Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Handicap reduction

• 22-05-2018 8:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43

Hey, so I started playing golf at this time last year. I lost 9 shots last summer which I was delighted with. Near the end of the season I lost 4 of those rightly in one go. After that I struggled abit with 1st the new handicap and then my 1st winter of golf. I just didn't really enjoy playing in the winter and I rarely had a score worth mentioning but I kept with it as I knew it would pay off in the long run.
    I was selected for a interclub team this year and we played our 1st match on Sunday which was also scheduled as the day of our medal. This was our 3rd GOY comp this year and I had won the 1st two. Winter paying off I presume. Anyway the captain text us, the team the week before last to say they were going to set up an alternate day for the medal just for the team. We could play it the day before if we wished along with that days singles stableford at the same time.
    So I played Sat and entered both competitions like I was told I could do by the captain. Was told just Mark two different cards. I played well Saturday. Brought in good cards. As soon as I put the cards in I rang the handicap secretary as well as my team manger to tell them what I had as I knew the medal wouldn't be closed till Sunday evening after my match. I'm still pretty new to golf and I wanted to make sure my handicap for my 1st ever interclub match was right. They said they would sort it out before the match..So I arrived for the match, still no clue what my handicap will actually be. I'm told Iv lost 2 shots. Actually dissapointed as I thought it would be more. I won my match but unfortunately we lost as a team.
    So I get a call today from the handicap secretary and she says I should not of played the two comps on the one day. I was told I was to do that. They still haven't published the results of the medal on sunday but they tell me I won the competition but won't be getting a medal or the points for GOY. Also said they have pulled my records and they say I obviously have been pulling up in the winter????

Just to be clear, all I want to do is see how low I can get my handicap etc. I don't care about winning and all that comes with it. I don't understand why I wouldn't win the actual medal and get those points? Was I in the wrong to play the two comps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Bottle

Was it an Alternate Medal for everybody?

What exact reason did they give you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Mccaa

Bottle wrote: »
    Was it an Alternate Medal for everybody?

What exact reason did they give you?

No it was just for the 5 people on the team and their caddies if they wanted.

Basically the only reasons they gave were that I shouldn't of played the two on the same day. When I said I have the text from the captain telling me to do just that, she started mumbling about me obviously pulling up all over the winter. Non qualifying over the winter so I can't see a reason why anyone would feel the need " to pull up".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Bottle

I would go back and ask the captain to intervene as it was their text that prompted you.

What do you play off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Irishdaywalker

First of all, well done on losing so many shots in one year, by the sounds of it you have taken to the game like a duck to water! If I was you I would be fuming with the allegation of "pulling", personally I hate all that "pulling" "dropping the anchor" Banter - effectively calling you a cheat (without being dramatic) - in relation to the interclub match, your handicap adjustment would not have mattered as usually teams are played off scratch, and the handicap is based on the previous year's lowest, I am open to correction on this ! ! I don't see what the problem with the handicap secretary is, They may be pulling a stroke themselves to try keep you at a certain handicap for next year's interclub team ? I have heard from a few people that their club was "protecting" their handicaps ! If true well that is BS ! I played my first Pierce Purcell event this year, and after many years playing, it is a regret I did'nt do it sooner, But my aim is always to get the handicap down as low as possible, and I hope to lose a couple of shots this year, which will count me out for the PP next year (All going to plan!) - Anyway it seems the gloss has been taken from your good form and results ! Keep it up!

Bottle wrote: »
    I would go back and ask the captain to intervene as it was their text that prompted you.

What do you play off?

I'm going to meet with the captain hopefully over the weekend.
    I'm female and started last year off 36. Before last weekend I played off 27. Saturday night I was cut 4 shots plus 1 for exceptional play bringing me to 22. But Sunday it was all un done and I was off 25?
    Along way to go yet I know, but I'll get thereðŸ˜

First of all, well done on losing so many shots in one year, by the sounds of it you have taken to the game like a duck to water! If I was you I would be fuming with the allegation of "pulling", personally I hate all that "pulling" "dropping the anchor" Banter - effectively calling you a cheat (without being dramatic) - in relation to the interclub match, your handicap adjustment would not have mattered as usually teams are played off scratch, and the handicap is based on the previous year's lowest, I am open to correction on this ! ! I don't see what the problem with the handicap secretary is, They may be pulling a stroke themselves to try keep you at a certain handicap for next year's interclub team ? I have heard from a few people that their club was "protecting" their handicaps ! If true well that is BS ! I played my first Pierce Purcell event this year, and after many years playing, it is a regret I did'nt do it sooner, But my aim is always to get the handicap down as low as possible, and I hope to lose a couple of shots this year, which will count me out for the PP next year (All going to plan!) - Anyway it seems the gloss has been taken from your good form and results ! Keep it up!

