Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

local garda station

• 30-04-2018 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭

Hi

Apologies for this stupid question but how to I locate my local garda station. I need to get various forms stamped. I live in Dublin city south. I went to the one I know...the one that is about 15 mins walk from me. They refused and said I had to go to my local station. There is another one ...walkable but not as close ...is that the one.

How do you know. Garda were not that helpful when I called in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

what area do you live in, south city not enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Lmklad

That is inexcusably rude. There is no excuse for the first Station not helping you. I’d be seriously pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

Lmklad wrote: »
    That is inexcusably rude. There is no excuse for the first Station not helping you. I’d be seriously pissed.

Actually there are many reasons for a member of AGS to decline to sign a document.

A simple example is the passport form, your first passport needs to the form to be stamped by your local station. Subsequent passports require a Garda who knows you personally to sign the form.

If you're asking for copies of documents to be certified then if the member is not satisfied with the originals or the copies they can refuse.

There are lots of reasons for a Garda to decline to sign documents, the above are just 2 of them.

source wrote: »

Actually there are many reasons for a member of AGS to decline to sign a document.

A simple example is the passport form, your first passport needs to the form to be stamped by your local station. Subsequent passports require a Garda who knows you personally to sign the form.

If you're asking for copies of documents to be certified then if the member is not satisfied with the originals or the copies they can refuse.

There are lots of reasons for a Garda to decline to sign documents, the above are just 2 of them.

Incorrect. The role of a Garda with passports is to certify the signature and verify the identity of the applicant. The Garda must satisfy themselves as to the persons identity which may be knowing personally or using supporting forms of id. Knowing an applicant personally is one of the options available.

Your comment regarding documents applies to any Garda station and wouldn’t be used to send someone to a different station.

My comment was about sending a person to their “local” station, not about certifying documents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,702 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

There is another one ...walkable but not as close ...is that the one.

Nobody can answer that question :confused: as you didn't state where you live or the station that you think might be your local station.

The place you refer to as 'another one', ring them, give your address and ask them if they deal with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Incorrect. The role of a Garda with passports is to certify the signature and verify the identity of the applicant. The Garda must satisfy themselves as to the persons identity which may be knowing personally or using supporting forms of id. Knowing an applicant personally is one of the options available.

Your comment regarding documents applies to any Garda station and wouldn’t be used to send someone to a different station.

My comment was about sending a person to their “local” station, not about certifying documents.

The role of the Garda in relation to passports goes beyond signing the form.

Op, call the one you think is your local station and ask them what your local station is.

It's no longer necessary to be known personally by a Garda at your local station, that was done away with years ago.

As poster Lmklad has stated above, the member who stamps your photo and/or form simply has to satisfy him/herself as to your identity so you typically bring your old passport, and a PSC card and/or driving licence.

IIRC they make an entry in a book, that appears to be the principal reason why they insist on going to your local station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭gauchesnell

thanks for the replies...apologies but I dont want to id myself so dont want to say the exact location Between Dublin 12/Dublin 6W and Dublin 6. I have now called the other station and they have also advised me that they are not my local station. Thanks for the directory but that just gives a list of the stations it doesnt tell you which one to attend.

So thats 2 stations that have declined as I am not in their local area. What does local area mean....even though the station is 15 mins from me I'm not local.

The document I need signed is not anything passport related or anything like that. Basically I can give up on trying to get what I want sorted if I need to.

I am pissed off though...and confused. If the 2 garda stations near me advise me that I am not in their local area/I am not known to the gardai thankfully what do I do if I want something more serious signed. How can it vary from station to station and how to I figure how which station is my local station???

Just confused really. I might just try Store Street ....they signed my passport stuff a while back even though I didnt live in the area.

Makes it difficult to change your voting reg details etc. I am still registered to a place I lived about 7 years ago.

You are likely to be in Tallaght area. I expect you went to Sundrive. The Garda where you went should really have clearly told you where your correct one is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

If it has to be your local station that's fine but surely the first cop could have looked at your address and told you which station to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Get Real

Op. A quick Google and it seems you're either Crumlin Garda station or Terenure Garda station. Have you been to either of these?

If you have give them your exact road and they'll tell you who covers it. I understand you don't want to give out your street on the internet.

Store street is on the north side of the city, nowhere near your home address. Sure they might sign your form, but can refuse. It's also a reason why there are big queues in city centre garda stations. Everyone goes to them and meanwhile your local station is probably empty with some guy having a cup of tea.

coylemj wrote: »
    It's no longer necessary to be known personally by a Garda at your local station, that was done away with years ago.

