Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Westport to become Ireland's first plastic straw-free town

• 08-05-2018 4:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

WESTPORT IS AIMING to become the first town in Ireland to eradicate plastic straws.

The initiative by Westport Tidy Towns committee is part of its entry into the 2018 national competition.

The Mayo town has received a commitment from all vintners in Westport that they will only use biodegradable straws from 1 June.

Rhona Chambers, a member of Westport Tidy Towns committee, is hopeful that coffee shops, takeaways and supermarkets in the town will also be persuaded to replace plastic straws with biodegradable alternatives.

It is very likely that all the other businesses in the town will come on board. The local businesses in Westport always get behind the initiatives of the Tidy Town committee and understand its importance for the town.

”We are a coastal town and want to preserve the wildlife and nature in Westport, so getting rid of plastic straws helps us to do that,” Chambers said.

The eradication of plastic waste is more important than ever, after China decided to ban the importing of plastics from European countries.

China took 95% of Ireland’s plastic waste in 2016, but the ban which came into effect this year means that’s no longer possible.

With Ireland being the top producer of plastic waste in the EU, a number of businesses around the country have set up initiatives to reduce their plastic output.

The Westport committee is eager for other businesses in the town to join the plastic straw initiative by next month’s deadline as the busy tourist season will see an increase in plastic waste.

Fair play to Westport Tidy Towns and to the local business community for the support!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

This will be the last straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

That sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Of all the many things wrong with Westport, I would have had straws as a very long way down the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Gravelly wrote: »
    Of all the many things wrong with Westport, I would have had straws as a very long way down the list.

What's wrong with Westport???? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Noooo my novelty plastic straw hat business will go down the tubes :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

If that's all they have to worry about, that ain't doing too bad.

theteal wrote: »

Perhaps I'm being harsh, I don't know the town well, but I had the misfortune to be dragged along on a stag night there recently and it was like a summary of everything that is wrong with small-town Ireland. It probably didn't help that I'm too damn old for stag parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I heard a representative from the drinking straw manufacturing industry debating this topic with an environmentalist on the radio. His arguments were poor, to say the least, constantly giving the impression that he was refuting his opponent's argument, while actually refuting an argument that was not presented by his opponent at all.

I wonder if he frequents boards, I've at least 10 possibles for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Somebody should throw 100,000 plastic straws into Clew Bay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Somebody should throw 100,000 plastic straws into Clew Bay!

Ah NO! That would be ,, the last straw... Why though. seriously? it is lovely

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 inter arma

Good for Westport. They were the first town in Ireland to eliminate science, and now plastic straws. Good for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Perhaps I'm being harsh, I don't know the town well, but I had the misfortune to be dragged along on a stag night there recently and it was like a summary of everything that is wrong with small-town Ireland. It probably didn't help that I'm too damn old for stag parties.

A friend from Westport was recently telling me of a group on a stag and how one was a real old miserable fecker. ;)
    If you think Westport is what is wrong with small town Ireland by jaysus you have lived a sheltered life.
    Patww79 wrote: »

Says the man from Wicklow, the county that gives us Bray, Rathdrum and Rathnew.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Graces7 wrote: »
    Ah NO! That would be ,, the last straw... Why though. seriously? it is lovely

Just to annoy them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Did he resort to straw man arguments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭blackbox

Does anyone know where you can get paper straws in bulk at a price that is comparable to the plastic ones?

They seem to be very dear - perhaps makers are cashing in on the trend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Terrible traffic.

Over inflated opinion of self.

Similar to myself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭blondeonblonde

:rolleyes: is environmental stuff really is bollocks.

Yeah single use plastics that are clogging up landfill, polluting seas and harming wildlife is bollocks.... Get a grip, sounds like a good news story to me. If only others would follow suit

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Yeah single use plastics that are clogging up landfill, polluting seas and harming wildlife is bollocks.... Get a grip, sounds like a good news story to me. If only others would follow suit
    Agreed.

What the hell do you need a straw in your pint of blackcurrant/bottle of Coke/whatever for anyway? Are we all still 9 years old or what?

