Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What the hell happened to Australia?

• 11-05-2018 6:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭

I always thought of Aussie land as a vast remoteness where you can do whatever the fcuk you want. Jovial Mick Dundee characters everywhere throwing back pints of beer in the pub. A land of plenty and with more freedom than you can shake a stick at. A mecca for people who just don't give a feck.

*10 year olds flying planes
    *9 year olds driving around in 'utes'
    *Anything less than 10,000 acres is a hobby farm
    *Everyone carrying a rifle or two
    *Everyone too relaxed and chilled out to bother worrying about anything

Until recently the only problems that country had were the insects that want to kill you and the lack of decent quality beer.

Then I got talking to some people from Aussie land and it turns out you need a fcuking license to drive a jetski. Out in the open ocean where it's an absolute torture to even find someone to crash into.
    Now they rival the UK for health and safety nonsense
    Every week there's a new law being passed that will make the place less free and more big brother.
    There's a cop behind every corner looking to dole out fines and speed cameras everywhere.

They're even afraid of terrorists. Time was when your biggest problem if you set off a bomb there was that there'd be noone around to see or hear it going off. Everything is gone all stress and pressure and a rat race like in the rest of the world. I was tempted to go there one time but the customs there seem to be in competition with each other to see who can be the biggest arsehole to people entering the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I think the underlying problem is that you have a completely skewed image of Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

I think youre interpretation of the aussie way is exactly why the irish have fell out of favour over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Then I got talking to some people from Aussie land and it turns out you need a fcuking license to drive a jetski. Out in the open ocean where it's an absolute torture to even find someone to crash into.

Gee imagine needing to show some competency if you want to use a high powered form of transport.

Madness I tell ya, madness!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Interpreting Australia from watching Crocodile Dundee is the equivilent of watching The Field to get a glimpse into Irish life. It is being over regulated tho in the last decade or so. Goverments there have a tendency to lean towards knee jerk reactions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Licensing: the government telling you,you can't do that...but will sell you the right to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Are they in the Eurovision again this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Need to take out a mortgage to maintain a cigarette habit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

2 things wrong with Australia

1) it's a complete nanny state. I was in a Melbourne pub there during the lions tour 2013 and the fire officer and police came and closed it down half way through the match because they hadn't kept track of numbers in it. Wasn't even packed, busy alright but nowhere near capacity. Couldn't buy a round of 4 beers in case they were all for me. Had to go up with a friend all the time. Traffic stops everywhere. Health and safety nonsense everywhere.

2) The wrong Irish are over there or certainly were when I was there. Where once Irish travelers went and were genuinely decent folk loads of the Irish over there are a disgrace. Bondi junction cock n bull pub had a police van outside it every time I was there. Just waiting for the trouble to start. Saw more fights in there in 2 weeks than I have seen in 20 years in pubs in Ireland. They are an embarrassment. Although I have to say the Irish in Melbourne were decent folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Starting to miss threads from "andyfromsligo" or even "kneemos" 😔😔😔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,147 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

/thread

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

wexie wrote: »
    Gee imagine needing to show some competency if you want to use a high powered form of transport.

Madness I tell ya, madness!!!

It's political correctness gone mad, or something..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Too many non convicts arriving watering down the genes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

wait, wasn't Australia the dumping ground for criminals and unwanted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

The Australian attitude to a problem is to legislate a punishment that will solve it. I assume this is a reflection of its history as a penal colony : the ruling class of penal administrators influenced the culture of government.

This is a marked contrast to Ireland where the attitude to a problem is to ignore it for as long as possible and never, ever punish somebody unless you really have to. It's an entirely different approach and may be at the root of a lot of Irish people's problems in Aus as they went over with a 'Sure be grand' attitude that wasn't entertained.

2 things wrong with Australia

1) it's a complete nanny state. I was in a Melbourne pub there during the lions tour 2013 and the fire officer and police came and closed it down half way through the match because they hadn't kept track of numbers in it. Wasn't even packed, busy alright but nowhere near capacity. Couldn't buy a round of 4 beers in case they were all for me. Had to go up with a friend all the time. Traffic stops everywhere. Health and safety nonsense everywhere.

2) The wrong Irish are over there or certainly were when I was there. Where once Irish travelers went and were genuinely decent folk loads of the Irish over there are a disgrace. Bondi junction cock n bull pub had a police van outside it every time I was there. Just waiting for the trouble to start. Saw more fights in there in 2 weeks than I have seen in 20 years in pubs in Ireland. They are an embarrassment. Although I have to say the Irish in Melbourne were decent folk.

