Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spiked

• 27-05-2018 7:12am

Pretty sure i was spiked last night....was in a nightclub with my brother and some friends.
    Went to the mens room and left my drink down, drank away then back to the loo shortly after and all of a sudden was feeling like an out of body experience. Felt like i was watching myself do stupid things(like not drunk stuff)
    I was trying to cop on and text my brother or my girlfriend coz i was freaking out, i couldnt type a sentence or a word and eventually sent some nonsense text to my brother and he found me and calmed me down.

Proper freaked out though never felt like that befor and am honestly afraid of what could of happened.

Is there anything i can do to test whats in my system? Also im pretty certain i know the guy who done it as he handed me my drink....he was in a taxi and taxi driver wouldnt let me get any info.... door men wouldn't take me serious as i was still A drunk and B whacked out of it apparently.

Should i just forget it and be more careful??

No idea where to pop this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

eARLY NIGHT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »
    Maybe the burger was off. I always blame the burger.

Wish i had food!!

I was in the toilet lobby flicking my thumb trying to text....all i was doing was circling the letters in the phone....it was weird coz i was trying to stop but kept doing it....for fifteen mins or so.
    Horrible experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Was this guy in your group of friends?

You can make an appointment to see a doctor, get bloods done. VHI clinic will see you almost immediately. Report the incident to the Gardai, ask them to request the cctv. Speak to the manager of the club, tell them what happened and that you’re following it up with the Gardai.

Cops will ask you how much you had to drink, what time you were out since, witnesses etc., make sure you do follow it up.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

You can make an appointment to see a doctor, get bloods done. VHI clinic will see you almost immediately. Report the incident to the Gardai, ask them to request the cctv. Speak to the manager of the club, tell them what happened and that you’re following it up with the Gardai.

Cops will ask you how much you had to drink, what time you were out since, witnesses etc., make sure you do follow it up.

No just a guy i was chatting with in the mens, i told door men but they were not at all interested.
    Manager of club was there but wouldnt come speak at the time.

Thanks though i will go to gardai tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Last night? And yet you're posting at 8 this morning. Can't have been too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Is your bottom sore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Herpes Free Since03

Is your bottom sore?

He's definitely going to blame the bugger....I mean burger if it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Well if anything it demonstrates that he wasn’t boozed up.

Op, how much did you have to drink, and did you drink on an empty stomach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I've never been spiked in my life.

What am I doing wrong??

Wish i had food!!

Drinking on an empty stomach ain’t good

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I've never been spiked in my life.

What am I doing wrong??

Well....if you're not the victim...
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Get a blood test done by a doctor. In all probability though, you drank too much and the alcohol had an unexpected effect on you. I worked in clubs for years and the reality is that spiking largely just doesn't happen - sometimes people just take a turn with the drink.

I mean it's a possibility like of course, but go to a doctor ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

VHI won't let anyone bar their customers use their clinics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

FTA69 wrote: »
    Get a blood test done by a doctor. In all probability though, you drank too much and the alcohol had an unexpected effect on you. I worked in clubs for years and the reality is that spiking largely just doesn't happen - sometimes people just take a turn with the drink.

I mean it's a possibility like of course, but go to a doctor ASAP.

That's been my experience too.

The problem with a drugs test is the half life of GHB and Rohypnol is only hours and so they're often undetectable even the next day.

I had a fair few pints to be honest. And it happened last night but the effects lasted for an hour befor i could move properly again.

I was on an empty stomach actually, still havent eaten.

My brother and mate said i didnt look drunk but said i didn't look right.

I had a fair few pints to be honest........

Dodgy pint I’d say,

Definitely nothing to do with drinking loads of pints on an empty stomach

Report the incident to the Gardai, ask them to request the cctv.

The problem with CCTV, and there are lots is quality and unlike CSI and other TV shows you can not zoom in on an image.

They're also mostly time lapsed so even if there was one covering the area you suspect you were drugged it'll likely miss the move.

Then like I said, the half life of GHB and Rohypnol (using these as examples) is only hours and they're often undetectable the next day.

Then you've to convince a Guard that a crime has been commited for them to make the effort in viewing CCTV.

Like FTA I've over 20 yrs door work experience and have probably view hundreds of CCTV.

Havent slept, it was kinda for an hour freaking out, then walked to taxi not a bother after wards....

I had a fair few pints to be honest. And it happened last night but the effects lasted for an hour befor i could move properly again.

My brother and mate said i didnt look drunk but said i didn't look right.

