Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The unstoppable, meteoric rise of hyperbole!!!!

• 30-07-2018 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭

It seems to me that we live in exaggerated times; when everything is seen as mortally offensive, horrific and never ending. The "Ireland a kip" thread being a prime example of negativity x exaggeration. The news cycle has always focused on tragedy and the need to fill 24 hours with coverage has not, as you would have guessed, lead to oversaturation and apathy. Instead it seems that we look for the new tragedy, the bigger horror, the worst predictions.

I guess my question is twofold; is the rise of hyperbole going to lead to a world where tragedy and pessimism is the standard, and is there anything that can be done to solve it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

You’re confusing re-reg trolls with hyperbole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

Brexit/Trump hysteria is a good example

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭Mike Hoch

It's the news of fear. I was only thinking of this the other day.

The World Cup was going to be a bloodbath. Russian hooligans had spent the winter in training camps perfecting MMA to be engaging in pitched battles with anyone English, anyone gay, anyone non white. Taking the war to the Polish fans, the Germans. And that would be amidst the knife attacks andother lone wolf attacks ISIS promised would lead to the event being cancelled.

What did we get? Aside from a strange incident of a taxi driver mowing into a crowd due to "tiredness" nothing of the sort happened. Largely due to Putin issuing threats against the hooligan firms. Returning fans told of a Russia the Western establishment likes tell us doesn't exist.

France 2016- ISIS would turn it into a graveyard. While bizarrely there have been dozens of attacks both before and since, for whatever reason none of the lone wolves could be inspired to actually attack fans/ venues during the tournament. I've always imagined ISIS lone wolves to be manically depressed- perhaps the buzz of a world cup brings out the best in even them!

At Brazil 2014 the news claimed fans would be coming home in bodybags, shot by teenage favela gangs for their wallets and phones.

Euro 2012- Ukrainan and Polish fans would slaughter anyone vaguely non white.

South Africa 2010- see Brazil 2014.

I was heading to Benalmadena two summers ago looking out for the ISIS Somalis disguised as lucky luckys who were going to lift automatics out of their stalls and open fire on beach side bars. Various MI5 talking heads told us it was a given.

The 90's? They were saying 500,000 plus Brits would end up going through a long and painful death from mad cow disease. The real number has been a few score.

The 80's? Sure you'd be dead from AIDS before the mad cow disease. Although the Chernobyl winds or Soviet nuclear strikes in general might kill us first.

The Y2K bug should have had planes falling on Manhattan 21 months before 9/11. After 9/11 we were told there were thousands of Al Quaeda camp trained operatives living in the US ready to take orders, yet in the following 17 years virtually every terrorism case has involved people who did not attend AQ camps prior to 9/11.

Post 9/11, between the missing Stinger missiles that would be used to take down commercial aircraft, the suicide attack on Sellafield that would force us all out to Connaught with our iodine pills, the dirty bombs that they'd bought off the Russian mafia that would leave most of Greater London unhabitable until the second coming, and any of the other James Bond- esque plots they'd carry out within before the end of that decade, it's a miracle we're here at all.

Anyone remember the weeks before the invasion of Afghanistan? Bin Laden apparently lived in something resembling Christopher Walken's underground layer in A View to a Kill, artists composities and all. As it turned out Bin Laden lived like a hermit and had listened to 9/11 on a radio.

There were talking heads from MI5 claiming upwards of 5000 ISIS soldiers had smuggled themselves into Europe ready to take orders. While there were dozens of attacks and better vetting would have prevented many of them, they were largely lone knife attacks by individual loons, mostly by people self radicalised rather than individuals sent from Syria with a specific order to follow. If there are 5000 men in Europe fully trained in explosives, firearms and hand to hand combat willing to die, they're taking their sweet time doing anything about it. ISIS inspired attacks aren't a fraction of what they were last year and the preceding years.

Ireland has been on the brink of a crack and/ or crystal meth epidemic since around 2000 or so. Yet for 18 consistent years its abuse has remained negligible and almost exclusively confined to existing heroin users.

Add a dollop of swine flu, bird flu, Ebola and Zika virus to your BSE and AIDS sandwich while you're at it.

