Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai to trial new uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,147 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

No baseball caps. Were not American.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

kneemos wrote: »

Mannequin. C'mon there was an 80s movie of the same name with Kim Cattrall! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,147 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

verycool wrote: »
    Mannequin. C'mon there was an 80s movie of the same name with Kim Cattrall! :pac:

Or that scene from Wishmaster......

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

American Wannabe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Left: I’m going to taze you for looking at me indignantly

Right: please pick up that tayto wrapper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Just need a pair of tasers , Batons and 9mm pistols to finish off the luck.

The uniforms need to be completely over hauled at this stage and every Gard fitted for proper body armour ,it's terrible seeing Karan and girls walking around and dealing with dangerous situations and not having any real protection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

A lot of police forces in the UK have similar. Thames Valley police don't issue the old fashioned helmet at all now. Baseball caps and polo shirts is the way to go.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

looks more like a cheap fancy dress costume do it properly and get Hugo Boss on board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,946 ✭✭✭buried

Looks like they're being modeled by two T-1000's from Terminator 2 who have p!ssed their pants and their left legs are standing in a pool of their own silvery p!ss

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Garda uniforms should be comfortable, allow them perform their duties and be relatively smart. There should be a version of the uniform for formal occasions. Nothing wrong with those samples IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,306 ✭✭✭Odhinn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Guards need to be tooled up properly to gain any respect. Id like to see that happen. By tooled up I mean proper batons, tazers, pistols and bulked up and in good physical shape themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

The Carabinieri in Italy have by far the slickest police uniforms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Most police forces now, are taking on a much more military look...

Could this be a subtle sign of our future? What are they preparing for?

Brutal dictatorships / police states are due to come back in vogue any decade now! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Most importantly, will they still have handcuffs? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

It would help if they were encouraged to remain on good physical shape.
    Sadly they arent. Most dont look like they could walk after someone never mind run after them.

Most police forces now, are taking on a much more military look...

Could this be a subtle sign of our future? What are they preparing for?

Lone wolf terrorists

Drug gangs

Feral youths with zero respect or fear of any consequences

Scum bags with knifes

The list is endless

That's before we get the distopian future

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Gatling wrote: »
    Lone wolf terrorists

Drug gangs

Feral youths with zero respect or fear of any consequences

Scum bags with knifes

The list is endless

That's before we get the distopian future

Outside of a handful of areas in Dublin none of that is really applicable, no point changing the style of the entire force for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Mrtestosterone

Still looks pussy. Just look at Germany, France, Italy, Spain police uniforms. Proper military boots, not building site safety shoes. And military style pants with vests. What a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Still looks pussy. Just look at Germany, France, Italy, Spain police uniforms. Proper military boots, not building site safety shoes. And military style pants with vests. What a joke.

Bit village people in fairness.

https://goo.gl/images/SgvsFF

Outside of a handful of areas in Dublin none of that is really applicable, no point changing the style of the entire force for it

I'd rather they modernised and have the tools required to do any job now rather than waiting until something happens and wait several more years till it's discussed at every level before making a change.

I'd gladly see them ditch the peaked hats too other than for ceremonial purposes too .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

not really though ,
    in reality most assaults on gardai take place in rural areas or garda stations.
    in the areas you mean there are more gardai and more back up

in cavan or kerry etc theres a lot less help comming and criminals are aware of this

most people really have no idea or a pre conceived notion of policing and gardai

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/5-of-gardai-injured-while-on-duty-last-year-458783.html

http://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-injured-on-duty-3611755-Sep2017/

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/seven-gardai-committed-suicide-last-12614975

Your Face wrote: »
    Yeah because that's who we want to style our Gardai after.

Yeah like every other successful European country. They seem to be doing just fine. They focus on functionality instead of style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭Allinall

Yeah like every other successful European country. They seem to be doing just fine. They focus on functionality instead of style.

Successful European countries?

Which ones, and how are they more successful than Ireland?

kneemos wrote: »
    They're the armed units though.
    Our armed lads have decent looking kit to be fair.