It's not the just the Irish running riot. People just get too loose when they travel. Cock n bull is no more dodgy than the pubs I worked in full of Aussies. The Aussies behave like animals in London and Bali. I had trouble with people from pretty much any country you can think of. The one issue I had with the Irish was they couldn't get their head around the fact being too pissed over there is a no no and pubs can get in big trouble for it. Telling an Irish bloke/woman they can't have anymore is like insulting their humanity and their god given right to be plastered. Factor in it takes time to get used to places being open all night so you can slow down the pace you drink at and it's a bad mix. They also expected me to look the other way seeing as I'm Irish and if I didn't I was commiting treason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Too many non convicts arriving watering down the genes
    Somebody was asking recently how are high level convicted Irish gangsters gaining access to Aus.

Another poster responded that surely that's a requirement on the visa application.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,045 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

They should just put Alf flamin' Stewart in charge of the place, flush out all the drongos.

Glazers Out!

nullzero wrote: »
    They should just put Alf flamin' Stewart in charge of the place, flush out all the drongos.

He would have made a great prime minister god rest his soul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Australia's best films have always known the truth of the matter - Don's Party, Wake in Fright, Picnic At Hanging Rock, Mad Max, The Last Wave, Walkabout, Rabbit Proof Fence, Chopper, Road Games, Wolf Creek - don't go there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,306 ✭✭✭Odhinn

It's not the just the Irish running riot. People just get too loose when they travel. Cock n bull is no more dodgy than the pubs I worked in full of Aussies. The Aussies behave like animals in London and Bali. I had trouble with people from pretty much any country you can think of. The one issue I had with the Irish was they couldn't get their head around the fact being too pissed over there is a no no and pubs can get in big trouble for it. Telling an Irish bloke/woman they can't have anymore is like insulting their humanity and their god given right to be plastered. Factor in it takes time to get used to places being open all night so you can slow down the pace you drink at and it's a bad mix. They also expected me to look the other way seeing as I'm Irish and if I didn't I was commiting treason.

How do ye define "too pissed"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,306 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Australia's best films have always known the truth of the matter - Don's Party, Wake in Fright, Picnic At Hanging Rock, Mad Max, The Last Wave, Walkabout, Rabbit Proof Fence, Chopper, Road Games, Wolf Creek - don't go there!

Honourable mention for Razorback. Wolf Creek really was a winner with the tourist board I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Left Wingism: Nanny State, Identity politics and Taxes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Also The Wog Boy and The Wiggles.

Ipso wrote: »
    Also The Wog Boy and The Wiggles.

The Wiggles being the worst nasty nasty ****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

very backwards country, Australia. No wait, i mean upside-down, very upside-down country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

very backwards country, Australia. No wait, i mean upside-down, very upside-down country

Well they are way down there beside Rand McNally.

Odhinn wrote: »
    Law is anybody "showing signs of intoxication" are to be reused service and removed from the premises. The onus is on the people working in the pubs to enforce this. Plain clothes cops wander in and out of pubs sporadically and believe me I've been on the receiving end of a cop on a mission and it is hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭Cody montana

They have the highest rate of deforestation for a developed country.

They are destroying their rainforest and natural habitats, pushing many endemic animals towards extinction.
    And their politicians don’t care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭Cody montana

The Wiggles being the worst nasty nasty ****

I saw them in Hyde Park in Sydney on Australia Day.
    It was bad, drink didn’t even help.

They have the highest rate of deforestation for a developed country.

They are destroying their rainforest and natural habitats, pushing many endemic animals towards extinction.
    And their politicians don’t care.

In fairness they have a lot to play with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,203 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I always thought of Aussie land as a vast remoteness where you can do whatever the fcuk you want. Jovial Mick Dundee characters everywhere throwing back pints of beer in the pub. A land of plenty and with more freedom than you can shake a stick at. A mecca for people who just don't give a feck.

*10 year olds flying planes
    *9 year olds driving around in 'utes'
    *Anything less than 10,000 acres is a hobby farm
    *Everyone carrying a rifle or two
    *Everyone too relaxed and chilled out to bother worrying about anything

Until recently the only problems that country had were the insects that want to kill you and the lack of decent quality beer.

Then I got talking to some people from Aussie land and it turns out you need a fcuking license to drive a jetski. Out in the open ocean

You do know it is still a big place. The insects don't want to kill, they are just really annoying. But watch out for the spiders, the snakes, the crocs, the camels, the roos,
    oh and the people.
    Not every farm is thousands of acres, not everywhere is outback, their cities are actually bigger than ours.
    All the beaches are not like Bondi or Summer Bay.
    The desert isn't full of drag Queens and ladies aren't able to do tricks with table tennis balls.
    Oh and they don't like Fosters so don't ask.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The Cars That Ate Paris and 100 Bloody Acres too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Gotta hand it to Australia.

