Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landlord Works

• 09-05-2018 1:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Looking for some advice on a situation my friend is in.

They live in a house share with 4 others (not owbner occupied)

I will try to outline the verion of events as factual as possible:

The landlord has caried out cosmetic works to the house (estimated to have cost in the region of €12-15k).

The landlord gave 1.5 weeks notice of these works.

The tenants requested a meeting with the landlord in advance on the works.

The landlord attended this and it was agreed that when the works were completed he would arrange for the house to be cleaned.

It was also agreed that works would not take place prior to 8am and the works would last 5 days.

The landlord met the tenants yesterday morning and told them the works woudl be completed by yesterday evening.

While the internal elements of the work were completed the house was not cleaned, 2 of the rooms got a very light sweep. The works carried out generated a lot of dust which has effected all rooms.

The tenants messaged the landlord yesterday evening requesting that the cleaner re attend. The landlord contacted the tenants today to say the house is clean and there was only a bit of dust left in a few corners. The landlord has only done a light sweep to the rooms directly effected by the works.

The landlord seems annoyed with the tenants and will not agree to clean the remaining communal areas. The main toilet has been used by the builders and without bein graphic is seemingly a mess.

The tenants here feel most agreived as they are good tenants, keep the house in order, pay the rent on time all the time.
    They allowed the works proceed without compliant. They didn't complain when works began at 7.30am when it was agreed initally that works would not commence before 8am. They have been unable to park their cars in the driveway as it is full of skips and builders material (which has yet to be removed)
    They also feel annoyed that the landlord wont pay a cleaner €50 considering the work teh landlord has carried out which was not required (merely cosmetic) and obviously cost quite a bit of money.

Prior to this they would have had a good relationship with the landlord and never complained when he called around unannounced, entered the house to carry out various jobs without any notice. The tenants are not the awkward type at all but this matter has really bothered them.

Can anyone advise how best to resolve this? They do not want to clean up aftter the landlords works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I could be reading this wrongly, but it seems the LL is acting like this in the hopes that the current lot leave, and he's able to claim that there was sufficient work done to allow him to increase the rent of the house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

I don't believe that to be the case. My understanding is that the landlord is being audited and is pumping money into his houses.
    The landlrod has not given any indication that they intend to increase the rent and they have confirmed that they are not selling up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

At a time like this, the tenants should be glad to have a house. A bit of inconvenience is only to be expected every now and again. IF there are a few tenants an hour or two each would clean the house.

@CH I don't agree with your opinion, that sentiment would allow for landlords to treat their tenants like dirt given the current housing issues.

The tenants here are good tenants, they don't want any arguments but are annoyed considering they've been inconvenienced for 8 days in their home and now they are expected to clean up after the landlord. They are infact still being inconvenienced as the outside of their home is currently like a building site. However they don't want to raise any issue with this.
    An agreement was in place regarding the cleaning which the landlord has failed to abide by.

I wonder would it be possible for the tennants to clean their own accommodation, which I assume has been improved in some way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

I wonder would it be possible for the tennants to clean their own accommodation, which I assume has been improved in some way.

Possible, but in an age of entitlement, it's just too much trouble. Pity the LL didn't claim major refurbishment and give them notice, next time he will know better. Lots of posters on here complaining LLs won't spend money improving accomadation.

Op, tell your friend to plug in the vacuum cleaner and run a few tea towels under the tap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

davo10 wrote: »

Possible, but in an age of entitlement, it's just too much trouble. Pity the LL didn't claim major refurbishment and give them notice, next time he will know better. Lots of posters on here complaining LLs won't spend money improving accomadation.

Op, tell your friend to plug in the vacuum cleaner and run a few tea towels under the tap.

I really want to thank this post 1000s of times !!! THANK YOU Again

davo10 wrote: »

Just to reiterate, the works have not improved the accommodation, they were not required and are merely cosmetic (and unrequired at that, this is simply an exercise by the LL to through money into their properties as they are being audited). The standard of living is unchanged entirely.

The tenants had an agreement with the LL that the LL would clean the house (communal areas only) after the works. The LL has not followed through on this. In the mean time the tenants have put up with works commencing at c.7.30 each morning (even though the agreement was 8am), their home being used by builders and all that goes with that.

