Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

President Michael D Higgins’ €3,000 a night hotel stays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Does he need to be travelling abroad so often?

The only time I hear about the fella is when he's off visiting someplace..

You surely don't expect him to sit around in his 95-room mansion in the Phoenix Park when he could be racking up €28k in hotel bills for a 24-day holiday in Australia.

At least Michael D can say that he spent 14 years of his life living like a EuroMillions winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

At least Michael D can say that he spent 14 years of his life living like a EuroMillions winner.

He didn't even buy the ticket.....

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    He didn't even buy the ticket.....

We are the ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

He didn't choose to stay there. It's the decision of the department.
    It may have been the cheapest/ only room available for the trip.
    He actually has no say in the matter.

It's a non story really but it's bad optics and that's what's important in the battle for the White House!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

Why are the public paying for this clown to go to some Labour meeting anyway? Is this an important function of the President?

It's a non story really but it's bad optics and that's what's important in the battle for the White House!

Did you read the article or just jump in with a stupid comment? Caughwell is not running for the Aras, the body of the article is about the lack of transparency in the spend of the office of the president.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

RobertKK wrote: »
    https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/ras-silence-on-claims-higgins-stayed-in-3000anight-hotel-37198861.html

I know some people worship the ground the man walks on and mistakenly thinks he does a good job representing us as a nation.
    But as a nation with a homeless problem, waiting lists to have health conditions treated now at the 1 million mark and many other issues that need dealing with, it looks like our President and the Department of Foreign Affairs have lost the run of themselves when they waste so much money on luxury hotels and this carry on doesn’t represent us a nation.
    It is nothing more than abuse of the system for personal gain. There is no need for taxpayers money to be wasted like this. It shows if one has some power or status in society it is there to be abused. Time for change...

He stayed in a hotel where the rooms can cost up to 3000 a night...
    The cur ;)
    Instead, the President's Office said: "Foreign travel by the President is made with the approval of the Government. Arrangements for the President's travel and accommodation are made by the Department of Foreign Affairs and the host country."

He should have stayed in a hostel the blaggard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

His permanently simpering missus (who travels everywhere with him to keep an eye on him) is addicted to duty free cigars.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,460 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

What maybe 10% and the taxpayer paying the rest?

Is he not a taxpayer himself?

Has it been established yet that the Irish taxpayer paid for this?

• Administrators Posts: 53,556 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

You surely don't expect him to sit around in his 95-room mansion in the Phoenix Park when he could be racking up €28k in hotel bills for a 24-day holiday in Australia.

You two realise that representing Ireland abroad is one of the main responsibilities of the president, right?

Having a go at the president for travelling is like having a go at a Guard for catching criminals.

"He's the president" doesn't excuse this wanton waste of taxpayers' money. You may think its defensible to spend €11k of taxpayers money transporting Higgins from Dublin to Kerry in a Learjet, when it's a mere three and a half hour drive for ordinary mortals. Many would not agree with you, though. €11k is roughly what someone on JSA gets over an entire year.

I'm happy to say that people should be allowed nice things, if they pay for them themselves. If Higgins wants to jet down to Kerry, or stay in luxury hotels in Geneva so that he can peddle his socialist rhetoric at a lefty conference, let him pay for these kinds of jaunts out of his own pocket.

Jockeys (bear with me) often take a helicopter from one meeting to another because the time between the 2 meetings does not afford them the time to drive/be driven. Did Higgins have an earlier enagement that meant driving/being driven was not an option?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The figures for Higgins's government jet usage are on record, and thus not "made-up." Regardless of the precise cost of his hotel room in Switzerland, it's clear that Higgins is more than happy to exploit the Irish taxpayer whenever he can get away with it, such as his Learjet flights from Dublin to Kerry.

It's that attitude that I'm objecting to more than anything else. If Higgins had any respect for the workers of Ireland, per his socialist shtick, he wouldn't be displaying such blatant disregard for the money the state takes out of their wages. He should be arguing against state displays of opulence rather than becoming the living embodiment of them. But by conspicuously living the high life at the taxpayer's expense, he's proved that he's nothing more than a champagne socialist who profits personally off the very forces (capitalism, globalization) that he flies around the world criticizing.
    Right, so no facts, just a grudge then.

Can you prove the use of the jet was unnecessary? Probably not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Its low class from the Senator with 3 pensions!

RobertKK wrote: »
    You can get rooms in the same 5 star hotel for less than €500. It is hardly squalor.

And he probably could have stayed in a hostel fir €50 a night, then we would have people on here complain abiut how he is letting the country down by staying somewhere so cheap.

One wonders how many would be moaning if it was anyone other than Michael D who had stayed in this hotel?

Turnipman wrote: »
    And the link to your exhaustive research that led you to that conclusion can be found where exactly?

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057899793/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

One wonders how many would be moaning if it was anyone other than Michael D who had stayed in this hotel?

Surely that would depend largely on who the "anyone other" was?

If it was you, for example, then I couldn't give a tinker's curse; but if it was someone in the well-remunerated Irish poverty industry then I'd be rather unhappy.

Turnipman wrote: »
    Surely that would depend largely on who the "anyone other" was?

If it was you, for example, then I couldn't give a tinker's curse; but if it was someone in the well-remunerated Irish poverty industry then I'd be rather unhappy.

