Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Office job people.

• 17-05-2018 6:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭

I was reading a thread there about somebody not getting paid and trying to get hr to check their ms office data book or something to prove they were logged in that day.
    I thought if that happened in my job (building site) a bit of shouty banter, a threaten to leave or an offer to let you go and a decision would be made within 2 minutes.
    I also feel bad on the bus when my dusty trousers ruin office people’s trousers when they sit beside me but I only get the bus temporarily until I move site to somewhere with better parking.
    Also what’s it like to never move. To be in the same room for so many years?
    I’m sure it has its great points, like not coming home every day covered to the back of your nostrils in dust, not stinking of sweat on the bus home and not all the time wondering if your new workmate is just out of prison for something heinous but not being able to ask him outright because of the discomfort.

What’s it like in there? The posh people, were they always posh or is it an office accent? You never hear a couple of lads get on a bus and talk loudly about some party they were at and how much Hoover they were snorting in their office clothes but the boys in the snickers seem down with that sort of stuff.
    Actually come to think of it I don’t think I ever seen to office people getting the bus home together that work in the same office. Does the boss man or whoever hires office people get a guy from each bus route making sure they can never plot against the boss man on the bus home together?
    So many questions.

Laurel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Yanny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Working in an office is like working outside, except you're inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

Laurel

? Is this what office people call smelly people in hi viz vests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

This is a pretty accurate depiction of what happens every day at my office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

? Is this what office people call smelly people in hi viz vests?

Office people must have a lot more time to spend on social media.

#yanny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

An office person doesn't have to have the stereotypical drab persona as not every office follows the typical corporate rules.

Take yourself; if you work in construction you could easily do a part time engineering course relating to the industry in some way.

You would end up in an office but you would also be heading out to different sites, going to meetings and having the craic with the lads in between instead of sitting in a chair for 8 hours a day.

Be careful what you wish for though. I miss being on my tools sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Hardy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

This is a pretty accurate depiction of what happens every day at my office.

Your link was broken, SimonTemplar. Fixed.

It’s funny. This thread will probably come alive at 9 am tomorrow morning when all the office people log on at their work stations and browse boards all day.
    I don’t blame them. I can’t even fill out a tax form online without doing something else and not bothering with the tax form.
    I really have no idea what happens in there. Is it like computer classes in college where you get a list of things to put on a spreadsheet? Then multiply them together using a symbol like this *.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Office life, is odd very odd. The whole office politics, office language, where more work is described as 'projects', getting people to do something they entirely don't want to do is described as a win.

Trust me you don't want to work in an office, and anyone who tells you different is talking bollix to be honest with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I really have no idea what happens in there. Is it like computer classes in college where you get a list of things to put on a spreadsheet? Then multiply them together using a symbol like this *.

Sometimes I use this one / as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

One of our lads has a dog. It's done more for office morale than HR and senior management put together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭RainMakerToo

Actually come to think of it I don’t think I ever seen to office people getting the bus home together that work in the same office. Does the boss man or whoever hires office people get a guy from each bus route making sure they can never plot against the boss man on the bus home together?
    So many questions.

A lot of offices have flexi-time so most people start at different times between 8 and 10, then leave between 4 and 6.. there's a sort of filtering out process, the early starters leaving first... less rigid than site work i guess

bee06 wrote: »
    Sometimes I use this one / as well

Is that a passive aggressive slanty smile because Barbara turned the air con up again? ;)
    We had a fella drawing big Willy’s on the plasterboard walls a few months ago. The walls would be plastered and nobody would ever see them but I’m sure they didn’t want their higher ups coming out and seeing stuff like that so everyone was told that whoever it was should stop.
    What’d happen if a mystery office dude was secretly drawing Willy’s on the walls?
    Do you have let’s play toilet tennis wrote on the toilet cubicle doors and then look left and look right wrote on your right and left cubicle walls?

I once seen free Deirdre Rashid wrote on one toilet wall that was the only time graffiti amused me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

An office job is particularly enjoyable when it's pissing rain outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

A lot of offices have flexi-time so most people start at different times between 8 and 10, then leave between 4 and 6.. there's a sort of filtering out process, the early starters leaving first... less rigid than site work i guess

During the summer we’d be the same. Some lads work until 6 then get off earlier on Friday( handy for long commuters or lads living near site during the week)
    If you are working in say a shop you might have to come in at night to do anything messy or noisy.

