Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Head on collision

• 04-09-2018 3:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭

I was involved in a head on collision this morning.

I was driving home and was 50m from my house. I was travelling straight approaching a blind bend and the other car was on the bend travelling in the opposite direction. This road is a narrow, rural road so only room for one car.

I saw the car and broke hard. My car stopped in time but other driver didn't break (at least not until the last second) and drove straight into me. No one was injured thankfully but my car is seriously damaged. The other driver is not accepting liability.

I'm wondering if there is any point in trying to claim against her insurance or should I just claim through my own. My car is quite possibly a write off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

Did you take pictures? Call the gardai? Swap insurance details?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Sounds 50:50 to me. Even on rural roads there is space for 2 cars.

Was someone in the middle of the road ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Report it to the Gardai as soon as possible.

Did you exchange details with the other party?

Inform your insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Of course claim from the other driver. If there are no witnesses and the other driver does not admit fault it'll most likely be 50/50 but don't let them off.

Write down what happened and draw a sketch while its fresh in your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You'll need to talk to your own insurance company. They will talk to you about what happened, send you out a claim form and such. They will then decide, based on your account and based on what the other person's insurance says, whether they're going to pursue for costs or agree to split costs 50:50.

In short, contact your insurance company and they will decide what to do next. Once you involve the insurance co., it's basically out of your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

listermint wrote: »

How is it 50/50 she stopped and someone drove into her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Usually the car that has stopped is absolved of blame as they have not crashed into anyone.

The car still moving should be travelling at a speed suitable for the road and driving conditions - remember speed limits are exactly that "limits" and not a permission to drive at that speed

Insurance assessors can work this out fairly quickly and I would definitely write your own account of the accident now while it is fresh in your mind and definitely go through insurance as the other driver does not seem to be the most honest

Quite obviously you have not travelled rural roads. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

...Even on rural roads there is space for 2 cars.?
    Plenty of roads in my area of Dublin which aren't wide enough for 2 cars - grass along the centre etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

You need to get out more :eek:

Ireland%2527s%2Bnarrow%2Broads.png

More than a few roads like this one all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Miss OMMC

Wow thanks for the flurry of replies!

The guards were called, insurance details swapped etc.

When the other driver got out of the car she was very upset and kept apologizing but once her mother arrived on the scene, the story changed.

My insurance company wanted to know if I was going to claim that she was at fault and if so, I would have to put a claim through her insurance company myself.

What does 50/50 mean exactly? My car is 171 Tuscon with the front totally mangled, her car an 08 megan with a lot less damage

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Quite obviously you have not travelled rural roads. :D

I live on one.... Its usually the miscreants that come around the bend in the middle of the road that cause all the problems.

wexie wrote: »

Thats a 21 seater bus. Jesus wept is that the best you could do....

We dont really have proof of that , tbf.

'she braked at the last minute' 'i also braked'

Miss OMMC wrote: »
    What does 50/50 mean exactly? My car is 171 Tuscon with the front totally mangled, her car an 08 megan with a lot less damage
    50:50 typically means that the total cost of all damage to both vehicles is pooled and split in two between the insurers.

Sometimes it means, "everyone looks after their own", but this is only where both drivers decide not to claim against the other.

If you decide not to claim against her, and she claims against you, you could end up paying the whole bill.

You were stopped. She hit you. Make a claim against her; she was travelling too fast, you weren't.

so you're telling me there's room for 2 cars there are ya?

You said something stupid, accept it, apologize and move on.

seamus wrote: »
    50:50 typically means that the total cost of all damage to both vehicles is pooled and split in two between the insurers.

Which is unlikely to go in the favour of the 171 Tucson owner...

so you're telling me there's room for 2 cars there are ya?

You said something stupid, accept it, apologize and move on.

