Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So my girlfriend told me last night "it's over and we won't be going on Holiday " 4

• 28-08-2018 12:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭

Hello. I contacted the holiday group, they said they could only refund €120 of the €600.00 I paid . Do I have any chance of getting more money back?? Hurts too get two kicks into the balls in one day .... I'm not interested in going or bringing anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭AvonEnniskerry

That doesn't seem incorrect as flights are non refundable and taking into account a deposit. Maybe try and sell the package deal on adverts etc but you'll need to leave room for people to have availability on the specified dates and also for name changes on flight tickets which cost approximately 100 pp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Thelostcountry

I may suck it up so.
    That doesn't seem incorrect as flights are non refundable and taking into account a deposit. Maybe try and sell the package deal on adverts etc but you'll need to leave room for people to have availability on the specified dates and also for name changes on flight tickets which cost approximately 100 pp.

Go on holiday. If you can make a change name, bring a friend

No interest now.....
    Go on holiday. If you can make a change name, bring a friend

Personally I'd go. Bring a friend. With a few small changes the hotel should be able to accommodate. It's a sh!t situation but a holiday might be just what you need now.

I assume there was no travel insurance paid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Hello. I contacted the holiday group, they said they could only refund €120 of the €600.00 I paid . Do I have any chance of getting more money back?? Hurts too get two kicks into the balls in one day .... I'm not interested in going or bringing anyone else.

I'm sorry this happened to you :(

I hope you go and that you hold your head high as you do it. You never know what fate has in store.

Plus, not sure what happened but why let your ex think she is causing you a minutes pain? The best move would be make use of the opportunity and since it seems like you won't get the money back anyhow--why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

Tell your ex she has to stump her up half of the money you are losing.

Thanks Guys ,I guess I don't really care about the money .... just sickened Tbh. I've applied for cancellation .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Bring her sister instead.

Cape Clear wrote: »
    Bring her sister instead.

Haha fair play made me laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Life is too short, go on your own. Karma will come around and it could happen on the holiday. Use it as a trip to clear your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Go anyway, you'll get **** all back for the cancellation, might as well go and sulk somewhere interesting that sitting at home that week thinking where you would have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

I assume there was no travel insurance paid?

Travel insurance surely wouldn't pay out on this? He is still able to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Reati wrote: »
    Travel insurance surely wouldn't pay out on this? He is still able to go.
    is right
    Travel insurance insures you against things like ill health of yourself or one of the party.

It doesnt unsure against you just deciding you cannot be arsed going.

No insurance paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,036 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

hots wrote: »
    Go anyway, you'll get **** all back for the cancellation, might as well go and sulk somewhere interesting that sitting at home that week thinking where you would have been.
    This, all day long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I would say when you’re over the break up your biggest regret would be not going on this holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

Have to agree with everyone else here. It's a really crappy situation to find yourself and I could understand wanting to just drop the whole thing under the circumstances but I'd seriously considering inviting a good friend along instead and try using it as an opportunity to clear your head and just have a good time and make the best of it. You might meet some great people over there and share stories etc and might give you some fresh perspectives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

You should definitely go ! Everything happens for a reason , this was meant to be . Go for it . If your gonna lose out on your money then don't lose out on the holiday as well .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

You've 3 choices.

Go, by the time the holiday comes around you'll probably change your mind and actually want to go.

Or sell the holiday as a package for an amount that gets you back at least half your money but looks like a good deal to someone else. €350- €400 and let them know they have to change flights. Possibly 30/40 euro each way

Or be sickened about losing €600 for months on end.

All in all, I think you'll seriously regret it closer to the time if you don't go. How far is it away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Thanks Guys ,I guess I don't really care about the money .... just sickened Tbh. I've applied for cancellation .....

If you don’t care about the money you wouldn’t have created this thread.

Man - go on hols.- it will be good for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

Do she pay anything towards it? If she did, go on the holiday and enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,726 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I honestly say go.

Its one of those things where you won't be happy you did until you are there and you'll regret you didn't the second you miss those flights

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

I was in a similar situation myself, went on holidays and had a nice time to reflect on why I'm better off being single.

Sorry to hear your situation but I see most of the advice is go on holidays by yourself....

Wishing you luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Singer73

Go. Get someone to dress like her. Take lots of fun, in love photos. Post everything on social media. Not weird at all!,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Bring her Mom, Stacy's Mom has got it going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

OP, I hope you haven’t cancelled it yet. If it’s paid for and I presume you’ve the time booked off work, you’d be mad not to go.
    Bring someone else, or go on your own.
    It will probably do you the world of good :)
    Yes, maybe you’ll feel a bit sh1tty about going at first, but a few days in of sunshine and the sheer escape away from everything will be good for you.
    I presume it’s a sun holiday, just go OP... I hate the change of weather the last few weeks, get away and chill out and relax yourself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

No don’t cancel. Not a similar situation to yours, but my hubbies 2 mates had booked a big FO holiday to Las Vegas a good few years back. The guy who had been there previously, pulled out of the trip at the last minute even though he was the one that had convinced his other mate to come. To make a long story short the mate who was let down went anyhow and had a complete ball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

op - I would echo the other posters; if you cancel, you are only getting €120 back. You may as well wait for a week and see how you feel about going then; even if you still feel the same way, you can get your money back then. Better to be down €600 and have a nice holiday (at the very least, a funny story to tell) then to be down €480 with nothing to show for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

A bit nosey, but why is it over with the girlfriend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭appledrop

This happened to me a long time ago. Back in the day of package holidays + I was a student with not much money. Couldn't afford to lose the money so my friend came with me. We did have to pay some money for changing name but not too much.

