Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's going to happen to the old men/rural pubs when the "old men" die

• 04-08-2018 6:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭

So what's gonna happen to the pubs in the West and like when all the local old men die? The likes of pintman paddy lotsy are the regulars and basically keep them going yet the don't attract new clientel or usually stop "unknown" people from coming in.

This must be a serious concern for landlords there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭enricoh

The regulars are lads that drink over 20 pints a day? I take it you don't go near a pub yourself.

If the pub doesn't make money, it'll close. Fairly basic stuff I would have thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Not at all, aren't they pickling the old men until the next shift get to be old men......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

They'll get turned into coffee bars selling Grande Latte's and Tall Capuccinos. And then whatever sharp-suited egomaniac "entrepreneur" that launched the "concept" will run for president and bitch like hell when he/she loses.

Not like it hasn't happened before. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,818 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The rural pub is fcuked unless it can stand out from the rest in some way, be that food, entertainment or gimmicks. Most villages really only have enough custom to support a single pub.

If they can't make ends meet, they shut down like a lot of other things. Sh1t happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

There'll be a new generation of alcoholics along soon..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"Pintsmen" only exist in the pale. In the west we call them drunks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

You should have posted this thread in Aul Wans & Aul fellas OP. Good thread all the same though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Cultures evolve. New customs are adopted while old ones are discarded. It's sad but that's how it is. Nightclubs in cities are experiencing difficulties as well.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,818 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Cultures evolve. New customs are adopted while old ones are discarded. It's sad but that's how it is. Nightclubs in cities are experiencing difficulties as well.

No wonder. Many of them were crap and many would prefer to finish up in a late bar rather than paying through the nose for a sub standard experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Theyll close

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

We need to legalise lap dancing pubs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

The dead old men will be replaced by alive old men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

Three possible scenarios:

1) They will be turned into gastro-type pubs / cafes where the emphasis is on food.

2) If near and an outdoorsy area they could be converted into "boutique" rural-retreat type tourist accommodation (marketed to the types of tourists who do hill walks and wear loads of GoreTex)

3) They will close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Correct me if I'm wrong but when aul men die they are naturally replaced by a new generation of aul men. Unless of course ageing has miraculously stopped or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

CC-NEW-DAIL-_3390329315.jpg

They have a plan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

AllForIt wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm wrong but when aul men die they are naturally replaced by a new generation of aul men. Unless of course ageing has miraculously stopped or something.

There's generally nothing to attract them to these old man type pubs, they can buy cheap beer and drink it at home on their 50 inch full HD tv in pure comfort without having to pay €6 a pint in some kip that hasn't had any money pumped in to it since the 70's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Good post OP.
    OP you've heard about evolution I suppose? You may lament times changing but change they will.
    I'm curious OP, what age are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It will be converted into one of those Chopped salad places.

There's generally nothing to attract them to these old man type pubs, they can buy cheap beer and drink it at home on their 50 inch full HD tv in pure comfort without having to pay €6 a pint in some kip that hasn't had any money pumped in to it since the 70's.

A lot of people dont like drinking at home though myself included, the social aspect of getting out of the house for a pint and having a chat or a bit of laugh. Some people look forward to that.

Also i dont think too many rural/old man pubs are charging 6 quid a pint, my local in dublin a pint costs me 4.70 for a lager, guiness is 4.40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Business has to evolve as somebody pointed out.

It's hard on the people that own said business admittedly but instead of every small town in the country having an unrealistic number of pubs, it's probably going to have to be one pub that, when catering for a bigger clientele, tries to think outside the box a bit as regards stuff like running a small bus or car pool for punters instead of running whinging to clown politicians about legislation.

So much progressive political evolution in Ireland runs aground on the banks of small business interests and we need to move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

The younger folks who drink in them will eventually become the older folks who drink in them and so on snd so forth.

• Site Banned Posts: 120 ✭✭Lash Into The Pints

A new generation of old men wearing skinny jeans and covered in faded tattoos will take their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

thebull85 wrote: »
    A lot of people dont like drinking at home though myself included, the social aspect of getting out of the house for a pint and having a chat or a bit of laugh. Some people look forward to that.

