Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teens Assaulting Man in Dublin

• 16-05-2018 11:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭

Saw it earlier on reddit, someone mentioned at least the guy in the dark t-shirt (don't think he was part of the group since I can't spot him earlier in the video) pulled them off because that could have got extremely brutal very quickly otherwise. Generally scummy behaviour all in all though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

Becoming all to common unfortunately and not just in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Scumbags. But sure pay them the dole for their work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Where is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

doesn't look good at all.

Anyone know the background? Is there a story to all this?
    Any news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭ace_irl

St. Michan's park not far from a Garda station!

We have no police force or justice system so every man for themselves.

This country needs to wake up.

Happy that videos like this are shared because it is only when the sheltered middle class voters see it in all it's glory will any pressure be put on. That could be any person in Ireland in that video being assaulted and for absolutely no reason.

It happens every day of the week.

These wee scumbags hunt in packs, if they were on their own they wouldn't have the balls to go around throwing punches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Good for nothing feral pond scum.they should be rounded up in vans and drowned one by one in a barrel.
    Every town in Ireland has a catchment of this scum and all they do is hang around looking from them and down to the post office then for their entitlements.and they breed like vermin.
    Country is fukd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

At least the person filming it got their priorities in order, making sure to get the footage on their phone and uploaded to social media, rather than using it to call for assistance for the poor chap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

Right, speculation time, is it me or does that guy look of Indian descent (and I think I heard the word "paki" being shouted).

Hope the Gardaí round up these scumbags.

But sure, slap on the wrist is all they'll get.

Bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Den14

Nothing worse than that behavior. That guy took some pounding towards the end. Luckily for him that guy intervened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

There is only one answer to low life scum like that..
    Fully armed Garda patrols with instructions to Fire At Will, take no prisoners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭tastyt

Does this **** happen in every country or do we breed this class of scum particularly well.

Id love if the cops made a greater effort to be on our streets protecting our citizens instead of sitting on motorways with speedguns trying to catch us out

verycool wrote: »
    Right, speculation time, is it me or does that guy look of Indian descent (and I think I heard the word "paki" being shouted).

Hope the Gardaí round up these scumbags.

But sure, slap on the wrist is all they'll get.

Bastards.

Had it bad.

Poor upbringing.

ADHD.

and all the rest of the bull****.

Go to ANY court sitting and you will hear the same ****e. The judges listen to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The poor bloke. I often walk around that area.

Although they 'beat' him up for ages and the guy was still able to run away. My little sister would probably knock out one of the little cnuts one-to-one.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Scum. And the cheeky trips and kicks coming in all over the place. Wouldn't be too hard to find them, I'd say they're there every sunny day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

K.Flyer wrote: »

That's unfair if your name is Will.

K.Flyer wrote: »

THE PURGE 3

If there was any justice in this country each one of them tracksuit loving scum would be bet within an inch of their lives by the guards.they should be swung into the back of a Garda van by the two ears and out with the batons and stay lashing him til you tire.
    Drive them into a bog then and fire them out into a ditch to live or die.

Allinall wrote: »
    At least the person filming it got their priorities in order, making sure to get the footage on their phone and uploaded to social media, rather than using it to call for assistance for the poor chap.

People keep saying this, presumably as part of some state of the nation riff, but the garda are often notoriously slow to arrive. And she may well have rang them beforehand as the video appears to start mid-incident.

The video, however, has been widely circulated and some of the kids should be identifiable from it.

NIMAN wrote: »
    THE PURGE 3

Absolutely, purge our society of these toe-rags.

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    That's unfair if your name is Will.

:D:D

People keep saying this, presumably as part of some state of the nation riff, but the garda are often notoriously slow to arrive. And she may well have rang them beforehand as the video appears to start mid-incident.

The video, however, has been widely circulated and some of the kids should be identifiable from it.

And?

You really think any of them will face any action?

New York cleaned up because they have proper cops armed and with the powers to do what needs to be done.

We just don't have that.

I mean it when I say we don't have an actual police force. We don't. We have the "Guardians of the Peace".

Things are going to have to change.

I don't think we want to go down the American way of policing to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

It's all about consequences.

If you're a tiny pricked, feral scumbag desperate to prove your 'manhood' to yourself by picking on and assaulting random people then at best the only consequences you'll get will be free legal aid, another conviction in the form of a suspended sentence simply because you're from a broken family, disadvantaged background etc etc.

Alternatively, say the guy being attacked decided to defend himself by meeting fire with fire and ended up braining some feral rat with say a punch to the jaw that knocked him out cold and he split his head open on a curb, the conseqeunces would be loss of job, reputation, a criminal conviction etc. The consequences are more severe for those who don't cause trouble but find themselves involved in it. And these ****ers know it too which is why they attack seemingly upstanding people and not another scumbag in the trackie/trainers garb.

I remember a few years ago on the North Main St in Cork, walking home with a friend, after a night out. It was about midnight. I wasn't drunk. Around the corner come a pack (they're always in a pack) of teens with bottles of booze in hand. As they pass us, one asks my friend for a light. Says he doesn't have one and we walk on. Scummer isn't happy and says 'I wasn't asking ya for a light!'. Friend stupidly says feck off which makes the guy square up to him waving the bottle in his face, like a hard man. "Whatcha ****in say boy?!". Just as he says that a squad car rounds the corner and they all leg it. I chased after him, caught him and got him in a head lock. A fat, little ****er he was. The guards see this and pull over. I tell them what happened, the bottle waving etc. They ask him his name and his date of birth, his buddies are long gone by then. I'll always remember the cowardly, high pitched squeal he gave out when giving his date of birth..."21st of September ninety ninety wan". Where did the hard man go now I thought? I was asked to go on my way and I did. Apparantly they were causing trouble the whole way in and the car was actually looking for them. What they get out of it I'll never know but it will be ever thus.