I appreciate the general consensus is to clean it up themselves but when someone is paying rent they are entitled to quiet enjoyment which has not been provided here.

Perhaps it is a culmination of things that have left them annoyed about this particular situation. As mentioned previously they are easy going and have not complained previously when the LL has let themselves into the house without any prior notice whatsoever.

Anyway, as no one has any suggestions other than for the tenants to clean it up themselves, might as well close the thread please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

OP, there are a lot of bitter landlords on this forum who think tenants should be grateful to have a place to live and should put up with any old crap from their landlord, as if landlords are being so generous and benevolent by allowing tenants live in their houses.

I don't have a solution to your problem but I think your friends are right to be aggrieved that the LL went back on their agreement. Unfortunately, I don't think you'll get much sympathy here. Sure aren't your friends lucky to have such a caring landlord who gives them a place to live out of the goodness of his heart?

What exactly was the cosmetic work?

I don't want to provide specific detail on the works however it involved the facade of the house. Please take my comment at face value that it does not improve the living standards at all and was totally unnecessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

blacklilly wrote: »
    Just to reiterate, the works have not improved the accommodation, they were not required and are merely cosmetic (and unrequired at that, this is simply an exercise by the LL to through money into their properties as they are being audited). The standard of living is unchanged entirely.
    IF the landlord is spending the equivalent of annual rent of a (cheapish) one bed property it was for a reason not just so the landlord could spend cash on a fully occupied, fully rented property.
    If they were audited and made changes, it's to improve the standard of living.

I appreciate the general consensus is to clean it up themselves but when someone is paying rent they are entitled to quiet enjoyment which has not been provided here.
    The landlord is entitled to make essential repairs and as this was from an audit they were essential repairs. Also the occupants agreed in principal to the timeline. They could have told the builders to stay outside until 8 if they wished, and should have explained to the builders after day 1 that they would have to sort out their own bathroom if the facilities were left in a state again.
    Perhaps it is a culmination of things that have left them annoyed about this particular situation. As mentioned previously they are easy going and have not complained previously when the LL has let themselves into the house without any prior notice whatsoever.
    the landlord letting themselves in is separate to the work and should have been addressed when it happend.

If there are 5 people in the house it's 10e a head to get someone in to do a deep clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

The mess left behind from substantial building works requires serious effort to clean. Every single surface is usually left coated with a fine particle dust. You usually need a full deep clean, every piece of furniture and exposed item needs to be cleaned. Plus it wrecks vacuums and spreads when wiped. If done right, you usually seal off areas not being worked on.

Basically, its not a matter of just plugging in the hoover and giving the place a sweep. Bit surprised the builder left it like that.

IF the landlord is spending the equivalent of annual rent of a (cheapish) one bed property it was for a reason not just so the landlord could spend cash on a fully occupied, fully rented property.
    If they were audited and made changes, it's to improve the standard of living.

In terms of the audit, it is a revenue audit!

Basically, its not a matter of just plugging in the hoover and giving the place a sweep. Bit surprised the builder left it like that.

It the landlord is ok with it so will the builder be. But it's a good point that the occupants should document any ingrained dust and serve notice on the landlord so that it can't be used against them when they leave, as over and above normal wear and tear.
    if the landlord had an audit and owes money on historic rental income they have to pay revenue and the builders now. And the revenue if owed money don't mess around, they can and will collect from the rental income.
    The landlord will only get the benefit of repairs not capital improvements in future tax returns, and only to a maximum of the amount spent. So spending 12-15k cosmetic work on a fully occupied fully rented house when there is no need and is of no benefit to the landlord is odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

conf101 wrote: »
    OP, there are a lot of bitter landlords on this forum who think tenants should be grateful to have a place to live and should put up with any old crap from their landlord, as if landlords are being so generous and benevolent by allowing tenants live in their houses.

