Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Vanishing Triangle

• 22-05-2018 1:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭

I was intrigued by the list of names Mark Hennessy is now being investigated for after the murder of Jastine Valdez: Fiona Pender, Deirdre Jacob, Annie McCarrick, Jo Jo Dullard, Fiona Sinnott, Eva Brennan and Ciara Breen.

These women all disappeared in the mid to late 90s in the Leinster area - the "Vanishing Triangle" https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ireland%27s_Vanishing_Triangle

I think a couple of these were too long ago to have been this Hennessy guy - Graham Dwyer was investigated for some of these as well as far as I recall - but this sequence of disappearances is a fairly strong indicator that there was or still is a serial killer of women roaming free in Ireland. Are they still active? Is it someone who's already been convicted for other incidents - Larry Murphy? Maybe it was Dwyer? Will we ever know?

Scary stuff... and really puts into perspective some of the fears women have that men might not quite understand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

The Annie McCarrick case always haunted me. They really have no clue what happend. For years i believed she was last seen in Johnnie Foxes, just found out recently it was not a confirmed sighting.

The IRA theory is one of the more bizarre ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭tommythecat

The dogs in the street know who killed Fiona Pender. Finding her body and proving it is another thing. Very Sad.

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

The dogs in the street know who killed Fiona Pender. Finding her body and proving it is another thing. Very Sad.

Who? Answers via PM

Everyone in that area knows anyway, he was questioned multiple times but no evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Larry Murphy is your more likely candidate for these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭tommythecat

thebull85 wrote: »
    Everyone in that area knows anyway, he was questioned multiple times but no evidence.

Even recently there was a chance to get him via another case in Canada but sadly it didn’t work out.

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The entire province of Leinster is a fairly large "triangle" and even a cursory read of the Wikipedia article would suggest it's a scaremongering fantasy to conclude that the women in question were all victims of the same murderer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Sleepy wrote: »
    The entire province of Leinster is a fairly large "triangle" and even a cursory read of the Wikipedia article would suggest it's a scaremongering fantasy to conclude that the women in question were all victims of the same murderer.

It seems fairly clear that they're not all related alright, but I don't think it's too outlandish to feel that at least a couple of them could well be the same person; the timeline and locations are very coincidental if not. I don't think Larry Murphy is the one to pin it on either as surely at least one of them would have been proven during his investigation you'd think. Fiona Pender's killer seems to be pretty well known as stated above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Leinster is a large area and the 90's is a long period. One of the victim's families even strongly believes it was somebody else who abducted their daughter and not Larry Murphy. Of course its entirely possible but theres just not really any evidence to believe it was all one serial killer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

Some may be related some not but for anyone who thinks there's only one psycho in Ireland who could be responsible for any or all of them....think again. As we've just seen in that appalling case in Wicklow psychos hide in plain sight and I'm sure there are many out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ciara Breen went missing in Dundalk. That's a bit outside the triangle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

The prospect of MULTIPLE perpetrators is scarier, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

topper75 wrote: »
    The prospect of MULTIPLE perpetrators is scarier, no?
    In a way, no. People who murder a single woman would usually have a motive (as warped as it may be - she was pregnant and not prepared to abort it / blackmailing him about telling the wife of their affair / had dumped him or turned him down and his ego couldn't take it etc.).

Even though such motives may be things we'd never act upon ourselves, we can, to a degree, understand them. A single serial killer who'd racked up a dozen murders? That's scarier to most of us. It's indescriminate, it's killing for the pleasure of killing. That's something that most sane people can't comprehend and the incomrehensible is often far scarier than the merely reprehensive.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭beertons

thebull85 wrote: »

Was she the girl seeing a married farmer? Or something like that? I was a bit on the young side for all these, only remember Deirdre as I went to secondary school in Newbridge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13 5red

Trevor Deely's disappearance is the most mystifying of all.

I don't know why, but I think about him sometimes, probably because I followed the fascinating thread on him on here a while ago. I didn't know him but lived in the same county as myself.

