Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sports which ain't sports

• 30-07-2018 1:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭

I would say Darts and Snooker arnt really sports but hobbies neither of them involve a great deal of physical activity which is the hallmark of sports such as Football, Athletics, Swimming etc. Formula 1 is another one that i struggle to see as a sport, sitting in a car driving at speed doesnt qualify as a sport imo, why is it any different to speeding on the motorway. Just because something may be shown on Sky Sports doesn't make it a sport in the true sense of the word especially when you see how out of shape and overweight a lot of dart players are yes indeed it involves skill but then so does playing cards and chess neither of which are considered sports.

The fact that these things dont need a high level of physical activity or fitness means they should be redifined as games or hobbies but not sports which on the whole generally require physical activity while the likes of Darts, Snooker, F1 and motor racing in general don't. I would consider them to be games and hobbies and Soccer, Rugby, Hurling, Gaelic Football, Tennis and nearly everyone involving a ball and any kind of physical activity as sports imo what do you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

Golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

There's as much physical exertion in some Motorsports as there is in the other sports you mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Wrestling. They have brought back World of Sport Wrestling on ITV. I caught it whilst flicking through the channels on Saturday. ****ing hilarious. Some fat Scottish fella is the new big daddy apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Now I'm not the world's most motorsports mad guy, but to say they aren't physically and mentally demanding?

Beggars belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

quidditch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

F1 drivers need to be very fit, is physical exertion the definition of sport, darts and snooker are very skillful if not exactly physically toiling but probably the most important question is why would you care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Topless darts... very entertaining but I’m not sure those girls train much....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭rizzee

Chess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

E-sports.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I play snooker. It’s a game, not a sport. Ditto darts.

I draw the line when the game is more mental than physical. Winning at snooker is all about concentration. What separates the best snooker players is how they approach the game mentally and not physically. Shaun Murphy had the best cue action ever seen, but constantly underachieves as he hasn’t got a he concentration down

Motorsports are ..... erm ... motor sports. A lot of physical and mental energy exerted.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,059 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Hunting wildlife for sport.

Its not.

Just you been a d1ck.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

B-D-P-- wrote: »
    quidditch

+1. It’s even stupid as a fake sport.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Heroditas wrote: »
    There's as much physical exertion in some Motorsports as there is in the other sports you mentioned.

Really though its more about the engine of the car i would have thought i dont doubt that there is excellent drivers but is it really as physical demanding as running or swimming which are definitely physical demanding do you really need to be physically fit to drive a car fast for instance as you would for the aforementioned which you need to be super fit in order to able to compete at a competitive level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Horse Racing.

It's sport for horses, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭shakeitoff

Everyone else: 'Snooker isn't a sport'

Snooker fans: 'Ronnie O'Sullivan is super fit, does 10km every morning with sit ups and push ups'

It's a bit like saying an accountancy is a sport because some trainee is in the gym 4 times a week doing a bro split.

Formua one and other motorsports are definitely sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

eSports. It's going to be a medal event at the 2022 Asian games and is being considered for the 2024 Olympics.

I love videogames but it's absurd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Mutant z wrote: »
    Really though its more about the engine of the car i would have thought i dont doubt that there is excellent drivers but is it really as physical demanding as running or swimming which are definitely physical demanding do you really need to be physically fit to drive a car fast for instance as you would for the aforementioned which you need to be super fit in order to able to compete at a competitive level.

Yes you would need to be, the body takes a hammering at those speeds and there is exertion just turning the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

seamus wrote: »
    Horse Racing.

Jockeys need to be very fit, can't be overweight and take some of the most horrible falls causing untold damage to their bodies.

The guys/ladies are legends! One of the few jobs where you are followed round daily by an ambulance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Archery and shooting sports are in the Olympics and are the same principle as darts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

you do something that involves losing 3 or 4 pounds through sweat and then come back and tell us that there is no physical exertion involved in F1.

shakeitoff wrote: »
    Everyone else: 'Snooker isn't a sport'

Snooker fans: 'Ronnie O'Sullivan is super fit, does 10km every morning with sit ups and push ups'

It's a bit like saying an accountancy is a sport because some trainee is in the gym 4 times a week doing a bro split.

Did you miss my post?

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Homer:
    Lisa, if the Bible has taught us nothing else, and it hasn't, it's that girls should stick to girls' sports, such as hot-oil wrestling, foxy boxing, and such-and-such...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

The op has not got a clue.
    F1 not requiring fitness? It doesn't even deserve a response to be honest so poor is the ops understanding.
    Then, take snooker and darts, it's all about pressure and being able to perform when it matters.
    They are all certainly sports in my opinion.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

If there's any sort of physical aspect, even if it's not particularly physically demanding, I consider it a sport. You don't have to be fit to play darts, but throwing accurately is still a physical trait.

