Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Little Yappie Dogs no bigger than rats

• 05-08-2018 3:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭

What's the obsession with these horrible yokes?

I'm in a lovely park and all I can hear is these little aggressive ****s snarling and yapping away non-stop.

Absolute pain in the arse. I'd love to dropkick the one nearest to me into the fcuking lake. It's bimbo owner too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Allinall

I'm in a lovely park and all I can hear is these little aggressive ****s snarling and yapping away non-stop.

Absolute pain in the arse. I'd love to dropkick the one nearest to me into the fcuking lake. It's bimbo owner too.

I’ve never met anyone obsessed with these dogs, except for yourself, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭mags1962

Delivered papers as a kid and found these little rats to be the most sneaky too where as the big dogs would be all bark but these little fockers would sneak up behind you and nip your ankles. Frightened the sh1te out of me a few times and very hard to land a good boot on them also, evasive little runts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

mags1962 wrote: »
    Delivered papers as a kid and found these little rats to be the most sneaky too where as the big dogs would be all bark but these little fockers would sneak up behind you and nip your ankles. Frightened the sh1te out of me a few times and very hard to land a good boot on them also, evasive little runts.

Where I used to live the cockerel used to lie in wait for the postman and attack him... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Beautiful dogs. And scammy people who would dare life a foot/ hand to any animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Small man syndrome

Beautiful dogs. And scammy people who would dare life a foot/ hand to any animal.

What if one attacked a child ? I just know if a little ratty dog went for my grandchild I would use my boot on him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Great lad. Top stuff. I suggest you try that. :rolleyes:

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    What if one attacked a child ? I just know if a little ratty dog went for my grandchild I would use my boot on him

Hate that phrase...

Graces7 wrote: »
    Hate that phrase...

Really ? Well I don't as it matters to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Terriers were bred to be bastards. Can’t stand them.

Maybe you have tinnitus :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Small man syndrome

The OP ?

anewme wrote: »
    The OP ?

No the small yappy aggresive dogs

Personally, I'd defend my Chihuahua with everything I got against anyone attacking him.
    And you'd have a Wolfspitz hanging off our buttocks as well. And you'd be lucky to meet me. My wife, I could not even guess as to what she might do if anyone attacked her dogs.
    Thankfully the little guy loves kids and goes mad for them, in a good way. I've never seen a dog who goes that gaga over children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

Yeah I was actually totally serious about drop kicking one into the lake. :rolleyes:

On second thought, I'd just settle for the annoying owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Noveight wrote: »
    Terriers were bred to be bastards. Can’t stand them.

Nasty critters to other Animals as well.

Yeah I was actually totally serious about drop kicking one into the lake. :rolleyes:

On second thought, I'd just settle for the annoying owners.

Do you hang around the park shirtless drinking flagons of cider?

They say people are just like their pets. Small dogs prove it

Well, my Gizmo is a lovely dog. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

I'd be more inclined to think a small man (in mind and stature ) would be the one who would put the boot into a small dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,564 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

We have a GSD and can walk past other big dogs such as huskies, rottweilers, etc no problem but those little feckers always make a go for our guy, despite the huge height and weight difference.

I think the little ****s should be muzzled as well, they are vicious, sneaky feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

We have a GSD and can walk past other big dogs such as huskies, rottweilers, etc no problem but those little feckers always make a go for our guy, despite the huge height and weight difference.

I think the little ****s should be muzzled as well, they are vicious, sneaky feckers.

our little bollix of a shihtzuh used to do that and get bigger dogs to chase him.

Then he'd hide in between the front paws of his best buddy our massive Newfoundland which usually put an end to any kind of pursuit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

If an animal is trying to bite me I'm going to defend myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

If you don't like noise maybe parks aren't for you. Take a walk somewhere quieter. Good luck finding somewhere where there are absolutely no living beings around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

My sisters is a little toe rag. Yip yip yip everytime some comes near the house. no discipline.

His little face though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'd love to dropkick the one nearest to me into the fcuking lake. It's bimbo owner too.
    Do you even know how a dropkick works?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

Small man syndrome

No, it’s the people who cause this by forgetting their ‘fur baby’ is a dog.

khaldrogo wrote: »
    If an animal is trying to bite me I'm going to defend myself.

You're far more likely to be attacked by a person than a dog.
    Humans are the fcukers you really want to watch out for. Dogs don't worry me in the least.
    Of course if you have a hostile attitude towards dogs, they can sense that.
    So if you find that different dogs react hostile towards you, the problem could be your attitude.

No dogs only become a problem due to their idiot owners who let them roam everywhere, **** everywhere and be a nuisance in parks, beaches and anywhere where people gather to enjoy the outdoors.

Can't even cycle or go for a walk these days without dogs being a nuisance

You're far more likely to be attacked by a person than a dog. Humans are the fcukers you really want to watch out for. Dogs don't worry me in the least. Of course if you have a hostile attitude towards dogs, they can sense that. So if you find that different dogs react hostile towards you, the problem could be your attitude.

What a load of shiiite.. There was a little terrier I had to pass to get to my missus house. Every time the fcuker went for me. I did nothing to the little shiiite bag to warrant it.

khaldrogo wrote: »
    What a load of shiiite.. There was a little terrier I had to pass to get to my missus house. Every time the fcuker went for me. I did nothing to the little shiiite bag to warrant it.

It's probably 5-6 lbs of ****e and fur.

The problem with small dogs is they really think they are big dogs.

Some can be narky enough alllright. . The world looks very different when you are 6 inches tall.

Anyone who kicks or really wants to hurt a small dog or cat is just a cowardly asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Graces7 wrote: »
    Hate that phrase...

I hate when people answer a question with a smart answer. Not that it matters in this thread.

