Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motors @ Midway - Sunday 16th September 2018

• 23-08-2018 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭

It's that time again. Break out the polish and hoovers, fill your tyres and tanks, and fortify your stomach for the worlds crappiest sandwiches. It's the Motors Midway Meet.

When: Sunday September 16th @ 12pm
    Where: Midway Food Court Portlaoise, M7 Exit 17
    Who: You?

1. MetzgerMeister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Eric Cartman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Eric Cartman
    3. James Bond Junior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

How far is this for ye fellas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Very, very far away :pac:

Supergurrier often comes to these from Galway. He has been known to go to ones in Cork too!

Shur the 330 could do with a good blast along the motorway, couldn't it?! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

In like flynn.

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Eric Cartman
    3. James Bond Junior
    4. Foxhole Norman
    vintagevrs wrote: »
    How far is this for ye fellas?

Guts of 1.5hrs for me each way anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Eric Cartman
    3. James Bond Junior
    4. Foxhole Norman
    5. Voodoomelon

1hr 45 for me.

Ye are dedicated. Almost 4 hours each way here.... I'm out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Wouldn't have minded tipping along to this but I will be flying to spain at that time.
    Pity. Maybe next time, if there is one! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Ye are dedicated. Almost 4 hours each way here.... I'm out

I didn't think any point in Ireland would be four hours to the midlands. Is it Malin head or Mizen head you'd be travelling from? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Eric Cartman
    3. James Bond Junior
    4. Foxhole Norman
    5. Voodoomelon
    6. Gavman84

I should be able to make this too.

Yeah well I'm up in the NW. It's almost 5 hours from Malin.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I didn't think any point in Ireland would be four hours to the midlands. Is it Malin head or Mizen head you'd be travelling from? :eek:
    Maybe he's going from Cork via Belfast :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

In Spain that weekend on holidays. Unfortunately :p. Hope its a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

ELM327 wrote: »
    Wouldn't have minded tipping along to this but I will be flying to spain at that time.
    Pity. Maybe next time, if there is one! :P
    Interslice wrote: »
    In Spain that weekend on holidays. Unfortunately :p. Hope its a good one.

You could at least come up with an original excuse :p

Unfortunately it's Leinster Trophy weekend in Mondello that weekend so I'm out.

Quazzie wrote: »

That's Mondello, Spain yeah? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

I will do my best to pop along.
    It has being to long.

Do they still have the pink muffins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Eric Cartman
    3. James Bond Junior
    4. Foxhole Norman
    5. Voodoomelon
    6. Gavman84
    7. captainspeed

coolisin wrote: »
    It has being to long.

OSI wrote: »
    Woah! You can't call them that anymore.
    The any colour is acceptable and perfectly valid food consumnable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Quazzie wrote: »
    You could at least come up with an original excuse :p

I'll send pics of the Fiat fiorini... sitting in a nice warm sunny car park and a freshly made sambo :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

I'll be on the other side of the Atlantic so I won't be around, I think... A bit further than the usual 60 miles from the coop to port lousy, one tank won't do it!

Have fun and I'll see you about the next one

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Eric Cartman
    3. James Bond Junior
    4. Foxhole Norman
    5. Voodoomelon
    6. Gavman84
    7. captainspeed
    8. ELM327

coolisin wrote: »
    It has being to long.

2012 meet:

2012-03-24172947.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I have holidays until 10th. :( No way work will give me weekend off after holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Haven't met anyone on here that I know of, so perfect chance to do so. Have been away in the past but will make it this time.

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Eric Cartman
    3. James Bond Junior
    4. Foxhole Norman
    5. Voodoomelon
    6. Gavman84
    7. captainspeed
    8. ELM327
    9. Kevin Irving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I'll finally make a boards motors meet!

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Eric Cartman
    3. James Bond Junior
    4. Foxhole Norman
    5. Voodoomelon
    6. Gavman84
    7. captainspeed
    8. ELM327
    9. Kevin Irving
    10. Dr Turk Turkelton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

No way im driving from galway in the Avensis, no fecking way lol.