Armed uniforms are good but the regular ones are pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

Garda uniforms should be comfortable, allow them perform their duties and be relatively smart. There should be a version of the uniform for formal occasions. Nothing wrong with those samples IMO

Also they need back up from the courts, watching Shane O Farrell's mother on Prime Time tonight was so upsetting 40 plus previous convictions .then he gets to walk away AGAIN after killing her son in a hit and run :(

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/my-son-was-killed-by-state-says-mum-of-hitandrun-victim-30054029.html

Allinall wrote: »
    Successful European countries?

Which ones, and how are they more successful than Ireland?

I've listed them. They are more successful because they do their jobs properly and have better economies. Call Garda here about something and see what happens, unless it's something very serious like murder, you'll be waiting for hours. Call police in Germany and see how long it takes them to appear. I speak from experience. Are you saying Germany is poorer than Ireland?

mynamejeff wrote: »
    not really though ,
    in reality most assaults on gardai take place in rural areas or garda stations.
    in the areas you mean there are more gardai and more back up

in cavan or kerry etc theres a lot less help comming and criminals are aware of this

most people really have no idea or a pre conceived notion of policing and gardai

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/5-of-gardai-injured-while-on-duty-last-year-458783.html

http://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-injured-on-duty-3611755-Sep2017/

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/seven-gardai-committed-suicide-last-12614975
    Your stats are unclear there when it comes to rural areas, it doesn't specify assaults in Kerry, Tipp, Wexford , only work-related injuries.

I'm wary of people pushing a more militarised force on to us unless it's really necessary, quite often those shouting the loudest are Walts or military obsessed. I live in a country with an armed police force and I don't find them particularly reassuring or approachable compared to Gardai.

I think when the Gards really need to be intimidating they are well able to do it as it is, at the Zenit - Dundalk game a few years ago they were out in force and tooled up and there wasn't a peep out of the Zenit fans, who are some of the biggest scumbags in soccer.

If you give the Gardai a stylish uniform that looks cool. It would give the Guards a better public image meaning the Gardai won't look like saps going around in building site safety gear more children will look up to the Guards and want to become one when they are older meaning less staffing issues as they would have more respect.

That's more of riot unit than an the regular police but yes the Carabinieri do look that regularly as they have police like that patrolling Rome. Ireland has a ratio of 252 police officers per 100,000 and Italy has 450 police officers per 100,000 people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Your stats are unclear there when it comes to rural areas, it doesn't specify assaults in Kerry, Tipp, Wexford , only work-related injuries.

I'm wary of people pushing a more militarised force on to us unless it's really necessary, quite often those shouting the loudest are Walts or military obsessed. I live in a country with an armed police force and I don't find them particularly reassuring or approachable compared to Gardai.

I think when the Gards really need to be intimidating they are well able to do it as it is, at the Zenit - Dundalk game a few years ago they were out in force and tooled up and there wasn't a peep out of the Zenit fans, who are some of the biggest scumbags in soccer.

At a football match with a public order unit is a specific situation

at a domestic violence incident or handling prisoners in close quarters is a different story

Equipment and uniform is fine but training is always required and being expensive wont happen in Ireland.
    same as tazers that the frontline gardai are currently looking for , wont happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

What's the point in new uniforms when they will just have to put the absolutely ****e faded ill fitting stab vests over them.

Stephen15 wrote: »
    If you give the Gardai a stylish uniform that looks cool. It would give the Guards a better public image meaning the Gardai won't look like saps going around in building site safety gear more children will look up to the Guards and want to become one when they are older meaning less staffing issues as they would have more respect.

They need to be paid better I think, I'm not sure if it has improved recently (doubt it) but low level pay will be off a lot of the brighter recruits. In Ireland though they still attract a lot more applications than they need, so financially it's tougher to justify a higher wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

It would help if they were encouraged to remain on good physical shape.
    Sadly they arent. Most dont look like they could walk after someone never mind run after them.

