Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irritating words or phrases

• Registered Users Posts: 28,690 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Happy Out

First heard it about 20 years ago from someone from Wexford and it's spread like a plague since then. It makes no bloody sense!

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭bricky06

'Same difference'... I can't stand it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭Teamhrach

"Do you want a wee bag?"

"Pop in your wee card there"

"And the number on the back"

"So it is"

"So I am"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

Just read a headline on the Indo website

"We need to have a national conversation"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

To be "across" a subject makes me a cross person.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭yogi37

Thanks in advance

I didnt say I would do it for you!!

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

Would instead of wouldn't...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

benjamin d wrote: »
    Here's a thread that hasn't been done in a while...

Are there any turns of phrase people use that really irritate you for whatever reason?
    Alright Already.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

Total, Totally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

"That's a lot to unpack"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Was it written by their social media correspondent?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

Savage.

That's the new media's favorite line now.

We need to have a conversation about X

Where X is usually some twitter outrage.

Ipso wrote: »
    Was it written by their social media correspondent?

well it is the indo....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Mindfulness and all that bolloxology. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

More used in gas memes than every day conversation, but 'blah di blah they said, it'll be grand they said'

A common example being

'A few pints they said, it'll be grand they said'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Happy Out

First heard it about 20 years ago from someone from Wexford and it's spread like a plague since then. It makes no bloody sense!

Perfect sense if you know the definition :

out : adverb, preposition (VERY)

To the full or a great extent or degree.

Used to make the meaning of a word stronger:

We walked all day and were tired out (= very tired) by the time we got home.
    It's up to you to sort this out (= deal with it completely).
    All decked out.
    Stretched out on the floor.

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭Thepillowman

Literally
    Obviously
    Basically
    Totes
    Chats and the bants
    And the one that gets my goat is young people dropping the letter t at the end of words. Enveloped in a murderous haze with that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

Who knew

• Registered Users Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Neames

Thank you for reaching out

• Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

As per usual, a tasty one that my ex loved when she was drunk

Very unique, it's either unique or it isn't

Did it for the 'bantz', makes me cringe

• Registered Users Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Sadb

People who say Mum or mom instead of Mam

People saying cops instead of Guards or Gardaí

Mom comes from the Irish word, it’s used mostly around Gaeltacht areas and has been for generations.

Cops/ police used by an Irish person in Ireland irrationally annoys me.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Sadb

S/He Passed.

Passed what?A kidney stone?The collection plate?

SHe passed AWAY. Complete your sentence please. Or use another phrase. S/He died etc.

Nearly as bad as lost. “She lost her father last year”.

The phrase "rock up", meaning to show up. Don't know when this suddenly became popular but I grimace every time I hear it.

Also "doggo"/"pupper" - there is NO NEED for these abominations to exist in any lexicon. :mad: There's NOTHING wrong with dog, puppy or pup. Hell, even "doggy" is somewhat acceptable if you're talking to children, assuming you don't follow it with the word "style".

****ing doggo and pupper. No interest in anyone using those words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭acai berry

Creating a generic term out of someone's name. It's usually done by taking the name of a well known person and adding an "s" at the end of it to form a group of people identical with that person. It's usually preceeded by "your".

For example:

Lets take Dana, or Sean Gallagher, who are well known individuals with their own unique characterisitics.

Somebody asks: "Who do you think might be running for President in the forthcoming Presidential Election?"
    Answer: "Well, you have your Danas and your Sean Gallaghers ......" indicating a type of candidate similar to those indivuals - a whole other group of people based on one person's name.

It happens a lot in sports commentaries and discussions on radio and TV. Talking about boxing - "You have your Mohammed Alis!".

You can't have another Mohammed Ali, let alone a whole generic group of same - for God's sake! Drives me mad when I hear that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I hate when people say of if only 'You walked in my shoes'.

I've size 4 feet so I probably won't get far in anyone's shoes.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,293 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Babe or babes

Someone I know calls everyone that and it sounds ridiculous.

Sadb wrote: »
    Mom comes from the Irish word, it’s used mostly around Gaeltacht areas and has been for generations.

Cops/ police used by an Irish person in Ireland irrationally annoys me.

Very interesting. I assumed people had started using it after watching too many American television programmes/films