As poster Lmklad has stated above, the member who stamps your photo and/or form simply has to satisfy him/herself as to your identity so you typically bring your old passport, and a PSC card and/or driving licence.

IIRC they make an entry in a book, that appears to be the principal reason why they insist on going to your local station.

There are other requirements on Gardaí in relation to applications. These are internal requirements. Just as an example, if a person on bail is applying for a new passport.

The dfa still says to go to your local station.

https://www.dfa.ie/passports-citizenship/how-to-apply-for-a-passport/ireland/born-in-ireland/adult-renewal/anytime/more-than-10-working-days/
    A Garda at your local Garda station will witness your passport application form; as long as they are satisfied as to your identity and that your four photos are a true likeness of you.

But you're right, it is completely on the Garda whether he is happy to sign the form at the end of the day. And if a Garda in another station is happy to do so they can.

I have now called the other station and they have also advised me that they are not my local station.

You gave them your address.... did you ask them to say what is your local station? People ring Garda stations all the time looking for that info.

You haven't explicitly stated that the Garda you spoke to in either station straight out refused to disclose the information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Op, call the one you think is your local station and ask them what your local station is.

What else is it? Plenty of people particularly in cities are not known to their local gardai. Maybe this should be made professional totally. Solicitor only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭JackHeuston

source wrote: »

Subsequent passports require a Garda who knows you personally to sign the form.

This is simply medieval, guards only need a way to verify your identity. They don't HAVE TO know you personally. If they do, it's only a bonus.

Nope you are right crumlin and terenure both advised I am not in their local area. I work near Store Street and be honest they are very nice there. Kevin Street station are also nice but again not my local area Hence the question what counts as a local area

I might have to try rathfarnham or rathmines.

Or else give up. I walk past terenure station everyday so they prob see me from their window walking past so does that count as knowing me. Does that count as local area. Apparently not.

Dont know how I am meant to be known to gardai if I have never committed a crime.

Like I said my voting address is somewhere I lived 7 years ago. Beyond difficult to change it.

Sorry to be clear. Called into station A with document and ID and other documentation proving address and ID. They advised that I am not in local area and to call to station B. Rang station B and they advised that I also not in local area. They couldnt or wouldnt advise me who to go to. They just repeated ...you need to attend your local station. It was a phone call.

ok still at a loss really as to how to find how where my "local station" is. How can I eventually update my voting address if the local stations near me wont agree on which is local.

Who would I direct this to I wonder...dept of justice maybe??

ok still at a loss really as to how to find how where my "local station" is. How can I eventually update my voting address if the local stations near me wont agree on which is local.

Who would I direct this to I wonder...dept of justice maybe??

Just ring a station, give them your address and ask what your local station is.

What street do you live on? Someone here is bound to know the local station

nope not saying the street here and yeah thanks captain obvious I have been to my "local" garda station and they refused me and said to my local garda station ....I then rang the other "local" station and they also said nope go to your local station

I will have to wander to the two other stations near me at the weekend or try Store Street or Kevin Street next week.

Really just trying to figure out the definition of local garda station. The one i walk past every day apparently is not my local. Hey not a big deal but just hard to figure out

I gave up trying to updated my voting address years ago....might just give up on what I am trying to do now aswell.LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,144 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Simple question here.
    Did you ask the Gardai in the stations that you have been to where your local station is, seeing as the know it's not the station they are in?

(Not giving a relatively close approximation of where you live isn't helping anyone here to help you by the way)

THANK YOU. I knew I wasnt the only one. Sorry I thought I wrote that already. I went to Terenure which is about 15 mins walk from me and which I walk past every day. They said nope and go to Crumlin. Rang Crumlin and they said nope you have to go Terenure. I am reluctant to give exact location. I might try Rathmines - still very close - to me or Rathfarnham at the weekend or if I have time I will try and call them.

Is there a station in Rathgar maybe I could try I dont know. Is there one in Harolds Cross

Rathmines/Terenure/Crumlin are all super close to me and in my local area. C

Maybe there is station in Dublin 6/6W/12/16 area that I am not aware of

It could be Walkinstown maybe. So difficult to know

Oh and I havent tried Sundrive yet. I would prefer not to if possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

nope not saying the street here and yeah thanks captain obvious I have been to my "local" garda station and they refused me and said to my local garda station ....I then rang the other "local" station and they also said nope go to your local station

I will have to wander to the two other stations near me at the weekend or try Store Street or Kevin Street next week.