Also i dont think too many rural/old man pubs are charging 6 quid a pint, my local in dublin a pint costs me 4.70 for a lager, guiness is 4.40.

I live in Dublin and I'd say less than 30% of pubs have TV's have HD viewing, it's generally poor quality trash that only backward fookwits with no interest in quality would put up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

You're drinking in the wtong places.

Mr OBumble has a nose for old-man pubs thar serve decent Guinness .he can go intio any tpwn and accurately fomd the OMP with minimal delay.

I live in Dublin and I'd say less than 30% of pubs have TV's have HD viewing, it's generally poor quality trash that only backward fookwits with no interest in quality would put up with.

Calm down precious, what do you think we did before HD. Id say you're great craic alright, "no lads im not going the pub because it doesnt have HD"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Mr OBumble has a nose for old-man pubs thar serve decent Guinness .he can go intio any tpwn and accurately fomd the OMP with minimal delay.

Are you drunk there Mrs O or just swollen fingers??

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭poo poo

I am quite interested in this thread.

On a serious not, the younger generation (outside dublin) are abandoning the club scene in droves for social nights (jiving is through the roof) and in turn are more prone to a few pints during he week more so than the standard Blowout and mental binges during the weekend.

They will drive anywhere - Anywhere in the country there is music on, so drinking isnt a big deal for them, and they arent rdrunk out of their minds either as they drink copious amounts of water during the night to compensate for the 3hr workout they get in the pub!

Middle aged people are still going to the pub - they will be the older ones going to the pub!

I am also very interested in the advent of self driving cars - Seriously - if and when they start becoming more common, and presuming, you will be allowed to tell it where to go while your plastered, it could be a revelation and a serious serious boost to pubs especially in rural areas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

"pintman paddy lotsy"
    Never heard of him.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Try_harder wrote: »
    Theyll close

Pub culture in Ireland is beginning to die, simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭mazwell

It's 3.80 for a pint of lager in my local pub. 4 euro for a Guinness. I'd guess my local pub is the exact pub the op is talking about.
    It serves food, shows the matches, looks after everyone that goes to it.
    The oul boys that go to it aren't the be all and end all.
    It'll keep going until it's not financially viable like every other business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

It's not that the "old men" will have no one to replace them, its the feckin price of drink. Believe me there's plenty of lads as young as 21 that would be in for a few each night if they could. Even some of the "old men" just tend to stock up on cheap drink from Aldi or the likes of supervalue, recently had 12 cans Guinness for €10 the pubs didn't have their regulars for a few weeks lol

Couple that with transport, it's grand get someone give a few a lift in before 10pm but trying to come home is a pain in the hole

Another thing to remember too is people just don't have that much money. Despite all the government talk it's not like most households are flush with cash to pay pub prices. Like most might be back to work but money is still tight enough for most people, I know a lot of people who are describing it as the "90s" aka everyone has a job and handy pay but nothing like the boom where people thought nothing of spending 100/200 every weekend on a night out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

If you're judging a pub on the quality of the picture on the TV rather than on the price and quality of the pint then I'm afraid you're doing it wrong my friend.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

When the old men die they will be buried or cremated!

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

mazwell wrote: »
    It's 3.80 for a pint of lager in my local pub. 4 euro for a Guinness. I'd guess my local pub is the exact pub the op is talking about.
    It serves food, shows the matches, looks after everyone that goes to it.
    The oul boys that go to it aren't the be all and end all.
    It'll keep going until it's not financially viable like every other business

3.80? Wheres your local!?

Edit: Is it fosters? If so it doesn't count ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I one of the small towns near me the ould fellas have adapted to there pubs closing, there used to be 13 pubs in the town , now there are 3, the largest one has 4 sections one of which is small, dimly lit , with steel, stone and chrome decor, at 10am every morning you will find about15 old boys in there, with there washed wellies , pints on front of them and a few whiskies also, occasionally some of them treat themselves to the full Irish , by 12 there all gone home before the lunchtime trade starts, I suppose you could call it evolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Looks like you’ve had a few yourself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭cute geoge

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Pub culture in Ireland is beginning to die, simple as that.