In short, hyperbolic end of time nonsense is the bread and butter of the media and will continue to be until the end of the world. Which they'll also harp on about for clicks no doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Who buys a leg of lamb with no meat on it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Now I think Trump personally is a dreadful human being but yer wan who was crying to the heavens on the day he got elected ???

WTF ???

He's a pussy grabber ? JFK was one of the greatest world leaders ever and he shared his strange with Frank Sinatra and the Mob!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

A somewhat ooodd example of this was the recent D.Trump visit to HM the Q .

It was noticable that the BBC coverage,regularly switched back to London to show scenes of the anti Trump protest in Trafalgar Square.

The commentators in London,were keen to underline the vast size of the protest etc,however when the aerial shots panned out,one could see Buses moving and traffic generally flowing on adjacent streets.

For sure it was a Large protest,and well worth covering of itself,however it would be interesting to hear of the editorial rationale to constantly interlink it with the oficial events in Windsor Castle.

I think we can safely accept that D.Trump is actively disliked by the Media,but does this (or should it) extend to this approach ?

NB: I did'nt watch any of the other outlets coverage,so I'm using the BBC as my baseline.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    A somewhat ooodd example of this was the recent D.Trump visit to HM the Q .

It was noticable that the BBC coverage,regularly switched back to London to show scenes of the anti Trump protest in Trafalgar Square.

The commentators in London,were keen to underline the vast size of the protest etc,however when the aerial shots panned out,one could see Buses moving and traffic generally flowing on adjacent streets.

For sure it was a Large protest,and well worth covering of itself,however it would be interesting to hear of the editorial rationale to constantly interlink it with the oficial events in Windsor Castle.

I think we can safely accept that D.Trump is actively disliked by the Media,but does this (or should it) extend to this approach ?

NB: I did'nt watch any of the other outlets coverage,so I'm using the BBC as my baseline.

I asked an acquaintance who protested against Trump why she didn't protest the Commonwealth Heads visit.

37 countries in the Commonwealth have laws preventing people being gay - the death penalty for some.

Apparently "they do more good than harm". Lame a**e activist speak for "more social media likes".

He is a tit but there are worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

Vladimir Putin/Russia hysteria is another example.

The Democrats would rather further isolate Russia and engage in aggressive actions designed to provoke Putin than actually sit down and talk to the man.

They'd risk World War III just to virtue signal.

They're nuts.

Now I think Trump personally is a dreadful human being but yer wan who was crying to the heavens on the day he got elected ???

WTF ???

He's a pussy grabber ? JFK was one of the greatest world leaders ever and he shared his strange with Frank Sinatra and the Mob!!!

Ye, these people need to get a grip. You're living in America, probably one of the best places to live on earth and you're crying because your candidate didn't win. Give me strength

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TheShockmaster

Yes, see are current issues but the way they are being weaponised it's a if it's they're some sort of political fullstop. Things change, Trump might get another term, he may not. There doesn't seem to be any context now.

I'm with Bill Maher on this one - the way the Democrats are pandering to the liberal element of the party, he's pretty much guaranteed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

A lot said about Trump is definitely hyperbole legitimate criticism is one thing but many of the things said by certain folks is bordering on the insanity. The same sort of people who said nothing when Obama was bombing the ME, who helped to turn Libya into a slave state, who helped arm jihadis lunatics to overthrow secular governments to replace it with a sharia one where Christians would be slaughtered, gays thrown of buildings, women having no rights and be raped and stoned at will. While Trump manages to negotiate with NK, reel in Iran's nuclear programme, wants peace with Russia, speaks out against Islamic extremism, wants to stop funding extreme jihad groups in the ME, wants to put his own citizens needs first and yet he's the big bad wolf according to the MSM and loony left give me strength.

Mutant z wrote: »
    A lot said about Trump is definitely hyperbole legitimate criticism is one thing but many of the things said by certain folks is bordering on the insanity. The same sort of people who said nothing when Obama was bombing the ME, who helped to turn Libya into a slave state, who helped arm jihadis lunatics to overthrow secular governments to replace it with a sharia one where Christians would be slaughtered, gays thrown of buildings, women having no rights and be raped and stoned at will. While Trump manages to negotiate with NK, reel in Iran's nuclear programme, wants peace with Russia, speaks out against Islamic extremism, wants to stop funding extreme jihad groups in the ME, wants to put his own citizens needs first and yet he's the big bad wolf according to the MSM and loony left give me strength.