I don't have a solution to your problem but I think your friends are right to be aggrieved that the LL went back on their agreement. Unfortunately, I don't think you'll get much sympathy here. Sure aren't your friends lucky to have such a caring landlord who gives them a place to live out of the goodness of his heart?
    Its about common sense. The landlord could increase the rent if he /she wanted now. They haven't. Why kick up a fuss annoy them  ( we are all human ) do the cleaning and move on. Risk is if the tenants kick up more of a fuss than required the landlord might look as them as hassle and up the rent ( which he / she is allowed to in this case )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Or it could be a case of spending some of his rental income as it can legitimately be used as a write off against his tax liability.

Off the top of my head, roughly., if his rental income is 10k, and his liability is 50% then he pays revenue 5k. If he pays out 8k on receipted maintenence works, it can be written off as an expense. So 10k less receipted expense of 8k So he owes revenue 50% of only the 2k, which is 1k.

As for the cleaning, do it yourself. I am looking after a house where tenants moved in and started demanding things. I told them to feck of.

I want a shed, NO! don't worry, the council will give me one, no they won't, it's not a council house, it's private via HAP. Guess what, council told no as well!

Council wanted a three piece suite replaced. I went out and bought one, now tenant decides only want the couch, remove the armchairs - no space. Nope, it was bought especially as it was council spec. They must stay.

Remove dishwasher, we don't use it. Need a press there instead. Owner says nope.

Fridge freezer replaced as per previous tenants measurements. Dope measured to small so 12inch gap at top. New tenant says want new one, it's to small. NOPE, Im not asking owner to take out a perfectly good reasonably new unit as you want a new one.

I'm waiting for the next set of demands, but maybe this attitude is standard in Chechneya

Or it could be a case of spending some of his rental income as it can legitimately be used as a write off against his tax liability.

Off the top of my head, roughly., if his rental income is 10k, and his liability is 50% then he pays revenue 5k. If he pays out 8k on receipted maintenence works, it can be written off as an expense. So 10k less receipted expense of 8k So he owes revenue 50% of only the 2k, which is 1k.

As for the cleaning, do it yourself. I am looking after a house where tenants moved in and started demanding things. I told them to feck of.

I want a shed, NO! don't worry, the council will give me one, no they won't, it's not a council house, it's private via HAP. Guess what, council told no as well!

Council wanted a three piece suite replaced. I went out and bought one, now tenant decides only want the couch, remove the armchairs - no space. Nope, it was bought especially as it was council spec. They must stay.

Remove dishwasher, we don't use it. Need a press there instead. Owner says nope.

Fridge freezer replaced as per previous tenants measurements. Dope measured to small so 12inch gap at top. New tenant says want new one, it's to small. NOPE, Im not asking owner to take out a perfectly good reasonably new unit as you want a new one.

I'm waiting for the next set of demands, but maybe this attitude is standard in Chechneya

Don't like the sound of your tenants but you seem to be prejudiced against all tenants on the back of yours being (or certainly sounding like) complete and utter pains in the ass!

I don't think it's ever fair or reasonable to expect anyone to clean up after someone else. I would have the same view if tenants vacated a house and left a mess for the landlord to clean up.

Landlord can't increase the rent on the back of these works. They would have had to serve notice of intention to increase the rent prior to the works commencing. Also, the tenants did raise this with the LL and the LL confirmed they were not increasing the rent or preparing the house for sale.

so the tenant should be happy , they asked if rent was going up. Landlord said no. Now there whinging because of some dust. Wise up, do the cleaning, win the war not the battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

There's a strange disparity between the service tenants expect from lls and vice versa but pretty much when you have no alternatives you have to suck it up.

I would have thought it's fair to expect them to at least leave the house as they found it like.

hots wrote: »
    There's a strange disparity between the service tenants expect from lls and vice versa but pretty much when you have no alternatives you have to suck it up.

I would have thought it's fair to expect them to at least leave the house as they found it like.

Its been a while, but with rental income is it not allowable expenses are w/o against year of expenditure? and only the total annual loss is carried back, so with your example the LL has a reduction for current year and would still owe on prior years.
    Anyway he is better off paying the 5k
    10k-8k-1k=1k cash in bank
    10k-0k-5k=5k cash in bank

But the fact that the LL could put up the rent but hasn't has nothing do do with him not sticking to their agreement re: cleaning up after the building works.

