Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying voices

• 30-07-2018 10:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭

Listening to the world cup commentary got me thinking about how annoying some voices can be.

Reason being, I love football but I felt a lot of matches this year were ruined by the irratating, nasaly whingy voice of Brian Kerr. The man has a voice like a graveyard gate slowly being closed. Speaks in a horrific doooblin dialect which makes half of what he says indecipherable. Awful stuff.

Any particular voices or dialects you dislike?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Hearing Alan Carr makes me want to put a gun to my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

Rachel Focking Awllen

Dave raspy fanning

Muireann I'm just the sh1t O connell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Mutant z wrote: »
    Hearing Alan Carr makes me want to put a gun to my head.

Agree with you on that one. A very annoying man. How someone so irritating made it to be a household chat show presenter is actually bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

Eoghan Murphy
    Simon Harris
    Paschal Donohoe

I think it's a tactic by this government. If you can't bare to listen to them you can't get worked up enough to want to oust them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

Those dogs from those AA car insurance radio ads. Especially the bit where he says " listen to me I only ate the key ring. . And Id do it again"

Does my head in.

Also Niall Boylan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭Jennehy

The Jenny of the Greene’s and the Nicky of the Byrnes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

AfterLife wrote: »
    Eoghan Murphy
    Simon Harris
    Paschal Donohoe

I think it's a tactic by this government. If you can't bare to listen to them you can't get worked up enough to want to oust them.

Good call on Harris, the man has an extremely irritating voice, along with a punchable face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

That Panti Bliss guy. Awful voice.

And whatever prick does those Auld Mr Brennan radio ads. Been grinding my gears for at least a quarter of a century at this stage.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Michael Duignan
    Muireann O Connell
    The girl who says " we're backing brave "

• Site Banned Posts: 120 ✭✭Lash Into The Pints

Henry Mckean on Newstalk. Though it is funny hearing him trying to converse with the locals when he's sent to some slum in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Shane Ross!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

That Emmet Kirwan bloke. Not sure if it's his accent or the "woke" kinda vibe he gives off.

Henry Mckean on Newstalk. Though it is funny hearing him trying to converse with the locals when he's sent to some slum in Dublin.

Have to say I disagree with you there partner. I find Henry's dulcet tones very soothing and extremely easy listening. Especially when juxtaposed against the skanger accent of a true blue salth ah the arrrht dub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭spoonerhead

Anyone speaking on their mobile while on public transport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,964 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Listening to the world cup commentary got me thinking about how annoying some voices can be.

Reason being, I love football but I felt a lot of matches this year were ruined by the irratating, nasaly whingy voice of Brian Kerr. The man has a voice like a graveyard gate slowly being closed. Speaks in a horrific doooblin dialect which makes half of what he says indecipherable. Awful stuff.

Agree there Paddy, there’s a one that does the weather Liz something on RTÉ estremely high pitched voice.

The short bulletins are just about bearable but the sea area forecast ,Jaysus, the poor cat starts meeeowing to get out.

Another fella that gets me is the NI guy not Tommy Gorman the other guy.

• Site Banned Posts: 120 ✭✭Lash Into The Pints

Have to say I disagree with you there partner. I find Henry's dulcet tones very soothing and extremely easy listening. Especially when juxtaposed against the skanger accent of a true blue salth ah the arrrht dub.

Indeed. I actually do feel a bit bad for him when he's sent to interview knackers in Ballymum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,929 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Comedian Steward Lee.
    Politicians, Shane Ross and Mary Lou McDonald

"Brendan wrote:

That Brendan Wright? Stout fella with a head on him? Looks fond of the Ulster Fry?

Agree there Paddy, there’s a one that does the weather Liz something on RTÉ estremely high pitched voice.

The short bulletins are just about bearable but the sea area forecast ,Jaysus, the poor cat starts meeeowing to get out.

There's a lad who does the sea are forecast from out foreign that I find very nice to listen to. On RTE radio. Seems to have a scandinavian accent. Mostvly sunnvy vith noerth vesterly vinds gale force 8.

Oh, Paul Murphy as well. The dead-eyed little weasel with that nasally know-it-all tone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Alison Spittle. Only person i can think of that makes me leave a room if she's on the telly.
    I just can't....jesus the accent, the annoying whinge undertone. AAAH!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

"Vocal fry" :(

There's a lad who does the sea are forecast from out foreign that I find very nice to listen to. On RTE radio. Seems to have a scandinavian accent. Mostvly sunnvy vith noerth vesterly vinds gale force 8.