Really just trying to figure out the definition of local garda station. The one i walk past every day apparently is not my local. Hey not a big deal but just hard to figure out

I gave up trying to updated my voting address years ago....might just give up on what I am trying to do now aswell.LOL

Have we forgotten the Irish solution?

Get onto your TD

motherf****

right i will give up so

How long do you stay on the voting register with an address you dont live at

Guess noone checks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,496 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

THANK YOU. I knew I wasnt the only one. Sorry I thought I wrote that already. I went to Terenure which is about 15 mins walk from me and which I walk past every day. They said nope and go to Crumlin. Rang Crumlin and they said nope you have to go Terenure.

For jaysis sake will you just answer the following question: did you at any point say to either station "My address is 123 XYZ, can you please tell me what my local station is?"

Garda station boundaries are as arbitrary as electoral ones. Your nearest station isn't by any stretch of the imagination your actual local one. I got knocked off my moped across the road from a Garda station a few years back and when I went in to report it I was told sorry, but your accident actually happened in the area covered by a station nowhere near here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭davetherave

Have a look at the map here, just tick the stations and the sub-district layers then find your address.

https://garda.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=6b2f1764d5254ceeaa88ab0d5daf82ed

nope not saying the street here

OP you asked how to find out where your local station is. I offered to help you but you don’t want the help. I’ve never heard of someone being turned away from so many stations for something as simple as signing a form. Think something more is going on.

okey dokey....thanks but I dont wish to post my actual address on the internet. As for asking the gardai I presented with my ID and proof of address - which states clearly where I live. No garda would logically sign anything otherwise.

So yes I clearly stated my address to the Gardai and I have proof that is where I live.

Thanks for the constructive advice so far. I will try the map.

Garda areas can differ on different sides of the same road. It's just the way the boundaries are done. It seems like someone in one of the stations made a mistake if they are both directing you to one another. Ring them up and ask for someone who knows the area and tell them you have been passed from one to the other. Crumlin and Terrenure are not just different station areas but different districts too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Between Dublin 12/Dublin 6W and Dublin 6. I have now called the other station and they have also advised me that they are not my local station.

Within those areas you are either Crumlin Village or Terenure. Sundrive, Rathfarnham or Rathmines would be next to try, given the vagueness of your location. There are no stations in Harolds Cross, Walkinstown or Rathgar.

If you live somewhere in D12, D6w, D6 area, you can be sure Kevin St and Store St are definitely not your Local stations.
    Oh and I havent tried Sundrive yet. I would prefer not to if possible
    Might be the answer to the puzzle.
    Although I don't understand why you are having the problem, I have had passport documents signed in three different stations over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Vikings

It's not that difficult a task to find this out, but judging by how you aren't answering the direct questions here I'm guessing you haven't asked the relevant questions to find it out.

Anyway. Dublin 6w your local is 99% Terenure.

Dublin 6 it could be Terenure but more likely to be Rathmines.

Dublin 12 it's likely Crumlin but possibly Sundrive Road.

If you want to pm me your address I can answer this for you specifically without all the guesswork.

I'm guessing from your posts you live in the Whitehall Road/Kimmage Road West or Kimmage Road Lower area. Which puts you near the border of a couple of Garda districts.

As someone has said certain roads are split in two and one Garda station will cover one side of the road and the next Garda station over will cover the opposite side.

lol...thanks....I thought it was a simple question myself. Not sure what the relevant question to ask is...how much more direct I can be with the gardai when I present with my ID and confirmation of my address and ask them to stamp the form and they decline as I am not their local station. I am referred to another station who also decline and refer me back to the station I first attended.

Definitely thought it was a pretty simple query. Shouldnt be this mysterious.

Again I dont want to post my exact address on the internet....seems pretty logical to me. And I dont think this is guesswork. Terenure says Crumlin and Crumlin says Terenure...

I will try and call Sundrive later today see what they say.

lol...thanks....I thought it was a simple question myself. Not sure what the relevant question to ask is...how much more direct I can be with the gardai when I present with my ID and confirmation of my address and ask them to stamp the form and they decline as I am not their local station. I am referred to another station who also decline and refer me back to the station I first attended.

Definitely thought it was a pretty simple query. Shouldnt be this mysterious.