This attitude of tenants having to suck up poor treatment from LLs because the LL could treat them worse or turf them out is a realy poor one that I see an awful lot of on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

hots wrote: »
    There's a strange disparity between the service tenants expect from lls and vice versa ...
    Very true. In particular I see a lot of "I'm a good tenant, I keep the property clean & pay my rent on time".

It's a sad indictment when doing the very minimum makes you "good".

That said, this is a 2 way street, and there are plenty of LL who do the very minimum and consider themselves "good". However, I would add that the unfortunate thing is that the government have been doing everything now for the past few years to force all LL's to do the very minimum.

Zulu wrote: »
    Very true. In particular I see a lot of "I'm a good tenant, I keep the property clean & pay my rent on time".

It's a sad indictment when doing the very minimum makes you "good".

That said, this is a 2 way street, and there are plenty of LL who do the very minimum and consider themselves "good". However, I would add that the unfortunate thing is that the government have been doing everything now for the past few years to force all LL's to do the very minimum.

I think good for either side is basically just meeting what's expected and not being a pain in the arse.

Tenants, pay on time and every time and make the the house is left as you found it, LL should only hear from you if something is fcked.

LLords, fix things that are broken, maintain the property as it was first let, tenant should only hear from you if something is fcked.

If both are sound there shouldn't really be "good" of either, just two groups doing their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,623 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

im confused. how did the house get distroyed in dust if they were working on the fasade on the outside.

if there was electrical, plumbing works going on i could understand .

on a decent sized job 10-15k you would expect the builder to hire in a company to give it a once over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭C3PO

I'm amazed at the attitude of some of the posters in this thread! I'm not a tenant nor anti-landlord but the landlord/builders made the mess - they should absolutely clean it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Seems the market for landlords at the moment doesn't reflect the "your tenant will try to kill you" type of hysteria that prevails on this forum judging by the "suck it up or you'll be on the street" style posts. Funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

OP, there are a lot of bitter landlords on this forum

Really, who exactly are they? Anyone who disagrees with any tenant for any reason?

im confused. how did the house get distroyed in dust if they were working on the fasade on the outside. .
    While the internal elements of the work were completed the house was not cleaned, 2 of the rooms got a very light sweep.

Not sure what work they were doing but if you make a mess you clean it up.

They are just morons. Best one I have heard of was the call on Christmas Eve to come down and fix the broken TV. Their broken TV. And three of them couldn't grasp that the landlord was not responsible for their property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

For future reference the wrong terms were negotiated at the start. "Clean up afterwards" is too vague. Something like "building works creates dust that can damage your carpets and flooring, will you hire a professional cleaner, who has better equipment, for four hours to clean the downstairs of your house please."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Maybe say what was done, as it no-one pumps money into a house for the craic.
    The mess left behind from substantial building works requires serious effort to clean.
    Although I agree, the OP has mentioned that it was only "cosmetic" improvements, so I wonder how much dust was left?

Really, who exactly are they? Anyone who disagrees with any tenant for any reason?

No, I didn't say that at all. Why would you assume I meant that?

Which of us are landlords.

Not sure what work they were doing but if you make a mess you clean it up.

They are just morons. Best one I have heard of was the call on Christmas Eve to come down and fix the broken TV. Their broken TV. And three of them couldn't grasp that the landlord was not responsible for their property.

Genuine question do you believe my pal is being a moran here? Considering it is someone else's mess, the someone else agreed to clean it and didn't and the work carried out has not benefited my friend in any way.

Turns out the landlord called around to the house yesterday evening (unannounced again) and was quite irate to the point my friend felt intimidated (she was there by herself) and he's an imposing man. After a few minutes of tensioned conversation, the landlord conceded that he would arrange to have the communal areas of the house cleaned. The flooring is marble and was actually slippy under foot due to the amount of dust. She also showed him the bathroom that has been used exclusively by the builders for the past 8-9 days, he couldn't argue that it was a mess.

Genuine question do you believe my pal is being a moran here? Considering it is someone else's mess, the someone else agreed to clean it and didn't and the work carried out has not benefited my friend in any way.

That was in response to another posters comments about their tenants. If you make a mess, your responsible for cleaning it up. We teach 5 year old's that,
    so you assume the builders and your landlord should be able to figure it out.