I'll be honest it was hard at times but in the end we had a good time + glad I went.

I really appreciate everyone's replies...... it's over tho , so I be just over there thinking .... God imagine she was here ...... pretty sad I know . Life's a Bitch and then you Died.

Don't really want too talk about why we split up.

I made for holiday out of my pocket

Yes a sun holiday it was.

Sorry if I didn't reply to all questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Throw your holiday details up here then, somebody might give you something for them if it suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭gobo99

.... so I be just over there thinking .... God imagine she was here ...... pretty sad I know

Sad part is you'll be sitting at home thinking the same thing.
    Stop feeling sorry for yourself and goon the holiday. If ever there was a silver lining this holiday is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

gobo99 wrote: »
    Sad part is you'll be sitting at home thinking the same thing.
    Stop feeling sorry for yourself and goon the holiday. If ever there was a silver lining this holiday is it.

This post is spot on.

Stop with the poor me self pity nonsense, there's an endless supply of women out there looking for love, just because this one doesn't want you doesn't mean you'll be alone forever.

Go on the bloody holiday, get sh#t faced drunk, tell random strangers the full story when drunk, go visit a brothel or two, what ever.... Just bloody go, if you stay at home then SHE WINS.

DON'T FORGET THAT!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

Op you can be miserable anywhere so if you have the option to be miserable abroad take it, worst case scenario you spend a week alone chilling in your hotel watching movies and processing it, best case you have a blast. In either case she will be thinking I can't believe he went without me so that's a win. Alternatively you stay here waste your time off work and mope! It's a no brainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭flatty

My wife went on honeymoon with her pal when her pals husband to be pulled out of the wedding at five days notice (before we met)
    They had a great time. Go on holidays.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Wouldn't it be some craic if ye both turned up at the airport with a friend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

Yes,go.
    At the very least a change of scene/change of routine will distract you.Might be exactly what you need.
    Hope it's somewhere nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭.G.

Go on the holiday. There'll be loads of women to take your mind of the one who no longer matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

Op. like someone else said, dont cancel yet. You will feel differently in a week or so. my friend called off her wedding when she found out her fiancee cheated. It was only about a month before it. Her sister almost had to drag her on a plane the week she should have been getting married. She was still brokenhearted...but broken hearted but in a beautiful place with beautiful weather. She never regretted going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭MissGriff

Absolutely agree with everyone here...go on the holiday!
    You say you'll just sit around thinking about her and the situation......buttttt......nothing there will be a reminder of her.
    You can have a bit of a break from it. Might not feel so intense.
    Like after a break up you go to your favourite pub or coffee shop with the fear.....the fear she'll walk in and all that crap.
    Yea,it's hard and will be a bit weird at first....but honestly I think you will regret it if you don't.
    I went on hols on my own a good few years ago.....best thing I ever did.
    Learnt an awful lot about myself, came back a new woman. Was about 5 months out of a long relationship....not as fresh as you, but still, it can be done!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Soft inda Head

I had a breakup just before a holiday years ago. Went alone but upgraded to a 5* - chilled out for a week. Took my mind off the breakup. It was the only time I ever went away alone, but I'm glad I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

Look on the bright side,at least she didn't break up with you 20 mins into the 4.5 hour flight to the start of your 2 week holiday,as I cracked open my first little can of beer and each milliliter progressively tasted worse along with each word that came out of her mouth.

But I moved on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Iodine1

Go! This is the best time to go, especially if you go on your own. You will have the chance to do what YOU want and try different things, meals and so on. People on their own inevitably meet people to go around with on holidays. Why? Simply they end up talking to loads of different people because they are not wrapped up in each other. So do not waste this massive opportunity. Go you will enjoy and certainly you will not regret it. Good luck and best wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭adam88

Got stood up on a holiday once at the airport, was nearly ready to just go home but went away all by myself. Best week I ever put down. Met two people that would later become two of my best friends. If worse comes to the worse you’ll have a tan and a banging hangover. Just go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭thefa

Few years back, I had a flights booked with my girlfriend at the time for 4 days in Europe but I was the one that ended it about a month in advance and went alone after some hesitation. Had the advantage of not having accommodation booked so picked up a decent hostel rather than being isolated in a hotel room so found people to explore and have a few drinks with. Presume you have a hotel booked through the travel agent so would be great if you could get a mate.

Even though I was the one who ended it there was some low moments where I inevitability started thinking of what was and of previous holidays I had been on with my ex but that’s all part of the healing process and, as has been pointed out, might as well have that time abroad with some distractions.

Also, you never know how you’ll be feeling at the time. Might be a good chance to enjoy being single if you’re heads in the right place.

God,so many great replies . Unfortunately I got an email saying ..... Refund will be issued in next 5 Days. I may have been heasty and I Just fooked myself ...... spilt milk and all that.

Jesus I really did fook myself , you guys are right of course I'm going to feel different in 4 weeks