Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The O’Donovan Brothers drinking before World Championship Final

• 17-09-2018 9:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭

Just my own personal opinion, and I respect them fro their sporting achievements. However the charactures they are trying to create annoy me. I don’t get the hype, like essentially they have a very standard Irish sense of humour with sayings and quotes, but like I could get the same quotes from D’Unbelievables a decade or more ago. Another thing that really gets me though is there “claim” that they were out drinking the night before a world championship final. I personally believe they said that to get the laugh again. If it is true, then it’s a disgrace that high level, and high funded athletes are going out drinking the night before a major final. I know many will say I’m being negative and that they won anyway, but I don’t believe they actually were out the night before. If they had been out drinking, and had lost, it would and should be a disgrace to their fans and the sport of rowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

Unless you're an athlete at their level, and we haven't got many of those so I doubt it, you're not really in a place to question their preparation. Maybe they went out and had a beer the night before, maybe they wouldn't have won it if they hadn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

First world problems.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

They are incredible athletes and have achieved amazing results. Hard work & unbelievably dedicated to their sport. They should drop the thick paddy act doesn’t encourage anyone to their sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

They are incredible athletes and have achieved amazing results. Hard work & unbelievably dedicated to their sport. They should drop the thick paddy act doesn’t encourage anyone to their sport

It's not an act, that's what they're like. Half the time they're not even 'messing' but being serious, giving honest analysis of their racing and the media just guffaw anyway, shur they're only mighty craic, when in fact they're dead serious.

I can pretty much guarantee that they've not had a drink in more than 6 months, probably since Christmas and maybe not even. There is just no way you could do what they do without living a seriously ascetic lifestyle.

The post race interview was a bit of a laugh for them. They had just won a world championship in one of the hardest sports in the world, set a time just shy of the world's best and they are early 20s.

They were being ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

CK22 wrote: »
    Just my own personal opinion, and I respect them fro their sporting achievements. However the charactures they are trying to create annoy me. I don’t get the hype, like essentially they have a very standard Irish sense of humour with sayings and quotes, but like I could get the same quotes from D’Unbelievables a decade or more ago. Another thing that really gets me though is there “claim” that they were out drinking the night before a world championship final. I personally believe they said that to get the laugh again. If it is true, then it’s a disgrace that high level, and high funded athletes are going out drinking the night before a major final. I know many will say I’m being negative and that they won anyway, but I don’t believe they actually were out the night before. If they had been out drinking, and had lost, it would and should be a disgrace to their fans and the sport of rowing.

They weren t being serious, they are world champions and masters at their craft , in fairness they can be whatever way they want surely. Focus on their achievements if they want to play them down themselves its their own prerogative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

This is most likely partly a coping mechanism for what can only be called a savage training regime. Rugby players would use similar P***taking that makes the training bearable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Gary is a very good athlete, Paul is exceptional. Just celebrate what they and Sanita achieved. The rest is just noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,716 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Well I hope they r out every night for the next week,fully deserved and among the greatest sportsmen to ever come out of Ireland PS: any 1 who thinks that they were on the piss should wake up and smell the coffee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

[QUOTE=sugarman;108110234]Who gives a **** if they were or weren't drinking? Didn't they win anyway? Sure half the Irish football team were off getting scuttered until all hours before matches while making World Cup quarter finals!

I'm not really a fan of the O'Donovan's humour either, or even their their sport ...but you simply can't knock their recent achievements.[/QUOTE]

Lads seriously I'm flabbergasted that anyone could even for a second believe that they were drinking ... they are the creme de la creme of high performance athletes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I'd believe it, 2 lads from Baltimore, no better men to got out and win an event after a night on the lash.

Raises them higher imo.

The above is 50% humour and 50% experience that you actually try harder with a hangover in order to prove that the hangover does not matter....

Long story...