Would be worth a try. The paddywhacker route isn’t working anyway.id pay good money to see them scobes on the wrong end of a taser.

And?

You really think any of them will face any action?

You never know. It's better than no record of it existing.

If we're so sure no action will forthcoming, what's the use of getting high and mighty if the cops are called or not.

I actually read a Facebook page that posted the vid and it looks like one of the cretins commented on it and incriminated themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Why did they attack him?
    Very scary but the punches and kicks look very weak, I doubt he was too injured but still hope they are arrested.

Do you not think the feral rats in that video would deserve that type of law enforcement on them?

I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Sounds like a load of racist language being used. Cowardly bastards. Always act hard in a group. Country needs more Gardaí on the streets. There's no other solution needed. Whenever Gardaí launch a public order operation in an area this behaviour drops dramatically. But it's staffed entirely on overtime and Gardaí burn out and stop doing it.

Would be worth a try. The paddywhacker route isn’t working anyway.id pay good money to see them scobes on the wrong end of a taser.

So would I, but ain't going to happen anytime soon.

Even if the Guards had tasers, I'd say it would be illegal to use them on minors, which most of these little toerags looked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭brevity

I think introducing some sort of mandatory service might be an option. The parents can't control them, the courts have no where to put them, send them to the army for a bit.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Sounds almost like one says the n-word around 2:13

Sounds like a load of racist language being used. Cowardly bastards. Always act hard in a group. Country needs more Gardaí on the streets. There's no other solution needed. Whenever Gardaí launch a public order operation in an area this behaviour drops dramatically. But it's staffed entirely on overtime and Gardaí burn out and stop doing it.

Dublin needs a separate, new and mostly armed police force in my opinion.

Gardaí don't cut it any more. No respect for them and it's easy to see why they don't.

Sounds almost like one says the n-word around 2:13

To be honest, if I was that man, I'd much prefer to be caller a n***er than have my head battered.

Words don't hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭GBX

ace_irl wrote: »
    St. Michan's park not far from a Garda station!

The Garda dont stand around outside waiting for assaults to happen

I wonder if the inactivity of the justice system to curb this extreme anti-social behaviour will eventually see a rise in vigilantism.

Judges don't live in these areas, guards don't, politicians don't. Business people who have the ear of those three groups don't live in these areas either, or set up their businesses in them. Therefore, I unfortunately don't see this getting any better soon.

In order to protect yourself from such an attack, practice running a few times a week until you build up a decent speed and endurance. Specifically, it's your acceleration over the first 15-20 yards which you'll want to maximise.

The runt at the end chases him down the street before suddenly realizing his mates haven't followed him so he scarpers back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

New York cleaned up because they have proper cops armed and with the powers to do what needs to be done.

We just don't have that.

I mean it when I say we don't have an actual police force. We don't. We have the "Guardians of the Peace".

Things are going to have to change.

No.

New York cleaned up because they more than doubled the number of cops and position them now on every street corner and seconds away from any incident.

Armed or not this would be a massive deterrent in any city centre as a guard would be no more than a few seconds away from an incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

maximoose wrote: »
    Where is this?

Behind Capel street before 4 courts

GBX wrote: »

No they prefer sitting in squad cars parked up with a speed gun out the window giving out handy tickets to people going to work

To be honest, if I was that man, I'd much prefer to be caller a n***er than have my head battered.

Words don't hurt.
    Poor lad is getting both though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

No they prefer sitting in squad cars parked up with a speed gun out the window giving out handy tickets to people going to work

I reckon a speeding car would inflict more damage than those bunch of fairies that attacked the dude.

The runt at the end chases him down the street before suddenly realizing his mates haven't followed him so he scarpers back.

Probably shat his tracksuit when he realized he had no back up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I wonder if the inactivity of the justice system to curb this extreme anti-social behaviour will eventually see a rise in vigilantism.

Judges don't live in these areas, guards don't, politicians don't. Business people who have the ear of those three groups don't live in these areas either, or set up their businesses in them. Therefore, I unfortunately don't see this getting any better soon.

In order to protect yourself from such an attack, practice running a few times a week until you build up a decent speed and endurance. Specifically, it's your acceleration over the first 15-20 yards which you'll want to maximise.

I work for a multinational 5 minutes from there. There's actually loads of big businesses around there.

GBX wrote: »

Yeah another thing that annoys me is people complaining about people standing around filming instead of calling the guards, how do you know they didn't or a friend did and now they're filming so we have some evidence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭BobCat123

Just out of interest,say he goes to defend himself,hits a minor in the heat of the moment to defend himself,doesn’t do them any harm but hits them regardless,is it still seen as self defense or is our legal system so messed up that they’d count it as a senior hitting a minor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

wakka12 wrote: »
    Why did they attack him?
    Very scary but the punches and kicks look very weak, I doubt he was too injured but still hope they are arrested.

Anyone who doesn't care about this so much because the punches / kicks didn't too much harm are ignoring the key point - why they did this.

Next time this pack of feral scum head out, one of them may decide to bring a knife with him to prove he's the hard man of the bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

These scum should have their hands cut off and dole stopped.