Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do your kids help out on the farm?

• 09-06-2018 1:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭

My 3 do. I was talking to a man yesterday with 3 sons from 18 down and they rarely help out on the farm. So if you have kids of an age to be able to help you do they?

Do your kids help out on the farm? 74 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    44% 33 votes
    other
    14% 11 votes
    Dont have any kids
    4% 3 votes
    They are not old enough yet
    36% 27 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭Grueller

Mine are not old enough but when they are they will throughout their teens. The farm will pay for their education should they decide to go that way so this will be their contribution. Once they get to that age they can do as they please. I will not be one to force farming on anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

No. Her mother would kill me if I brought her out on the farm. But she is only 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Grueller wrote: »
    I will not be one to force farming on anyone.

I'll be the same. They'll work when needed but no one will be forced or guilted into taking it over. Like myself, they'll only have it part time either way so education is the key.

There's a big market out there for farmers' sons and daughters as they usually have a good work ethic and are resourceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,511 ✭✭✭✭Base price

My 2 sons used to help out when they were younger albeit reluctantly most of the time but particularly after their Dad and I separated and subsequently divorced.
    I tried to encourage them to pursue academic careers as farming (in NCD) was never going to be an option. Eldest hated school, didn't sit his Leaving Cert but he has found his path in life and is happy working and is now studying in a college in Australia.

Youngest from an early age (4yo) wanted to be a Marine Biologist and he achieved a first class honours degree last October in Marine Science. He helps with farm work when he comes from Galway to Longford for weekends but tbh he only comes for the fishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭visatorro

Mine are too small still but I'd imagine nothing nicer than maybe moving a few stock or abit of fencing on a day like today and treating them to an Ice cream afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

The boys hate farming with a passion my daughter however is interested and will help me. She will be the one to take over,she wants to do teaching so it should work out OK for her

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Oldest fella has no onterest but the second fella is.they do every second evening milking and feed the calves in the spring.outside of that tney do bits and peices but i kind of only want them to do a couple of hours a day.number two is mad for the tractor but has a good eye for animals as well.they are 12 and 14.the girl moves cattle and brings the cows sometimes with someone but she is only ten todaytrying to strike a balance to it is difficult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

K.G. wrote: »
    Oldest fella has no onterest but the second fella is.they do every second evening milking and feed the calves in the spring.outside of that tney do bits and peices but i kind of only want them to do a couple of hours a day.number two is mad for the tractor but has a good eye for animals as well.they are 12 and 14.the girl moves cattle and brings the cows sometimes with someone but she is only ten todaytrying to strike a balance to it is difficult

Eldest fella loves the farm. Zero interest in tractors just the stock, cows etc. Girl is 14. She will do anything if I ask her to. Normally goes for the cows in the evening time with her grandad which is good for the 2 of them. Youngest lad is ten and football mad. Will give a hand if asked to. As others have said the last thing you want is for them to hate the farm. They all get paid in different ways for work done. No work done =no pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭TwoOldBoots

grassroot1 wrote: »
    The boys hate farming with a passion my daughter however is interested and will help me. She will be the one to take over,she wants to do teaching so it should work out OK for her

You'd be better off planting the farm in trees and drawing the money out of them for a pension. Giving the farm to a daughter is only putting land and money in another mans pocket

you sound like a super bloke, I got the farm here, 2 older sisters and 2 younger brothers, at least my parents aren't sexist like you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭valtra2

SERIOUSLY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Ah jaysus. Will u ever....

