Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"I seen" and "I done" have gone too far!

• 01-08-2018 11:30am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Resverathrole

The latter one seems particularly unique to Dublin. These sayings are really catching on. But I think the following article shows that it's gone too far.

See for yourself. The dumb journalist, who's probably from Dublin, wrote 'seen' instead of 'saw' in the subtitle to the article below!

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/mma/khabib-mcgregor-abdelaziz-helwani-ufc-mma-169743

"It's been one year, eight months and eleven days since we last seen Conor McGregor inside the Octagon"

What the actual fcuk!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

Ah Engerlish do be our second languich it do be.

Also, I doubt those reading an article on McGregor would pick up the error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I wish I had so little to be worrying about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Joe.ie, sure what do you expect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Joe.ie, sure what do you expect?

Could you be more Pacific?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Resverathrole

verycool wrote: »
    Also, I doubt those reading an article on McGregor would pick up the error.
    Do you you think he'll ever even fight again?

Could you be more Pacific?

I sea what you did there!

Couldn't give a flying f*ck to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Mackmatic

Man alive, you need some real problems in your life pal. I done had enough of you bleedin whingers lately. I seen another thread like this recently and it was just more of the same. Whinging on top of whinging.

Saps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

It's not unique to Dublin. It's ubiquitous in Ireland even among "educated" people. I see it daily on boards.ie. I suspect most don't even know that it's incorrect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Been vs Being

Drives me mad when I see those 2 mixed up, especially in work emails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

The latter one seems particularly unique to Dublin. These sayings are really catching on. But I think the following article shows that it's gone too far.

See for yourself. The dumb journalist, who's probably from Dublin, wrote 'seen' instead of 'saw' in the subtitle to the article below!

"It's been one year, eight months and eleven days since we last seen Conor McGregor inside the Octagon"

What the actual fcuk!?

I quite like "I seen", having lived in the UK for nearly 10 years and finding my fondness for the Irish vernacular increasing exponentially.

Don't think I'm familiar with "I done" though, how would that be used in a sentence? "I done the dishes" sort of thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I seen and I done aren't Dublin things. I've heard people saying those down the country for years.

It's not unique to Dublin. It's ubiquitous in Ireland even among "educated" people. I see it daily on boards.ie. I suspect most don't even know that it's incorrect.

I think what OP is getting at here is that online publications are showing a decline in standards (don't get me started on joe.ie).

You don't type how you speak, as it were. So, what's slipping in are a lot of colloquialisations which others will pick up. Almost like a printed Chinese whispers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,045 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I used to always get it wrong and my teachers would correct me but never explained why. Then my best friend explained it to me like a teacher should have done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

It's fcuking rampant.

I seen this, I seen that.

It makes you sound like a cabbage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

It's been one year, eight months and eleven days since we last seen Conor McGregor inside the Octagon"
    Schoolboy error!
    couldn't count the days on his colander

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,128 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Should of instead of should have drives me mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

What the actual fcuk!?

You should of emailed the journo.😋

anewme wrote: »

That and "yay or nay".
    Reddit is full of "i am laying on the couch" or "my dog likes to lay down" which really gets to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

mikeymouse wrote: »
    It's been one year, eight months and eleven days since we last seen Conor McGregor inside the Octagon"
    Schoolboy error!
    couldn't count the days on his colander

Maybe he didn't go to riting collage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

I seen and I done aren't Dublin things. I've heard people saying those down the country for years.

I agree, very common here in Tipperary :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

tumblr_mg7wmub7S41r7h61mo1_500.png

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Languages change lads, get over it. It's particularly amusing when people give out about english which is already so incredibly bastardised and all over the place in grammar and pronunciation, and spoken in dozens of different dialects around the world, but yet some people get so worked over any deviation from a seemingly arbitrary standard set not all that long ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,947 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's the copy/paste school of journalism and it's creeping into the print media now.

People have an amazing thing, the internet, at their disposal and they still can't get it right.
    Grammatical and spelling errors all over the place.

I wouldn't mind errors in posts on an online forum, but for news stories and event publicity there should be a lot more checks going on. It's just plain sloppy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

It were you, you done it, I seen ya!

I should of known...

My grammas got die of beetus :(

'Try and' is another bloody one I see and hear everywhere.

I'm generally appalled by the horrific state into which language has decended. Not comments on forums, fair game, but horrendous typos from apparently reputable sources. I have often despaired at content from people are are professional writers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

Half the trainee teachers are illiterate as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

I seen what you done their!

FYP :p

jim salter wrote: »
    FYP :p

NOOOOOO!

*hyperventilates in to a Dubray Books bag*

Languages change lads, get over it. It's particularly amusing when people give out about english which is already so incredibly bastardised and all over the place in grammar and pronunciation, and spoken in dozens of different dialects around the world, but yet some people get so worked over any deviation from a seemingly arbitrary standard set not all that long ago
    No. It's wrong. Plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

NOOOOOO!

Ah there, they're,their.

You'll be grand. :)

At least you don't notice that verbally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

Declan Kiberd would disagree. Hiberno-English is real and valid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Half the trainee teachers are illiterate as it is.

Only half? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

AfterLife wrote: »
    Declan Kiberd would disagree. Hiberno-English is real and valid.

In fairness, there's nothing that Kiberd enjoys more than a good disagreement - about almost anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

At least you don't notice that verbally.

Ages ago on here there was a thread about grammar errors that people find annoying and two posters went back and forth on that point for several pages, with one poster insisting they had heard people verbally say "should of". It was pretty humorous. I don't know how the poster could possibly have heard people say it unless they were speaking in slow motion.

RWCNT wrote: »
    Ages ago on here there was a thread about grammar errors that people find annoying and two posters went back and forth on that point for several pages, with one poster insisting they had heard people verbally say "should of". It was pretty humorous. I don't know how the poster could possibly have heard people say it unless they were speaking in slow motion.

As someone else mentioned, when said aloud my guess is that it becomes a contraction... like "should've" which can be easily misheard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,060 ✭✭✭Greyfox

It's not really, this is the internet age, people don't have time to care about tiny changes that have zero impact in the real world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

The people who use 'of' in place of 'have' drive me nuts!

I should of been there.... Grrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Sure didn't he batter a bus in New York there a few weeks back ?

of course he'll fight again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,282 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

You have good hearing if you can always distinguish between should've and should of in speech.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

I like to use "them" instead of "those" when the context suits eg: "oh man, look at them titties."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭acai berry

Possibly a neighbour of McGregor's wrote the article???? Maybe even a relative! ;):D

What the actual fcuk!?

you do have to wonder what people are actually thought in schools these days.

Aegir wrote: »
    you do have to wonder what people are actually thought in schools these days.

:mad:

:mad:

my pet hate.

how people can mix up taught and thought is beyond me, but they do it regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,242 ✭✭✭duffman13

If you think that's bad, you should of seen what I done last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,708 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

The one i see more now is people using apostrophe's in plural's.

It's just wrong but so many people think it's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

NOOOOOO!

Well, yous should of seen it coming :p

• Site Banned Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭DONTMATTER

It's only a stupid language that was forced on us. We can speak it anyway we want. Even spell it anyway we want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,708 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

No, languages don't change in that way.
    Saw/seen, did/done being mixed up is not a language being developed.

It's simply bad grammar and it should not be excused as anything else.