OP- watch Office Space- very accurate

One of our lads has a dog. It's done more for office morale than HR and senior management put together.

We had a fox a few months ago. You’d see him at about 7 am if you were one of the first in. He’d run away. He’d leave the odd fox dump about the place. Scary landing face to face with a fox in a hotel basement both of you wanting to run away but in too confined a space to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Meetings about meetings. Get feck all done sometimes with tight deliverable dates and too many meetings resulting in a lot of stress. Late evenings and filing emails on Saturdays. Difficult to get consensus amongst vital stakeholders having to build relationships with corporate tossers etc. People competing against each other for promotions.

Thats why I moved to work on a building site. Double the money for less stress and no meetings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 fawltyBas

When you get into your 40's the idea of an office job gets more attractive. Dry,warm and a comfy chair, no blocks or bags of cement to lug around. Do an evening class in basic computer skills as you near 40, then come inside...it's nice once you get in.

Friday usually means cake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,152 ✭✭✭Allinall

Working from the neck up has its advantages, but it can be a pain in the arse.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Try_harder wrote: »
    Friday usually means cake

in my office it means free beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

fawltyBas wrote: »
    When you get into your 40's the idea of an office job gets more attractive. Dry,warm and a comfy chair, no blocks or bags of cement to lug around. Do an evening class in basic computer skills as you near 40, then come inside...it's nice once you get in.

Also as a former building site person now office bound some of the young ones look great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

TallGlass wrote: »
    Office life, is odd very odd. The whole office politics, office language, where more work is described as 'projects', getting people to do something they entirely don't want to do is described as a win.

Trust me you don't want to work in an office, and anyone who tells you different is talking bollix to be honest with you.

Chippy by trade. Now work in purchasing and stock control. OP the grass isn't greener.
    Things get sorted on site in a matter of minutes. In an office not so much. You have everyone you had in school, the rat, the lickarse, the sheer and the bully. Difference Is, If you tell any of these to **** off your the problem.
    I'd be back on site tomorrow where you know where it stands, only were going for a mortgage.

fawltyBas wrote: »

We don’t all lug around cement. Some of us are highly qualified. Some of us have laborers and apprentices to do that stuff. There’s actually safety people now who just seem to walk around all day telling people to put their safety glasses on. You are right though, the cold winters get worse every year. I’m old enough now to know to invest in the good warm clothing. It’s all about layering. I’m sure you get a lot of sitting down all day injuries though. Bad back diabetes heart attacks etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,892 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

We had a fox a few months ago. You’d see him at about 7 am if you were one of the first in. He’d run away. He’d leave the odd fox dump about the place. Scary landing face to face with a fox in a hotel basement both of you wanting to run away but in too confined a space to do it.

I see a couple of foxes lounging round on the flat roof of the building beside my office.

Stheno wrote: »
    in my office it means free beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Office job... Inside, air con, subsidised food, comfy seat... Nah...
    Give me something that gives me results I can physically see and walk by for years later and say "I did that". Rather cut me bollox off than sit a 9 to 5 in an office for the rest of my life.

Leftyflip wrote: »
    Give me something that gives me results I can physically see and walk by for years later and say "I did that". Rather cut me bollox off than sit a 9 to 5 in an office for the rest of my life.

8-4 suit?

Chippy by trade. Now work in purchasing and stock control. OP the grass isn't greener.
    Things get sorted on site in a matter of minutes. In an office not so much. You have everyone you had in school, the rat, the lickarse, the sheer and the bully. Difference Is, If you tell any of these to **** off your the problem.
    I'd be back on site tomorrow where you know where it stands, only were going for a mortgage.

How did you get into that? I tried to change during the recession and found the interview changing once they realized I was a building site person.

Try and return to college part time.
    I worked most of my adult life on site and changed career about ten years ago.