Dutch lad Paddy, while we are at it there’s another semi obscure dude Martin Kiely does sports and commentates on GAA games , pronounces ‘e’ as ‘i’

“Gets the ball in cinter field’ gets on your wick after a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

Where’s Moichael McMolllllennnn gone off the radio these days?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Al Porter.

The only thing I'd want to hear out of his mouth is his dying breath. *

*Too harsh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

There's a guy who my kids watch Minecraft Youtube videos of.

Stampy Longhead.

If you can make it through 2minutes of one of his videos without wanting to stab yourself in the ear, you are a stronger man than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Alison Curtis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,289 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Dublin.

Ore-Tee-Eee isn't quite as bad as Dublin-classic, but both make just about any voice dreadful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

That guy is Dutch and his name is Harm Luiijkx.

Not everyone is happy to hear an accent though:

http://www.thejournal.ie/met-eireann-forecasters-2331569-Sep2015/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

James Corden is a gowl.
    His accent isn't the worst, but "ha haaaaaaaaaah" laugh of his makes him an even better gowl.

This over emphasised Lahndan accent going around these days, I know a few folk from Essex that are embarrassed, yeah its based on truth but nowhere near what some speak like.

That Brendan Wright? Stout fella with a head on him? Looks fond of the Ulster Fry?

That’s the lad Johnny, pulled the ripcord a good while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Ciarán Mallooly: ORR TEE EEE Midlands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Ger Roe wrote: »
    That guy is Dutch and his name is Harm Luiijkx.

Married to Joanna Donnelly I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

Ed Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Past 30 posts now and I have to be the one to bring up Joan Burton?! :-)

I wonder does she put that on just for laughs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

That Janet Street Porter wan and Joe Pasquale.
    And of course, Gay Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Elephant Self Storage.

Nawwt, nawwt, nawwt, nawwt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Joan Burton

Edit: I see topper75 had the same idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

Mary Lou McDonald, Una Mullaly and anyone else who speaks with that annoying uptalk at the end of every sentence

Alison Spittle

Katherine Lynch

Graham Norton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Miriam on RTE. Just awful affected accent "loike".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

That Pascal O Donohue guy, I hate to say it, but is he retarded or something ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

"Can I just say"....Joan Burton.

Al Porter and Alan Porter. Essentially the same schtick.

Ricky Gervais and his tendency to laugh at his own jokes.

From a non-celebrity perspective, anyone that feels the need to put on a fake south Dublin accent to make themselves come across as more important than they actually are. So essentially anyone in the finance industry or who follow Leinster rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

PJ Gallagher and his cartoon Pet Howya accent.

Whatever woman it is that does those turbo D4 voicerovers on Radio Nova.

Different ends of the accent spectrum; both equally demanding of a touch of the sledgehammer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

High pitched voices like they swallowed helium / gruff sweary voices that’d make the sweet baby Jesus wince

Tone it down like. It’s like they’re being gratituously loud with it to boot what has them animated so.... awful to be within earshot, stfu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

From a non-celebrity perspective, anyone that feels the need to put on a fake south Dublin accent to make themselves come across as more important than they actually are. So essentially anyone in the finance industry or who follow Leinster rugby.

As a matter of interest does anyone from South Dublin have an accent? Or are they all just faking the lot of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Matt Cooper. Just....not a voice for radio IMO.

And yet, there he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 cstaff

RTE News Reporter Niamh Ni (as gaeilge) - cant remember her name but she has a really strong Norn Iron accent and is painful to listen to. Even if she is reporting on something that I am interested in I still switch over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Michael maaaaacccc muuullleen

Football show on Today FM on Saturday afternoons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

As a matter of interest does anyone from South Dublin have an accent? Or are they all just faking the lot of them?

Funnily enough, I was at a funeral of a fella last week who had moved into the area 20 odd years ago, that I always assumed was a "north-sider" based on his accent. But it turns out he was a dye-in-the-wool Dundrum native.

So on that basis alone, I assume a lot of them are faked, based on how high up the society ladder they are of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Dave McIntyre

I certainly "move the dial" when I hear his condescending voice. Bad enough that TV3 got the 6 nations without installing that know-all as lead commentator