Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turn indicators and how did licence was dipensed ?

• 02-06-2018 6:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭mea_k

Today was travelling from my rual village towards my nearest town to work about 15 minutes drive. Road id merge on to would have been in 3 lanes . overtaking lane and comming traffic lane. There was nobody on road except cyclist and car behind me traveling and ok speed . this area is 50km/h .so i was travelling at this speed going up the hill turned my turn signal to over take cyclist at safe distance. Making sure i was looking at car behind me. Half way over taking this cyclist other car decides they will over take me while i over take this cuclist without idicators or anything of that sort pushing me either smash my car against theirs or crashing in to cyclist. I wriggled just about not hitting either .
    I followed this car up untill roundabout that i would have taken second exit. I made sure stay away from car in front . and again no signals all over the place and took first exit. Driving from work i just made note of driving and looking do people use their turn signals. I seen nobody using their turn signals correctly on 2 major roundabouts .
    How do people have licences ? And why - if not you do not use them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

mea_k wrote: »
    Today was travelling from my rual village towards my nearest town to work about 15 minutes drive. Road id merge on to would have been in 3 lanes . overtaking lane and comming traffic lane. There was nobody on road except cyclist and car behind me traveling and ok speed . this area is 50km/h .so i was travelling at this speed going up the hill turned my turn signal to over take cyclist at safe distance. Making sure i was looking at car behind me. Half way over taking this cyclist other car decides they will over take me while i over take this cuclist without idicators or anything of that sort pushing me either smash my car against theirs or crashing in to cyclist. I wriggled just about not hitting either .
    I followed this car up untill roundabout that i would have taken second exit. I made sure stay away from car in front . and again no signals all over the place and took first exit. Driving from work i just made note of driving and looking do people use their turn signals. I seen nobody using their turn signals correctly on 2 major roundabouts .

Good Jaysis. What the hell is that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭Dave0301

I found trying to follow the general gist of that OP nearly as confusing as driving behind a person that doesn't use their indicators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

People who 'regularly' don't use their indicators/turn signals have mental problems and need help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Did are it you ok hun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭badabing106

I followed this car up untill roundabout that i would have taken second exit. I made sure stay away from car in front and again no signals all over the place and took first exit.

Was it an Audi?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

BMWs don't have indicators - or maybe they are hidden so well that their owners can't find them.

Also, indicating is an option on rural roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,257 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

So the cops knew that internal affairs was setting them up?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

CeilingFly wrote: »
    BMWs don't have indicators - or maybe they are hidden so well that their owners can't find them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,769 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Who broke my heart. You did! You did! Bow to the target! Cupid! Cupid! You think you're smart. Stupid! Stupid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

CeilingFly wrote: »

As a rural person myself I can attest to that. Many locals here never seem to indicate. We even had a neighbour who caused a crash when turning in to his driveway without indicating and came out with the old "but everyone knows I live here" excuse.

I worked with a guy years ago who was travelling behind a driver who failed to indicate on three occasions. When she parked at the roadside, without induction, he parked and walk down to her and said "just to let you know your indications aren't working". She flicked the indicator arm and said "No, they are". His reply, as he walked away, was " well f'ing use them in future". I have been very tempted to do likewise many times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

People need to chill. What is this Nazi Germany?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Using indicators is a basic part of driving, people are not mind readers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭mea_k

Sorry . basically car behind me picked up the speed to drive past me and decided that they are going to do just that when i was over taking cyclist. Im a nervous driver and do obey rules of the road . I could be somehow too feely about such situations i did loose some family memmbers due to RTC ... Anyway. My question and whole point is how do people get their licences , do you think some test centre employees can be bribed for example? Maybe every X amount of years people should do refresher drving lessons or something? In my line of work we have every 3 years refresher course to reflect to health and safety and such issues. Would you be happy to do such lesson if covered by RSA?

For some it's a matter of doing what's right and proper for the test, get their licences then forget all the rules. Seeing the young, newly qualified, idiots racing, doing donuts etc. on our small rural roads make me often wonder why we have a testing process at all.

kneemos wrote: »
    People need to chill. What is this Nazi Germany?
    Sorry i do not know what you are trying to say with this ?
    I nearly took life of a cyclist or at least badly injured him .
    I nearly injured myself and other driver and who ever was in his car?
    All because no indication and breaking rules of the road ? I am happy to pay extra tax for anything really so goverment would bring in something to combat this crazy driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Sorry i do not know what you are trying to say with this ?
    I nearly took life of a cyclist or at least badly injured him .
    I nearly injured myself and other driver and who ever was in his car?
    All because no indication and breaking rules of the road ? I am happy to pay extra tax for anything really so goverment would bring in something to combat this crazy driving.

He's defending you. People are questioning your grammar and punctuation and kneemos is wondering why there is an abundance of grammar Nazis around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,434 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

How do people have licences ?

Cornflakes. In some countries, including Ireland, licenses come in Cornflakes boxes.

In fact, for a while in the 1970s, Irish people didn't even have to buy the cornflakes. Instead the government just gave the licenses out for nothing.

(OP, one of those sentences is untrue sarcasm. One isn't. Guess which is which .... )

OP you did well and are totally right.

I think people do the correct signallng etc when they are doing their driving test then just forget about it later.

All you or anyone can do is be aware that folk do stupid things and be extra vigilant yourself.