Yes, the allegation of pulling up is what is really frustrating. Alot of the ladies in my club don't like me and think I'm out to win everything but that couldn't be further than the truth. I just want to see how low I can go.

From what I can gather last year's handicap was irrelevant for some reason on this team?

Also good luck on loosing those shots this yearðŸ‘

That's a horrible scenario! Pay no attention to them, That's the whole point of the handicap system, so everyone is on a level playing field and everyone has the chance to win their respective competitions! Competitions are exactly what they are, and everyone wants to win them when they tee it up. . no one goes out on the first tee and hope they finish 20th ! Adjustments are made accordingly! It's clear you are really getting into the game, and clubs should encourage that, rather than push you away ! !

Yeah that's my thinking on it. Suppose I just have to get used to it and continue to enjoy the game without worrying about what the other ladies think!

Absolutely ! But you should'nt have to get used to it! Let us know what comes of the meeting! Good luck

Haha, I know I shouldn't have to but I think I will unfortunately...
    I'm playing the 1st game of the club match play on Saturday morning against the handicap secretary so I'll hopefully get some straight answers off her before I meet the captain!

:D. . Give her plenty of Gimme's!!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

I dunno, aside from the rights and wrongs of playing two competitions on one day, an allegation from the h/cap sec of "pulling up"" is a pretty big line to cross IMO. I'd be letting the captain (and the entire committee) know in no uncertain terms that its not appreciated and you want an apology.
    To be brutally honest here, it sounds like your good play has put a few noses out of joint and someone has been in the ear of the powers that be.

Haha that's the plan anyway. Even though I'm pissed that by playing it Saturday when we have another 3 weeks to do so, I'm missing out on a big qualifier I was hoping to play inðŸ™

Russman wrote: »
    I dunno, aside from the rights and wrongs of playing two competitions on one day, an allegation from the h/cap sec of "pulling up"" is a pretty big line to cross IMO. I'd be letting the captain (and the entire committee) know in no uncertain terms that its not appreciated and you want an apology.
    To be brutally honest here, it sounds like your good play has put a few noses out of joint and someone has been in the ear of the powers that be.

Yes, all the men I play with are fuming, including the men's committee. They told me to do exactly as you said but I think by just smiling and HOPEFULLY playing some more good golf it will just annoy them more....
    I just want the medal and points if I rightly won them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

Small rant, so indulge me.

Having taken up golf properly a year and a half ago, it has really struck me as a game with a very childish/throw toys out of the pram mentality. The way I have observed it is as follows:

Everyone who gets a better score than me is a bandit.
    Anyone with a higher handicap than me is a bandit
    Anyone with a high handicap who wins a comp is a bandit.

Example: I have worked hard to get my handicap down to 20, but any time I either win something of are playing match play against someone I'm greeted with "ah ffs, shur how can I play against that" or:
    Person A: "You see, yer man won the comp last weekend."
    Person B:"saw that. What was he off."
    Person A: "22!"
    Person B: "That's bull****, how can I play against that, no point me entering competitions with that ****e."

I think it must be a basic lack of intelligence on the part of these golfers. In order for someone to get cut they need to exceed CSS. Often when doing that you will end up winning. It's not ****ing rocket science.

I'm actually sick of it at this stage. I've never seen a sport with such outright suggestions of cheating not challenged. And as the op described it's very often club officers who are guilty of this. Doesn't really send a good message to other players.

End Rant.

techdiver wrote: »

Having taken up golf properly a year and a half ago, it has really struck me as a game with a very childish/throw toys out of the pram mentality. The way I have observed it is as follows:

Example: I have worked hard to get my handicap down to 20, but any time I either win something of are playing match play against someone I'm greeted with "ah ffs, shur how can I play against that" or:
    Person B: "That's bull****, how can I play against that, no point me entering competitions with that ****e."