Would you not rather give it to someone who has an interest rather than someone who sees it as a burden? Do you have kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Odelay

Fookin hell.... Not sure what else to say about that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

I was going to respond but f@@k it your not worth it

whelan2 wrote: »
    Would you not rather give it to someone who has an interest rather than someone who sees it as a burden? Do you have kids

With an attitude like that he will never have them either. The taliban have a better view of women than this joker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭newholland mad

Don't feed the troll !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭TwoOldBoots

Well if my view is so bad how is it that everyone looks to one of the sons to leave the farm to. Let ye all come off yer high horses their, as its true what I'm saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭satstheway

Cant believe ppl still have this sexist mentality
    Id give it to whoever's interested boy or girl and force it on none.
    Plenty were handed to the wrong sibling and got the hammer which is very unfair to the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Time for new boots id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

Jasus will you go back to the 1950’s.

karma would mean that when 2youngboots gets married and divorced some other woman or better yet, man, gets the land and money in their back pocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭kk.man

I have all girls here and to see their interest sometimes is really something to behold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

A cave man with WiFi. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,370 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Plenty of young people coming home FOR the farm which is slightly different than coming home to farm.
    Probably better for children to get jobs away from home for school holidays, see what's available out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭memorystick

Well if my view is so bad how is it that everyone looks to one of the sons to leave the farm to. Let ye all come off yer high horses their, as its true what I'm saying

Imagine if he/she married a foreigner! Or was gay/crack addict,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭newholland mad

Don't feed the troll !!!!!

An excellent thread that's after being taken over by replies to a quote that should have got no response. Ye all took the bait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

An excellent thread that's after being taken over by replies to a quote that should have got no response. Ye all took the bait.

I laughed when i seen it tbh.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Mod note TwoOldBoots please don't post in this thread again.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

just going to ask what would ye do if you had siblings trying to out do eachother to inherit something? because that's a tough one:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

There ain’t no half measures with the sexism from the boots.he likes to go full on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

just going to ask what would ye do if you had siblings trying to out do eachother to inherit something? because that's a tough one:pac:

Make a plan early on and let the kids know what it is so they dont fall out with each other .
    Split the farm or farm it jointly ,
    I see cousins of mine (4 sons ) that are all farming mad and there wouldnt be enough land at home between them so the father started renting bits for them individually and gave a small few stock from the homeplace plus they all used the fathers machinery /tractor while they were getting started and have a big land base between the lot of them now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Panjandrums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,375 ✭✭✭emaherx

Not going to say too much about some previous comments, but I think any farmer would be lucky to have daughters like some of our regular lady contributers here.

My 2 lads are 9 and help out occasionally (when it's safe), but they are too young for most of the farming activities taking place at the moment.

Little girl just turned 1 so it will be a while before we know how interested she is, but current indications are good she gets very excited when she sees the animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

my own opinion is its the one that shows interest and the one you know that wants to keep it going is the one that will get it here. I honestly don't care if it's a lad or girl, gay or straight, I've only one at the min he is only 10mths so bit to early to know if he will make it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

All mine will help ( at a push sometimes ).
    Was in a field of premown yesterday evening and I said to my little man was there enough for a full day.
    A day and a half he reckoned ( I agree ) so there was nothing else for it....

That's the thing nowadays I'm just glad one of them has a real interest in the farm. There is zero pressure on him to come back here and farm. I will be delighted if he does

my own opinion is its the one that shows interest and the one you know that wants to keep it going is the one that will get it here. I honestly don't care if it's a lad or girl, gay or straight, I've only one at the min he is only 10mths so bit to early to know if he will make it or not.

It would be simple if only one wants to run it though!

emaherx wrote:
    It would be simple if only one wants to run it though!

I'll be lucky to have one interested. But I know what your saying. It's a lot harder get them into it than out of it

Well that's a simpler situation, let them divide it up and do as they like. You can't bring it with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I know of one family, two sons mad for it and good at it, bought a second farm and making a serious go of it. Another lad has said if any of them have interest he'll give as much support as he can, if not he'll sell up when he retires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I'll be the same. They'll work when needed but no one will be forced or guilted into taking it over. Like myself, they'll only have it part time either way so education is the key.

There's a big market out there for farmers' sons and daughters as they usually have a good work ethic and are resourceful.