Can't imagine the pain for these missing persons' families. The not knowing must wrangle with them every single day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Its strange how a number of disappearances happened in a relatively short period of time and then little or no disappearances after that.

If it was one person which is highly probably, then they either left the country for a while, were jailed, moved somewhere else or possibly married and were no longer able to act as freely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Fun Fact - Any three random points will form a triangle unless they're in a line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,627 ✭✭✭baldbear

The gardai know those responsible for 3 of those murders. But don't have the evidence. Violent partners .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 guestwifi

The people living where Fiona Sinnott hailed from and went missing seem to know who it was too, but despite a number of investigations and searches the guards could never pin it on him. It's not any of the names mentioned in this thread though. I agree with a previous poster about the justified fear women must have that men will never really understand, even though men seem to be the victims of serious assaults more often I for one don't ever really think that I could step outside my front door and never be seen again, no matter the area I'm living, time of night or state I'm in.

baldbear wrote: »
    The gardai know those responsible for 3 of those murders. But don't have the evidence. Violent partners .

Which 3 murders are you referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,506 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I have followed these cases over the years.
    I think the internet focusing on trying to link all these cases doesn't really help.

5red wrote: »
    Trevor Deely's disappearance is the most mystifying of all.

I don't know why, but I think about him sometimes, probably because I followed the fascinating thread on him on here a while ago. I didn't know him but lived in the same county as myself.

Can't imagine the pain for these missing persons' families. The not knowing must wrangle with them every single day.

And all the hope we had last year with the search in Chapelizod, nothing at all came from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Sleepy wrote: »
    In a way, no. People who murder a single woman would usually have a motive (as warped as it may be - she was pregnant and not prepared to abort it / blackmailing him about telling the wife of their affair / had dumped him or turned him down and his ego couldn't take it etc.).

Even though such motives may be things we'd never act upon ourselves, we can, to a degree, understand them. A single serial killer who'd racked up a dozen murders? That's scarier to most of us. It's indescriminate, it's killing for the pleasure of killing. That's something that most sane people can't comprehend and the incomrehensible is often far scarier than the merely reprehensive.

Well said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Wasn't there a search performed a couple of years ago on an isolated hunting cabin that Larry Murphy was known to use before his conviction? Think the speculation was that he may have dissolved bodies in the acid used by hunters. Don't think anything was discovered but scary thought all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,949 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Wasn't there a search performed a couple of years ago on an isolated hunting cabin that Larry Murphy was known to use before his conviction? Think the speculation was that he may have dissolved bodies in the acid used by hunters. Don't think anything was discovered but scary thought all the same.

Why would hunters use acid for anything??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

guestwifi wrote: »
    The people living where Fiona Sinnott hailed from and went missing seem to know who it was too, but despite a number of investigations and searches the guards could never pin it on him. It's not any of the names mentioned in this thread though. I agree with a previous poster about the justified fear women must have that men will never really understand, even though men seem to be the victims of serious assaults more often I for one don't ever really think that I could step outside my front door and never be seen again, no matter the area I'm living, time of night or state I'm in.

What about serial killers that target men, Dahmer being one of the most famous. There are some fairly messed up psychopaths out there, particularly in America. The toy box killer was one I heard a podcast on a while back. When the victims would wake up, strapped into a chair, he would play them an introduction tape explaining what was going on and what was going to happen to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Why would hunters use acid for anything??

It's what I recall reading at the time. No clue what they'd use it for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,497 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

guestwifi wrote: »
    I agree with a previous poster about the justified fear women must have that men will never really understand,

I don't. Statistically, men are multiples of times more likely to be the victim of a violent assault or murder than women.

And women are far, far, far more likely to be assaulted or killed by a partner than a stranger. Feeling fearful every time you leave your house is a complete and utter waste of energy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

scopper wrote: »

Nope, when I was in the army many moons ago I was on a few of the searches for some of those missing women. Even back then the gardai always had an idea of who was responsible but little things like proof and evidence are lacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I read the thread title and thought the OP was talking about pubic hair.

