Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bedding alternatives to Straw.

• 25-07-2018 7:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭

With the expected shortage of straw for use for bedding sheds by Cattle and Sheep farmers this Winter....what cost effective alternatives do people see that could be used?

Based in Leitrim here so always have to buy Straw from other parts of Ireland here...got good clean Wheaten Straw for € 3 a small Bale last year.Am expecting it to be at least as much this year,if not slightly dearer.

See fellas who have baled grazing ground with heavy rushes for ‘bedding’ for the backend.Seems to be happening all over the country.Imo that stuff will be next to useless for bedding....rushes won’t absorb or hold moisture from Catte or sheeps waste matter.And you will be importing rush seeds into your yard.

I usually Winter ewes inside a concrete floored shed in backend for a few months....if Straw is not available at an affordable rate I will look into using sawdust or woodchip to bed the sheep...and maybe the same for Sucklers calves as well.

What bedding materials have others used when Straw is scarce?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

With the expected shortage of straw for use for bedding sheds by Cattle and Sheep farmers this Winter....what cost effective alternatives do people see that could be used?

Based in Leitrim here so always have to buy Straw from other parts of Ireland here...got good clean Wheaten Straw for € 3 a small Bale last year.Am expecting it to be at least as much this year,if not slightly dearer.

See fellas who have baled grazing ground with heavy rushes for ‘bedding’ for the backend.Seems to be happening all over the country.Imo that stuff will be next to useless for bedding....rushes won’t absorb or hold moisture from Catte or sheeps waste matter.And you will be importing rush seeds into your yard.

I usually Winter ewes inside a concrete floored shed in backend for a few months....if Straw is not available at an affordable rate I will look into using sawdust or woodchip to bed the sheep...and maybe the same for Sucklers calves as well.

What bedding materials have others used when Straw is scarce?

Lucky to have got straw but options include
    Woodchip
    Oil seed rape straw
    Peat
    Miscanthus

Rushes as well but wouldn’t be a fan ,straw just going to get scarcer and dearer in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I've a share of trees shook after the storms, they must be cut down anyway so going chipping them. As it will be used inside I will still put straw over it but it should help stretch it and make it last longer. May have to house a few weanlings on it as well but they may manage without the straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭orm0nd

as Mj says , but if you intend staying in sheep long term I would consider adapting to slats , as straw will be scarce and costly for time to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Talking to a chap last, 3 loads of timber for 2k and 1k to get it chipped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Pidae.m wrote: »
    Talking to a chap last, 3 loads of timber for 2k and 1k to get it chipped

A load of 2inch stone too underneath the straw if you've somewhere to spread it afterwards

I was at a keenam walk once and the nutritionists said to bale oil seed rape straw for feeding. Our contractor was didn't want to do it said it would be like baling briars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,044 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

One for the future possibly or small scale farmers making it themselves.
    It'd be a further step from chipping the wood.
    And you could spread it straight away when the house is cleaned out. No composting required.

https://youtu.be/RPrLmn_i8q0

https://youtu.be/FW0JRk8AXc4

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Is dried bracken ever used?

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »

I've heard of it being cut and baled in Wales and Scotland for home burners.

Not easy finding bracken areas with no stones sticking up I'd imagine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Would ye not consider sawdust for sheep?....if you put in a good initial bed of it perhaps mixed with woodchip it should provide a dry comfortable bed.

What price is early Straw making ‘in the field’ at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Would ye not consider sawdust for sheep?....if you put in a good initial bed of it perhaps mixed with woodchip it should provide a dry comfortable bed.

4x4 anything from 15 euro (regular customer) on the flat to 25 euro baled for winter barley straw.
    8x4x3 50 (unchopped) to 70 (chopped) for the same.Winter wheat straw a bit cheaper(but not much!!!).Even oaten straw being snapped up without any thought.
    All those prices are from the field.Looking at 400/600 euro per load to haul from S.E. to midlands/west.

