Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Professions people take too seriously

• 11-07-2018 6:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭

I’m going to select a profession and hope I don’t offend anybody it’s not my intention and just my view.
    I was reading a thread just there about the shortage of teachers to mark the tests. The title was something like is there really a shortage or are they fuelling hysteria. Something like that.

I thought to myself ah come on. So a few teenagers won’t get their results for a week or two. To be honest teach 80 per cent of people basic maths and English and they will be fine for life. Like there was a panic that the geography papers mightn’t be marked in time. The world was balancing on a stalactite.

Now I’m sure teachers are lovely but calm down abit.

Can anybody else think of jobs that people who do them think they are the most important thing in the world but really anybody could do them or they wouldn’t really matter if they all got redundant tomorrow?

Please teachers don’t get offended it’s just my opinion by the end of this thread every occupation will probably be brought up by somebody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Hairdressers. ****ing ridiculous carry on. Peter mark in particular. Takes 4 years of training with them to be a "stylist". You'd literally train a doctor in the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Nail technician.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

President of Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Teachers, Guards and Priests. Not so long ago your family had reached the pinnacle of Irish society if you had any two of the three.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

It’s like somebody is just inventing jobs to keep us busy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

Teachers, Guards and Priests. Not so long ago your family had reached the pinnacle of Irish society if you had any two of the three.

Ah, there we have it... The "holy trinity" :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Life Coaches.
    They take themselves serious even though their time seems to be spent mostly attending Life Coaching seminars where they tell each other how important they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

humberklog wrote: »
    Life Couches.
    They take themselves serious even though their time seems to be spent mostly attending Life couching seminars where they tell each other how important they are.

Haven't heard of them, but I'm an amateur Couch Potato.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

humberklog wrote: »
    Life Couches.

I love me a nice comfy life couch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Plumbers. How hard is it to run a pipe with water in it. Or change a washer in a tap? At least electricians run the risk of electrocution but a plumber might get wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭enricoh

Professional soccer players - they get bananas money, God bless Sky's hype!
    Teachers- 36k starting salary n 4 months off a year. The way they and Ingrid miley go on u'd think they were on 9.65 an hour! Me heart bleeds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Chef.

Anyone involved in the fashion "industry".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

A Prince who is sixth in line to the Throne.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭wiz569

Plumbers. How hard is it to run a pipe with water in it. Or change a washer in a tap? At least electricians run the risk of electrocution but a plumber might get wet.

Ah here,and I used to like your posts ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

It’s like somebody is just inventing jobs to keep us busy.

I've a colleague who's a technology evangelist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It gets interesting when gas is involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

And the safe job in the bank or the civil service to that list lol

When I did the Leaving cert in 1986, the folks wanted me in the bank, Guards or Civil service lol

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

bit not every plumber is an rgi?

If teaching is such easy money with 4 months holidays, maybe a few folk on here should go be one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Comedians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Teachtóir Dáile

just so I don't step on any 'flakers toes, I will just say the "Val Falvey" kind.

The ratio is about 1:1 to TD's who are at least somewhat productive.

a few crap junior ministers, thank God most senior ministers pull their weight and don't revel in binary politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Harleen Quinzel

Social Media Influencers.

Stheno wrote: »
    bit not every plumber is an rgi?

True

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Apparently lot of ****e in those site toilets allright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Its not about people getting their results a week or two late, its about them hiring people who aren't qualified to correct them, meaning students who may have worked hard, will have their exam corrected by someone who has no experience of the paper or how to correct it. Hardly fair on the kid.

I’m going to select a profession and hope I don’t offend anybody it’s not my intention and just my view.
    I was reading a thread just there about the shortage of teachers to mark the tests. The title was something like is there really a shortage or are they fuelling hysteria. Something like that.

I thought to myself ah come on. So a few teenagers won’t get their results for a week or two. To be honest teach 80 per cent of people basic maths and English and they will be fine for life. Like there was a panic that the geography papers mightn’t be marked in time. The world was balancing on a stalactite.

Now I’m sure teachers are lovely but calm down abit.

Can anybody else think of jobs that people who do them think they are the most important thing in the world but really anybody could do them or they wouldn’t really matter if they all got redundant tomorrow?

Please teachers don’t get offended it’s just my opinion by the end of this thread every occupation will probably be brought up by somebody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

"I have a job in finance"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Having had the pleasure of managing bad trades men. I'll gladly take any good plumber, sparks, brick, plasterer, pipe layer very seriously.