I think it must be a basic lack of intelligence on the part of these golfers. In order for someone to get cut they need to exceed CSS. Often when doing that you will end up winning. It's not ****ing rocket science.

I'm actually sick of it at this stage. I've never seen a sport with such outright suggestions of cheating not challenged. And as the op described it's very often club officers who are guilty of this. Doesn't really send a good message to other players.

End Rant.

Totally get that techdiver...
    One 'lady' has spent the last year telling anyone that will listen that I should be cut. My original handicap was wrong etc. It may well have been, but I do remember when I started I could barely hit the ball 40yards ahead of me..
    Then as I was getting ready to step up on the Tbox for the interclub match on Sunday this 'lady' got in my face shouting asking what I was thinking getting cut the day before a match????

Seems I'll never win haha

I totally get it ! ! I currently play off 12, hopefully on the way down, playing a lot this year! Anyway the reason I mentioned what I am playing off is the examples outlined above, It Really Irks me that players playing around my handicap or lower feel some sense of entitlement when it comes to winning competitions ! Basically anyone playing off 18+ should feature nowhere near the winning enclosure, and I have heard it from members that there is no point entering competitions because they are up against bandits! I have said it here on a previous post, people seem to miss the premise of the handicap system, if someone of singles figures thinks they have to shoot the lights out to win a competition, then maybe I suggest to them to either play more / practice more. Everyone has a handicap for a reason . . Not because you are on the PGA tour! Also when a 3 handicap has a score of 40 points it is perceived as an exceptional round (which it is) and members would be in awe of the player, however should a 28 handicap come in with the same point total, then it is bandit territory and a "ah here" moment ! sorry kinda went off on one there as well ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

End Rant.

Its a classic golf wind up ...... they know by saying you are a bandit, it will annoy you (as it obviously does). I would suggest you ignore such moans and see them as mind games, next time just laugh it off or you could wind them up by offering them a pen and tell them to write to the h/cap secretary and ask for a few shot back as they obviously struggling to cope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Ronney

If I am reading this correctly you played 1 Round which counted for 2 Comps yes? As 2 Rounds on the same course for different comps.

This seams a bit strange to be allowed. It is common for a round to be doubled up as a qualifier comp. Eg. winner of this weeks 4 ball qualifies to represent the club in an inter club 4 ball or similar.

2 Separate Singles comps at the same time throws up a few conundrums.

If someone played in the same 2 comps over different days their handicap would be adjusted twice if necessary. I doubt it is possible to adjust a handicap twice for 1 round (eg. you were ****e in the 2 comps so 2 0.1's back).

Ronney wrote: »
    If I am reading this correctly you played 1 Round which counted for 2 Comps yes? As 2 Rounds on the same course for different comps.

This seams a bit strange to be allowed. It is common for a round to be doubled up as a qualifier comp. Eg. winner of this weeks 4 ball qualifies to represent the club in an inter club 4 ball or similar.

2 Separate Singles comps at the same time throws up a few conundrums.

If someone played in the same 2 comps over different days their handicap would be adjusted twice if necessary. I doubt it is possible to adjust a handicap twice for 1 round (eg. you were ****e in the 2 comps so 2 0.1's back).

Yes it is strange. I personally didn't think it was allowed, but I'm still new to the game and I just went with what the captain told me to do..

I think as the results of the medal have yet to be published I'm presuming they are getting a wrap on the knuckles from elsewhere.

I was initially cut 5 shots and then that changed to 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

Cut 5 shots......wtf was your handicap before and what did you shoot?

I was 27, shot 41 points and a nett 68.
    Still long way to go but trying my best!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

I off 19 and being constantly called a bandit by playing partners! they say it jokingly of course, but it has affected me! I once started Par,Par, Bogie (par3) then eagle (par5) 2 lads I was playing with said it jokingly. I didn't really know them at the time and I fell apart still to this day it pisses me off! Because I always struggle over them few holes and it was a great start.

I try not let it affect me these days..But as people have said above your HC is there for a reason. I have all the shots. Its just on 2 or 3 holes that I blow up on! that messes me up! I play golf for enjoyment & to get as low as possible I dont care about winning be more satisfied with a good score. Playing well at the moment so hopefully this will be a good year for me.