Straw very scarce and nobody selling bar to regular customers and even at that many having to take a cut in their regular "quota" even at increased prices.Had numerous calls re."any chance of getting me a load or two of straw,any type will do."Not a chance at the moment.
    Spring barley starting to be cut around here and yields unexiciting to say the least.Crops look poor and straw yield will be well back it seems.

Winter oilseed rape yielding 3/4no. 8x4x3 to the acre.No combine's running choppers this year.
    Re bedding with woodchip/sawdust,can you spread this back on grass?Can't see it breaking down in the dung for a good few years.Anyone bedding with it around here spread it on tillage ground to plough down.

Wood chip would want to be in a heap of dung for 12 months. Issue is it takes N out of ground when breaking down. I normally spread all dung on fields to be ploughed anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

greysides wrote: »

Bracken is suspected of being cancer causing in both humans and animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

greysides wrote:

I thought it was poisonous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

4x4 anything from 15 euro (regular customer) on the flat to 25 euro baled for winter barley straw.
    8x4x3 50 (unchopped) to 70 (chopped) for the same.Winter wheat straw a bit cheaper(but not much!!!).Even oaten straw being snapped up without any thought.
    All those prices are from the field.Looking at 400/600 euro per load to haul from S.E. to midlands/west.

Straw very scarce and nobody selling bar to regular customers and even at that many having to take a cut in their regular "quota" even at increased prices.Had numerous calls re."any chance of getting me a load or two of straw,any type will do."Not a chance at the moment.
    Spring barley starting to be cut around here and yields unexiciting to say the least.Crops look poor and straw yield will be well back it seems.

Winter oilseed rape yielding 3/4no. 8x4x3 to the acre.No combine's running choppers this year.
    Re bedding with woodchip/sawdust,can you spread this back on grass?Can't see it breaking down in the dung for a good few years.Anyone bedding with it around here spread it on tillage ground to plough down.

Wonder how farmers are faring in England?.....are they experiencing a drought as well?......or could we see Straw being imported in the backend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Lad I get straw from threw in a bale of rape straw on a load , it was very rough and hard spread , if it was chopped it might be better, milled peat is a good alternative under cattle, never seen it used with sheep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

What exactly is wood chip? Is it trees chipped up or mostly branches. I spotted a big pile of branches left in a field waiting to be burnt I'm have tempted to ask the man can I chip them. I know him fairly well. They are anything from 4 inches down to twigs

jimini0 wrote: »
    What exactly is wood chip? Is it trees chipped up or mostly branches. I spotted a big pile of branches left in a field waiting to be burnt I'm have tempted to ask the man can I chip them. I know him fairly well. They are anything from 4 inches down to twigs

Woodchip is logs chipped, in some cases branches and all would be put thru as well. Bark mulch type stuff can be got cheaper as well from mills which would be all branches and bark.
    The lads that are coming to do my trees have a chipper that will do up to about 18 inches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Hard to look past peat. Very cheap compared to anything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Chisler2

Wonder how farmers are faring in England?.....are they experiencing a drought as well?......or could we see Straw being imported in the backend?

They are suffering terribly! A quote from a farmer in Sussex on BBC Radio 4 yesterday "We have never seen anything like it. The cracks in the soil are over 1 metre deep. I'm giving up and going on holiday as there is nothing I can do. It will take months of heavy rains to build up the water-table again".

Dire days here, but muuuuch worse on the East Coast of the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

grassroot1 wrote: »
    I thought it was poisonous?
    We had to get the Vet out to 5 bulls a couple of years ago after contractors for the ESB cut bracken and left it lying on the ground. Apparently they will eat it when its cut.

Base price wrote:
    We had to get the Vet out to 5 bulls a couple of years ago after contractors for the ESB cut bracken and left it lying on the ground. Apparently they will eat it when its cut.