There's a couple of his plans I definitely agree with - the travel ban was an Obama initiative initially and made sence but only if you add Saudi and other countries.

All that "child snatcher" c**p - if you don't want to be locked up and separate from your child, don't illegally sneak into a foreign country!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

The Russia hysteria is number one right now. As if Trump needed Russian help to beat Hillary Clinton the worst Democratic candidate in history arguably. She got hammered. A comfort blanket is all it is.

Taytoland wrote: »
    The Russia hysteria is number one right now. As if Trump needed Russian help to beat Hillary Clinton the worst Democratic candidate in history arguably. She got hammered. A comfort blanket is all it is.

I think a lot of women wanted to vote for her simply to say that a woman won.

A feminist I have the misfortune to work with desperately wanted Hillary to win so that "the three most powerful nations on the planet will be ruled by women!".

She meant UK (Thatcher tribute act with a better wardrobe) and Germany (Million Migrants Merkel).

Some people should not do politics.

I think a lot of women wanted to vote for her simply to say that a woman won.

A feminist I have the misfortune to work with desperately wanted Hillary to win so that "the three most powerful nations on the planet will be ruled by women!".

She meant UK (Thatcher tribute act with a better wardrobe) and Germany (Million Migrants Merkel).

Some people should not do politics.

Noted feminist Ruth Coppinger made Facebook posts about the Belfast rape trial during proceedings that, had the trial occurred in this jurisdiction, would almost certainly have caused the trial to be abandoned and either started over or dismissed.

These people tend to have the emotional intellect of a urinal cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

''slams'' and ''hits back'' when someone expresses a mild criticism.

Mike Hoch wrote: »
    Noted feminist Ruth Coppinger made Facebook posts about the Belfast rape trial during proceedings that, had the trial occurred in this jurisdiction, would almost certainly have caused the trial to be abandoned and either started over or dismissed.

You're just lucky urinal cakes have a busy job else if they had free time - they would sue for that!

Robsweezie wrote: »
    ''slams'' and ''hits back'' when someone expresses a mild criticism.

Enraged Twitter - three morons tweeting each other.

They're so irresponsible. Even many of our wonderful (*cough) journalists were tweeting about it. Would they not have some cop on??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,164 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Your opinion only counts if it's dramatic on the internet.

The Fashion & Appearance forums are hilarious for this: "How does this jacket look?" first two replies are: "That jacket looks great" vs. "It looks like a bin bag that's been puked in by a human size fly".

Films is a close second. "Great way to pass 2 hours, surprised me" vs. "Worst film I've seen ever, it goads me with an awfulness to the extent that I am booking flights to the directors home so that I may stand outside his house and wail on him continually until he unmakes the movie".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,828 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You're a good example!

Of hyperbolics

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I thought Hyperbole was pronounced hyper-bowl (I hadn't a clue what it meant, still don't.

astrofool wrote: »
    Your opinion only counts if it's dramatic on the internet.

That's the most offensive thing I've ever heard!!! You should be fired from your job and lose everything because of an idle comment you made years ago!!!

They're so irresponsible. Even many of our wonderful (*cough) journalists were tweeting about it. Would they not have some cop on??

Much like they are aghast that our economy is improving, misery addicts like Ruth were probably delighted that the lads got acquitted. It was ammo for her war on the upper class male patriarchy, toxic masculinity whatever the **** that even is. She would have been devastated if they had been found guilty- about the only moan she could have got out of it was the length of their sentences.

I should point out I've no idea whether they were guilty or innocent but am going with the jury on it. To be forced out of ones country over charges one was acquitted of by a jury is outrageous.

That's the most offensive thing I've ever heard!!! You should be fired from your job and lose everything because of an idle comment you made years ago!!!

I only support people being removed from their job if they apologise for whatever the mob has accused them of. Victims of this should tell the mob to go **** themselves.

