Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When is it going to rain?

• 03-07-2018 5:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭

I'm getting hot and bothered, and my garden is as dry as an old newspaper, brown and flaking.

Reservoirs low, canals shrinking, rivers down to a trickle.

Can this be our own dear damp island in July?

Need some rain!

PS If anyone knows how to do a rain-dance, I'll join in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Hopefully not for another 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,658 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Didn't know it could get this dry.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

kneemos wrote: »

You mustn’t remember the summer of 1995 then so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

kneemos wrote: »

I like the sun but I feel we may be filling our toilets with San pellegrino pretty soon.

All of August, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I enjoy a chaos so hopefully October

You’ll enjoy a chaos until the toilets don’t flush, sewerage bleeds out onto the streets, vermin take over and we decide its time to crack open each other’s skulls and feast on the goo within.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

When Zeus wills it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭rosmoke

Lidl should start taking precautions :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

AccuWeather are predicting (for where I am) no rain until at least 13th July, and even then only light showers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

AccuWeather are predicting (for where I am) no rain until at least 13th July, and even then only light showers.

AccuWeather is the meteorological version of Fox News.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,854 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,854 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

This is feckin gorgeous, yis are all just wingers.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

This is feckin gorgeous, yis are all just wingers.....

I like to think of myself as more a central midfielder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

I like to think of myself as more a central midfielder.

Naw, with or without the 'h' yis are wingers.....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I agree but other sites say 14th July.

Impossible to be accurate over such a period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

JupiterKid wrote: »

Not a patch on this!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,284 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Or the summer of 1976. though in fairness...

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Wibbs wrote: »
    Or the summer of 1976. though in fairness...

Or the summer of 69 , I'm doing this right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,899 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

According to John Eagleton from Met Eireann, in his long career in meteorology, Ireland had never gone 10 days without any rain until now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Accuweather gave me a weeks pure sunshine for annual leave, two months in advance, a few years back. Even a sh!te clock is right once in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

When it rains it pours..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

When Zeus wills it!

Go way with your feckin Zeus. Odin FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

I agree but other sites say 14th July.

Impossible to be accurate over such a period.

xcweather giving the same and their usually good enough . Easy enough be accurate with all the high pressure everywhere .Even the ''low'' over spain at the weekend was over 1000 mb .
    As im sure you know Some years the ''azores'' high develops in the winter or spring and can give a good spell of settled weather , cold and snow in winter dry and warm [ish] in spring. This year has been really of the chart with the amount of easterly wind since that btich ophelia paid a visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭gazzamc

I'm happy to wait until October :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Its good to have a bit of sunshine but there's only so much of it you can take before you say enough is enough it needs to rain again which is essential for plants to grow. Grass needs to be green but its turned yellow because of this prolonged dry spell which is a huge worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

I for one miss the temperate Irish weather i hate these extremes of hot and cold we now seem to getting that should be left to the Arctic and the Med but not in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,060 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Mutant z wrote: »
    Its good to have a bit of sunshine but there's only so much of it you can take before you say enough is enough it needs to rain again which is essential for plants to grow. Grass needs to be green but its turned yellow because of this prolonged dry spell which is a huge worry.

Nonsense, the poxy rain is always poxy, we get too much of it throughout the year, be happy that you can plan a day out in advance for a change. The plants and grass will eventually recover, long live the sunshine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Greyfox wrote: »
    Nonsense, the poxy rain is always poxy, we get too much of it throughout the year, be happy that you can plan a day out in advance for a change. The plants and grass will eventually recover, long live the sunshine

Well, but the water shortage?
    Dublin is always pretty marginal anyway: our reservoirs were designed for the smaller city of twenty years ago and there isn't much of a reserve tank.

This kind of rainless summer pushes us right into the drought zone quite quickly.
    And the grass burned brown, and the soil too dry to grow anything.
    They'll be rationing water quite soon, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,947 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Leaky infrastructure, some of it dating back to Queen Vic.

