Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SSE Airtricity Dublin Half Marathon 22 Sep

• 03-09-2018 9:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭

Does anyone have a profile/elevation of the 1/2 marathon course in the park?
    Web site just has the route map.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Is it not a new route?

This might have some of it but it is from the 2011 HM:

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/115053200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

aquinn wrote: »

Is it not a new route?

This might have some of it but it is from the 2011 HM:

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/115053200

Cheers, the route is a little different, but this has most of the highlights.
    This profile looks a lot tamer than I remember...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Izoard wrote: »
    Cheers, the route is a little different, but this has most of the highlights.
    This profile looks a lot tamer than I remember...;)

Yeh, that's not it. It's the same route as two years ago, here's my Strava for it: https://www.strava.com/activities/722978742/overview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Singer wrote: »
    Yeh, that's not it. It's the same route as two years ago, here's my Strava for it: https://www.strava.com/activities/722978742/overview

Thanks - that's the one.
    Nice running, BTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,543 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Looks like a decent enough uphill for the last mile, good to know, thanks.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Corbally

Are transfers allowed? I have a friend that left it too late to sign up. If they are allowed does anyone have number they want to part with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Corbally wrote: »
    Are transfers allowed? I have a friend that left it too late to sign up. If they are allowed does anyone have number they want to part with?

not allowed for the marathon or the race series

RayCun wrote: »
    not allowed for the marathon or the race series

No idea. My buddy tried to enter today as far as I know ans he said it was sold out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭colin32

Sold out end of last week. Was going to sign up for it myself, as wasn't expecting it to sell out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Running Fool

Nuts, didn't expect it to sell out either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭frash

when do they post out the numbers?

thought I had it by now in previous years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 G1raff3

They will be posted 10 days in advance so should get them next week.

G1raff3 wrote: »
    They will be posted 10 days in advance so should get them next week.

Thanks - it arrived yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭muloc

got mine too.

what's the craic with parking in the park on race day? Haven't raced in the park in near 10 years when these events were a lot smaller.

I used to go in ashtown gate and park on the grass on the left of north road. easy in/out.

is this still ok to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭SeeMoreBut

muloc wrote: »
    got mine too.

what's the craic with parking in the park on race day? Haven't raced in the park in near 10 years when these events were a lot smaller.

I used to go in ashtown gate and park on the grass on the left of north road. easy in/out.

is this still ok to do?

Last time I did one you still could.

2 years ago so guess it is still ok unless it was a mud bath and they probably not

SeeMoreBut wrote: »
    Last time I did one you still could.

2 years ago so guess it is still ok unless it was a mud bath and they probably not

should be ok so. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭charkee

if you get into the park at least 90mins ahead parking should be ok

Number swapping is against the rules of the race.

Yet we all know it happens

colin32 wrote: »

Also against the forum charter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

colin32 wrote:

Yep and here isn't the place to come looking

Yawn. Put your handbags away lads

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Embarrassed to say how long I had to look at the medal to realise the animal was not some type of whale... :o

https://twitter.com/dublinmarathon/status/1040987360840900608

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Embarrassed to say how long I had to look at the medal to realise the animal was not some type of whale... :o
    What is it meant to be? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

Squirrel

juke wrote: »
    Squirrel

Ahhhh, now I see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

colin32 wrote: »
    Also against the forum charter
    Yep and here isn't the place to come looking

CMod note:

If you swap / sell numbers and end up needing medical attention on the course then you are risking your own life and the job of the medical person who treats you. That is why it is not allowed.
    TBH the mods here are being more than lenient in just deleting the posts. I may not be if I see it in future.

Please to continue to report any time you see it, thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Yeah, I thought it was a whale as well ...

charkee wrote: »
    if you get into the park at least 90mins ahead parking should be ok

really - that early? was planning on getting there about 9 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

In exciting race news, the course has changed due to Farmleigh being used for official state business. The changes are using Whites Road instead of going through Farmleigh and then taking a shortcut around the 11 mile mark by using the road in front of the American Ambassador’s Residence. Maybe a bit more climbing as a result?

half-whites-road.jpg

The previous route (used in 2016 and maybe other times before) was here:

Half-Marathon-2018.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭healy1835

In exciting race news, the course has changed due to Farmleigh being used for official state business. The changes are using Whites Road instead of going through Farmleigh and then taking a shortcut around the 11 mile mark by using the road in front of the American Ambassador’s Residence. Maybe a bit more climbing as a result?

half-whites-road.jpg

Half-Marathon-2018.jpg

Yeah decent climb alright,about a km from gate to the top of whites road (17m), but you get it back in the next km back down to the Park (-20m)......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Lets hope this goes away before the weekend too!! Telling folks to stay out of the park today, and Zoo closed!

http://www.thejournal.ie/zoo-phoenix-park-closed-4243998-Sep2018/?utm_source=twitter_short

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭ooter

Yeah it's a half mile from the gate to the top of the hill, tough oul climb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭niallo32

Anyone know how secure the bike parking is in the designated area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

half-whites-road.jpg

Half-Marathon-2018.jpg

Maybe I’m missing something but it looks to me that going out the back of Farmleigh is longer than going through it but the start & finish are the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Maybe I’m missing something but it looks to me that going out the back of Farmleigh is longer than going through it but the start & finish are the same?

You don’t go as far down chesterfield avenue at mile 10-11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

Van.Bosch wrote: »

They've changed the route slightly between mile 10-11, by the ambassadors residence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Trampas wrote: »
    You don’t go as far down chesterfield avenue at mile 10-11

Cheers - I see it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

Do the blue cups and bottles on the map meant to indicate whether it will be cups or bottles at the relevant water stops? i.e. two of each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭SeeMoreBut

bottles 3 and 9 miles, cups at 5.5 and 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭S_D

Can anyone advise on parking, I have not a clue where to try and park as I dont know the area well :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

S_D wrote: »
    Can anyone advise on parking, I have not a clue where to try and park as I dont know the area well :(

If you're getting there early, apparently parking in the park is relatively easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Pink11 wrote: »
    If you're getting there early, apparently parking in the park is relatively easy.

I'm not sure about that, the people who predicted the numbers for the Pope's visit were saying earlier they're expecting about a million people in the park tomorrow;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

Does anyone know where the bicycle parking will be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭healy1835

I could be wrong here but isn't it usually near the information tent on Furze Road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Going to miss tomorrow now. A heavy dose in the week, it has improved since but not enough. So the rest is best for me. Best of luck to all running, hope ye all get around safe. Looking forward to the reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

Nyone got an elevation map for this? I don't have strava unfortunately. Or at least tell me where I should be taking it handy

Thank you v much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭dorado99

Is there a storage area for bags? And how do I attach by runner number I got in the post? First time doing a run.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Bananaleaf wrote: »
    Nyone got an elevation map for this? I don't have strava unfortunately. Or at least tell me where I should be taking it handy

Thank you v much

Singer posted one near the start of the thread. It's not the exact route because of the deviation at Farmleigh but it's close enough.

dorado99 wrote: »
    Is there a storage area for bags? And how do I attach by runner number I got in the post? First time doing a run.

The info book mentions safety pins available at information desk near the start line.
    There is a baggar area, you need the baggage tag which is at the bottom of your race number.

Good luck all.