The argument that it's only a small token of environmental change is no reason whatsoever not to go ahead with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 194 ✭✭Mackerel and Avocado Sandwich

My last job turned all plastic disposables in the canteen from plastic to biodegradables like wood and coffee cups and lids that broke down easily. This was in the public sector so if they can do it why can’t the rest? The fact that we’re reporting on this is just pathetic. Take a walk around Lidl and look at all the crap for sale that’s will be in landfills in the next few years. Waffle makers... lollipop machines... all kinds of junk. We live in a consumerist throwaway society, it’s disgusting but the public gets what the public wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭Allinall

KaneToad wrote: »
    Terrible traffic.

Over inflated opinion of self.

Similar to myself...

Walk.

It’s a small town.

Ipso wrote: »
    Did he resort to straw man arguments?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

blackbox wrote: »
    Does anyone know where you can get paper straws in bulk at a price that is comparable to the plastic ones?

They seem to be very dear - perhaps makers are cashing in on the trend.
    Hay , I know where to get organic straw

They're just stories to get a few column inches to get the town in the news. A few shops not using straws doesn't matter a jot.

With that attitude, nothing of environmental importance would ever be done. Individuals can only change their own behaviour, either by reducing the amount of plastic they buy, bringing their own reusable bags instead of buying plastic bags, buying loose fruit and vegetables instead of packaged varieties, using keep cups instead of unrecyclable coffee cups etc.

Of course one person doing it alone will make no difference but it creates a ripple effect if everyone starts to do it. Once consumers demand it then retailers and producers will provide.

Even if it is simply a device to promote Westport as a town with green credentials, it still promotes the idea of sustainability and environmental awareness. That can only be a good thing.

You have to think global and act local. Cynicism will not solve anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

I can see the next headline "Westport Camels Celebrate Drop in Back Problems"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Patww79 wrote:

Pick whichever one of these you can get your head around best so you can join us in the 21st century.

A - it sets a good example
    B - it's a start
    C - most people will likely start to think more proactively on what they can do to help the environment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Is a life without plastic straws even worth living?

If it extends beyond Westport, I'll probably end it all. Fuck this shit.

If having a straw quite literally means the world to you, you'll be glad to know they also make non-plastic ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭Allinall

It's where it all leads. I soon won't be able to get my normal cup when I buy coffee in the Maxol if this keeps up. And I like my paper cups.

It's all just wangling in further taxation.

You do realize that your Maxol cup isn’t made from paper?

They also make biodegradable coffee cups and water/drink bottles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Patww79 wrote:

Hopefully sooner rather than later. Think how long that cup holds your coffee, 7 - 8 minutes. And that cup is in a landfill or ocean for several years. It's not sustainable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Can I please ask what town you regard as good or excellent. I'm just interested for comparison purposes between your best (?) and your worst (Westport & Killarney).

To be honest, I'm dead set against it personally. If it takes off much then all it serves is to make my life more inconvenient now, while if nothing is done then I'll never see the bad effects, if any, in my lifetime.

Right... I've laid it out in a pretty clear, concise and logical way. Either you're a wind up merchant, ignorant, selfish or all of the above.

The effects"if any", as you call them, are well documented and available to those who will see them... Then again to coin a phrase, there are none so blind as those who will not...

Have a great life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

They're just stories to get a few column inches to get the town in the news. A few shops not using straws doesn't matter a jot.[/quote]

Westport's always been at the vanguard of self promotion who could forget the success of the " Sex offender leaves Westport" front page a few years back.

milehip wrote: »
    " Sex offender leaves Westport"

I wouldn’t blame him.

Assume gender much?

I wouldn’t blame him.

Assume gender much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Assume gender much?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Fair play to Westport Tidy Towns and to the local business community for the support!

Every town in Ireland was plastic free not so long ago. So how can they claim they will be plastic free by just banning plastic straws?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

"Dunno really, somewhere even a little bit more natural. I just found it very plastic and too bog Irish aimed solely at Americans. The likes of Kinsale, Dingle, or Castletownbere weren't nearly as bad for it as Westport in my experience. It's also a kip to drive in and parking is a shambles.
    Killarney is just full of nightclubs and boy racers doing laps of the town now. Lovely surrounding areas though."

Thanks for that. Fills in the picture of what they were being compared to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Can I please ask what town you regard as good or excellent. I'm just interested for comparison purposes between your best (?) and your worst (Westport & Killarney).

Anyone who does not like Killarney is suspect anyways.

Only thing i do not like re Westport is the crazy traffic system....Only one of three local Irish towns I tried to go down a one way street the wrong way.. ( other two are Ballina and Ballinrobe..)