I've heard people try to argue chess is a sport but I don't go along with that one.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Coursing and greyhound racing.

WWE as well nothing thats fake and scripted should ever come close to being a sport expecially when the final outcome is already pre arranged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

B-D-P-- wrote: »
    quidditch

YET

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

verycool wrote: »
    Golf.

bet you've never played it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I would say Darts and Snooker arnt really sports but hobbies neither of them involve a great deal of physical activity which is the hallmark of sports such as Football, Athletics, Swimming etc. Formula 1 is another one that i struggle to see as a sport, sitting in a car driving at speed doesnt qualify as a sport imo, why is it any different to speeding on the motorway. Just because something may be shown on Sky Sports doesn't make it a sport in the true sense of the word especially when you see how out of shape and overweight a lot of dart players are yes indeed it involves skill but then so does playing cards and chess neither of which are considered sports.

The fact that these things dont need a high level of physical activity or fitness means they should be redifined as games or hobbies but not sports which on the whole generally require physical activity while the likes of Darts, Snooker, F1 and motor racing in general don't. I would consider them to be games and hobbies and Soccer, Rugby, Hurling, Gaelic Football, Tennis and nearly everyone involving a ball and any kind of physical activity as sports imo what do you think.

Come back to us when you have actually played any of these sports at the professional level and let us know how you get on.
    Try 5 days in a row of 5+ hour rounds of golf for 4-5 weeks in a row and we'll see how you do.

Is the 100M a sport? Sure they don't even run for 10s these days.

Is trolling a sport?

This nonsense thread again. Darts, golf and horse racing etc are 100% sports it’s not even up for debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

The Boob Olympics apparently, though if you took the time to actually watch it in some detail you'd see that there is a competitive element.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Horse Racing.

If there was no gambling, no one would watch. It's the most 'non sport' there is.
    Cricket, lads strolling around in Aran jumpers for days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

https://www.formula1.com/en/championship/inside-f1/understanding-f1-racing/Driverfitness.html

Have a read of this OP and tell me if you consider F1 drivers to be athletes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Mincing along like these eejits:

race-walk.gif

FFS

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    If there was no gambling, no one would watch. It's the most 'non sport' there is.
    Cricket, lads strolling around in Aran jumpers for days.

How does the number of spectators determine if an activity is a sport?

This nonsense thread again. Darts, golf and horse racing etc are 100% sports it’s not even up for debate.

Thats your opinion which you are perfectly entitled i however as do many others disagree with it and since when has saying something isnt up for debate won an arguement especially when it most certainly is debatable.

if golf and horse racing are not sports you have a very odd definition of what a sport is. Care to tell us what that definition is?

Says who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

kfallon wrote: »
    Says who?

Me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...Formula 1 is another one that i struggle to see as a sport, sitting in a car driving at speed doesnt qualify as a sport imo, why is it any different to speeding on the motorway...

F1 drivers are little short of superhuman. Very few people can do what they do, processing events at the speeds involved while the machine - sometimes literally - beats the shit out of you. The brakes alone would kill a "normal" person. It is very much a sport, the very crème de la crème of motorsport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Wiggles88

Bodybuilding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Horse Racing.

Nonsense. If there's a tougher athlete than an F1 driver, it's a top jockey.

Me

And you know nothing about the sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

jimgoose wrote: »
    Nonsense. If there's a tougher athlete than an F1 driver, it's a top jockey.
    If you can still be a top-level professional into your 50s, it can't be that tough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

lawred2 wrote: »
    bet you've never played it

Jaysis, calm your caddy and put away your six wood. :P

The only "game" where the object is to play less of it.

Ooh, that reminds me, I'll add power walking.

If you can still be a top-level professional into your 50s, it can't be that tough.

Out you go tonight and ride a horse round at 30mph for 2 miles while standing up in the stirrups and pushing the horse out for the last 6 furlongs.

Let us know how you get on with that

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

If you can play it without changing your shoes it's a game not a sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Heroditas wrote: »

''Keep tidy now.''

if golf and horse racing are not sports you have a very odd definition of what a sport is. Care to tell us what that definition is?

Those that involve high physical exertion that someone who is middle aged cant simply play i dont see too many middle aged footballers or long distance runners do you.