I have nothing else to add to the conversation. Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

scopper wrote: »

Larry Murphy is the tabloid candidate cos it sells hysteria.

The garda have quizzed others including an infamous rapist from a recently discovered ethnic community.
    If they were so nailed on murphy why are they wasting their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Dial Hard wrote: »
    I don't. Statistically, men are multiples of times more likely to be the victim of a violent assault or murder than women.

And women are far, far, far more likely to be assaulted or killed by a partner than a stranger. Feeling fearful every time you leave your house is a complete and utter waste of energy.

Fear. The four letter word that controls the World.

Interesting if you look at the media from psychology point of view fear makes people consume and the media make their money on advertising thus the media need to propogate fear all the time to keep themselves in business.

The fear being pushed after the death of that young woman recently is very intense.

Fear fear fear and more fear.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

paw patrol wrote: »
    Larry Murphy is the tabloid candidate cos it sells hysteria.

The garda have quizzed others including an infamous rapist from a recently discovered ethnic community.
    If they were so nailed on murphy why are they wasting their time.

A recently discovered ethnic community? Thought that only happened in places like The Amazon these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

zapitastas wrote: »
    What about serial killers that target men, Dahmer being one of the most famous. There are some fairly messed up psychopaths out there, particularly in America. The toy box killer was one I heard a podcast on a while back. When the victims would wake up, strapped into a chair, he would play them an introduction tape explaining what was going on and what was going to happen to them

Toy box killer targeted women, he even had his daughter help him procure victims. I've never listened to the tape, I don't think I could stomach it but I read that its so sickening that the FBI use it in training to desensitise recruits.

What is it about America that seems to breed more serial killers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

humberklog wrote: »
    A recently discovered ethnic community? Thought that only happened in places like The Amazon these days.

Some guy called Enda Kenny is credited with their discovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Toy box killer targeted women, he even had his daughter help him procure victims. I've never listened to the tape, I don't think I could stomach it but I read that its so sickening that the FBI use it in training to desensitise recruits.

A Russian psychologist reckoned that heavily militarized countries (like the US and Russia) had more serial killers that other countries.
    I also seem to remember reading that South Africa also had a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Ipso wrote: »
    A Russian psychologist reckoned that heavily militarized countries (like the US and Russia) had more serial killers that other countries.
    I also seem to remember reading that South Africa also had a lot.

Yeah, Russia has some notorious ones too. Andrei chikatilo is one of the scariest. Gives me the creeps just looking at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

ml3ho.jpg

Couldn't help myself.... :P

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

paw patrol wrote: »
    Some guy called Enda Kenny is credited with their discovery.

Ah, got you now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Larry Murphy is unlikely in my books to be involved in other disappearances ,that we are familiar with. Did he not attack that woman in her car, in a car park on her way from work ?If so leaving evidence behind ?

What about all the missing women who haven't made the head lines ? So many more that have not got the profile .

They say the guards interview the killer in the first 6 interviews of suspects but may not know who it is but in hind sight have in most cases interviewed them.
    Not let that be food for thought .

It's hard to believe they have not got someone for rainoid Murray in South dublin .especially with a crime scene and body .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Should have made that clearer. Yeah that toy box killer only targeted women and was a twisted fecker. Was called the toy box killer as the room that he kept women in was full of sex toys. The tape he played for newcomers was not so bad in itself, is just the context it was played in. He was spelling out that he was going to kill them when he tired of them so was in their interest to keep his interest for as long as possible. What an horrendous way to end up.

kerry cow wrote: »
    It's hard to believe they have not got someone for rainoid Murray in South dublin .especially with a crime scene and body .

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/did-a-jealous-love-rival-kill-raonaid-34907183.html

Interesting article on that murder, it seems there were quite a few people in the area that were capable of carrying it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Yeah, Russia has some notorious ones too. Andrei chikatilo is one of the scariest. Gives me the creeps just looking at him.

He had a rare condition where his blood group differed from his sperm group. The forensic evidence seemed to rule him out. This simple fact put him in the clear even when he was arrested with murder weapons in his possession.