Again I dont want to post my exact address on the internet....seems pretty logical to me. And I dont think this is guesswork. Terenure says Crumlin and Crumlin says Terenure...

If you're on the border of Crumlin/Terenure you'll be too far for Sundrive to come into play.

Ring 016666400, tell them your address and ask them do they cover your address.

It's probable that either the guard in Terenure or Crumlin gave you the wrong information in error.

Pick a random house or shop that's a few doors away from where you live but on the same side of the street, post that exact address here and ask what Garda district it's in. Someone will reply within minutes.

Just because you met an assh0le in a particular station who refuses to give you basic information doesn't stop you phoning the next day to ask the same question, you'll probably get somebody different who understands that they are paid to provide a public service.

lol people are funny ok 341 Kimmage Road Lower

and before you say it its not Crumlin or Terenure

What district and garda station please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Sundrive seems the most likely there.

lol people are funny ok 341 Kimmage Road Lower

and before you say it its not Crumlin or Terenure

What district and garda station please

Based on the map at the link provided by poster davetherave in post #33 above.......

The east side of Lr. Kimmage Road (where the KCR House pub is located) is in Terenure but the west side is split between two stations....

The green space on the west side from the intersection with Kimmage Road west (the crossroads commonly known as the KCR) up to Ravensdale Park is in Crumlin while the west side north of Ravensdale Park is in Sundrive Road.

If you live on Lr. Kimmage Road and your house has an odd number, your station is Sundrive Road.

quick update and thanks for all the replies. I actually called into Sundrive as I got to leave work early and guess what nope they are not my local station either. They also say Crumlin.

In case anyone is wondering I simply asked the question in person...with my passport with me and I happened to have my payslip with me in case they wanted to check my address or something

So nope not Terenure/Sundrive or Cumlin

Also I didnt bring the doc i wanted signed in case it was the document...I simply asked the question.

Wouldnt like to attend Sundrive again ...not my area but at this stage I will simply give up.Thankfully it was nothing really important. I still remain registered to vote at a place I havent lived at for nearly 9 years now

So nope not Terenure/Sundrive or Cumlin

As said above, if you're address on Kimmage Road Lower is odd and you live beyond the turn off for Ravensdale Park you're local station is 100% Sundrive Road.

If you're anywhere opposite KCR House, Centra, Tesco, Ladbrokes, McCabes etc then with 100% certainty your station is Sundrive Road. You can ring them on 016666600 to confirm.

eh I called into Sundrive Station and spoke with the Garda there ...and nope it is not Sundrive either.

Thanks for all the replies but I will just give up now. Interesting how so many think that it is one station but the Gardai are adamant it is not them.

My main question was how to find out where your "local" station is.....turns out it can be difficult to find.

So in summary not Sundrive/Crumlin or Terenure as confirmed by the Gardai - both Terenure and Sundrive say its Crumlin. Crumlin says not them.

unless anyone here is a garda from Sundrive of course

eh I called into Sundrive Station and spoke with the Garda there ...and nope it is not Sundrive either.

Thanks for all the replies but I will just give up now. Interesting how so many think that it is one station but the Gardai are adamant it is not them.

My main question was how to find out where your "local" station is.....turns out it can be difficult to find.

So in summary not Sundrive/Crumlin or Terenure as confirmed by the Gardai - both Terenure and Sundrive say its Crumlin. Crumlin says not them.

unless anyone here is a garda from Sundrive of course

You're talking about a road that is covered by three different stations at different points and sides of the road. Sounds like the Garda in Crumlin got it wrong.

well thanks ...I live there so I do know the area.

and hence the difficulty in finding your "local" station. I live in a central point of 3 different ones

At this stage I honestly couldnt be bothered anymore.

I would like to update my voting address sometime but it is too much hassle calling station to station

Originally I thought there was a simple answer but there isnt it seems

well thanks ...I live there so I do know the area.

and hence the difficulty in finding your "local" station. I live in a central point of 3 different ones

At this stage I honestly couldnt be bothered anymore.

I would like to update my voting address sometime but it is too much hassle calling station to station

Originally I thought there was a simple answer but there isnt it seems

There is. Just go back to Crumlin and ask them to witness your signature. If they refuse tell them you've been turned away from two other stations and sent there. If they continue to refuse ask to speak to a sergeant and explain your difficulty.

have you ever to Crumlin or Sundrive Garda Stations captain obvious???