Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would Dermot Morgan have made of Ireland in 2018?

• 15-07-2018 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,446 ✭✭✭✭

Mahon Tribunal, Irish Water, Tuam Babies, Banking Crisis, Housing Boom and Bust, Ray D’Arcy...

Sounds like the Irish version of ‘We Didn’t Start The Fire’ :D

But what would Dermot have made of Ireland today?

Careful now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

The lack of decent comedy on RTE would be right up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

A good living from satirical comedy given the abundance of material...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Wouldn’t have given DOB the easy ride he’s enjoyed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

gandalf wrote: »
    A good living from satirical comedy given the abundance of material...

I've just noticed, he was (just about) still alive when you first joined Boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

who gives a hairy rats ass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

Mutant z wrote: »
    The lack of decent comedy on RTE would be right up there.

There wasn't any either while he was still alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

A great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I have no idea what his reaction to events that were happening while he was alive were. It's not like Father Ted is full of social commentary about the mid to late nineties aside from making fun of priests and the odd joke about Blur and Oasis or Radiohead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

His stuff on Scrap Saturday was pretty good. Don’t think there’s anyone of similar calibre out there right now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭Jennehy

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Wouldn’t have given DOB the easy ride he’s enjoyed

Rather sad impersonating someone is it not?

who gives a hairy rats ass?

If you ever say that again, I'll put your head through the wall.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭Jennehy

If you ever say that again, I'll put your head through the wall.

You couldn’t open a window never mind anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Cowboys, Ted! They're a bunch of cowboys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

He'd have another massive heart attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I dunno. IMO, people do lose their edge as they get into middle age. I think his material would have become less potent as time went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

This:

carefulnow.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Watch his standup.

He was brutal. Unfunny and cringeworthy at times.

He was a good comedic actor, when reading another person's lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

^^^^ this x 100.

Fantastic script actor.
    Below average comedian.
    Woeful at ad lib.

I think people thought he was funnier than he was, because of the small talent pool at the time. Big fish,small pond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

dudara wrote: »
    His stuff on Scrap Saturday was pretty good. Don’t think there’s anyone of similar calibre out there right now

Some of the writing was patchy enough and the impressions often dipped to pub lounge level.

It hasn't dated well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Uncharted wrote: »

I think people thought he was funnier than he was, because of the small talent pool at the time. Big fish,small pond.

I think there is also some who give him more credit than deserved and assume he created and wrote Father Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Jack Moore

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    I think there is also some who give him more credit than deserved and assume he created and wrote Father Ted.

He created father trendy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Steve F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Says a lot about the dearth of recent good comedy when lines are still quoted from a show that's 20 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Steve F

Says a lot about the dearth of recent good comedy when lines are still quoted from a show that's 20 years old.

...and are still as funny as f+++! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

Its amazing Graham Linehan was involved given that he is an angry, petulant, whinging crybaby. And a hypocrite bullyboy. Can't be said enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

You mean like Amy Schumer?

IMG_5483.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

Its amazing Graham Linehan was involved given that he is an angry, petulant, whinging crybaby. And a hypocrite bullyboy. Can't be said enough.

Only if one is a twitter snowflake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

He is still one of the creators of the show and made it what it was.
    The hilarious thing about Father Ted, is it could be made today and half the jokes would still be relevant.

It's true what they say isn't it, you should never meet your heroes, you'll only be disappointed!

Uncharted wrote: »
    Woeful at ad lib.

Apparently, during breaks in filming Father Ted, he used to get bored on set and would randomly wrestle Ardal O'Hanlon to the ground and pretend to molest him, in-character as Ted. And when Ardal would fight back, he'd say "You won't get anywhere in the church with that attitude, Dougal."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Just like one big Father Ted episode !! and July 19th is only days away!!

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    He is still one of the creators of the show and made it what it was.
    The hilarious thing about Father Ted, is it could be made today and half the jokes would still be relevant.

It's true what they say isn't it, you should never meet your heroes, you'll only be disappointed!

So so so true!!!

I met Patrick Stewart once - dickhead!

Just like one big Father Ted episode !! and July 19th is only days away!!

My kid was born on October 30th, 2015 ... I am so happy that his e day will be July 19th!!!

Im getting a cake made and everything ! Maths nerd joke + Father Ted reference!! can't wait !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think Morgan would be amazed that of all places, Ireland seems to be standing up and out for human rights where much the Anglophone world seems to be regressing. For all of his life, Ireland was the backwards country gobsheen with outdated notions on every social topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Father Ted was shite. I liked it when I was in my late teens and early twenties but I couldn't sit through an episode now. I'm waiting for someone to reply with the highly original line "I'll put your head through the wall if you say that again".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Jack Moore

Father Ted was shite. I liked it when I was in my late teens and early twenties but I couldn't sit through an episode now. I'm waiting for someone to reply with the highly original line "I'll put your head through the wall if you say that again".

Well I will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

The reason people still quote it twenty years later is because the people who loved it then still do. I’ve never met anyone who used to like it and now don’t. Your post doesn’t really compute for me for that reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Off topic but there's a very interesting history to his family

http://www.turtlebunbury.com/history/history_family/hist_family_morgan.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Some of the writing was patchy enough and the impressions often dipped to pub lounge level.

It hasn't dated well.

The good stuff was very good and dated very well. Inevitably for a regular radio show a certain amount of catch-phrase dross was present ("Mara!") - why the Phoenix still advertises with a rip-off of that voice is beyond me, It's like they want to deter younger readers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,446 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

SinglePersonalJumpingbean.gif

Apparently, during breaks in filming Father Ted, he used to get bored on set and would randomly wrestle Ardal O'Hanlon to the ground and pretend to molest him, in-character as Ted. And when Ardal would fight back, he'd say "You won't get anywhere in the church with that attitude, Dougal."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

padd b1975 wrote: »
    dudara wrote: »

It hasn't dated well.

I've never laughed as hard at anything in my whole life. Had me cracking up every saturday morning for years...Brilliant stuff.

It wasn't supposed to be archive material it was topical up to the minute.

Maarrraaaaaa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

Unfortunately he’s turned into bitter limousine liberal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

In today's world of political correctness he would definitely be seen as a racist and/or a sexual predator.

LimpConsciousFennecfox-size_restricted.gif

l2JI9CHwgNPS45ocw.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Madagascan

You might be one of those Protestants.
    Always up to no good.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

professore wrote: »
    That's an old Bob Monkhouse line and probably from before she was born.

I could almost imagine him doing a Pope Trendy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

He'd take one look at Alison Spittle and ask himself how that gob****e got on the television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

maninasia wrote: »
    I've never laughed as hard at anything in my whole life. Had me cracking up every saturday morning for years...Brilliant stuff.

It wasn't supposed to be archive material it was topical up to the minute.

For real satire check out John Bird and John Fortune.
    All of it is still as fresh and biting as it was years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

He'd probably have a pop at Denis O'Brien and get a solicitor's letter.