As racist as apartheid South Africa, but without the negative publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Rolf Harris was an Australian legend back in the day.

Although the ladies were unimpressed with his didgeridoo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

We should try Australia 2.0. Invade Madagascar and migrate our under-class and Diversity issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Zebra3 wrote: »

Strewth.....Just ask the abbo's about racism....
    Flamin' Nora!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

Every country should require a licence to operate any power vessel on the water, particularly a jet-ski. I've been running dive boats around the world and its the same everywhere. Anyone that drives a jet-ski is a massive bellend. We would have them running right over the top of our divers at top speed on a regular basis.

Completely against the law (proximity to dive flag) but since they don't have to have any education how are they supposed to know that? It's a wonder more people aren't killed.

Fair play Australia on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Onya straya.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Cock n Bull is closed down. Thank god, what an absolute ****ehole. The worst of the worst Irish piss heads would go there and there would frequently be ructions. Very embarrassing spot for our image.

Pauline Hanson as predictable as ever........

https://thenewdaily.com.au/news/national/2018/04/06/pauline-hanson-commonwealth-games/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Please explain...

She's been spouting the same offensive sh*te about the Aboriginal people since the 1990s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Oh my God!
    There's nothing wrong with the bidet, is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 ameirecan

Really? Wow I never knew Australia had separate restrooms for blacks and whites. You learn something new everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

ameirecan wrote: »
    Really? Wow I never knew Australia had separate restrooms for blacks and whites. You learn something new everyday.

Yeh, because that’s the only way a state enacts apartheid. :rolleyes:

And tbh, I doubt you learn you something new every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

It's a disgrace.

Most places in the west are become ****holes.
    Legislation for everything, more taxes and charges. more control.
    Australia are just following Europe and the US.
    The worst thing about it , the proles love it.

Social media is full of thicks crying out for more laws

"there should be a law for that" some new fool proclaims about every single thing that happens in Ireland that doesn't please them.
    Too blind to see that it adds to the overall control the state and agents of the state have on them.

Absolute thicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hard times create strong men
    Strong men create good times
    Good times create weak men
    Weak men create hard times

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

We should try Australia 2.0. Invade Madagascar and migrate our under-class and Diversity issues.
    That one of the German plans in WWII.

By taking over France they inherited Madagascar and they were considering expelling all the Jews to there.

The British had other plans. They wanted to send all the Jews to Uganda.

Anyway the Battle of Madagascar was France vs UK in the UK's first amphibious assault since Gallipoli , but it went better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Odhinn wrote: »

Slurring words, lacking coherence, stumbling in steps. I can't remember the exact ones but they've got quite clearly outlined examples that are standardised at least on a state basis as they make all bar staff do a one day course on it. To be honest, they're not overly strict on that at all I found - the person behind the bar might occasionally say they're giving you a water instead of what you ordered, and will give you your actual order once you've drank it. When they do that, just take the water as they've asked.

As well as the bar being fined for incidents, staff can be too (behind the bar and security) so you're putting them at risk by acting the bollix or refusing to do as they ask. Police also do walk throughs somewhat regularly (first time I saw it I reckoned I missed a huge fight or there was a drug bust, but it's actually very normal over there).

There's also the advantage that going out to a club etc and only has a few drinks (or even none) can be enjoyable, while in Ireland it's a thoroughly unenjoyable experience and queues for the bar were typically orderly and actual lines which I liked since I hate the whole push-and-shove-past-everyone-else sh*te you see over here. That's actually where I saw Irish and Brits get kicked out more than anywhere else - bar staff see them trying to skip, assume they're legless, motion to security who kick them out for troublemaking as much as the booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Cock n Bull is closed down. Thank god, what an absolute ****ehole. The worst of the worst Irish piss heads would go there and there would frequently be ructions. Very embarrassing spot for our image.

That's nice to hear because there, the Tea Gardens and Scruffy Murphy's were the worst of the worst when I was over there. Someone I knew even had a traveler trying to sell them carpet for about half an hour outside of CNB once (which was their own fault for going there).

Hopefully it has died down in the last few years since 2011/12 when I was there had a lot of people who otherwise wouldn't have moved over doing so because of the economy, but so much of the crowd in them were the definitive "go to Australia, immediately search for all Irish bars and areas, befriend only Irish people, get job through Irish people working only with Irish people, spend spare time in Irish GAA/etc club and in Irish bars, avoid getting to know any locals... and tell everyone at home that the locals are ar*eholes and don't like the Irish" type that it was nauseating. I'd almost question if some of them ever got beyond the junction in their whole time there, save for the odd late night visit to The Star casino or Kings Cross.