There isnt with a 21 seater bus on it no.

you used a stupid example accept it and apologise so we can move on. and fix your US spelling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭Panrich

OP you really need to consider getting a dashcam for future if you do much travelling on rural roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

There isnt with a 21 seater bus on it no.

you used a stupid example accept it and apologise so we can move on. and fix your US spelling

Don't post in this thread again.

Which is unlikely to go in the favour of the 171 Tucson owner...
    The opposite actually. If the 171's costs are 10k and the 08's costs are 5k, then both insurers will pay 7.5k.

OP has nothing to lose by putting in a claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭flatty

I'd imagine she will say very much the same thing as you to her insurance company. It'll be your word against hers, and the companies will just accept that you were equally at fault. This may not be what happened, but with no witnesses, unless she accepts blame, the insurance companies will likely be unable to make any other call. Still, stranger things have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Can't prove it though - What if the other driver says the same?

I think I'll chance putting through a claim. These people are neighbours so I'd rather not do it but realistically i think I have to.

+1 for getting a dash cam. It's been on my to-do list for ages...

Thanks again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Op is entitled to claim. Nothing to be lost by putting in the claim anyway so you might as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭Silent Running

Can you find a witness to say you had stopped. Maybe someone living along the road might have seen it through a window or from a garden. It might be worth knocking on doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Doniekp

Did you take pictures of where the cars position were on the roads after the accident. Picture of skid marks? so they can judge what speed car were traveling at?

I think I'll chance putting through a claim. These people are neighbours so I'd rather not do it but realistically i think I have to.

+1 for getting a dash cam. It's been on my to-do list for ages...

Thanks again

100% put in a claim against them. Let the insurers battle it out.

Doniekp wrote: »
    Did you take pictures of where the cars position were on the roads after the accident. Picture of skid marks? so they can judge what speed car were traveling at?

My partner was in the car with me. He took pictures from all angles including her tyres etc which were OK. I thought maybe she was on the wrong side coming round the bend but from the pictures it looks like positioning of both cars was OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭ouxbbkqtswdfaw

I know it's not your fault, but if you claim, it's likely your premium will go up.

flatty wrote: »
    I'd imagine she will say very much the same thing as you to her insurance company. It'll be your word against hers, and the companies will just accept that you were equally at fault. This may not be what happened, but with no witnesses, unless she accepts blame, the insurance companies will likely be unable to make any other call. Still, stranger things have happened.

No it won't. A half decent insurance assessor will be able to tell almost immediately which car was stopped and which was still moving on impact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭skallywag

Just wondering OP, was the other driver a local to the area?

I know exactly what you mean, there are plenty of roads near my own place which are well short of space for two cars to pass comfortably on a bend, but in the case of the locals at least they will have this in mind when entering, and be ready to brake or move as far possible to the side if required. Non locals of course are at a disadvantage here, though that said such bad bends are pretty well pointed out in terms of signposting.

That said if both cars are keeping well in, and are driving at a reasonable speed, then it would be highly unusual for one of the two to drive head first into the other, i.e. you would tend to put the car into the ditch (which of course could itself cause a lot of damage in it's own right!) before hitting someone head on.

I have to smile at the story changing when the mother turned up, I'm guessing the other driver is relatively young?

Concerning the insurance, I would also say that it will be called 50-50, although I can see how you might be dissatisfied with that. A lot to be said for dashcams (-:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

I know it's not your fault, but if you claim, it's likely your premium will go up.

I had a recent claim that wasn't my fault, and it had no effect on my premium.

I got the renewal letter in the post the day after the collision and the price stayed the same.

Unfortunately with the lack of witnesses, the insurance will probably look at it 50:50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭daheff

amcalester wrote: »
    I had a recent claim that wasn't my fault, and it had no effect on my premium.

I got the renewal letter in the post the day after the collision and the price stayed the same.

wait till next year. your renewal was most likely already posted by the time the collision happened.

also if you accepted the renewal without confirming to them that there was an accident since your insurance may be invalid (for non disclosure).