Lots of booze on an empty stomach can do it to you, and it can hit you all of a sudden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Also im pretty certain i know the guy who done it as he handed me my drink....he was in a taxi and taxi driver wouldnt let me get any info....

Can you elaborate on this please, thought this happened in the toilets?

milehip wrote: »
    Can you elaborate on this please, thought this happened in the toilets?

It did, i seen him outside and he hinted about my drink and i put two and two together....

Btw i didnt mean i know him personaly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It was god telling you to stop drinking

biko wrote: »
    It was god telling you to stop drinking

Lol! Am actually not much of a drinker....

Just felt so strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Lol! Am actually not much of a drinker....

Just felt so strange.

So plenty of drink + empty stomach + not much of a drinker + suddenly feeling strange = I was spiked.

I can see a couple of flaws in the equation.

Owryan wrote: »
    So plenty of drink + empty stomach + not much of a drinker + suddenly feeling strange = I was spiked.

I can see a couple of flaws in the equation.

Well ive drank enough times and have been drunk alot over the years.... maybe should of labelled the thread "Spiked?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Just chalk it down to experience and thankfully nothing bad happened you, lesson learned don’t leave your drink unattended in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I love who thanked this post. :pac:

20180527_100908.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

8 pints is not alot to drink?!

With current Irish drinking culture... people really believe that it isnt....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭safetyboy

Just chalk it down to experience and thankfully nothing bad happened you, lesson learned don’t leave your drink unattended in future.
    ??? you absolute pleb. I've been there for someone who has been spiked and its not funny and nothing to put down as experience. its pretty much attempted rape if said person had no friends around, what could have happened? who knows?

(sorry for calling you a pleb)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭.G.

Was convinced I was spiked once, was absolutely fine one minute then out of it all of a sudden and couldn't walk. Was telling everyone for days I was spiked until I bumped into a lad who was there who reminded me I had necked a pint of vodka and 7up he had bought. That was it alright :D

I love who thanked this post. :pac:

20180527_100908.jpg

I saw that and all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

I have to laugh at all the people I know who have said they were spiked ' I was never like that after 15vodka and redbulls before'. Trust me its very rare, and people defo aren't out pouring their €100 bags of coke into drinks. Most people get spiked by mates basically giving them free drugs,no harm done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

I would say there's a massive distortion in the ratio of people claiming to be spiked vs those that actually are spiked.

If I had a quid for everytime I saw a girl I know get shìt-faced drunk and do stupid stuff only to blame it all on being spiked the next day.

It happens, obviously, but nowhere near as often as people act like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

If I had a quid for everytime I saw a girl I know get shìt-faced drunk and do stupid stuff only to blame it all on being spiked the next day.

You would probably have two or three quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

I would say there's a massive distortion in the ratio of people claiming to be spiked vs those that actually are spiked.

It happens, obviously, but nowhere near as often as people act like.

Spiking is to women what the dodgy pint is to men

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2017/03/14/waterford-man-awarded-e179k-after-receiving-bad-pint-from-city-night-club/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Doesn't sound like the side effects of any of the common drugs and the likes of roofies would wipe you out for a bit.

If 84 is the year of your birth you are probably just a bit of a softie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭QuietMan2010

The problem with CCTV, and there are lots is quality and unlike CSI and other TV shows you can not zoom in on an image.

They're also mostly time lapsed so even if there was one covering the area you suspect you were drugged it'll likely miss the move.

Then like I said, the half life of GHB and Rohypnol (using these as examples) is only hours and they're often undetectable the next day.

Then you've to convince a Guard that a crime has been commited for them to make the effort in viewing CCTV.

Like FTA I've over 20 yrs door work experience and have probably view hundreds of CCTV.

Just on the issue of access to CCTV, I was listening to an item on GDPR on Friday and the interviewee (either a lawyer, or maybe even the Data Commissioner herself) said that your image is data and if a business has your image on CCTV you can now request a copy of that data. She added that if other people appear in the footage, their identifying features need to be blurred out to respect their data rights, unless they consent to be shown. Sounds like a minefield for nightclubs and shops, but if the OP wants to get the footage he can go directly citing GDPR and doesn't need Garda involvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

Just on the issue of access to CCTV, I was listening to an item on GDPR on Friday and the interviewee (either a lawyer, or maybe even the Data Commissioner herself) said that your image is data and if a business has your image on CCTV you can now request a copy of that data. She added that if other people appear in the footage, their identifying features need to be blurred out to respect their data rights, unless they consent to be shown. Sounds like a minefield for nightclubs and shops, but if the OP wants to get the footage he can go directly citing GDPR and doesn't need Garda involvement.