HR take themselves way too seriously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Teachers ... meh! .. it's not exactly brain surgery now is it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Social Media Influencers.

That's a hobby not a job

These people are running a business aparantly. I’d love to see their tax returns.

How do you pay tax on a free handbag you got for pretending you bought it and like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Gas explosion, carbon monoxide poisoning, water contamination, and, yes, electrocution are the risks that are entailed in a plumber's work. You mean you haven't noticed the things that go in and out of a boiler? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Internet 'personality'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

HR

Gas explosion, carbon monoxide poisoning, water contamination, and, yes, electrocution are the risks that are entailed in a plumber's work. You mean you haven't noticed the things that go in and out of a boiler? :confused:

Ah give him a break he’s from around the time when plumbing was a back boiler that ran a coil to the cylinder and a toilet was where the coal shed later got put.

Also torture by plumbers when you're an apprentice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Harleen Quinzel

That's a hobby not a job

What starts out as a hobby has turned into a full time job for lots of them.
    Some even employ others to update their blogs etc.
    Influencer and YouTuber are two “professions” that lots of kids aspire to now, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,734 ✭✭✭✭noodler

NIMAN wrote: »
    If teaching is such easy money with 4 months holidays, maybe a few folk on here should go be one?

Always a popular, if weak, response.

Oh I have, in real life, every respect and admiration for all trades and most professions. It was more a comment in the spirit of the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Going to stick myself out there - Architects. The amount of "drawings" we get given on different jobs and they are arseways. Room dimensions completely wrong. Services to be placed where existing windows are.
    If a building is 10 metres long you cannot fit 6 offices at 2 metres long into it.
    Remember a job where the architect wanted a drop down bulkhead in a boardroom. My mate walked in, took one look at its so called position and says " sure if you build it there the windows will hit off it when you open them".
    Yet when they arrive on site you're almost expected to bow down in honour of these heroes.

Oh I have, in real life, every respect and admiration for all trades and most professions. It was more a comment in the spirit of the OP.

You mean it was attempt to needle at the op. Rolls off me like water off a plumbers back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Hospital consultants. I know it's an important job but unless they're secretly stopping time from running backwards or gravity from failing then the ego and attitude are out of all proportion. Not to mind the money.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Going to stick myself out there - Architects. The amount of "drawings" we get given on different jobs and they are arseways. Room dimensions completely wrong. Services to be placed where existing windows are.
    If a building is 10 metres long you cannot fit 6 offices at 2 metres long into it.
    Remember a job where the architect wanted a drop down bulkhead in a boardroom. My mate walked in, took one look at its so called position and says " sure if you build it there the windows will hit off it when you open them".
    Yet when they arrive on site you're almost expected to bow down in honour of these heroes.

Haha boss told me to hang a sink on a window years ago because it was on the drawings. He said feck it they can pay us to move it later. I’d no idea how to drill a window so didn’t. Would have been funny though. Still wouldn’t have the expertise to know how to be honest.

You mean it was attempt to needle at the op. Rolls off me like water off a plumbers back.

I have no doubt about that. Your constant demeaning of the professions of others is wearing so thin it has lost all impact too.

Just a bit of fun. :)

noodler wrote: »

Why is it weak?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭ouxbbkqtswdfaw

Psychiatrists and psychiatric nurses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

noodler wrote: »
    NIMAN wrote: »

Explain why there is a shortage of teachers currently nationwide.

Mardy Bum wrote: »

Nobody wants to work in a job full of teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Mardy Bum wrote: »

They're all out in Dubai living the life of riley!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Oh I have, in real life, every respect and admiration for all trades and most professions.

This is just the latest in a long line of posts and threads from the OP abusing people and their choice of profession.

Is this Third or fourth swipe at Teachers?

OP believes that he should be earning more than a large number of professions and takes grave offence to discover he does not resulting in threads like these.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

mfceiling wrote:
    Going to stick myself out there - Architects. The amount of "drawings" we get given on different jobs and they are arseways. Room dimensions completely wrong. Services to be placed where existing windows are. If a building is 10 metres long you cannot fit 6 offices at 2 metres long into it. Remember a job where the architect wanted a drop down bulkhead in a boardroom. My mate walked in, took one look at its so called position and says " sure if you build it there the windows will hit off it when you open them". Yet when they arrive on site you're almost expected to bow down in honour of these heroes.

You'll find an awful lot of architects are bollocks at practicalities, but are often rescued by the lowly technician who's actually drawing up the design for them!