I meant if it was anyone else as president, i think the (non) story here is the fact it was Michael D who stayed in a hotel where suites CAN COST (that's the important part by the way...CAN) up to 3k a night. If it was say Gerry Adams or Sean Gallagher i dont think the (faux) outrage would be so bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

He stayed in a hotel where the rooms can cost up to 3000 a night...
    The cur ;)

He should have stayed in a hostel the blaggard.

I find this attitude so difficult to understand.
    We are talking two months rent for the average family here frittered away in one night on a jaunt that will mean nothing to us as tax payers. We are talking salary for an extra nurse for a month or two that would see less people suffer on trolleys in A&E. I could go on!

Sure he may have knocked out a few verses of a poem somewhere but does it translate to anything meaningful in terms of encouraging investment or forging links of practical usel?
    I don't see that we can afford this level of high rolling our most eloquent intellectual around the world to muse on his pet topics to assembled audiences.

seamus wrote: »
    Can you prove the use of the jet was unnecessary? Probably not.

Jetting down to Kerry to attend a concert held to commemorate a late poet?

Sounds like a national emergency, all right. Not a second to waste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It irritates me that people act like there's nothing between a €100 Travel Lodge or an elite-tier 3K room.

There is a middle ground. Of course no-one expects the president of any country to stay in anything other than a good room in a 5 star hotel. However, does it have to be one that costs several thousand a night? It's an honest, valid question.

It really annoys me that the office of the president is not covered by the FOI act. That needs to change - doesn't strike me as very democratic that a token figurehead (however charming he may be) with no actual political power is essentially give a blank cheque book with no-one to answer to.

It's amusing to me that people are annoyed about the price of a one night stay in Switzerland.
    If you think about the amount of places & countries he has been to, the cost is massive!
    So getting your panties bunched up for one night seems stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

No, I didn't think you would provide any proof. "Burn the socialist!". Keep banging that drum, one day you'll get your libertarian dream where people die on the streets from preventable causes while you sneer at them for just not working hard enough.

seamus wrote: »
    No, I didn't think you would provide any proof. "Burn the socialist!". Keep banging that drum, one day you'll get your libertarian dream where people die on the streets from preventable causes while you sneer at them for just not working hard enough.

What a bunch of disconnected, histrionic nonsense.

We shouldn't go too hard on the guy, he needs a room paid for by tax-payers befitting his affected upper-class accent. For some reason this guy gets given the easiest ride ever by the media and the Irish public. He's never had to make any very difficult policy decisions. He used to speak out against the centre-right policy that was being implemented by Fine Gael (who I hate) that got the country back on (some sort of) track, all the while knowing (I would hope) that in the real world the socialist stuff he was espousing wouldn't fix things, all the while pocketing 5 grand a week before tax. He selfishly refused to state his intentions as to whether or not he would decide to run again, stalling others' campaigns from getting going. He bigs up socialist dictators. He even tried to run for the presidency in 2004 back when there was no appetite for a new president whatsoever among the public, showing that holding such a high-status, statesman-type position where you don't actually need to make tough decisions was something he has wanted for a long time. When he got elected in 2011, rather than cut his salary (then 325,000) below that of the Taoiseach who actually has to be judged day in day out on the state of the country, he cut it to 250,000, so that he'd be the highest paid politician. He didn't like it when he was made fun of by satirists throughout his presidency. He signed the deeply unpopular water charges bill into law, with the mealy-mouthed statement that he had given "careful consideration to all aspects of the Bill", when the little people were dead set against it.

There is a middle ground, as some poster said, between a "travel lodge" and 3 grand a night. Even 1 grand a night would have been disgusting but it would be understandable to some degree, considering the context. I know he didn't book his own room but the fact people are so willing to defend him shows how duped most people are by him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭davetherave

Curious what makes him better than any citizen

Article 12.1 of the Constitution.

There shall be a President of Ireland (Uachtarán na hÉireann), hereinafter called the President, who shall take precedence over all other persons in the State

Has it been established yet that the Irish taxpayer paid for this?

I'm happy to bet my next month's wages that the state ie the citizens picked up the tab.

I meant if it was anyone else as president, i think the (non) story here is the fact it was Michael D who stayed in a hotel where suites CAN COST (that's the important part by the way...CAN) up to 3k a night. If it was say Gerry Adams or Sean Gallagher i dont think the (faux) outrage would be so bad.

The article was also about the lack of transparency regarding the office of President.

There shall be a President of Ireland (Uachtarán na hÉireann), hereinafter called the President, who shall take precedence over all other persons in the State

Yeah that's taking priority. I asked what makes him better than other citizens. Surely the socialist that he proports to be would not assume he is better than his fellow citizen or has he changed since he got the gig?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

It seems to really upset you that you read somewhere that the President used a jet to fly to Kerry for a concert.

You need to let this go or you will stress yourself over it.

No one else really cares or believes that it actually cost what you claim it did.

What about the entrance fee to the concert, how much was that?

Did he pay?

Do you know?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I find this attitude so difficult to understand.
    We are talking two months rent for the average family here frittered away in one night on a jaunt that will mean nothing to us as tax payers. We are talking salary for an extra nurse for a month or two that would see less people suffer on trolleys in A&E. I could go on!

Sure he may have knocked out a few verses of a poem somewhere but does it translate to anything meaningful in terms of encouraging investment or forging links of practical usel?
    I don't see that we can afford this level of high rolling our most eloquent intellectual around the world to muse on his pet topics to assembled audiences.

Can you please explain how having the funds to pay a nurse for a month could ease the trolley crisis?

What a load of waffle.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.