No it won't. A half decent insurance assessor will be able to tell almost immediately which car was stopped and which was still moving on impact

How?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

daheff wrote: »
    wait till next year. your renewal was most likely already posted by the time the collision happened.

also if you accepted the renewal without confirming to them that there was an accident since your insurance may be invalid (for non disclosure).

It was issued before the collision, but I only renewed once I had confirmed with them 2 weeks later that the claim (which had been open and closed as a non fault incident) would have no impact on my renewal.

I have this in writing so hopefully next year should be OK too.

It actually fell by 10% versus last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

if theres no white line isnt it a 50:50 whatever you think ?

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭boombang

Insurance assessors can work this out fairly quickly

I don't doubt that they can, but I'd be interested to know what techniques they use to achieve this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

Not anyway mechanical but as I understand it if the car was stopped and it's a modern car the black box recorder if installed and active should be able to support your claim. So check with the main dealer or brand HQ on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭flatty

From a relatively slow head on with both cars moved? Doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭bmc58

This photo bears no resemblance to the instance described by the poster.This road is clearly a bridge over a river.What has this to to with the incident?Or were you trying to be smart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Odelay

It's not 21 seats wide.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

currently in the middle of an on-going saga over this issue. Other driver admits fault at scene etc, parent arrives and story changes. Insurance company just rule 50/50 if no witnesses. Claim off their insurance and move on. That's what the other party will be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

I nearly fell off my chair when I saw this, is it a serious post or an attempt at trolling? "Even on rural roads there is space for 2 cars". In your life with over 17,000 posts you have never seen a place only 1 car can pass? There are rural roads where one single medium-sized can scarcely get through it without going into the ditch nevermind two, and I'm talking about 10 miles outside the city not the middle of nowhere in kerry. In the outskirts of cork city there are plenty of roads where only one car can get through and the other side has to wait every single time they go into the city. Apologies if it was just a misjudgement on your part, but I have to take a while to recover for that, could there really be someone who has never seen that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Turbohymac

As of Seamus previous post contact your insurance company asap. Also it was good that gardai were present..did they give any indication as to person at fault... don't mind what type of banger the other driver was driving main issue is who's to blame. Or is it 50/50 either way your damage will be paid by one of the 2 insurance companies but if it's yours well that won't be good for your next renewal .. nobody hurt. Cars are only tin take care oh and the newer vehicles are only plastic damage may only be minor looks are deceptive.. if its badly damaged then airbags would have gone off

Maybe you can avoid the insurance company. Get a quote from your local panelbeater. Maybe as previous poster said, the damage might not be too expensive to repair. Pay for the damage if not too much. Ask your neighbour to get her own car repaired herself. Thus you both can remain neighbours, even though she was in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Maybe you can avoid the insurance company. Get a quote from your local panelbeater. Maybe as previous poster said, the damage might not be too expensive to repair. Pay for the damage if not too much. Ask your neighbour to get her own car repaired herself. Thus you both can remain neighbours, even though she was in the wrong.

Why are you all believing this woman's story straightaway? You don't think there might be another side to it? Like the other driver is going to keep going like a game of chicken and not bother braking, does that make sense? :confused:

Once I saw a woman passing out a line of cars on her way towards me (coming over to my side of the road to do so) and it would have cause me to brake abruptly. So instead of doing that I thought I'd keep going, she should also have to brake. And we both kept going until we had to brake sharply to avoid collision and were very close to hitting each other by the time we had both stopped. Just because this lady says that the other woman was in the wrong don't make it so lol.

boombang wrote: »
    I don't doubt that they can, but I'd be interested to know what techniques they use to achieve this.

Fairly simple by analyzing the impact marks and the direction of damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Wow thanks for the flurry of replies!

The guards were called, insurance details swapped etc.

When the other driver got out of the car she was very upset and kept apologizing but once her mother arrived on the scene, the story changed.

My insurance company wanted to know if I was going to claim that she was at fault and if so, I would have to put a claim through her insurance company myself.

Her little Megane mangled your SUV?