Yup. You could actually do it under the previous data protection rules. It's personal data and there was a case of a bank having to provide this to a customer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

safetyboy wrote: »
    ??? you absolute pleb. I've been there for someone who has been spiked and its not funny and nothing to put down as experience. its pretty much attempted rape if said person had no friends around, what could have happened? who knows?

(sorry for calling you a pleb)
    I’ve been spiked once before as well one night out in college, met two guys in a bar and by my second drink, I don’t remember anything until I was back in my house, in the sitting room, when I realized I hadn’t a clue who the two lads were that was with me. My housemates boyfriend threw them out.

It is something to put down as experience. There’s nothing to be gained from taking over what could have happened. Nothing did happen, thank god. Unless he had blood taken last night, there’s probably nothing that’ll be found in his system and if he tries take this further while telling the guards he had a rake of drink on an empty stomach while not being a regular heavy drinker, I can’t imagine that’ll lead to a successful prosecution.

There’s nothing to be gained from outrage today. He’s safe and that’s the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

A night club, and 99.99999% of other businesses, won't have the ability to blur faces from CCTV so they won't be able to give you the footage as they don't have permission from any other customer.

GDPR is not going to be the silver bullet a lot of people think it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

No just a guy i was chatting with in the mens, i told door men but they were not at all interested.
    Manager of club was there but wouldnt come speak at the time.

Thanks though i will go to gardai tomorrow.

I'd go and get a blood and urine test first. The Gardai won't even do anything until they establish for a fact that you were drugged I don't think.

I was certain that I was spiked about a year ago. I went to the pub and woke up in A&E, being wheeled down a hospital corridor for an x-ray. I'd no memory of the previous night or how I wound up in hospital. The doctors told me that I arrived in hysterical and in floods of tears because I was spiked, but my results came back negative.

The doctor told me that if your blood alcohol level rises too quickly then you effectively lose your ability to form memories, so I would never be able to recall what happened because my mind never recorded it. It's really interesting, but confusion is a pretty common side affect of a really high blood-alcohol level and although I don't know if this applies to what you experienced, you still can't conclude that you were spiked without getting tested.

All true, but you'll be told that the CCTV wasn't working/doesn't cover that area/has been written over or the club/bar has no one with a PSA license to download footage etc.

ie, you won't get anything unless it suited the management to cooperate with you, and they won't cooperate with you.

Even when they want to cooperate, its very time consuming for a club to have someone search CCTV footage and download it and they'll fob you off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I'd go and get a blood and urine test first. The Gardai won't even do anything until they establish for a fact that you were drugged I don't think.

I was certain that I was spiked about a year ago. I went to the pub and woke up in A&E, being wheeled down a hospital corridor for an x-ray. I'd no memory of the previous night or how I wound up in hospital. The doctors told me that I arrived in hysterical and in floods of tears because I was spiked, but my results came back negative.

The doctor told me that if your blood alcohol level rises too quickly then you effectively lose your ability to form memories, so I would never be able to recall what happened because my mind never recorded it. It's really interesting, but confusion is a pretty common side affect of a really high blood-alcohol level and although I don't know if this applies to what you experienced, you still can't conclude that you were spiked without getting tested.

Having read a few subsequent posts, I think it's a lot more likely that your experience was probably alcohol-induced like I mentioned above. I was sent videos and photos of myself when I blacked out and I was walking, talking and acting normally - well, normal for any drunk man. The lights were on but there was absolutely nobody home, so your brother saying that you didn't look drunk doesn't mean you were lucid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Wish i had food!!

I was in the toilet lobby flicking my thumb trying to text....all i was doing was circling the letters in the phone....it was weird coz i was trying to stop but kept doing it....for fifteen mins or so.
    Horrible experience

This is a recurring nightmare for me. I need to call or text someone urgently but can't get my fingers to press the right buttons. Sounds like you experienced it in real life, I'm getting anxiety just thinking about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    This is a recurring nightmare for me. I need to call or text someone urgently but can't get my fingers to press the right buttons. Sounds like you experienced it in real life, I'm getting anxiety just thinking about it!

Your dream/nightmare is anyalsed here, if you believe in that sort of thing.

http://www.analysedreams.co.uk/dreamsofthephonenotworking.html

ceadaoin. wrote: »

Yea i was fully aware i was trying to do something but was like i couldnt do what i wanted. I find the whole thing strange as an hour later and i was able for texting and all.....