The problem with small dogs is they really think they are big dogs.

Some can be narky enough alllright. . The world looks very different when you are 6 inches tall.

Anyone who kicks or really wants to hurt a small dog or cat is just a cowardly asshole.

So what do you do when a small dog bites you?
    Leave them keep going until they break the skin?

So what do you do when a small dog bites you?
    Leave them keep going until they break the skin?

You'd swipe them out of the way fairly quickly.

The least thing that bothers me when going to the park is smal dogs. Surprised people are finding them such an issue.

More worried about parking the car safely and it being in one piece coming back.

I've never fekt threatened by a small dog at all.

Not once in nearby 50 years.

Can't say the same about humans though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

We look after her relatively well, fed well, housed well and kept busy and socialised as best we can. She does not bark much because she won't be let.

Dogs have to know who is boss and you don't have to hit them to correct them if everything else in the house is OK. A simple command is often enough.

Our neighbours two doors down have a similar breed of dog that barks incessantly because he is left outside on his own all day and not allowed in the house and this isolation does not work with dogs.

If you are not prepared to give your dog the run of the house and be in your company some part of the day don't get a dog.

I draw the line of dogs in bed however............

You'd swipe them out of the way fairly quickly.

How do you swipe them?
    Do you use your foot and make contact with them or is it an air kick?

How do you swipe them?
    Do you use your foot and make contact with them or is it an air kick?

Don't agree with raising a hand or foot to any animal.

Shoo usually does the trick.

Go away, go home in a stern voice.

I've never been bothered by a small dog to the extent they are a challenge to me.

Surprised people here are finding it difficult.

Is there a huge issue with small dogs (rat size) attacking people ?

I've never been bothered by a small dog to the extent they are a challenge to me.

Well most people I know wouldn't raise their hand or foot to a dog. If they ran up to them barking and growling. They'd try and shoo them away/etc however when a dog bites them they've a tendency to try and get them off with by giving them a tap of their foot. It's sort of different when they bit you than when they are just barking at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

There seems to be huge amount of bijon frise dogs around now. Little white haired mop like dogs. Incredibly loud and over excited. Ma and brother have two dogs one of them is bijon jesus makes some noise!

Everytime someone walks by house or any sort noise around house or area she goes mental!

Well most people I know wouldn't raise their hand or foot to a dog. If they ran up to them barking and growling. They'd try and shoo them away/etc however when a dog bites them they've a tendency to try and get them off with by giving them a tap of their foot. It's sort of different when they bit you than when they are just barking at you.

Never been bitten by a dog , thankfully, the yappy type yokes are little more than fur.

Bring ny mum's diog for a walk , she's a loving friendly old lady, when she sees strangers she welcomes them, kids liove her, one older type man mhad a meltdown / must have had a previous bad experience.

anewme wrote:

And a mouth full of teeth

What a load of ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

I dare the op to ask the same question in the animal and pet forum. :)

Preferably if they had a big get-together in a park. :D

Though as owner on two little fluffy dogs and one sometimes over yappy, I know where you're coming from. At least you can walk away - I've to wait till the rabbit/fox/neighbouring cat is long gone til the yapping stops. And then it starts again on the next incursion by a rabbit, fox or neighbouring cat.

And I'm rural. So there are a lot of rabbits, foxes and neighbouring cats that set off "yappy" (her nickname)

But she is beautiful :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

They must be getting as fashionable in Ireland as in the U.K. and Continental Europe, as there’s definitely been an increase in ownership of the ‘type’ over the past couple of years, relative to larger breeds.

Those that foolishly yap at mine (carbon copy of that one in the article: breed, look, character...and otherworldly prey drive), as they run unleashed at him (mine can’t be let off, unless in the arse of nowhere with good line of sight for miles), usually end up running back to their owner double-fast and yelping (from fright, not harm) after I let him have one lunge and snap of teeth :pac:

I always warm their owners first, but they all seem to share this strange compunction to neither control their dogs, nor heed oral and gesture warnings. We then usually have a frank exchange of views about responsible dog ownership ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

They can be trained not to bark at everything that moves, can’t they?

I think dogs like something to do and get bored and they probably think they’re helping by barking at stuff. The problem seems to be that the owners are too lazy to train them for a few weeks/months while they’re young and would rather endure and have other people endure near constant barking.

You see quite a few owners with dogs dressed up that probably think they’re doing a great job looking after the dog like a baby but I’d wager plenty of those dogs are miserable and bored out of their minds from having nothing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's kind of sad that an animal bred from a wolf was mutated by humans into an unnatural looking tiny yoke that looks like it needs batteries.
    Same goes for pugs, bulldogs, king Charles spaniels. All the suffering and inbreeding that went into creating freaks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

It's kind of sad that an animal bred from a wolf was mutated by humans into an unnatural looking tiny yoke that looks like it needs batteries.

Dogs are not descendants of the wolf. Its an often said phrase, but its wrong. They do share some features of the wolf as both are from the canids genus (hence canine) and this group also include coyotes and dingoes. But they are different species and not descendants.

They are also becoming very important in cancer research. Some breeds, particularly some small breeds can detect early stage breast cancer (final trials being undertaken) and are used in early detection of prostate cancer in men (already being used)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Same goes for pugs, bulldogs, king Charles spaniels. All the suffering and inbreeding that went into creating freaks

There's a pug that lives a few doors up and it's a viscous little bastard. Runs up barking and snarling at everyone while its owner stands there calling it and being ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭forward8

IMO most Irish people are just sh**e dog owners. too lazy to get off their holes and walk or train their dogs. As a result we have estates filled with either spoiled brat aggressive ankle snappers or the other kind that are never walked and left out back gardens to bark day and night.