Much like they are aghast that our economy is improving, misery addicts like Ruth were probably delighted that the lads got acquitted. It was ammo for her war on the upper class male patriarchy, toxic masculinity whatever the **** that even is. She would have been devastated if they had been found guilty- about the only moan she could have got out of it was the length of their sentences.

I should point out I've no idea whether they were guilty or innocent but am going with the jury on it. To be forced out of ones country over charges one was acquitted of by a jury is outrageous.

Absolutely. I remember the discussion on Marian Finucane's programme the following Saturday and Sunday. If you weren't aware of the case you would definitely have thought they were found guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Vladimir Putin/Russia hysteria is another example.

The Democrats would rather further isolate Russia and engage in aggressive actions designed to provoke Putin than actually sit down and talk to the man.

They'd risk World War III just to virtue signal.

They're nuts.

The democrats and their cheerleaders in want to go to war with Russia so they can blame Trump for it and campaign on "getting out of this costly and needless war" when voters go to the polls in Nov for the mid-term elections. Because other than worthless virtue signalling [White Privilege this, White Supremacy that, Literally Hitler,etc] they have nothing worthwhile to run on.

Luckily for the rest of us Trump and Putin fallen for their bull****. Notice how the media had nothing bad to say about Putin when Obama spoke with him, Hilary sold 20% of Us Uranium to them, Bill made 6 figures on speaking fees in Russia, Kerry spoke with, Biden spoke with Putin as well. Hell, even Crocodile Tears himself Chuck Schumer met Putin at a gas station in Ny. No phony outrage by the media [including RTE and BBC]then. Trump meets with him and he's suddenly this evil monster. Then the media has the nerve to cry when nobody trust them.

Absolutely. I remember the discussion on Marian Finucane's programme the following Saturday and Sunday. If you weren't aware of the case you would definitely have thought they were found guilty.

Was that the one where they spoke to some wagon outside the GPO and it ended "other rapists like these will go free..." and no one said anything ???

I only support people being removed from their job if they apologise for whatever the mob has accused them of. Victims of this should tell the mob to go **** themselves.

I personally like when they have to go on video and apologise in tears, and we don't forgive them anyway, much like Tiger Woods.
    Forget context, reasoning and facts. Burn everyone, people who shoot wild animals (forget the premium price they are paying for the privilege of doing something which has to be done anyway, and which goes to fund the park), people who try to make a film about a trans person and put a woman in the lead role, people who made an inappropriate joke years ago. All of these people will ruin the world if they are not squashed

I don't understand what Trump is even meant to have done wrong, save for evasiveness.

If anyone, foreign or domestic, approaches a presidential candidate with information they have come into possession of, however they came to possess it, detailing apparent impropriety by a rival candidate, aren't they duty bound to take that information and broadcast it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

I don't understand what Trump is even meant to have done wrong,

Not even the Democrats and their cheerleaders can answer that question. They're whole platform now is impeaching him,but they can't even say what he's done to warrant it.

A presenter with any sense would have asked the contributors if they would mind handing over their mobile phones and having the content of all their WhatsApp messages uploaded online for public viewing. The loons who drove Jackson and Olding out of their jobs tried falling back on the excuse that their text messages were unbecoming of ambassadors of their sport. I'm sure there's absolutely nothing in Ruth Coppinger's private communications with friends that would make her appear at all unfit to serve as a TD after all :pac: These parasites are the worst sort of hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    Not even the Democrats and their cheerleaders can answer that question. They're whole platform now is impeaching him,but they can't even say what he's done to warrant it.

That's a more case of your complete ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    You’re confusing re-reg trolls with hyperbole.

It's like you summoned them all with this post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

I don't understand what Trump is even meant to have done wrong, save for evasiveness.

If anyone, foreign or domestic, approaches a presidential candidate with information they have come into possession of, however they came to possess it, detailing apparent impropriety by a rival candidate, aren't they duty bound to take that information and broadcast it?
    Everyone knew she was corrupt anyway, they didn't need Russia to tell people that. The Clinton foundation was just a big money making scheme. Pay for play.

