Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What number is your body max index?

• 16-07-2018 3:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭

Poll question 174 votes

0% 0 votes
    3% 6 votes
    2% 4 votes
    2% 4 votes
    4% 8 votes
    7% 13 votes
    4% 7 votes
    8% 15 votes
    8% 15 votes
    13% 23 votes
    16% 29 votes
    9% 16 votes
    7% 13 votes
    7% 13 votes
    4% 8 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Hopefully one that's considered robust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Shpud2

It's body mass index. Very important when it comes to getting jobs I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

Congratulations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

So you're fairly scrawny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

31.7. Not even on the poll dammit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Don't forget that a robust BMI prevents you ever catching a viral or bacterial infection. :cool:

Checked mine for the craic and it's 22 but it means nothing to me, I really couldn't care less what it is, as long as I'm feeling good and keeping well. I certainly wouldn't consider it when making any food or exercise decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Jaysus you miserable looking sod. I hope you are a long distance runner or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭badabing106

Jaysus you miserable looking sod. I hope you are a long distance runner or something.

I'm a middle distance athlete

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

23.7 apparently. If I can hold it there, thereabouts for the next 20 or so years, I'll be doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭badabing106

BuboBubo wrote: »

Sorry. I thought there was only 15 options for poll, so thats why I only put 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Campogna

I'm 25.1 :( Long year of studying pushed me into overweight but I do have heavy rugby legs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Mine is 19.

I thought bmi was considered outdated as an indicator of health though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

‘Bout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

three fiddy

18, on the light side but the mirror tells me that I'm on the nose weight wise for my height (which is v. small).

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Mine is 19.

I thought bmi was considered outdated as an indicator of health though?

It is and has been for many years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

i'm a fatty

Chewbacca wrote: »
    Fcuk this

Pay no attention, you're just right as you are. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Salthillprom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭ron jambo

23.8 high end of normal and a skinney bastard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I have a body and it has mass

Around 27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

W=mg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,425 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

It's body mass index. Very important when it comes to getting jobs I hear.

Actually it can be important, our Flight Attendants (Female only) are measured every so often, they will be grounded if they exceed a certain limit, or fired if they cannot come within the required limit after a period of time. As for me, if i get up towards 35, I will have to undergo all sorts of sleep apnea tests and stress threadmill tests every year, not to mention that insurance companies wont quote for loss of profession insurance if over 30.
      [*]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

smurfjed wrote: »

Actually it can be important, our Flight Attendants (Female only) are measured every so often, they will be grounded if they exceed a certain limit, or fired if they cannot come within the required limit after a period of time. As for me, if i get up towards 35, I will have to undergo all sorts of sleep apnea tests and stress threadmill tests every year, not to mention that insurance companies wont quote for loss of profession insurance if over 30.
        [*]

Is this true? I suppose they wouldn't be able to fit down the aisles. What is the limit?

In answer to the OP I am definitely overweight according to bmi scale but... 8 months pregnant I am ok with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

smurfjed wrote: »

[*]

Why only females? Not trying to be snippy, genuinely interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Mine is 24 ... but I'd like to get it to 22/22.5 ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Think I have come across an alternative universe here... Rarely heard of "body mass index" and no idea re mine and no interest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Ah the good old BMI. Fake science. The index that doesn't take into account a persons actual build. For example all the Irish rugby team are overweight/obese according to this bunkum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

6ft tall a shade under 14 stone and overweight according to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

My large penis skews the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

My large penis skews the results.

No, no, no. People said you were a giant prick, big difference :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Katgurl wrote: »
          Is this true? I suppose they wouldn't be able to fit down the aisles. What is the limit?

In answer to the OP I am definitely overweight according to bmi scale but... 8 months pregnant I am ok with that.

Divide by two, be grand :)

I'm currently 26, but started back training, don't want to be premiership footballer either, but mid 20s would be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

20. Nice and normal.

6ft tall a shade under 14 stone and overweight according to this

You just have to accept that the BMI gurus could be right and you're morbidly obese. I'm 6ft and a half inch, weighing 11 St 10lb, so you have to be two stone overweight according to the quacks supporting BMI as the measure. ;)

All nonsense of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

evil_seed wrote: »
          Ah the good old BMI. Fake science. The index that doesn't take into account a persons actual build. For example all the Irish rugby team are overweight/obese according to this bunkum

It's actually very useful for population health studies and as a general guide.

The amount of people who fall into obese categories due to their huge muscle mass is statistically insignificant.

Individual stats = useless
          Population / large studies = very useful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

6ft 2, BMI of 26

At 20 (or certainly the early 20's) it was a BMI of 19

Lets get this figure over 30 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I have a BMI of 28 which is over weight. I'm 6ft 4 in and 106 kilos. I'm far far from over weight. The scale is completely outdated and doesn't take into account muscle mass etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

It's actually very useful for population health studies and as a general guide.

The amount of people who fall into obese categories due to their huge muscle mass is statistically insignificant.

Individual stats = useless
          Population / large studies = very useful

This.

Statistically while there's a small chance you with your 30 BMI could be a pro bodybuilder or rugby player, or have some rare hormonal problem which causes you to be obese, it's far more likely that you simply spend too much time on your hole cramming too many cream buns into your face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

D3V!L wrote: »
          I have a BMI of 28 which is over weight. I'm 6ft 4 in and 106 kilos. I'm far far from over weight. The scale is completely outdated and doesn't take into account muscle mass etc.

I refer you to my honourable colleague's 14:10 post.

31 at end of april

29 today

aiming for 27 and tbh id go no lower thsn that i dont think. chunky legs, i swear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

BuboBubo wrote: »

Count your blessings, you lucky sylph! I come in at 32.3, and probably more if I had weighed myself in my XXL boxers and t-shirt! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭RockDesk

D3V!L wrote: »

Brian O'Driscoll (in his playing days) would be classed as obese according to this scale.