Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hypothetical scenario

• 29-04-2018 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭

Right, hypothetically speaking, I spot a leak in a water pipe at the junction between my field and a neighbours field. I am not sure is it my pipe or the neihhbours. I then go and stand beside his pump house in his field for 10 minutes. His pump is not kicking in and out so I go back to my yard and stand beside my pump. It is clicking in and out constantly.
    I now know it is my water. I hypothetically go back and trace the pipe to find it going into his water trough. No great problem but I then notice the pipe teeing off this trough and heading into his yard in one direction and down to his grazing block in the other. I root a little further and find the T junction where he has hooked into my water system. He has never asked permission or informed me that he did this. This man would hypothetically be watering 200+ cattle.

What would ye all do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,106 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Say and do nothing and continue paying the electricity bill for watering his cattle.

Hypothetically speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Hypothetically disconnect and remove supply pipe. Then wait ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Eamonn8448

Any chance he wasnt sure either who owned the pipe or got mixed up ? Id casually say it to him that theres a leak on the border and your thinking of replacing the whole pipe just to see what his reaction is, hopefully just a honest mistake, now if it was my dad it would be shotguns or solicitors letters - if you know him very well ie a good neighbor just ask him at least he can never say you werent straight talking , best of luck on it and keep your calm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 turfin

Grueller wrote: »
    Right, hypothetically speaking, I spot a leak in a water pipe at the junction between my field and a neighbours field. I am not sure is it my pipe or the neihhbours. I then go and stand beside his pump house in his field for 10 minutes. His pump is not kicking in and out so I go back to my yard and stand beside my pump. It is clicking in and out constantly.
    I now know it is my water. I hypothetically go back and trace the pipe to find it going into his water trough. No great problem but I then notice the pipe teeing off this trough and heading into his yard in one direction and down to his grazing block in the other. I root a little further and find the T junction where he has hooked into my water system. He has never asked permission or informed me that he did this. This man would hypothetically be watering 200+ cattle.

What would ye all do?

It all depends. How long might this have been going on for? Unlikely you will get compensated at any rate If he's bad enough to steal he's not going to pay just because he got caught.

Or hypothetically speaking turn off the power to your own pump for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭memorystick

Leave your pump out for a few days if you can or damage your own pipe of a Friday evening and say you will fix it after the weekend. Let him still think he's a smart kunte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,370 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

This happened to a friend and was only spotted when the new water meters were put in.
    When it was checked out the offending farmer didn't even bother to put a ball cock on the tank.
    His excuse apparently was it was only a half inch feed and very slow.
    I don't know how it finished but guards were involved as it was considered theft.
    The bill that flagged the problem was €700

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Cut off connection and watch closely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,775 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Just disconnect it and move on.

Are ya going to cause a huge split with some moron over the hedge. He will know you found him out, he will know rightly he is in the wrong, nearly no chance of being compensated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Get some green food dye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dog walker 1234

Depends on what kind of individual they are. I would give the good neighbour the benefit of the doubt by discussing it with them, probably a genuine mistake. A poor neighbour, I would have disconnected it immediately.

Hungry chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Wait till we are in the middle of a drought this year and when the temperature is soaring disconnect the pipe. Then sit back and enjoy a cold beer watching him in a panic with 200 cattle roaring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭Grueller

I disconnected it at 2 o clock today. It happened up the road from my yard and I will put a stop cock on the line that will be switched off when I don't have cattle up there.
    Said nothing and will say nothing. No row, but no water either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Odelay

I disconnected it at 2 o clock today. It happened up the road from my yard and I will put a stop cock on the line that will be switched off when I don't have cattle up there.
    Said nothing and will say nothing. No row, but no water either.

Simple yet effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭valtra2

OK lads so my water not working since dinner time. Any advice on how to find out why. Oh ya and neighbour seems a bit off with me and can't understand why.

valtra2 wrote: »
    OK lads so my water not working since dinner time. Any advice on how to find out why. Oh ya and neighbour seems a bit off with me and can't understand why.

BTW I traced the pipe to Carlow!!!!!

Are ye sure it's not one of those Dublin lads looking for free water out of the Shannon? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭valtra2

valtra2 wrote: »

Feck it I thought I had it buried.

Hypothetically traced it.

Ya do you know what, if he is reading it here **** him anyway. Thinking back on it this is going on 5 years or so. My ESB bill took a jump in 2012-13 and never went back down. Could never figure it out. I know now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

No 2 ways about it.thats a job for a hacksaw and a blank off fitting.gather up his wavin and fcuk it back over his boundry

Ya do you know what, if he is reading it here **** him anyway. Thinking back on it this is going on 5 years or so. My ESB bill took a jump in 2012-13 and never went back down. Could never figure it out. I know now.