Golf can be selfish sport at times where you have to block things out. Your playing partners could be dicks! Or one who tries to dictate and tell you what to do, Or you could be playing with a mate and he is having a mare and dragging you down. You haven't got your A game etc. but its you against the course at the end of the day...Nobody else to a degree..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭mighty magpie

Mccaa wrote: »
    I was 27, shot 41 points and a nett 68.
    Still long way to go but trying my best!!

ESR? any other 41/42 or greater earlier in the year?

Have all your previous wins in 2018 been qualifying golf?

edit: ESR still wouldn't count for 5 shots. maybe a clause 23

Yep that's it... I know I'm improving all the time, probably alot to do with the fact that I generally play with guys who are low single figures and they are great for giving tips and advice etc.
    But we all start somewhere, and I'd be pretty confident in saying that all these guys didn't start at the level they are at now.

ESR? any other 41/42 or greater earlier in the year?

Have all your previous wins in 2018 been qualifying golf?

Nope bar 1. 1st win of 2018 was February over 12 holes not qualifying. That was 18pts. 2nd win was the 1st medal. Off 27,net 68 again non qualifying because of placing. And that was it bar this past weekend

1 if those shots was for exceptional play last weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

End Rant.

While there is a lot of truth in what you are saying. A lot of this stuff can be said in jest. Would often joke with friends or fella's i know in the club about them being a bandit or them saying to me im a bandit. Its just a bit of needle.

There is obviously some bitter people out there. Ignore them and just play your game. :)

Also just a general and entirely sweeping statement. But there is nobody i have seen or ever played with off 20+ that i would consider a bandit or maintaining an incorrect handicap. In my experience these lads seem to be in the mid teen range. But that's another story. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭kopkidda

Nope bar 1. 1st win of 2018 was February over 12 holes not qualifying. That was 18pts. 2nd win was the 1st medal. Off 27,net 68 again non qualifying because of placing. And that was it bar this past weekend

1 if those shots was for exceptional play last weekend

I think the handicap sec has it in for you.

kopkidda wrote: »
    I think the handicap sec has it in for you.

Yes I know they all do. I think I'll just let them off doing what they are and I'll hopefully just keep loosing shots. I'm playing her in a match on Sat so I hope I can do my talking over the course of the match ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Totally get that techdiver...
    One 'lady' has spent the last year telling anyone that will listen that I should be cut. My original handicap was wrong etc. It may well have been, but I do remember when I started I could barely hit the ball 40yards ahead of me..
    Then as I was getting ready to step up on the Tbox for the interclub match on Sunday this 'lady' got in my face shouting asking what I was thinking getting cut the day before a match????

Seems I'll never win haha

Classic. I'm surprised some comedy act hasn't started doing sketches based on golf clubs and the antics that go on.

PARlance wrote: »
    Classic. I'm surprised some comedy act hasn't started doing sketches based on golf clubs and the antics that go on.

You would wonder alright.. golf clubs really are amazing places lol

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Sounds like a lovely club you play in OP.

To add, well done on the handicap reductions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

benny79 wrote:
    I off 19 and being constantly called a bandit by playing partners! they say it jokingly of course, but it has affected me! I once started Par,Par, Bogie (par3) then eagle (par5) 2 lads I was playing with said it jokingly. I didn't really know them at the time and I fell apart still to this day it pisses me off! Because I always struggle over them few holes and it was a great start.

If you're a true 19 handicapper you'd have fallen apart eventually anyway 😂

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Sounds like a lovely club you play in OP.

It probably does sound horrible, but I love the course. And the club as a whole. In fairness it's just the ladies who ruin it for newbies.

That's why I avoid them and just play with the men lol

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

benny79 wrote: »

I try not let it affect me these days..But as people have said above your HC is there for a reason. I have all the shots. Its just on 2 or 3 holes that I blow up on! that messes me up! I play golf for enjoyment & to get as low as possible I dont care about winning be more satisfied with a good score. Playing well at the moment so hopefully this will be a good year for me.

Golf can be selfish sport at times where you have to block things out. Your playing partners could be dicks! Or one who tries to dictate and tell you what to do, Or you could be playing with a mate and he is having a mare and dragging you down. You haven't got your A game etc. but its you against the course at the end of the day...Nobody else to a degree..

I feel your pain brother!!