Which of us are landlords.

Do you want me to list all the users of this forum who are landlords?

Yeah, that's not happening!

There are plenty of landlords on here who offer their advice and opinions, just as there are tenants and homeowners. I don't have a list of their usernames. I don't need one either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭White Clover

How did you come to know of this audit? Did the landlord tell you him/herself??

Do you want me to list all the users of this forum who are landlords?

Yeah, that's not happening!

There are plenty of landlords on here who offer their advice and opinions, just as there are tenants and homeowners. I don't have a list of their usernames. I don't need one either.

Yeah so you don't know, you are just happy to label people as bitter landlords. Pretty cheap tactic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Be careful how you approach the landlord, some don't have much patience and eventually get fed up of constant calls/texts.

Id say meet in the middle. Bathroom and some communal areas cleaned by him and ye do the rest. Best just get it done and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭April 73

Turns out the landlord called around to the house yesterday evening (unannounced again) and was quite irate to the point my friend felt intimidated (she was there by herself) and he's an imposing man. After a few minutes of tensioned conversation, the landlord conceded that he would arrange to have the communal areas of the house cleaned. The flooring is marble and was actually slippy under foot due to the amount of dust. She also showed him the bathroom that has been used exclusively by the builders for the past 8-9 days, he couldn't argue that it was a mess.

So all is well that ends well? The landlord has agreed to cover the cost of cleaning?

Isn’t this story a prime example of the fundamental problem of the landlord - tenant relationship? One side feels aggrieved by paying for a service & that they are being “done”. The other side feels aggrieved that they receive money for a service but have to do something for it. I’m not saying it applies in 100% of cases but there is an underlying conflict in the relationship in a lot of cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

The tenants here are good tenants, they don't want any arguments but are annoyed considering they've been inconvenienced for 8 days in their home and now they are expected to clean up after the landlord.

What do you mean in "their home". The house is rented and it is not "their home"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

If the landlord spent over €10k improving the property for the benefit of the tennqnts and didn't increase the rent then i think they are an ungrateful shower if they are giving out about a bit of dust.

duffysfarm wrote: »
    The tenants here are good tenants, they don't want any arguments but are annoyed considering they've been inconvenienced for 8 days in their home and now they are expected to clean up after the landlord.

What do you mean in "their home". The house is rented and it is not "their home"

A rental property is considered the tenants home.

Yeah so you don't know, you are just happy to label people as bitter landlords. Pretty cheap tactic.

Yeah, you seem confused.

I've seen plenty of bitter landlords on here. I've seen plenty of bitter tenants too. I've seen plenty of helpful landlords too, who don't come across as bitter. Same for tenants.

In fact I see all kinds of people on all the forums I read. People with good ideas and bad ones. People with axes to grind. People with great advice. It's great.

I'm not in the habit of keeping lists of the different kinds of people I encounter though. I think that would be weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,005 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I don’t believe any landlord would put money unnecessarily into a house.

Are you telling me there was no insulation added to the house when the facade was done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,005 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Why would you spend hard cash to write off against tax over 8 years? The cash is worth more to you.

If he wanted to reduce his tax bill he could leave the property empty for a number of months and then carry forward the losses to reduce his tax bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

I do not know the exact ins and out of that scenerio, that is why I marked it roughly, I had a similar situation personally , but it did not need to go into that exact detail.

And just for balance, there is another tenant that calls me as I am their contact for a landlord abroad. In the complete opposite of the first tenant, and their demands, this other tenant, in one year, has notified me of an extractor fan packing up, and then, and on a recent occasion, rang me very humbly, to say they were sorry, but the oven door came off in her hand and fell and smashed.

I didn't need to hear any more. I mentioned it to the owner (abroad), but went down straight away, inspected, and straight into Powercity for a replacement, no questions asked. They are nice people, who look after the place, get on with it and live their lives. If I get a call from them, I am straight on it, they are genuine and humble and friendly. The first tenant is a council nominated, welfare case, demanding and self-entitled, and I would not be inclined to prioritise their DEMANDS, and even then, if it is needed, they will get it, but I would not go any further for them.

duffysfarm wrote: »

It absolutely is there home, that's what they're paying for.