Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anyone melted yet?

• 27-06-2018 8:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭

I'm sat at home in what is on average the coolest room of the house as it faces north, I've closed the door to the kitchen as it's facing east, I've open the hatch to the attic to let hot air rise as much as possible, the front door which is in shade for a few more hours is open, every other window is open and I'm still going to faint! :eek:

I can only be thankful that I'm not working today (was going to but my client took pity on me given the nature of the job) so if you are doing something physical today I'm thinking of you.

21.7 in the shade as I type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

21.7 in the shade is not that hot really.

Temperatures are always given as in the shade anyway.

Just enjoy it, will probably be back to crappy weather soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

My eyes are melting. They won't stop watering to the extent that I've rubbed them red raw (and I haven't slept since Sunday). Yesterday I had to walk from one of our factories to another (5 minutes) and by the time I got there, I couldn't see properly. Then there's the sweaty forehead to add to that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

I hate when people say “just enjoy it” thanks ****face I’ll just tell my body to get rid of my problem with temperature regulation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

45 degrees in my place of work, yes it's in Ireland. Coming close to my melting point.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    45 degrees in my place of work

I think there is regulations on that.

Thankfully windows in my office are north facing I think I'd f**ked with south facing ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    45 degrees in my place of work, yes it's in Ireland. Coming close to my melting point.....

Are you a hot yoga instructor?

cruizer101 wrote:

I checked, unfortunately there's not.

whiskeyman wrote:
    Are you a hot yoga instructor?

At 45 degrees of course I'm f**king hot...as for yoga the only position I can think of is the 'laying down panting dog'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭LandersDublin

I am sick today and I preempted my sickness yesterday and called the office last night you inform them of said illness.

Now if anyone is looking for me I will be in snadycove, I mean bed. 😙😙😙

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

cruizer101 wrote: »

Thankfully windows in my office are north facing I think I'd f**ked with south facing ones

About 15 odd years ago there was an upper limit of approx 32 degrees for working inside but they removed it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

PucaMama wrote: »
    I hate when people say “just enjoy it” thanks ****face I’ll just tell my body to get rid of my problem with temperature regulation

well said. Wondering why we are not allowed to say IT IS TOO HOT without accusations of whingeing etc. Does it make them feel... insecure? Or handing out advice that does not lower the temp?

Wheezing today ... that is a fact and not a complaint... TOO HOT is also a fact,

Kimbot wrote: »
    About 15 odd years ago there was an upper limit of approx 32 degrees for working inside but they removed it since.

climate change awareness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Melted?

The entire actual country has been melted and warped possibly.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/met-ireann-could-issue-red-weather-warning-as-inland-areas-soar-to-32c-37054171.html

Well according to an Indo article this morning:
    "There is a chance we could get to 32C. Inland areas, such as Clare, Galway city, Mayo and Limerick, are expected to be the hottest today," forecaster Aoife Murray said.

Those places used to be on the coast before the heatwave. :-)

When meteorologists can't do basic geography, that may offer cause for concern.

murpho999 wrote: »

Oh DEAR! Please read the thread.. and have some..... cop on!

topper75 wrote: »
    Melted?

The entire actual country has been melted and warped possibly.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/met-ireann-could-issue-red-weather-warning-as-inland-areas-soar-to-32c-37054171.html

Well according to an Indo article this morning:

Those places used to be on the coast before the heatwave. :-)

When meteorologists can't do basic geography, that may offer cause for concern.

Maybe the heat is getting to her..or the excitement

Just checked and the sea is still at the bottom of the garden..

West Mayo. offshore island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Graces7 wrote: »
    Maybe the heat is getting to her..or the excitement

Just checked and the sea is still at the bottom of the garden..

West Mayo. offshore island

Ah jaysus. I'm working on the coast tomorrow and I was hoping the breeze would keep us cool. I'm melting today in Cork City and I'm not even working that hard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

25c here at the moment. Yes, it's hot but it's not oppressive. Luckily we aren't working, so can enjoy the shade outdoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Be jaysus ! It only seemed a while ago since we were covered in snow and lads were bashing down ALDIs with JCBs .... great days !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Not so much melt.

I did let a raging shart though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

No, I haven't melted.

I don't think anybody has actually melted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Not so much melt.

I did let a raging shart though

Fierce weather for **** too isn't it ?

Jaysus some of the young wans going around wearing feck all is giving me a horn that would disperse a pack of Hippos into the Zambezi river!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

there is a nice breeze which is keeping things civilised

somefeen wrote: »
    Ah jaysus. I'm working on the coast tomorrow and I was hoping the breeze would keep us cool. I'm melting today in Cork City and I'm not even working that hard

You'll be fine! And yes a breeze off the sea will help.. Cork city must be.. purgatorial ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Humidity is low,makes it bearable.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Ain't that bad I don't think. Pleasant Summer weather, I'd like if we got this more frequently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Have my fan going full blast, enjoy the heat peasants!

Seriously though I got one during a hot summer a few years ago, pick one up if you can.
    Waiting for winter the easy way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Seeing as I won't be getting away anywhere this year, I shall not be entertaining any complaints about the good weather, normally this shít costs a small fortune.
    So while I do have to work, and there's precious little tits out ping pong being played around me, you do get what you pay for, so I'm happy with my purchase.
    Long may it last - won't be long now till the farmers will be screaming for a handout of some sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Not loving it. But it’s not the worst. In Toronto we used to get 35+degrees with 75-80% humidity. Whenever I feel like whinging, I remember that absolute torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Not loving it. But it’s not the worst. In Toronto we used to get 35+degrees with 75-80% humidity. Whenever I feel like whinging, I remember that absolute torture.

And then winters with -35c .... what a bloody range!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

TomSweeney wrote: »
    And then winters with -35c .... what a bloody range!!

Winters were gorgeous, I loved them. When you’re heading over everyone warns you about the winter, no one warns you about the eye watering heat. I HATED summer over there. You’d be sweating your arse off standing still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Night shifts are not pleasant in this weather, trying to sleep during the day is uncomfortable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Fierce weather for **** too isn't it ?

Jaysus some of the young wans going around wearing feck all is giving me a horn that would disperse a pack of Hippos into the Zambezi river!!!

Excellent conditions for cracking one off. All those diddies flopping around would drive you mad with the bugle.

I do it for the stress relief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

I’m building a hotel in it. Glorious.

It’s a robust hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Very cold here in North Louth and I've run out of coal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I am sick today and I preempted my sickness yesterday and called the office last night you inform them of said illness.

Now if anyone is looking for me I will be in snadycove, I mean bed. 😙😙😙

How will you explain the big red face tomorrow?

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

My brain has smelted....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I’m enjoying it. But I’m staying in the shade. Flung myself into the sea at Portmarnock yesterday but it was after 7pm so it was pleasant, not scorchio.

I was in Berlin recently and it was 32 degrees every day. It was brutal for sight-seeing. Not fun. We didn’t think May would be that hot.

How will you explain the big red face tomorrow?

High Blood Pressure.

Dare I look under the sheet to see if my feet are still there? Maybe not! But tonight is the hottest yet..

_Dara_ wrote: »
    I’m enjoying it. But I’m staying in the shade. Flung myself into the sea at Portmarnock yesterday but it was after 7pm so it was pleasant, not scorchio.

I was in Berlin recently and it was 32 degrees every day. It was brutal for sight-seeing. Not fun. We didn’t think May would be that hot.

With no car on the road still I have been spared the shops. maybe out in the next few days with the windows wide open... Head for Belmullet and the windy places..

Oddly enough I'm finding the nights grand and am sleeping well. *It's an almost psychological ache at this stage, the not knowing when it will end :(

May be a slight exaggeration.

Oddly enough I'm finding the nights grand and am sleeping well. *It's an almost psychological ache at this stage, the not knowing when it will end :(

May be a slight exaggeration.

Both met eireann and the UK met office commented tonight that temperatures by night will be very comfortable for sleeping and that this is unusual for a heatwave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

There's nothing else for it. Brace yourself Breda, I'm leaving off the long johns tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

murpho999 wrote: »

I have my house around that temperature all year round. Not hot. My place is about 28 upstairs at the mo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

The sun is good for us. Stop complaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

I spent the last hour on thai ladyboy porn sites....so yes a piece of me has melted many times....yummie...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Not melted but a man in front of me on the bus today smelled like he died a few days ago and was just left there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I wouldn't exactly say I've melted, I love this weather (I'm a ginger who loves the sun and heat).. But I done a 5k run on the beach this afternoon and my face melted off my head (may actually be a big jellyfish).

454410.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I think it's great anyway. Not too hot at all. Just nice! Feels weird in Ireland though. Never remember it being this hot before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭4Ad

I find it lovely..once you are in the shade its fine.Lovely breeze in East Clare today..
    It's humidity that is the killer, it just drains the life out of you..