Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

William Dunlop RIP

• 07-07-2018 11:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭

I dont want this to be a road racing bashing thread
    But I am devastated at Williams death.
    He was a gentleman and a fast rider, he had lots of time for his fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Im not into horses but RIP to that fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Ah crap ,

Very talented young man rip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

These boys are living the dream on the razors edge of life and death

Nobody from his family will entertain any calls for a ban on this great sport

The last great bastion of pure adrenaline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Very sad, huge loss to the racing world.

I love to watch as the skill they have is unreal but very dangerous and sadly so many have been lost.

R.I.P and condolences to all your family and friends brother.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Really really sad day.

Almost 18 years to the day that his uncle died.
    I remember being in Skerries at the Blackhills the day Joey died in Estonia.

This death today bring back those memories although I didn't follow much of Williams career.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭jiltloop

First and foremost RIP.

I have great respect for people who push the boundaries as motorbike racers do. I understand the conflicting opinions but I think there is a certain beauty that exists at the fine edge where human engineering and skill intertwine and unfortunately when the beauty fails it's ugly. But that's what makes it's so astounding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Theres no need for that **** in a RIP thread.

Like I said, it’s not a road racing bashing thread
    If anyone who don’t understand, watch the doc Road

Watched a documentary about the Dunlops a few months ago.
    When it was over I thought to myself, how long till one of the young lads dies also.
    I'm not bashing road racing, it was just the feeling I had after the show.
    Very sad for his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

RIP William, the true definition of a gentleman, went way and beyond especially for his younger fans, my boys are devastated as am I.

Now for those who disrespect him and the sport he loved and ultimately gave his life for all I can say is that if you don't now then you will never understand.

Roadracing is one of the last real examples of freedom and pure excitement, in an increasibgly bland and sterile world of h&s it stands out though it comes at a price, these lads (especially the Dunlops understand this more than anyone) know what they're doing and choose to race, they are not forced or lured into it. They are the very best in the world at what they do, it's life to them.

Finally, as activities go, yes, it's 'dangerous' but should we simply ban all activities that are regarded as 'dangerous'? Soldiers, firefighters, navy, river rescue, jockeys etc etc. Roadracers are unique but aren't the only ones who take risks. My 2c.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Three empty chairs in the one family is a hell of a price to pay for a sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I know little about Motorbike Racing, but I do know the name Dunlop.

RIP. Condolances to his family, friends, and all in the Motorbiking world, who I am sure mourning his death too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Bottom line right there folks!

padd b1975 wrote:
    Bottom line right there folks!

It's closer to 7.

As mentioned already the Dunlops know the ugly side if the sport better than anyone but continue on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Some sh*t comments in here.

R.I.P William Dunlop
    Sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

bladespin wrote: »
    Finally, as activities go, yes, it's 'dangerous' but should we simply ban all activities that are regarded as 'dangerous'? Soldiers, firefighters, navy, river rescue, jockeys etc etc. Roadracers are unique but aren't the only ones who take risks. My 2c.

Soldiers, fire fighters, navy , river rescue and plenty more exist out of necessity. Can't see anyone objecting if we were able to make them all redundant.

Not suggesting otherwise just pounting out this isn't the only 'activity' that carries a risk in an uncontrolled environment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Many sports and activities are dangerous. UFC is dangerous. Parachuting is dangerous. Horse riding is dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

RIP...sad news to wake up too

I can hear the races on now from my house,hope the rest of the riders stay safe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Chaos Tourist

Pugzilla wrote: »
    Have you ever been on a motorbike?

Most fun you can have with your clothes on.

I dunno, showering is nice but hardly thrilling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

No, you don't simply stop something, people still climb mountains, Everest being the goal for many, yet more die doing this than road racing.
    If you don't understand it then ban it.

Stupid attitude.

I watched a documentary about the Dunlops a few years ago. As someone who is petrified of death I was in awe of the risks they took for their passion. May William rest in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

I read something a few years ago about how the two brothers William and Michael don’t get on, they fell out after a race that William won a few years before that. That racing rivalry had really come between them.