I have rarely seen anyone here use correct roundabout procedure. Just take extra care and be aware of that.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    He's defending you. People are questioning your grammar and punctuation and kneemos is wondering why there is an abundance of grammar Nazis around.

Oh i am very sorry . English is not my first language. I know - no excuse . I need to start some course or something . Unfortunately, I'm back to work and with baby around very hard to attend any evening courses. Will make note of my bad grammar.

You have nothing to note or apologise for. It's the others, who think it's clever or amusing to comment on less than perfect grammar, who need to apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

Good Jaysis. What the hell is that

I've an image of this fella...

18-1024x536.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Plenty of excellent multilingual drivers here tonight see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Don't apologise! I understood everything. With practice you will naturally get better.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

OP, this in nothing new.

Just this morning a car nearly took me out. I was watching them roll towards the stop sign thinking “is he going to stop?” As usual I assumed he wasn’t, so I didn’t have to swerve too hard in the end.

You need to get in the “sure it’ll be grand” frame of mind and you’ll be fine

I was waiting to turn right onto a main road yesterday, taxi driver approaching from my right indicated left and started pulling in left, so i would have been free to go. Inched out a bit to check my left, all clear, looked right again and mr taxi had just put his foot down to tear in front of me and glared at me.
    So don't trust indicators either... Crazy people out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Its not a case of a bad testing process. Just people get sloppy naturally over time as they get more familiar and blasé about driving.
    Regular re tests is my proposed solution

somefeen wrote: »
    Its not a case of a bad testing process. Just people get sloppy naturally over time as they get more familiar and blasé about driving.

If only it were over time. With many it is almost instantaneous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,996 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Roundabouts seem to exert some mental block on peoples minds where they forget how to operate their indicators. Its completely routine to see over half of cars enter and exit a roundabout without ever troubling to use their indicators to communicate their intent to other drivers. And sure why not, most of them are not indicating either. Carparks are another site of this phenomenon.

I think its odd when I see people blaming this on new drivers. A lot of "experienced" older drivers never sat a test. More did barely a lesson, if that. Most of them "learnt" from their father or older brother rather than any qualified instructor. And a lot of the the indicator "issues" are on large, expensive cars that wouldn't be in the reach of young drivers, but should have working indicators.

The reality is 99% of "experienced" drivers would fail their re-test if they had to take one tomorrow. A good chunk of younger drivers would pass, again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭blackbox

If only it were over time. With many it is almost instantaneous.

I agree - it really disappoints me to see N drivers not indicating properly nor using roundabouts correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

No matter how pointless I think my job is I always remember it's someone's job to fit indicators to BMWs and Audis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

somefeen wrote: »

There's a word for that, gimme a sec it'll come to me.....

Complacent! Isn't it?

Anyways this is one of the many reasons why I believe there needs to be some form of recap made compulsory every few years. Not necessarily having to sit a test again, but more so a seminar that goes over the basic rules of the roads, basic etiquette when driving etc. The fact that once you get your license, that's it. Look at all the people who can't even negotiate a roundabout properly, or who don't stick to the slow lanes on a motorway when they don't need to be in the fast lanes, etc. It's madness?

Madness? THIS IS IRELAND!

When I learned to drive, many years ago now, we were taught to drive defensively. To assume that others would make mistakes and be ready for that.

IT has saved my life several times when someone has come round a bend too fast or a tourist on the wrong side, on an eejit on a narrow lane. I always see the only way to avoid. Always see the way out. Has become automatic.. hedge hurts less than metal..

One thing I have noticed here is the way folk put their hazard warning lights on when stopped at road work lights. People come far too fast..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

bluewolf wrote: »
    I was waiting to turn right onto a main road yesterday, taxi driver approaching from my right indicated left and started pulling in left, so i would have been free to go. Inched out a bit to check my left, all clear, looked right again and mr taxi had just put his foot down to tear in front of me and glared at me.
    So don't trust indicators either... Crazy people out there

Don't trust taxi drivers would be my advice.

Graces7 wrote: »
    When I learned to drive, many years ago now, we were taught to drive defensively. To assume that others would make mistakes and be ready for that.

IT has saved my life several times when someone has come round a bend too fast or a tourist on the wrong side, on an eejit on a narrow lane. I always see the only way to avoid. Always see the way out. Has become automatic.. hedge hurts less than metal..

One thing I have noticed here is the way folk put their hazard warning lights on when stopped at road work lights. People come far too fast..
    People all over the place do the hazards on motorways for unexpected slow/stop as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

My sister says she uses her indicators when she knows there is a car behind her.
    But i think she doesn't bother much to see if there is a car behind her.
    Cars she does not see do not exist.
    Hope that helps.

bluewolf wrote: »
    People all over the place do the hazards on motorways for unexpected slow/stop as well

Good idea.. I never use motorways any more and rural only now. Winding down!

diomed wrote: »
    My sister says she uses her indicators when she knows there is a car behind her.
    But i think she doesn't bother much to see if there is a car behind her.
    Cars she does not see do not exist.
    Hope that helps.

Speechless.. I tell myself off if I think of omitting signalling when parking at our deserted slipway.

Needs to be an ingrained automatic habit like so much else in driving. Too much else to think about to be making decisions like that .

mirror, signal, manoeuvre.. Automatic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

It's gotten so bad now:- that if your stopped by the Gardaí for not indicating! Then most peoples 'excuse' would be.., sorry I didn't realise it was the Gardaí behind me...
    Like wtf!?