Can start off well, few good holes and then "bang" a few scratches in a row to ruin the card. Have changed my attitude on the course over the winter and am having less and less blow ups resulting in some good scores. I've changed clubs this year so as soon as the new GUI number comes in, I'll be out every week till the end of the season to get handicap down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Also said they have pulled my records and they say I obviously have been pulling up in the winter?????

That is absolute bollox and bang out of order. I would challenge that and ask how they figured you were pulling seeing as it was winter and non qualifying. I agree with above and look for an appology, and when you play her in your match, be overly nice to her.
    in relation to the interclub match, your handicap adjustment would not have mattered as usually teams are played off scratch, and the handicap is based on the previous year's lowest, I am open to correction on this ! ! !

I would have thought the same.
    From what I can gather last year's handicap was irrelevant for some reason on this team?

Possible, depends on the competition I suppose, what was it?
    I'm going to meet with the captain hopefully over the weekend.
    I'm female and started last year off 36. Before last weekend I played off 27. Saturday night I was cut 4 shots plus 1 for exceptional play bringing me to 22. But Sunday it was all un done and I was off 25?
    Along way to go yet I know, but I'll get there

I was going to say they can't cut you and then give you shots back, but thinking about it, it does seem complicated.

Firstly, I'm not so sure you should have been allowed play 2 comps through 1 round. I understand you got the go ahead from the captain, but I'm not sure that should matter. You may feel hard done by, and I understand that, but I really don't think that it should have been allowed.

Second, was the course changed after Saturdays round ahead of the Sunday Medal? Ie, tees changed, even ever so slightly, holes moved.. and I'm not sure if grass cutting counts, but I think it might.

If any of the above happened, then it was impossible for you to play the medal on the Saturday.

If course was exactly the same, in theory you could have been allowed to ented the medal or the regualr Sat comp. But IMO... only one of them. To enter 2 of them, you would have needed to play 2 rounds... which then opens up the question of practicing on the course.

So then lets say if everything was actually ok. your card goes in for the saturday comp. then the same card goes in for the sunday comp.... but you should be cut based on your score for the sat comp. then another cut for the sunday comp. then an ESR. I'm guessing this is what was actually done, but then the reversal and removal of you from the sunday comp.

All in all, it sounds very messy, and I feel your pain, but really it sounds like the captain was out of order giving you go ahead to enter 2 comps via 1 round. just because they are the captain, it doesn't make them right or give them authority to break the rules

Seve OB wrote: »
    That is absolute bollox and bang out of order. I would challenge that and ask how they figured you were pulling seeing as it was winter and non qualifying. I agree with above and look for an appology, and when you play her in your match, be overly nice to her.

I was going to say they can't cut you and then give you shots back, but thinking about it, it does seem complicated.

Firstly, I'm not so sure you should have been allowed play 2 comps through 1 round. I understand you got the go ahead from the captain, but I'm not sure that should matter. You may feel hard done by, and I understand that, but I really don't think that it should have been allowed.

Second, was the course changed after Saturdays round ahead of the Sunday Medal? Ie, tees changed, even ever so slightly, holes moved.. and I'm not sure if grass cutting counts, but I think it might.

If any of the above happened, then it was impossible for you to play the medal on the Saturday.

If course was exactly the same, in theory you could have been allowed to ented the medal or the regualr Sat comp. But IMO... only one of them. To enter 2 of them, you would have needed to play 2 rounds... which then opens up the question of practicing on the course.

So then lets say if everything was actually ok. your card goes in for the saturday comp. then the same card goes in for the sunday comp.... but you should be cut based on your score for the sat comp. then another cut for the sunday comp. then an ESR. I'm guessing this is what was actually done, but then the reversal and removal of you from the sunday comp.

All in all, it sounds very messy, and I feel your pain, but really it sounds like the captain was out of order giving you go ahead to enter 2 comps via 1 round. just because they are the captain, it doesn't make them right or give them authority to break the rules

Yep pulling records has p***ed me off, no need for it.

And your right about the 2 comps. I think this may have come from me saying I might play the medal in the morning at home before I go away n the afternoon to play the match. So they may of thought it was just easier to set an alternate day.
    It's just annoying as none of this would of come about I'm sure if I hadn't of won again.