Started as a store man for about six months taking in stock. Stock was all over the shop, pun I know, but it's construction related stock so boss knew I knew my stuff in that field and asked did I want the job. It's ok but I'd still rather be out there . On a day like today, cutting in a roof, or slaying a roof, bliss!!

Leftyflip wrote: »

That wears off after a while. For example Try piping an ac unit, might be fun. Then try doing it half your working week for 15 years. Then come in on a Monday and look at a hotel floor with 50 rooms and know you have to pipe every single ac unit on that floor and the other 5 floors of the hotel. Now look at your office ac unit above your head I could probably drive by your building and say I did that but it doesn’t stir emotions in me like it did when I was a young plumber piping my first boiler in a housing estate in Lucan.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Typical builder. Always generalizing. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

I'd still rather be out there . On a day like today, cutting in a roof, or slaying a roof, bliss!!

Throw in a few beers and you've got a scene from shawshank redemption

That wears off after a while. For example Try piping an ac unit, might be fun. Then try doing it half your working week for 15 years. Then come in on a Monday and look at a hotel floor with 50 rooms and know you have to pipe every single ac unit on that floor and the other 5 floors of the hotel. Now look at your office ac unit above your head I could probably drive by your building and say I did that but it doesn’t stir emotions in me like it did when I was a young plumber piping my first boiler in a housing estate in Lucan.

I was a young apprentice in one huge housing estates in Lucan , in the winter , in the mud.
    I'll never forget the mud , ever.

MarkR wrote: »
    Typical builder. Always generalizing. 😉

We don’t really have an attention seeking I suffer like Jesus on the cross because I am a certain race or gender or anything. We have a banksman called Jose because he is Mexican looking. I didn’t give him that name somebody else did but he doesn’t mind and nobody gets offended for him. He gets treated just like everybody else except he gets called probably a racist name. He can call me a stupid paddy if he wants I won’t mind. I’d take it as our friendship has reached a level where we can slag each other a bit playfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I used to work on sites.
    Thankfully I found out there are easier ways to make money.
    Its starts with education.

I was a young apprentice in one huge housing estates in Lucan , in the winter , in the mud.
    I'll never forget the mud , ever.

If you are my age I probably know of the year of the big mud you are talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,131 ✭✭✭✭anewme

You have everyone you had in school, the rat, the lickarse, the sheer and the bully. Difference Is, If you tell any of these to **** off your the problem.

Why do people think this is unique to an office.?

All these characters exist in every job, be it building site, school or office.

I’ve seen them even in the Residents association, and that’s unpaid work.

A friend worked as a nurse in a hospital and she had a horrible time with the bullying culture.

A friends young lad was treated like pure sh*** on a building site.

The young mechanic in the UK last year was bullied so much he comitted suicide.

Anywhere there are positiins with responsibilities and organizational reporting structures, you will have politics.

Your Face wrote: »
    I used to work on sites.

Remember that, the next the next time you flick a switch in your home.
    You could have built it though I suppose.
    It takes all sorts. Even the ignorant ;)

Your Face wrote: »
    I used to work on sites.

I did college in an unrelated field. I’m qualified in my trade and have a good education in another. I work with a fella with a degree who was a teacher for a while but it wasn’t for him.

We have exams and stuff we aren’t all mick the laborer who likes to drink cans and bate the wife during dark hours and lug cement during bright hours.

If you are my age I probably know of the year of the big mud you are talking about.

Takes me back , do you remember the field of mud , near the road of mud ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Remember that, the next the next time you flick a switch in your home.
    You could have built it though I suppose.
    It takes all sorts. Even the ignorant ;)

I don't know what you're on about.
    Ignorance is bliss I suppose.

anewme wrote: »
    Why do people think this is unique to an office.?

All these characters exist in every job, be it building site, school or office.

I’ve seen them even in the Residents association, and that’s unpaid work.

A friend worked as a nurse in a hospital and she had a horrible time with the bullying culture.

A friends young lad was treated like pure sh*** on a building site.

The young mechanic in the UK last year was bullied so much he comitted suicide.

Anywhere there are positiins with responsibilities and organizational reporting structures, you will have politics.

Well iv worked in both and have only found it in the two office jobs I've worked.
    On site, some people don't last as long.
    Just my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye