Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Upskirting legal here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

It doesn't really matter if it is already illegal here or not as laws will be brought in specifically to please the left and they won't be enforced except in high publicity cases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Mikenesson

JMNolan wrote: »
    It doesn't really matter if it is already illegal here or not as laws will be brought in specifically to please the left and they won't be enforced except in high publicity cases

I agree
    We can't get violent criminals off the street,what's the point of more legislation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Never heard of it before; disgusting. :eek:

Confiscate their cameras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I dont really believe a lot of these attention seekers who magnify and lie to get attention.

There's a lot of these on social media these days and instead of going to the police like to type out in great detail what supposedly happened to them to the voyeurs on the internet.

TLDR- I dont believe her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,173 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I remember years ago working with load of Chinese and they had a load of videos with this kinda stuff on all there phones. Pulling underware and skirts down to was another thing.

Always wondered how they where able to get away with doing it and filming it in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,152 ✭✭✭Allinall

F.u k sake.

Thought I’d wandered into the Building Regulation forum there for a moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭nowaynever

Sure don't they all wear trousers now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Why would you bother like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I dont really believe a lot of these attention seekers who magnify and lie to get attention.

There's a lot of these on social media these days and instead of going to the police like to type out in great detail what supposedly happened to them to the voyeurs on the internet.

The picture was on their phone. Unless she took the phone off the guy and took a fanny selfie, how else did it get there? She took a gamble though. Technically she stole the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭fando

https://m.imdb.com/title/tt1128075/

Love exposure - crazy, awsome, funny, four hour long film with upskirting as the main theme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Not sure it would be an option with the Irish ladies

Don't think they make lenses wide enough to capture the fat arses from up close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

I think it might be off limits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Greybottle

JMNolan wrote: »

Or maybe protect women and kids from perverts and paedophiles.

Seriously, how the fcuk can you critiscise a law like that, unless you're someone whose perfectly happy for a pervert to go out and harass your partner/family member/child/friend.

Anybody caught with that crap, taking photos, sharing them or storing them needs a jail sentence as well as being named publicly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Greybottle wrote: »

Seriously, how the fcuk can you critiscise a law like that, unless you're someone whose perfectly happy for a pervert to go out and harass your partner/family member/child/friend.

Anybody caught with that crap, taking photos, sharing them or storing them needs a jail sentence as well as being named publicly.

Or maybe you could read the thread. The OP is asking "is it not already illegal?". And if so, why the need for another (redundant) law. to which, the reply from JMNolan makes perfect sense.

It's like people demanding a law be brought in to ban "punching someone with your left hand" when it is already covered by existing laws regarding assault.

On the other hand, if it is currently legal (through some existing loophole), then a law should be brought in. I don't think anybody who has replied so far is in disagreement with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Greybottle wrote: »

We can't make a law for everything we don't like. It's a slippery slope. Where do you draw the line? Before long, you have some SJW twat campaigning for a law to ban men looking at women below the neck. Do we implement a law prohibiting pictures of feet?

Jail for that kind of picture? Just wow... And what a jump there to pedophiles, good job. If you're a bit of a pervert, you're also a pedophile, somehow...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

We can't make a law for everything we don't like. It's a slippery slope. Where do you draw the line? Before long, you have some SJW twat campaigning for a law to ban men looking at women below the neck. Do we implement a law prohibiting pictures of feet?

I would imagine that upskirting will already be covered under something else. That's provided the will to actually enforce it was there. And that seems to be where the problems lie, either just lack of resources (at best) or interest.

We already have plenty of laws that are either not being enforced or simply un-enforceable https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/smoking-ban-for-cars-is-to-protect-children-372116.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,209 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Can't this be covered under voyeurism as in the Scotland case ?

The thing that gets me about some of the drives for new laws on statute books is that existing laws dealing with far more serious crimes and behaviour are not enforced by police and authorities.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

jmayo wrote: »
    Can't this be covered under voyeurism as in the Scotland case ?

The thing that gets me about some of the drives for new laws on statute books is that existing laws dealing with far more serious crimes and behaviour are not enforced by police and authorities.

do the Gardai know it is illegal? Have not always found them knowledgeable on the law..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I would imagine if they consent to it, then it should be ok. Might want to get it in writing just to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Why would you bother like?

In the hope there's no panties on.... Duuuuuuhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

This is already illegal in Ireland and is not illegal in the UK. The bill here was drafted last year by Francis Fitzgerald.

AFAIK it’s only illegal in the UK if “indecent” in that there is nothing under the skirt. Although I may be wrong here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

JMNolan wrote:

The smug face on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Disgusting fcuking perversion by sick asreholes. If not illegal, it should be, and Gardai & courts should deal with it mercilessly before it gets to a point where no woman can feel safe in public, as if they don't have enough misogynist crap to deal with as is... Jeez, fcuking creeps!!! Grrrrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭jackwigan

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    Disgusting fcuking perversion by sick asreholes. If not illegal, it should be, and Gardai & courts should deal with it mercilessly before it gets to a point where no woman can feel safe in public, as if they don't have enough misogynist crap to deal with as is... Jeez, fcuking creeps!!! Grrrrr!

So you're saying you're on board with this Tom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

TomOnBoard wrote:

Take a deep breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

jackwigan wrote: »

I'd say he's got mirrors on his shoes. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Jail for that kind of picture? Just wow... And what a jump there to pedophiles, good job. If you're a bit of a pervert, you're also a pedophile, somehow...

Without agreeing with everything else you said, you're right about the bit in bold. It's not possible to create laws for everything without the laws eventually becoming contradictory, or even just hard to keep track of.

Godel explained his incompleteness theorem using a legal analogy. The theorem essentially states that any system of rules that becomes sufficiently complex will eventually become contradictory. To explain it he said that if you tried to create a law for every single possible eventuality or crime, eventually you'd find some laws contradicting others.

So try to keep them simple, sufficiently broad in scope, but not too broad and make sure you have educated judges who can implement them.

So as suggested, have a voyeurism law that covers offenses like this, rather than trying to create separate laws for every possible type of voyeurism.

Also, yes staring at breasts could be an offense. I'm sure you can imagine a situation where a guy does it repeatedly in the workplace whilst making grunting noises. That could be harassment. But in that case it should be covered under harassment laws. There's no need to have a separate law for it.

jackwigan wrote: »

Lol! Just trying to figure out what I really think about it, TBH..

T-Maxx wrote: »
    Take a deep breath.

Yeah, phew!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Lol! Just trying to figure out what I really think about it, TBH..

Ah the perennial juxtaposition?

Big head says "That's terrible" but little head says "send me more blood, quick quick"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Apparently Louise O Neill is all for it, so fire ahead lads..... and lassies

Yeah, phew!!!

A deep breath of used panties. Fresh from the vending machine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

Star Bingo wrote: »
    A deep breath of used panties. Fresh from the vending machine

sweet Jesus, just googled that for the craic :D

https://pantydeal.com/

Thanks for the link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

It's big in Japan apparently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

It's big in Japan apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A referendum is needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

I thought it was called coving..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,625 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I find this very specific law to be utterly absurd.

Why would it apply to just up the skirt. What if someone surreptitiously took a pic of someone when walking behind them on the street because they like the look of say a curvy ass in tight jeans. What's the difference essentially? Same motive, same action.

Also it's so specify that it targets men where the victim is a woman. What laws are ever designed in that way. If a Scottish guy wearing a kilt were to be upkilted by a gay male - would the proposed legislation cover that as well. And would the Scottish guy really care.

The other thing I think about this is - how does it effect the woman if they didn't know about it. If it does cause such distress and then these things are highlighted because of law then more women will become aware of it through footage caught on CCTV. This seems ridiculous to me because it the women will suffer when she becomes aware of it she wouldn't at all if she didn't know about it.

I know some are going to take my comments as if I think the activity is completely fine. No I don't think it's completely fine, but to call it a criminal act to me is going way OTT. So many things in life are not okay but they are not against the law either. No one goes to prison for bullying someone at work for example - a much more serious issue.

This proposed law in the UK all seems to be part of the current hysterical narrative that all men to some degree or another are attacking women left right and centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Theorretically it's illegal to store the image without consent anyway - especially with GDPR laws - although you'd have to wonder about any mind that would consider this as acceptably legal.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I reckon we should just prohibit the taking of photos of people without prior consent fullstop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Lady Spangles

Whether you believe her or not is immaterial, it's happening to more and more women and it's completely unacceptable. Photographing women's genitals without their permission is a gross invasion of privacy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

The year was 1968.
    We were on recon in a steaming Mekong delta. An overheated private removed his flack jacket, revealing a T-shirt with an ironed-on sporting the MAD slogan "Up with Mini-skirts!". Well, we all had a good laugh, even though I didn't quite understand it. But our momentary lapse of concentration allowed "Charlie" to get the drop on us.
    I spent the next three years in a POW camp, forced to subsist on a thin stew made of fish, vegetables, prawns, coconut milk, and four kinds of rice. I came close to madness trying to find it here in the States, but they just can't get the spices right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

wexie wrote: »
    I would imagine that upskirting will already be covered under something else....

Very droll!

Ah the perennial juxtaposition?

Big head says "That's terrible" but little head says "send me more blood, quick quick"

Wouldn't that be more the "perineal juxtaposition"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

We wouldn't have this problem if women just wore Burqa's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,603 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Like some posters here I feel the UK reaction to this is a knee jerk.
    It's already fairly well covered by their voyeur legislation and even more so here in the Republic.

To be perfectly honest though, it is a law I can see backfiring spectacularly.
    If it's likely being deemed a sexual offence, with the attendant requirement to sign the sexual offenders register on conviction, If the law is applied evenly I honestly see more women than men being convicted!

The most aggressive and persistent instances of this behaviour I ever encountered has always been women imposing themselves on men in kilts.
    I am fairly sure that every man that has ever worn a kilt for more than a couple of hours in public could share a story or 3 about the inappropriate comments, gropes, looks and sneaky attempts at a photo made by women...
    Will those women be subject to the full sanctions of this proposed law?
    Will those male victims be as supported in their victimhood and quest for justice as ladies, indeed by ladies?
    Or will it be a case of sure, he wore a kilt! What did he expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

It doesn't matter if it's illegal or not no one should stick a camera up someones skirt or kilt. There are things in life whilst may not be technically illegal it shouldn't be done. It's called having some respect for other people. Why is this even a legitimate question?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

They are supposedly at it in schools in Wales. Don't hear of it in schools here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15