Really hope for Michael’s sake that they had resolved that and were close again. Can’t imagine how he’s feeling right now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

RIP William, a true son of Ulster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

R.I.P William
    What made it worse for me was the way rte news reported on it last night.how his father and Joey were killed also and going on how the guards will be investigation.
    You never hear a peep out of our national news station about when him or his family win races.
    No reports when Michael wone his races in the TT.
    No reports when jack Kennedy Dublin man wone
    Yesterday in a British championship or when Eugene laverty podium in world supers.
    Only negative reporting sad really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭flatty

I'm saddened by this. It's awful. There is a grim predictability to , in particular, the Isle of Man tt.
    Yet, having said that, I watch it, read about it, and hope to go one year.
    I am extremely reluctant to talk about banning a sport designed, developed and raced by consenting adults, who are putting no one bar themselves in harms way.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

Irish public in general has a disdain for motorcyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭prunudo

Life is about living. How somebody chooses to live that life is nobody elses buisness but their own. Some people take an easy approach, work a nine to five, retire into old age and are happy with that.
    Others live for each day, seek out thrills and new experiences. Thats what makes everybody unique and different.
    Don't judge how others wish to live their lives based on how you live yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

RIP William. Its very divisive I think when it comes down to it. One Dunlop killed is too many, that family have been through so much.

Most of us dont know that life, therefore its easy to judge from behind the keyboard I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

RIP to another legend. I couldn't believe it when I heard it. As others have said, William has left behind family and friends who supported him in his passion and who understood the risks but, even so, they are still entitled to mourn and grieve the same as if he had died any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

ZX7R wrote: »
    R.I.P William
    What made it worse for me was the way rte news reported on it last night.how his father and Joey were killed also and going on how the guards will be investigation.
    You never hear a peep out of our national news station about when him or his family win races.
    No reports when Michael wone his races in the TT.
    No reports when jack Kennedy Dublin man wone
    Yesterday in a British championship or when Eugene laverty podium in world supers.
    Only negative reporting sad really

There's no reports because the majority don't care. It's that simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

That's semantics. He was on his bike doing laps at the same time as them. No?

Hardly semantics. Your in an RIP thread bashing road racing, and using the death of a doctor, WHO WASN'T RACING, as an example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

I can't say I've ever heard of the man or no anything about racing, but partaking in a sport as dangerous as this with one child and another on the way...? I don't no, what's the monetary reward like? It would want to be lucrative enough to justify doing this type of thing with a family, especially a young family IMO, you'd hardly be doing this just for the buzz.

I don't agree that it should be banned though, roads are all closed so their not really putting anyone else in harms way so id have no issue with the sport itself as people know the risks.

Anyway it's sad. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

Prize money is poor for the smaller events. Might cover costs and little bit more.
    They're not doing it for the money.

There's no reports because the majority don't care. It's that simple.

Do the majority only care when a rider Is fatality injured, I know bad news sells bit ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Prize money is poor for the smaller events. Might cover costs and little bit more.
    They're not doing it for the money.

The winner this year would have recieved €5,000.

The Organisers made a decision to continue the event and donate the prizefund to William Dunlops family.

https://www.skerriesroadraces.com/new-news

A gesture,but one which will be supported by everybody involved in Motorcycling.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Jesus Christ. That is a retarded statement. How can a person misunderstand a point so much?

Public roads are temporarily closed for lots of reasons. If the council gives a permit to close a road for an event to be run on them, they still have an overall responsibility for what happens there. Because they are allowing it to be on public property.

Same as if they allow a concert to be held up in the phoenix park or elsewhere. They are allowing it to happen and giving their permission for the event to be run. If someone is stabbed at a swedish house mafia gig, then the people who gave permission should expect to have questions to answer

Your original post was the retarded one,seen as you don't even know the by laws in relation to road racing,concert in the park totally different thing
    If you are looking to ban something at least try to know the ins and outs of it,
    You really have had no involvement in this spot or you would understand my poat

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

You really live up to your username......

Jesus Christ.

It is public space - agreed? Yes or no?

Permission is given to the organizers to hold the event there - agreed? Yes or no?

So there is an onus on those giving that permission - agreed? Yes or no?

If you want to get tied up and try to deflect by using retarded semantics then there's no point.[/quote

In all fairness you started the retarded semantics.
    As I stated before the are public roads only when open to public, when closed ,the council nor government is held accountable for the protection or welfare of competors of spectators or property held or owned by state or privately ,responsibility like s solely with the clerk of the course and organizing club

Can everyone just put him on ignore and stop quoting him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

darced wrote: »
    Sorry what?