Great point. Farmers are managers, manual workers, machine operators, vets, accountants, engineers, plumbers, electricians all rolled into one! I have lads working here from time to time who weren't brought up on a farm and it amazes me how poor they are at problem solving even in their late twenties. My calf house is near dwelling house so the kids are always in there helping out even though they are only 4 and 3 but already they know to put all buckets in a row before filling, washing them afterwards and putting nuts in troughs. Sur they spill stuff everywhere but they think its great fun. Was very proud of my daughter one day when I came into shed to see her fixing all the rings back into place on individual pens without me ever telling her, she must have seen me do. Asked why she was doing it and said "so they'll be ready for you Daddy". She'll be very employable when she grows up if she keeps that attitude up. Or a very capable farmer if that is her desire!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Got my retirement plan from the second fella the other day .he ll be 28 when im 65 so he ll come home then and take over.in the meantime he is going to work with a contractor and give a spell in new zealand.the finishing line is in sight😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Just a reminder to be extra vigilant with the kids this time of year. Load of farm accidents happen with kids over the summer months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Want me to sell it and enjoy spending the money but it means more than money to me, sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭visatorro

K.G. wrote:
    Got my retirement plan from the second fella the other day .he ll be 28 when im 65 so he ll come home then and take over.in the meantime he is going to work with a contractor and give a spell in new zealand.the finishing line is in sight😆

You may keep going so

The other side of it is would you want one of the kids farming ? Especially where we are farming on crap ground in small fragmented blocks . Sometimes it just taking time away from a job thats really paying the bills

Bullocks wrote: »
    The other side of it is would you want one of the kids farming ? Especially where we are farming on crap ground in small fragmented blocks . Sometimes it just taking time away from a job thats really paying the bills

I do say that to my auld man. Our ground is good but is fragmented and is not big enough to be full time and raise a family. Also my ge eration gap to the kids is 27 and 29 years so when im 65 they are 36 & 38. They need to find another way. If they want to come back then fine.

Grueller wrote: »
    I do say that to my auld man. Our ground is good but is fragmented and is not big enough to be full time and raise a family. Also my ge eration gap to the kids is 27 and 29 years so when im 65 they are 36 & 38. They need to find another way. If they want to come back then fine.

At 36 /38 you would imagine they would have another career sorted and find it hard to settle into farming but I suppose everyone is different .
    I'm 35 now and don't know what I'll do , it would be lovely to farm fulltime but the drop in income from what I'm at would mean sacrifices would have to be made at home which isn't fair on wife and kids but then there would be the bonus of alot more time to be at home with them .

Bullocks wrote:

Agree 100% for all I have a good farm would have it in roadways around the farm. But there is something nice about coming home in the evening after the daily grind and getting out for an hour. There is just something nice about it. My wife from a non farming backround loves the idea of our kids growing up on a farm as she has fond memories of her childhood being sent to her aunt's farm and spending time there.
    Grueller wrote:

I took over my uncle's farm at 33, my own immediate family were not farmers but we lived on the farm as such. Since I was old enough to walk I loved farming and machinery, but went and got a trade after school, and worked at that full time while always helping out the uncle if it was only to paint a Piller or move a fence for strip grazing. I never had the urge to go to oz etc so it was not a big change when the time did come to step up and take the reins, I think if it's in you and you want to do it then you will make it work.

There are two types of ppl in this world, those that want to farm regardless and those that don't, it's like a disease it's in your blood and it's dam hard to get rid of it

Bullocks wrote: »
    At 36 /38 you would imagine they would have another career sorted and find it hard to settle into farming but I suppose everyone is different .
    I'm 35 now and don't know what I'll do , it would be lovely to farm fulltime but the drop in income from what I'm at would mean sacrifices would have to be made at home which isn't fair on wife and kids but then there would be the bonus of alot more time to be at home with them .

I am the same. Could probably survive full time and i mean just survive. It would be a €40k net income drop. Hard to justify.