Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

illegal to video Gardai

• 17-09-2018 5:39pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26

Justice minister says he would support legislation making videoing of Gardai illegal.

Who thinks its a good idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

odetooi wrote: »
    Justice minister says he would support legislation making videoing of Gardai illegal.

Who thinks its a good idea?

The lads who beat up Rodney King would be all for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

What do you think yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Kuva

No, jaysus, they haven't even stopped that in America.

Keeps the corrupt bunch a little bit honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 odetooi

I think the Gardai should wear body cameras and that there should be no problem if people want to video them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

It would mean no more videos of some pap recording himself being a pain in the hole to guards so....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭per aspera ad astra

I like the cut of your jib Commissioner! Very progressive, posting on Boards – I am genuinely impressed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Seems perfectly reasonable. Keeps both sides safe and acting in a responsible manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Why do you think Gardai should have to wear cameras?
    Should teachers? Ambulance personal? Nightclub door men?

I can see the benefits in them wearing them but am curious about the "should" part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

If they're not doing anything wrong then they shouldn't have any objection to being filmed or photographed.

If they are doing something wrong then we shouldn't have any objection to them being filmed or photographed.

I think banning it would be a terrible idea for all kinds of reasons and would set a terrible precedent.

I don't think however, that a little more scrutiny on how those photos or videos are used would be a terrible thing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

This. You only ever see videos of Gardaí roughing people up minus the footage of everything else that went on before it reached that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Making mountains out of nothing. Keyboard warriors threatening to shoot Garda members.
    People in the public eye get this kind of stuff all the time,even before the internet was conceived of.

I can see the benefits in them wearing them but am curious about the "should" part.

Cause video footage is a completely impartial and non-biased witness?

EDIT : unedited and properly timestamped video footage that is, if you want to be a smartass about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I would consider myself a law abiding citizen, with respect and decency towards all men and women.
    But I would not be in favour of such a law.
    Although I do believe Gardaí do hold back in certain situations for fear of being photographed or filmed. Which is having a negative effect on society relating to crime and repeat offending!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

It's a bad idea.

No harm keeping a record of the minority in the Gardai that are unable to do the job.

If theyre not up to anything they've nothing to worry about.

They wear balaclavas for special operations anyway.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

It seems to be a dangerous law that is being suggested.

wexie wrote: »
    Cause video footage is a completely impartial and non-biased witness?

So do you think other professionals should also wear cameras?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Terrible idea

Now strictly controlled body cameras would be a win-win for everyone, as long as the data doesn't conveniently go missing when needed of course, which I'd have my doubts about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭per aspera ad astra

He's only in the job a couple of weeks – he is trying, he's just floating ideas I'd say. You wouldn't see Callinan or O'Sullivan posting on Boards – I like it! A bit unorthodox definitely – but good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

This is a terrible idea and it would most certainly influence how I vote next time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

While filming them should be legal, the publishing of the videos should be tighly controlled. As someone has already sent, context is rarely given.

Terrible idea

Now strictly controlled body cameras would be a win-win for everyone, as long as the data doesn't conveniently go missing when needed of course, which I'd have my doubts about

Well considering the Gardai lost a farmyard gate in the du Plantier case they're liable to lose anything.

Such as who? Can you think of other professionals that take up a similar position in society?

(I don't think it would be a bad idea for the likes of first responders by the way, but if you're talking shop assistants then....meh <shrug>)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Other professionals don't have the same power as a guard.
    Imagine if the guards at the Jobstown protests had body cams with built in mics. There would have been alot less lies told by certain members of the force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

Harassing Gardai or anyone else online should be (and is) an offence, but let's not go overboard and start banning things left right and centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,411 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Should be illegal to video them in portrait mode.

For the protection of themselves and the public. Accountability on both sides.

Teachers should be re assigned to some other public duties like administration work while schools are on long holidays so they make up the full year of work but that's a different thread

Other professions are subject to all sorts of surveillance. Pretty much and decent haulier has a dash cam and one facing the driver in the cab, pilots, pretty much anyone that works in a shop...

It's completely proportional that the guards should have to wear body cams.

Traffic wardens wear them as do ISPCA inspectors, and going further afield most of the UK police forces also have them. What's so precious about our force?

I don't believe it should be illegal.
    All public servants while doing their job, shouldn't have an issue with being recorded.

Their should be laws and to when they are published or shown. And it should be easier to prosecute people for threatening or harassing any public servant.

Oh & Gardai should have body cams

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Well considering the Gardai lost a farmyard gate in the du Plantier case they're liable to lose anything.

The way evidence is stored in this country in very serious cases is a total joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Making it illegal to post the personal details on social media would probavly achieve what is being sought rather than an outright ban on filming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

They do.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Traffic wardens wear them as do ISPCA inspectors, and going further afield most of the UK police forces also have them. What's so precious about our force?

It's the should element I am curious about. Should then other public servants?
    Who shouldn't have to wear them?

They do.

Some do. Not obligatory afaik.

Should

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Other professionals don't have the same power as a guard.
    Imagine if the guards at the Jobstown protests had body cams with built in mics. There would have been alot less lies told by certain members of the force.

or the protestors.

So should private sector workers? For accountability?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

SeaFields wrote: »
    Making it illegal to post the personal details on social media would probavly achieve what is being sought rather than an outright ban on filming.

That's meaningless as it is unenforceable.

Not really worried about who shouldn't wear them. However, in light of the antics of some Gardai, plus the authority they use plus the most recent report from the Irish Civil Liberties crowd, I'm quite comfortable if AGS wear body cams, and if the public in defence can tape the Gardai.

So should private sector workers? For accountability?

Yes. Everyone should. And at all times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

Terrible idea.

Sure their corrupt enough with giving them more ways to hide it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Some do. Not obligatory afaik.

Depends on the venue, surely guards wearing bodycams would be good for all involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,411 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Teachers should be re assigned to some other public duties like administration work while schools are on long holidays so they make up the full year of work but that's a different thread

Is there no dedicated teacher bashing thread?

In fairness, one side benefit of my effectively-almost-five-months off every year and ridiculously good defined benefits pension is seeing posts like that. Because it really gets under the skin of people who’d be bothered posting posts like that.

Yes. Everyone should. And at all times.

You make a valid argument. Have you a podcast or daily email I can subscribe to?

Welcome to Boards by the way.

Depends on the venue, surely guards wearing bodycams would be good for all involved?

I can see the benefits in some circumstances. It was the suggestion that they "should have to" that I was curious about.

I think it implies an inherent distrust in the members (not getting in to justification or otherwise of that here) and if so, where do you stop with the 'should'? Hence query about other professions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

or the protestors.

True, but you expect the guards to tell the truth under oath. Something they failed in when on the stand.

You make a valid argument. Have you a podcast or daily email I can subscribe to?

Welcome to Boards by the way.

Thank you.
    Should

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Shud.

I think it implies an inherent distrust in the members.

I don't think that's what bodycams are about though, or at least not for me. They just provide an objective account of what actually happened.

There's no favour there and I'd imagine that over time the amount of cases where it goes in the gards or the publics favour will probably be fairly equal.

(on the assumption of course that the bodycam footage is treated as sacrosanct and not edited etc. etc.)

I guess a better way to put it is that the wish for bodycams (in my case) expresses an equal distrust of the public as of AGS