Is there something about spores it gives off too I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

Reggie. wrote: »
    Hard to look past peat. Very cheap compared to anything else

How much is milled peat making. Where can it be sourced

adne wrote: »

€13 a m3 last year. I get it from my local bord na mona depot. Thinking of delivering it this year for lads. Did a few runs last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

adne wrote: »

€13 a m3 last year. I get it from my local bord na mona depot. Thinking of delivering it this year for lads. Did a few runs last year
    Just a cup of tea & a few chocolate digestives as payment to your boards colleagues

Is there something about spores it gives off too I think
    It is carcinogenic to humans and livestock.

https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?pid=445

Just a cup of tea & a few chocolate digestives as payment to your boards colleagues

Brought some to a few boardsies last year

Does it come in different grades?
    Say.. coarse and fine?

Does it come in different grades?
    Say.. coarse and fine?

I think so but they load you with the coarse for bedding cattle I think.

Yea someone told me to get the coarse.
    They got landed with fine stuff and it turned to slurry very quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Base price wrote: »

I’ve often seen my cattle eating it when its growing, is it only poisonous at certain times of the year??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Anyone used the rapeseed straw for bedding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭visatorro

gozunda wrote:
    Anyone used the rapeseed straw for bedding?

Was going to ask same question. Iv been offered some. No sign of straw yet. I know about twenty years ago a farmers used to use it on a stand off pad. Previous posters have said its better chopped. I'd imagine this is prob right. Any idea of price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭visatorro

8+4+4 barley straw 80eur. 8+4+4 rape straw 45 euro. 4+4 barley straw 30eur.

visatorro wrote: »
    8+4+4 barley straw 80eur. 8+4+4 rape straw 45 euro. 4+4 barley straw 30eur.

Jaysus

next door tillage man sold Wheat straw 4x4 27 euro

It's getting to the stage where the paper recycling bins won't be safe. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

next door tillage man sold Wheat straw 4x4 27 euro

20€ here, bale it ourselves and draw after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Why is it not sold by the weight?

tanko wrote: »
    I’ve often seen my cattle eating it when its growing, is it only poisonous at certain times of the year??
    I think it's a bit like ragwort, the more they eat over time the more damage it does.

YFlyer wrote: »
    Why is it not sold by the weight?

Because depends on the moisture content. Peat in the sun would weigh one amount and after a shower of rain be heavier.

I've been passing by the ESB plant near Clonbullogue over the past week and ogling at the mountains of wood chip stacked outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Base price wrote: »
    I've been passing by the ESB plant near Clonbullogue over the past week and ogling at the mountains of wood chip stacked outside.

It takes years to break down when you spread it on the land, 'twould destroy a farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I was thinking of the bulk density. One load come be more compact than another.

YFlyer wrote: »
    I was thinking of the bulk density. One load come be more compact than another.

Nah wouldnt be an issue as its loaded the same. It's all loose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Brought the rotovator into the bog last week and rotovated the top six inches. Father bought home 9 trailer loads of peat and Heather before rain on Thurs. Be interesting to see how it goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Bord na Mona going nationwide with its Peat bedding.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/bnm-to-expand-into-peat-bedding-market/

Bord na Mona going nationwide with its Peat bedding.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/bnm-to-expand-into-peat-bedding-market/

Options out there but another typically annoying Irish trait, declined to comment on price......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mooooo wrote: »
    Options out there but another typically annoying Irish trait, declined to comment on price......

Sellers market atm.

Lads will stick with sellers who don't ride the arse of it altogether. Straw will only be short this year, more cereals going in next year I'd say.

Sellers market atm.

Lads will stick with sellers who don't ride the arse of it altogether. Straw will only be short this year, more cereals going in next year I'd say.

Ah yeah and even with straw i wouldn't mind it going up and down supply and demand etc and generally prices can be seen on the market but pricing anything up in this country can be a pain in the hole tbh, just to even get a straight price for anything just a side rant on the bord na mona comments

Mooooo wrote: »

€13 per m3. That's the price the last few years