It does come in very handy here. :)

Ya look I have a guy up the road here building a house atm. I volunteered a connection into a water trough so he wouldn't have to draw water for plastering, blocklaying etc.
    I would have given the neighbour a connection for a trough no hassle had he asked, but the whole farm and yard is taking the michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

You acted a bit hastily here, you should have left the pipes connected, started his pump and gone home and turned your one off.
    Someday in the future your tap would be dry and you would know he found it.
    I hope you left the end of his pipe pointing straight up to make a fountain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Track9

Good for you, keep water off & say nothing.
    This happened me also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The cost of what he was using wouldn't really annoy me. But the fact the cnut is probably saluting you each time you meet him knowing he's robbing you would bug me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭adam14

whelan2 wrote: »
    The cost of what he was using wouldn't really annoy me. But the fact the cnut is probably saluting you each time you meet him knowing he's robbing you would bug me

I disagree - I notice a considerable increase in esb bill when sheep are housed in winter. When they are out they are drinking from rivers. With 200 cattle i'm sure it could be adding a few hundred a year to the bill plus pump wear and tear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Do you have a hypothetical shotgun?

adam14 wrote: »
    I disagree - I notice a considerable increase in esb bill when sheep are housed in winter. When they are out they are drinking from rivers. With 200 cattle i'm sure it could be adding a few hundred a year to the bill plus pump wear and tear.

We have an esb meter on outfarm. all that's on it is the water pump and fencer. It doesn't cost alot to run the pump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Similar happened to me with a new house. Only noticed when I started getting bills over E200. I thought I must have a leak as there were no cattle in the field. Turned off the water at my meter and couple of days later the house-owner mentioned they had no water and didn't know why. Turned out that my meter was put on the pipe in the wrong place (before their connection not after) and the water they were using was coming through my meter. I complained to the Council and they started saying that the house must have an illegal connection or I had. I got awful thick with them and told them to disconnect the connection completely I wasn't paying for someone else's water and was told they couldn't disconnect a dwelling house. I said I was going to a solicitor and demanding recompense for 3 bills of E200 or over. The Council were out putting in a new pipeline etc for the house within the week. I never got my money back though:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Op light a small hypothetical fire on his land, preferably just close enough to something valuable to be minor danger to it, turn off the water and watch him put it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,733 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Hypothetically I have taken his pump apart and left most of it on the floor of his pumphouse except for one or two little pieces. Then I would have disconnected him and left his pipe sticking out of the ground.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Send him a short piece of wavin with a noose in the post

Any update?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Any update?

He is drawing water with the tanker today from the river.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

ask him is his pump broken :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭I says

Fcuk the cnut

I says wrote: »
    Fcuk the cnut

Absolutely. If he were drawing it in buckets now I wouldn't allow him connect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭I says

Absolutely. If he were drawing it in buckets now I wouldn't allow him connect.

He knows full well he has been caught :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

When building the house here 12 years ago the mains connection to the home house was running through the site so we agreed with parents that we take there connection and the new connection would go around tbe site and connect into pipe up to homestead. Since the meters went in i have been getting letters from Irish water saying i have a suspected leak and last letter stated how i was way above the expected usage. Should i do nothing or get Irish water out for the free leak detection ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Let's keep a hypothetical element of hypothetical commonsense to comments before the hypothetical coloured cards get a hypothetical airing.

Hypothetically, of course.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

ganmo wrote: »
    Get some green food dye

And when you see him next tell him the green water on your own farm is because you are part of a trial for the special long lasting water based antibiotics.

The ones with the three years withdrawal period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Eamonn8448

greysides wrote: »
    Let's keep a hypothetical element of hypothetical commonsense to comments before the hypothetical coloured cards get a hypothetical airing.

Hypothetically, of course.

What colour are hypothetical cards :D
    had to ask lol

Does that mean he has no permanent supply or has he hypothetically been too lazy to put in the necssary connection? I think you mentioned he had his own pump house?

gozunda wrote: »
    Does that mean he has no permanent supply or has he hypothetically been too lazy to put in the necssary connection? I think you mentioned he had his own pump house?

I bet when he connected temparory years back that his pump was after giving up. His well may even have failed.

Slava Ukrainii

I bet when he connected temparory years back that his pump was after giving up. His well may even have failed.

I would suspect well failure too Bass.

I would suspect there was near heart failure when he discovered you disconnected him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

There can't be too many dry wells at the moment.

Hypothetically I hope it is well failure as a pump replacement is a 2-3 day job a new well being bored and put working is a 2-3 week job. Make sure to salute him every time you pass the tractor and tanker

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I woke up this morning worrying that we might have all missed something here. hypothetically.

That years ago, when Grueller was off cavorting somewhere, and his pump down temporarily, his kindly neighbour noticed that his troughs were dry and connected him in to his own system; forgot about it of course, and that recently (with the added strain of Grueller's farm to run) his own well pump had given up the ghost, taking the walls of the well with it in the process, reminding him of the temporary connection he had made to save Grueller's animals all those months ago.

And so now here he is - precious diesel (he is saving cash for the new well and pump) being used drawing water from the river - wondering why his neighbour who he helped out should be turning so hard on him all of a sudden....