Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE's coverage of the pope's visit

• 25-08-2018 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭

I am surprised know one here has started a thread on this already, I do know that there is several threads on it in various forums.

But I am hoping we could talk, express our views and chat about the general coverage of the popes visit that is shown on the television.

I don't want this thread to descend into a debate about whether he should be here or not or any other religious type debate.

Just a bit of craic and opinions on the event as seen on tv, kinda like the late late show threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Dublin looked great from the air during the motorcade to the Aras.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

The audio mix from the pope speaking Italian and the translator was terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

It was looking well.

Is the exodus to the Phoenix park on now and then tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Thought SnB was poor on her commentary this morning- lots of uhs and ahs, UoH was much better at that sort of thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Try_harder wrote: »
    Thought SnB was poor on her commentary this morning- lots of uhs and ahs, UoH was much better at that sort of thing

Yeah she seemed very unprepared or as someone said to me looks like she might be unwell.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

Sharon was woeful, she seemed to be filling silences with complete nonsense. She said at one time that the pope is taking a great interest in the harpist, when in fact he was walking straight past it only for the Taoiseach to point the harpist out to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Kat1170

^^^

She thinks leo is the pope :)

He looks a tired man

Bryan Dobson doing much better

Dobo knows his stuff

Sineaid is definitely a teacher

Very disappointing to hear the pope speak in Italian in his opening speech with the Taoiseach. He spoke in English in the US Congress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Sorry I was following a thread over in after hours.

Thats a bit dead too.

The turnout is poor imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

I don't want to derail the conversation, but I noted that much of the news coverage on Morning Ireland in the previous two weeks has been on abuse scandal issues. I usually think RTE is too gutless to take tough issues on, but I was impressed they didn't shrink from that.

A bit of lighthearted humor there from him.

Is the pheonix park tonight or tomorrow

Tomorrow

Croke park tonight

This looks to be a speech that he wrote.

Hefty enough crowd out now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Icsics

I don't think I've ever seen so many Gardai

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Dublin looks brilliant, I'd love to do a pub crawl of Dublin with the guy who was giving the history of different parts of Dublin there, he sounded very passionate about Dublin and his history.

Clareman wrote: »
    Dublin looks brilliant, I'd love to do a pub crawl of Dublin with the guy who was giving the history of different parts of Dublin there, he sounded very passionate about Dublin and his history.

That guy was great. I just turned on to RTE by accident but he kept me watching! Do you know who he is/if he runs guided tours?

I liked that approach taken by rte! History of streets

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Cali_girl wrote: »
    That guy was great. I just turned on to RTE by accident but he kept me watching! Do you know who he is/if he runs guided tours?

I just spotted this thread and said I'd turn on the coverage, don't have a clue who he is, sorry.

amdublin wrote: »
    I liked that approach taken by rte! History of streets

Sometimes it's great being a tourist in your own country.

That couple from Northern Ireland both have braces on their teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,036 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

That was the weirdest segment I've seen all day so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

That is generally where they go!

Not always

yhst-20066731852986_2271_8108651

Hahahaha, smart arse

I think they were more veneers??

They were like a stepford couple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Miriam would test the patience of a saint or for the day thats in it The Pope.

Her voice is ****ing maddening .

The fella talking about the history of the streets was brilliant, that dude deserves his own show.

amdublin wrote: »
    I think they were more veneers??

They were like a stepford couple

Wow I thought that too, no nerves, very well spoken, they must be involved in a big way in talking to lots of people

Joe little knows his stuff, his a good journalist

Stupid questions from Miriam.......what happened when the pope went in,....... we all no wat feckin happened we saw him on the Telly ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 KKGirlatheart

yabadabado wrote:

Haha totally agree, screeching away to her hearts content 🙉

Wow brave words from that priest

The audio mix from the pope speaking Italian and the translator was terrible.

Yes, very hard to focus on the message he was giving

I think there was a lot of feedback coming through- like when you hear your own voice coming back at you on some telephone calls - I could hear echo coming through at so,e points in the broadcast

I’m looking forward to this croke park thing, except the country and music ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

yabadabado wrote: »

I'm not watching, but I hope for once in her life she has dressed appropriately for the occasion....and for her age.

Some of those interviews to the public makes me vomit a bit in my mouth, I won’t mention which ones

I love that David Brophy guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Just tuning in again now,didn't get to see the afternoon part.I watched all of the arrival,the Aras,and Dublin Castle.Great coverage by RTE,apart from Sharon Ni Bheolain who was awful in her presentation.
    Leo Varadkar was very impressive during his speech.

Whose David brophy

Just watching some of the highlights of today, I wouldn't normally be a fan of politicians but I thought Leo's speech was excellent, he covered all the points, all the topics and was respectful. I was particularly taken aback by the acknowledgement that when the state was founded that the church looked after an awful lot of aspects of the running of the state at a time when we wouldn't have been able to.

Whose David brophy

Hes the musical director in the

He did the high hopes choir and tv program

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Dublin looks lovely in the late summer sun with the crowds out cheering and waving. Does M O’Callaghan ever actually go home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Has the setlist been leaked yet?

Leo was the one thing I missed today. Grrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

The Saturday Game panel look different.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Am I the only one expecting Spillane, Brolly and O'Rourke to show up in studio and say that the Pope's visit in 1979 was better.