Have fun

Have fun

DO IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Have fun

The power of Padre Pio compels you.

1. MetzgerMeister
    2. Eric Cartman
    3. James Bond Junior
    4. Foxhole Norman
    5. Voodoomelon
    6. Gavman84
    7. captainspeed
    8. ELM327
    9. Kevin Irving
    10. Dr Turk Turkelton
    11. GustavoFring

I hate to be the one to bring it up but...

If its a small group and turns out 95%+ are coming from the east, is there any scope of moving it closer to Dublin?

I hate to be the one to bring it up but...

If its a small group and turns out 95%+ are coming from the east, is there any scope of moving it closer to Dublin?

At the moment there's 4 of us coming from Cork/Limerick of that list.

OSI wrote: »
    Not gonna happen I'm afraid. There can't be any ambiguity about locations or people won't bother committing and the turnout will be very poor.

Sound, good to hear there's other coming from all over, that's fair so. :)

I know one or two lads from E36 groups I know might come. Others not so much.. I will throw it up over in BMWhaus too, some people might be interested.

As a matter of interest what's everyone planning on driving?
    If the weather is good I'm going to bring the Crx and if it's wet i was going to bring the Range Rover.

The others can add the ones I can't think of :pac:

1. MetzgerMeister - F30 330D
    2. Eric Cartman - Range Rover/735i?
    3. James Bond Junior - E36 323i
    4. Foxhole Norman - E39 540i
    5. Voodoomelon - E65 740i
    6. Gavman84 - Ford Focus ST
    7. captainspeed - E46 325i
    8. ELM327 -?
    9. Kevin Irving -?
    10. Dr Turk Turkelton - Range Rover/CRX
    11. GustavoFring - F30 330D Touring

Can't wait to see your car Foxhole Norman.
    By the looks of it I shouldn't have got rid of the e60, I'm gonna be out of place surrounded by Bmw's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

E300 Hybrid Estate here.

Almost completed tinting the rear windows myself, since I couldn't justify paying someone €250 for a nicety. (Although I do think it's about fair given the work involved)

I'll let yee be the judge of the quality!

8. ELM327 -?
    9. Kevin Irving - E300 Hybrid Estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Looks like a bmw meet, not a boards.ie! :pac:

I'll take my coat.

Can't wait to see your car Foxhole Norman.
    By the looks of it I shouldn't have got rid of the e60, I'm gonna be out of place surrounded by Bmw's!

Be prepared for rust, heaps of stone chips, kerbed wheels and dodgy swirly paint :pac:

You’d want to get your act together :P

There's not enough time in the week for me to sort my own car unfortunately :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Mk3jetta

MOD: Please don't post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Mk3jetta

Last warning. Post again and it will be a 24hr ban

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 Tom Hardly

8. ELM327 -?
    9. Kevin Irving -?
    12. TomHardly - BMW E92 330i

Somebody say BMW meet? I'll be back in Ireland then and new on here but hopefully i might fit in and be accepted!

Some lovely sounding cars attending already

Would have loved to make this but taking the GTI to France for 2 weeks.
    Hitting the Napoleon route from Cannes to Annecy :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 4pothero

8. ELM327 -?
    9. Kevin Irving -?
    12. TomHardly - BMW E92 330i
    13. 4pothero - E36 318is

Hi guys, lost my details of my old account (considering I opened that email account moons ago and have not a clue on how to recover it)

Anyways, I should have my yoke fixed by then.
    Looking forward to making your acquaintance :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I done this earlier in the summer (well just the Verdon Gorge part of it) and it's amazing. It's my 4th year in a row to do it and it takes my breath away more every time.

Enjoy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 Tom Hardly

I did that a few years ago, think I went from Grenoble though can't quite remember, it's stunning though you'll love it.

Sweet,
    cant wait!
    Hopefully I'll make the next midway meet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Does the meet have a PM yet?

I too would like to see an official agenda before decisioning on attendance.

Currache wrote: »
    This sounds interesting. What would the agenda be for the meet?

Park up, admire cars, chat about cars pretty much.