You'd need to teach some of 'em to run an iron over the uniform every now and then before you worry about their ned kellys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The combat pants are a good idea, but they need to upgrade their boots to something like the Magnum boots we use in the defence forces, they're super light, comfy, cool and durable.

The should have also went with a UBACS (Under Body Armour Combat Shirt). We have them in work, and under body armour they're the mutts nuts.

That body armour most guards are using is too small for them, nothing worse than a belly hanging out from under your vest to make you look a shambles.

Cops should also have an annual fitness test and get those belly's off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

nothing worse than a belly hanging out from under your vest to make you look a shambles.

Being gutted by a knack because your belly was hanging out is probably worse in fairness.

Bambi wrote: »
    Being gutted by a knack because your belly was hanging out is probably worse in fairness.

There's always one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

The combat pants are a good idea, but they need to upgrade their boots to something like the Magnum boots we use in the defence forces, they're super light, comfy, cool and durable.

Thought the defence forces were using Haix boots now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Any comment from Carla4Garda ?

Thought the defence forces were using Haix boots now?

The Magnums are barrack boots. The HAIX are for on the ground, IMO they're ****. Way too heavy, the only lads I know who like them are the little fella's because the HAIX add a little height.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

The Magnums are barrack boots. The HAIX are for on the ground, IMO they're ****. Way too heavy, the only lads I know who like them are the little fella's because the HAIX add a little height.

Ta for the info. Yeah from chatting to people they seem a step down from the Meindls and Hanwags of yesterday. The height bit makes sense.

The Magnums are great.

I'd jog the part III (10k) of our fitness test in the Magnums, I wouldn't dream of it in the HAIX.

I think it was the Artillery and Ordnance would used the HAIX first because they had a steel (or re enforced) toe, then they went on issue to everyone. The cops certainly don't knee them, but the Magnums would be great.

We had Magnums were steel toes for awhile, they were crap ~ guess who doesn't like steel toe capped boots?.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,547 ✭✭✭KaneToad

They need to be paid better I think, I'm not sure if it has improved recently (doubt it) but low level pay will be off a lot of the brighter recruits. In Ireland though they still attract a lot more applications than they need, so financially it's tougher to justify a higher wage.

Low level pay! I think not...

Basic pay can rise by more than 25pc when overtime, unsocial hours payments, and other allowances are included.

Members of the force are entitled to a number of additional payments depending on their grade and where they are deployed.

Salary on attestation after 32 weeks is €€23,750. Gardai assigned to front-line duties and working a particular roster can earn various unsocial hours payments.

Such payments can amount to between 25pc and 30pc of their earnings. At the 25pc level, a garda's pay package is boosted by €5,937, bringing the total to €29,687. This is before overtime is factored in.

There are also payments such as uniform maintenance and boot allowance, to which new gardai may be entitled. Rent allowance, €4,017 per year is also paid on top of the above.

Not bad for an entry level job in the public sector.

KaneToad wrote: »
    Low level pay! I think not...

Basic pay can rise by more than 25pc when overtime, unsocial hours payments, and other allowances are included.

Members of the force are entitled to a number of additional payments depending on their grade and where they are deployed.

Salary on attestation after 32 weeks is €€23,750. Gardai assigned to front-line duties and working a particular roster can earn various unsocial hours payments.

Such payments can amount to between 25pc and 30pc of their earnings. At the 25pc level, a garda's pay package is boosted by €5,937, bringing the total to €29,687. This is before overtime is factored in.

There are also payments such as uniform maintenance and boot allowance, to which new gardai may be entitled. Rent allowance, €4,017 per year is also paid on top of the above.

Not bad for an entry level job in the public sector.
    New recruits don't get the rent allowance I thought. Relying on unsocial hours and overtime to bring you up is a bit much I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,547 ✭✭✭KaneToad

New recruits don't get the rent allowance I thought. Relying on unsocial hours and overtime to bring you up is a bit much I think

New recruits DO get the rent allowance.

They don't rely on unsocial hours. The Garda roster is unsocial hours. They get an additional 25% to 30% just by working their regular roster.

Overtime is additional to the above and is not compulsory.