He has a point, I'm sorry for his family and glad no one else was killed , other than that - I mean he went on a bike at 300 KPH ... live by the sword and all that.

Also, it's muppet fans of his that will fancy themselves as the next racer when they are in their suped up Honda Civic and kill a load of innocent people.

In fact the more I think about it, the more my sympathies drop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Pero_Bueno wrote: »
    Also, it's muppet fans of his that will fancy themselves as the next racer when they are in their suped up Honda Civic and kill a load of innocent people.

Well that's simply untrue.

Pero_Bueno wrote: »
    He has a point, I'm sorry for his family and glad no one else was killed , other than that - I mean he went on a bike at 300 KPH ... live by the sword and all that.

In fact the more I think about it, the more my sympathies drop.

Generalisations by someone who hasn't a clue. He was killed off a 250cc which would have a max speed of about 240kph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

AlekSmart wrote: »
    The winner this year would have recieved €5,000.

The Organisers made a decision to continue the event and donate the prizefund to William Dunlops family.

https://www.skerriesroadraces.com/new-news

A gesture,but one which will be supported by everybody involved in Motorcycling.

The figure was announced just before the beginning of the Grand Finale and it stood at €29,000.

The majority of riders withdrew from the Grand Finale, it was sad to see both the Dunlop brothers listed to race on the programme.

Usually I'd take a tonne of photos at anything biking, but I took one photo this weekend because I simply wasn't interested in celebratory, smiley, happy photos.. But I got a lovely one of me, my son and my brother (who incidentally in the medical coordinator and AP on the course).

I'd just like to mention the medical team (and all the backroom staff at Skerries, but most esp the medics).. I was with them when Doc John Hinds was killed (wrote about it in the motorcycle forum at the time) and this weekend.

They're true professionals, hardcore professionals. When Doc Hinds was killed the medics never missed a beat, despite mourning the loss of their friend and colleague they stood strong and continued to provide a vital service so the race would continue.

This weekend was no different.

Professional to a tee, they never stood down or took time out.

I'm not going into any great detail but I'm just off the phone to my brother, he's with a member of the Dunlop family (whose staying over in his house while his brothers remains lie in a Dublin hospital).. Now is their time to drop their guard and mourn.

It was with a very heavy heart that we all left Skerries this evening.

I consider my brother a hero.

William Dunlop, R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

ZX7R wrote: »
    Do the majority only care when a rider Is fatality injured, I know bad news sells bit ffs

Unfortunately that's the case.

Seems to be the only time bikes are deemed newsworthy unfortunately despite an Irishman getting a podium in a world championship race the same weekend no word about Eugene though, that diesn't count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Not going to cast an opinion one way or the other, but lads, it's a discussion forum. You don't get to turn around and tell people to **** off out of a thread because you disagree with his opinions.

People going on about "sure what would you know, do you even bike bro" don't come across as thrill-seekeers who live their life on the edge. They rather come across as sanctimonious twats who think their opinion is for some reason worth more than somebody else's.

RIP William Dunlop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Seems to be the only time bikes are deemed newsworthy unfortunately despite an Irishman getting a podium in a world championship race the same weekend no word about Eugene though, that diesn't count.

This really isn't difficult. It is not a massively followed sport. The sports section on the news is about 10 mins long at an absolute max. Other items are the priority. Race activity week in, week out isn't newsworthy enough for it to be included in a 10 minute bulletin unless there is something absolutely exceptional.

The death of someone in a sporting event, however, is particularly notable, hence it makes the news.

Get it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Possibly. It's years since I was there.

I looked at the website though and they are charging 25 quid a head in.

The fellas on the bikes are literally risking their lives. The supporters are coming to see them and there is huge money been taken in. But the fellas risking their lives are getting feck all. Maybe a bit of fame and adulation. Organizers are giving a few grand of the prizemoney to his family. Feck all use that is in fairness. (As an aside, did other riders then pull out because there was no money on offer? Or am I misinterpreting)

Bit of a scam if you ask me

I’ve checked. No one asked you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Anthracite

When he pulled the throttle back on that lap he would have experienced a rush that you will never know

RIP
    The rush of risking your life?