Yep pulling records has p***ed me off, no need for it. .

ah they can pull all the records they want, they are entitled to. maybe cut you on observation, sounds like you would be well able for it.
    except they are accusing you of handicap cheating when it was not even possibe as was non qualifying.

i know all about winning a medal and not getting it, though my situation was a bit different, but i still feel your pain. But im really not sure you should have even been in it to win it.

find out about the course and if thery was any changes at all to it between saturday and sunday rounds.

Yep pulling records has p***ed me off, no need for it.

And your right about the 2 comps. I think this may have come from me saying I might play the medal in the morning at home before I go away n the afternoon to play the match. So they may of thought it was just easier to set an alternate day.
    It's just annoying as none of this would of come about I'm sure if I hadn't of won again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭mighty magpie

We have lads in our club who would love to get cut and shoot 38 or more during the winter when the course is shorter and placing suits them. Come this time of year, full course and no placing, they struggle to hit the same scores when it really counts and their handicap doesn't really change much to their dismay but from the outside/in it may look like banditry.

I was in the same position as you last year when i was given a handicap that was too high in hindsight but to be fair i did put in a lot of effort to get better. It annoyed me at the time when I thought handicap sec had it in for me (as a new member upsetting some long standing members) but there's nothing to gain from dwelling on it. Just go out and play your best golf, your handicap should be a true reflection of your play in no time.

Please dish out a hammering at the weekend and update us next week. :-)

ah they can pull all the records they want, they are entitled to. maybe cut you on observation, sounds like you would be well able for it.
    except they are accusing you of handicap cheating when it was not even possibe as was non qualifying.

i know all about winning a medal and not getting it, though my situation was a bit different, but i still feel your pain. But im really not sure you should have even been in it to win it.

find out about the course and if thery was any changes at all to it between saturday and sunday rounds.

I'd love them to cut me on observation. I have told them cut me to 5 I actually don't care, it will only make me try harder..

I have checked with the head green keeper. No changes made. Only work done was dew taken off greens both mornings

We have lads in our club who would love to get cut and shoot 38 or more during the winter when the course is shorter and placing suits them. Come this time of year, full course and no placing, they struggle to hit the same scores when it really counts and their handicap doesn't really change much to their dismay but from the outside/in it may look like banditry.

I was in the same position as you last year when i was given a handicap that was too high in hindsight but to be fair i did put in a lot of effort to get better. It annoyed me at the time when I thought handicap sec had it in for me (as a new member upsetting some long standing members) but there's nothing to gain from dwelling on it. Just go out and play your best golf, your handicap should be a true reflection of your play in no time.

Please dish out a hammering at the weekend and update us next week. :-)

That's the annoying thing. I put in alot of work over the winter and now feel they are out to get me cause of it..

But I'm not gonna dwell on it, just smile and keep going and hopefully be walking off early on Sat with a win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

I know in my course when the medal is on they have a stableford Comp running too. As the old members where complaining the the medal was to hard as its off the blues & strokes. Suits the lower guys and they are delighted.

So when your signing in your told and asked to choose which comp you are playing in either stableford off the white Tees or medal off the blues and the option is on the BRS system you definity cant enter both. I know that doesn't help you. Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

OP What comp was it Revive Fourball or something?

GreeBo wrote: »
    OP What comp was it Revive Fourball or something?

No it was the minor cup. So 5 singles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭gypsy79

That's the annoying thing. I put in alot of work over the winter and now feel they are out to get me cause of it..

But I'm not gonna dwell on it, just smile and keep going and hopefully be walking off early on Sat with a win

Do you mind us asking what age category you are. I am sure it happens all the time where fit younger women quickly work their way down from the 36 they were originally given

Where you given many ESR?

gypsy79 wrote: »
    Do you mind us asking what age category you are. I am sure it happens all the time where fit younger women quickly work their way down from the 36 they were originally given

Where you given many ESR?

Not at all.. I'm 33. Four young kids, no sport in years so far from fit.
    I think only 2 ESR since May 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭gypsy79

Not at all.. I'm 33. Four young kids, no sport in years so far from fit.
    I think only 2 ESR since May 2017

33 isnt old for a woman starting golf. Kind of what I expected

gypsy79 wrote: »
    33 isnt old for a woman starting golf. Kind of what I expected

Doesn't seem so...
    I certainly feel old after a round though!!!

33 is very young for a lady golfer I would say. Plenty of lads playing around that age but most lady golfers I’ve ever come across are easily 50+