I do find it interesting that people have mentioned Trump/democrats a lot on this thread so far, and "feminism", seems like they are a lightning rod on here.

Was that the one where they spoke to some wagon outside the GPO and it ended "other rapists like these will go free..." and no one said anything ???

Yep. Unbelievable when you think of it. Unfortunately, not very surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Trump hasn't started any wars yet, unlike Obama and Clinton... and the rest of them. I wonder what's wrong with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

It's the news of fear. I was only thinking of this the other day.

In short, hyperbolic end of time nonsense is the bread and butter of the media and will continue to be until the end of the world. Which they'll also harp on about for clicks no doubt.

Many years ago, I got meself a degree in Biblical Studies (for my sins :pac: ). Apocalypse was a thing that happened cyclically, even then. Early New Testament people were convinced that the world was going to end in 70 AD (or CE, as we were told to refer to it). It didn't.

Every culture has some sort of 'end of world' idea, and what you're describing is a 'fast food', 'I want it now!' version. Just don't take it seriously...until they're right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Trump hasn't started any wars yet, unlike Obama and Clinton... and the rest of them. I wonder what's wrong with him.

Patience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I do find it interesting that people have mentioned Trump/democrats a lot on this thread so far, and "feminism", seems like they are a lightning rod on here.

They are a lightning rod for some people. Look at the threads that ahve been created by people who think that they are under permanent attack by the "PC Brigade"

Although I do think anyone who talks about hyperbole with regards to people who dislike Trump should look at the crap that comes out of his mouth.

He has really upped the number of drone attacks. And did Obama declare war on anyone? Or Clinton (I assume you're mentioning Hillary)? Bush invaded and occupied two countries. I'm not aware that Clinton or Obama invading and occupying anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

You don’t hire John Bolton for humanitarian reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

I don't buy newspapers, have no TV and rarely listen to the news, except if it catches me unawares on the car radio. Mainly because I find the endless spin contemptible and that puts me in a grumpy mood. But on the way back from town today I heard Today FM 'on the hour' news and one of the main stories was some equality conference going on somewhere (forgive my vagueness, I really could not give a shyte). Pan to audio piece from nasal-sounding woman with a trembling pulse who declares, almost tearfully, we must step up to the plate, ''Not all power and influence comes in a pin-stripe suit!'' The fecking hyperbolic bullcrap of it. Does she think she is trapped in the 1950s? Some new-age heroine freeing the wimmin from the patriarchy? It's pathetic. As Anne Hathaway has been rounded on for emoting on behalf of blacks who are not in fact ''fearing for their lives every day'' as she declared, similarly as a lady who has been free all my life thanks very much, I would like to tell that ridiculous radio dame to fcuk right off back to her cat-ridden apartment.

Hyperbolic enough? ;)

Grayson wrote: »
    They are a lightning rod for some people. Look at the threads that ahve been created by people who think that they are under permanent attack by the "PC Brigade"

Although I do think anyone who talks about hyperbole with regards to people who dislike Trump should look at the crap that comes out of his mouth.

The never Trump brigade are having nervous breakdowns over words whilst ignoring the very real actions of Obama and Clinton.
    He has really upped the number of drone attacks. And did Obama declare war on anyone? Or Clinton (I assume you're mentioning Hillary)? Bush invaded and occupied two countries. I'm not aware that Clinton or Obama invading and occupying anywhere?

Obama and Hillary own the Libya and Syria mess.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Patience!

Odd word choice when talking about future wars. No one patiently waits for something bad.

Would you be one of millions outwardly outraged but secretly delighted to be able to hold a war against him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Odd word choice when talking about future wars. No one patiently waits for something bad.

Would you be one of millions outwardly outraged but secretly delighted to be able to hold a war against him?

of course not, wars never solve anything, but keep a very close eye on the iran situation! its also important to realise the complexity of the 'industrial military complex', its workings are far beyond the ramblings of an idiot

The never Trump brigade are having nervous breakdowns over words whilst ignoring the very real actions of Obama and Clinton.

Obama and Hillary own the Libya and Syria mess.

So what you actually mean is that I'm right with the facts I presented.

"Facts" are lies when added up.