Of course the tax money that might have been allocated to replacing old pipes got funnelled into other things. Because "shur it'll be grand"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

When Met Eireann tells us it will rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,951 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Cattle will be jumping off cliffs to get water if this keeps up any longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,099 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I would just enjoy it as best you can.

In fairness it is a tad cooler and more bearable now in comparison to the 30d we had to deal with a few days ago. Kids are loving it, everyone is in good form.

Forget about the grass being dried up, it always recovers eventually. Use a bucket to catch the first gush out of the shower for your plants, you'd be amazed how much that is.

I did feel a bit overwhelmed in the very high temps, but honestly it is really gorgeous and much more bearable now. Humidity is fairly low aswell which really helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    When it rains it pours..

What a blisssfullllll thought... A wonderful loud long DOWNPOUR ...

Naw, with or without the 'h' yis are wingers.....:D

Not us. Realists. need rain...

Greyfox wrote: »

Many are dead already..no winter berries for the wild life.. no blackberry jam if this carries on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,800 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Not a patch on this!

Huh! I remember walking into Salthill from the town one day in the summer of 1995, there was a clock up on the wall that also gave the temperature it was 34 Degrees :eek:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1995_Great_Britain_and_Ireland_heat_wave

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,817 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

No need to panic OP (yet).

It will be cooler Thursday and Friday. There will be isolated showers today but not amounting to much. After that there will be at least 7 days of dry and hot weather with temperatures peaking in the the high twenties or low thirties.

This weekend temperatures will be highest in the east of the country - in the high twenties or could exceed 30c on Sunday in some spots there.

For meaningful rain it's possible in the 3rd week of July but that is far from certain.

Until then it is drought.

You can follow on the weather forum (we don't bite) :)

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=374

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭2 Scoops

Computer says no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

I like the sun but I feel we may be filling our toilets with San pellegrino pretty soon.

That's OK. Just drink it first..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭AllForIt

After that there will be at least 7 days of dry and hot weather with temperatures peaking in the the high twenties or low thirties.

This weekend temperatures will be highest in the east of the country - in the high twenties or could exceed 30c on Sunday in some spots there.

For meaningful rain it's possible in the 3rd week of July but that is far from certain.

Until then it is drought.

Really, oh dear. I just feel for all those hard working farmers struggling to make a living. You know, the ones that still wear their heaving clothing even in sweltering temperatures. I hear that lettuce production has been particularly hard hit this drought. This doesn't effect me personally as I never much cared for lettuce, I prefer cake and the supermarkets are fully stocked up with cake, but I still do feel bad for those affected. I do hope the rain returns soon - sometime in mid-September, after my birthday.

A 12 th of never scenario...

an ancient Irish blessing..

An Old Irish Blessing
    May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind always be at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    and rains fall soft upon your fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Huh! I remember walking into Salthill from the town one day in the summer of 1995, there was a clock up on the wall that also gave the temperature it was 34 Degrees :eek:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1995_Great_Britain_and_Ireland_heat_wave

A clock on the wall? The path outside my house was over 50 degrees after a day baking in the sun last week. But that is not how we measure temperature.

I rem 1995 - it was indeed hot. This summer of 2018 blows 1995 away. In EVERY respect. And it is not finished.

Scientifically air temp is measured with a max and min thermometer in a Stevenson screen. Clocks on walls are gimmicks for tourists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Thud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Jeez that was unbelievable, I remember it was 32C one morning in Dublin at 8.30 AM !!!

AllForIt wrote: »
    Really, oh dear. I just feel for all those hard working farmers struggling to make a living. You know, the ones that still wear their heaving clothing even in sweltering temperatures. I hear that lettuce production has been particularly hard hit this drought. This doesn't effect me personally as I never much cared for lettuce, I prefer cake and the supermarkets are fully stocked up with cake, but I still do feel bad for those affected. I do hope the rain returns soon - sometime in mid-September, after my birthday.

You OK? Sound a bit.... odd..Too much sun maybe? Please take care..