I passed down local village last night and being the noisy hoor could not but notice in trough the windows ,2 local pubs completely deserted at 10.30 last night.Imagine 10.30 on a bank holiday saturday night and not one christian in either pup it beggars belief ,completely f##ked!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

cute geoge wrote: »
    I passed down local village last night and being the noisy hoor could not but notice in trough the windows ,2 local pubs completely deserted at 10.30 last night.Imagine 10.30 on a bank holiday saturday night and not one christian in either pup it beggars belief ,completely f##ked!!!!!

10.30 any Saturday night a lot of the pubs around here are still quiet. Team that with a litany of music festivals this weekend, and people being away on holidays.

It was always the Sunday on a bank holiday that was the busy one in this neck of the woods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

The pub attendance and the church attendance both falling, different times.

I do find it ironic that we are constantly being chided or advised about the dangers of alcohol, all very real, yet any entrepreneur wishing to design and sell a pet craft beer or a whiskey distillery receive local business grants and incentives.

Are there any other range of products which are so unhealthy but receive a similar level of state support to expand the range?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,212 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

dense wrote: »

Are there any other range of products which are so unhealthy but receive a similar level of state support to expand the range?

The RCC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Rural pubs kept goung because the owners also had farms, undertakers etc. They were staffed by family members often frim big families. That day is gone. The younger family members are not interested and it is uneconomical to hire a manager. Drunk driving legislation in the absence of decent (or indeed any rural transport) has finished the pub trade. Also most villages and small towns have been emptied of young people and oul fellas wont keep the pub going on a few large bottles every night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,443 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

dense wrote:

A large proportion of foods on sale are virtually unfit for human consumption, particularly mass produced foods, but I suspect supermarket density is increasing, but since this is 'good for the economy', we can't really complain, can we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭clio_16v

The pub trade will have to evolve. The days of opening your doors and being full are gone. You need to be unique and create something people are willing to travel for be it quality food / live music etc. A lot of younger people are moving to more rural areas because they cant afford houses in the cities so you need to attract these customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Open up at 6am. That'll do it.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Another nail in the coffin of Ireland that's being ruined by people.

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

A lot of young people like old men pubs too because you can hold a conversation in there! I was in a bar last weekend, about 8pm they turned the music up to a level where people had to shout to talk, nobody was dancing, so I brought us to another bar where they weren't blaring music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭mengele

The disposable income isn't there for it now either. Lets say people are earning the same income in relative terms but there are now so many extra costs that the younger generation have to the older generation. Examples include mortgages (I know they were probably always there but are now over a longer period and are borrowing more), peppery tax, more expensive cars, mobile phone and broadband monthly bills ( these are bills which wouldn't have been there 20 plus years ago).

So what's happening now is the cheaper drink is being bought in supermarkets and people either have it at home or houseparties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 w.b. yokes

sexmag wrote: »
    So what's gonna happen to the pubs in the West and like when all the local old men die? The likes of pintman paddy lotsy are the regulars and basically keep them going yet the don't attract new clientel or usually stop "unknown" people from coming in.

This must be a serious concern for landlords there?

I hope they are replaced and this part of old Ireland lives on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,190 ✭✭✭✭L1011

They'll close and the licences will be bought by Paddy McKillen Jr to open another built-for-instagram boozer on the Southside in Dublin. As has been happening already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

The place down the road from me that opens at 6am will never have no problem. The hardcore will always be there, always want a drink whenever they want it, always know how to act up in the place so there will never be a problem at that hour. I'm one of these lunatics. I'll be there tomorrow morning 6am, I'll get a breakfast there too. I'll get way more decent conversation in there at 7am than whats going on right now. Pubs need to start acting like clubs, actual clubs. Allow the proper lunatics the decent lunatics what will never cause no problem, allow that person access all areas of the house all of the witching hour, into the dawn and beyond. This is the only way to survive. Because the young people?? They off playing Overnight or some other $hite and will never go in there anyways.

Make America Get Out of Here