't drive to work the next morning?

Did I mention a glass of wine?
    Although my partner has a glass that can hold two 70cl bottles of wine, how long do you think on drinking this glass should she leave between driving.
    My point was quantity and time before driving although processing of alcohol in the system slows during sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭TheShow

So how long after a drink do you have to wait before you drive?

real mature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

If you have to ask OP, the answer is none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

lawred2 wrote: »
    You know those online calculators...

The general understanding is that the body processes 1 unit an hour. So let's say you put in 12 units over 12 hours... well does that not mean that in 1 hour after the last drink there should be no alcohol in the system?

Calculator will say 12 hours.

Surely that's bollocks.

The moment you start drinking your body starts processing it.

If you were to drink say 6 pints, thats roughly 12 units depending on the pint.

If you drank those 6 pints in one minutes (you would be amazing) but in this scenario you would likely register 0% alcohol on a breath test after 12 hours.

If you spend 12 hours drinking those 6 pints then you would likely register 0% 2 hours after your last pint.

If the OP was to have 1 pint he would have to wait for around 1 hour after finishing the pint before he would legally be allowed to drive. He still wouldnt be 0% on a test but he would likely be legal.

TheShow wrote: »
    real mature.

I'm genuinely curious.

If the position is you NEVER drive after drinking then the question is how long do you wait?

To be honest that was how I interpreted the OP's question.

I don't see how you can make black and white statements about never driving after drinking without talking about time frames.