Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milking

• 25-04-2018 6:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34

Just wondering rates for well capable person milking 470 cows in a rotary parlour. Can Do calves cubicles feed etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

How long will you be there? Are facilities are there tgat you can be in and out fast etc. Is it occasional or weekly etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PLW17

Mooooo wrote: »
    How long will you be there? Are facilities are there tgat you can be in and out fast etc. Is it occasional or weekly etc

Ah minimum fours by the time it’s all wrapped up cubicles and all.
    Tis All weekends at the minute. Takes from about 5:30-10 at the minute all finished roughlu, could be more at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Mf310

Are you the only person there and have to get in cows and say have to put pipe in tank so have full responsibility? And itd be just milkings then go back home and come back? If so Id be saying 80€ and id nearly go as far and say 100€ alot of responsiblity and ud make 40€ milking a 60 cow herd for 2.5 hours

Mf310 wrote: »
    Are you the only person there and have to get in cows and say have to put pipe in tank so have full responsibility? And itd be just milkings then go back home and come back? If so Id be saying 80€ and id nearly go as far and say 100€ alot of responsiblity and ud make 40€ milking a 60 cow herd for 2.5 hours

I’d get in cows at times and put pipe in at times. Usually depends who the other lad is there. I’m only 17 but have been there with two years nearly and can handle herd on my own. Most of the time start at 5:30 and go home 11 or 12 and come back in evening. Can do antibiotic heard aswell alone if needed. How much for one milking so ?

PLW17 wrote:
    I’d get in cows at times and put pipe in at times. Usually depends who the other lad is there. I’m only 17 but have been there with two years nearly and can handle herd on my own. Most of the time start at 5:30 and go home 11 or 12 and come back in evening. Can do antibiotic heard aswell alone if needed. How much for one milking so ? Thanks

Say 15-20€ an hour I wouldnt take any less than 80 any way and would say 100 alot of milk at stake and 80€ out of that amount of milk wouldnt be alot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Say 15-20€ an hour I wouldnt take any less than 80 any way and would say 100 alot of milk at stake and 80€ out of that amount of milk wouldnt be alot

Gross or net?

Thanks for your help

Gross or net?

Net any weekend milking would be 40€ for 2 to 2.5 hours work for 100 cows this lad is doing 5-6 hours work for 470 cows? I think 80 would be very fair

Yes your right but it’s hard to get a say in due to my age. I don’t know what to do

PLW17 wrote:
    Yes your right but it’s hard to get a say in due to my age. I don’t know what to do

17 myself milking a nice few herds around if you are able to milk you should have no bother getting a job anywhere else just milking 2.5 hours in the mornin 40 euro no bother

Yes I suppose so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Any farmer would be daft agreeing to a net figure. Employing labour is hard enough without trying to sort out employees tax affairs

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Heard the frs rate for relief milking is 50 for first fifty plus 5 per ten after that so that 260 a milking for you

K.G. wrote: »
    Heard the frs rate for relief milking is 50 for first fifty plus 5 per ten after that so that 260 a milking for you

That would be good alright. Thanks for the info ! Much appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

yewtree wrote: »
    Any farmer would be daft agreeing to a net figure. Employing labour is hard enough without trying to sort out employees tax affairs

Would any farmer not have it on the books or would it not be worth it from a tax point of view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

Are you saying 80euro for milking 450 cows?

Frs charge that but the lad going the milking wouldn't see it

60/40-milker/frs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

PLW17 wrote: »
    Just wondering rates for well capable person milking 470 cows in a rotary parlour. Can Do calves cubicles feed etc

€19.06/hr gross, for milking here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

€19.06/hr gross, for milking here.

I see a self employed mechanic charging €25 hr, can't see a milker being worth much less.
    I see Darragh Mc Cullagh had to top up his daffodil pickers pay after he got an audit.....wonder what they'd think of €9hr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Does it not depend on the time taken?
    If you're wandering to the end of the farm, getting the cows.. Moving the wire... Checking for cows bulling... Driving them ...milking.. Cleaning up, scraping the yard and following the cows back... You might need to charge a good bit...
    Some places they're in the yard waiting for you
    ... And the facilities are great, it's milk and leave

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

wrangler wrote: »
    I see a self employed mechanic charging €25 hr, can't see a milker being worth much less.
    I see Darragh Mc Cullagh had to top up his daffodil pickers pay after he got an audit.....wonder what they'd think of €9hr

That was mistype get 13.50 an hour. Don’t get 9 at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

wrangler wrote: »

The self employed mechanic is riddled with overheads and set up costs where the relief Milkers costs are what diesel,bit to eat if not supplied. The mechanic has insurance,tools,electric,list is fukn endless.a lad turning up to milk has basically no costs only fuel or travel the same as an average commuter.
    That mechanic isn’t charging half enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

The self employed mechanic is riddled with overheads and set up costs where the relief Milkers costs are what diesel,bit to eat if not supplied. The mechanic has insurance,tools,electric,list is fukn endless.a lad turning up to milk has basically no costs only fuel or travel the same as an average commuter.

I thought it was cheap too,
    reading about it here ...https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057864893.
    I thought it was for going to a site.
    Garages are charging two or three times that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

Wouldn't the milker need insurance too?
    Milking 470 cows, that would be roughly €3000 worth of milk daily, if something were to go wrong with 3 days milk in the tank, one would need a fairly robust insurance policy to take the sting out of that.

Op, you will hear all kinds of prices here, from the very high rates to rock bottom ones, even rates heard second hand. Best thing to do is get on the phone and get facts.
    Take everything you hear and read about this topic with a pinch of salt. Every situation is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Would any farmer not have it on the books or would it not be worth it from a tax point of view

Yup

But you don't negotiate a net rate.

If the kid is a lottery winner or has a big on the side consulting to a hedge fund then that 80 quid is going to cost the farmer nearly 150.

The suggestion is that he be paid according to the responsibility and risk of a large herd. There is an element of financial partnership suggested. He should be grown up enough to grasp the point that employees, not employers, pay tax.

No reflection on the OP at all... I'm thinking of my own kids who spit like boiling kettles when I make deductions from their wages.

If you think you deserve more money,ask for it and have your decision made which ever answer your going to get.plenty work fir milkers around here anyway-cant get them.fellas are relying on friends and neighbours

Agree on that, all the relief lads here go through the books.
    My point was exactly what kowtow described

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

If you think you deserve more money,ask for it and have your decision made which ever answer your going to get.plenty work fir milkers around here anyway-cant get them.fellas are relying on friends and neighbours

I was told today that there will be land idle in a few year because no one will work on farms. Valid point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kowtow wrote: »
    Yup

If the kid is a lottery winner or has a big on the side consulting to a hedge fund then that 80 quid is going to cost the farmer nearly 150.

The suggestion is that he be paid according to the responsibility and risk of a large herd. There is an element of financial partnership suggested. He should be grown up enough to grasp the point that employees, not employers, pay tax.

No reflection on the OP at all... I'm thinking of my own kids who spit like boiling kettles when I make deductions from their wages.
    It's called Daddy tax and is usually charged and paid for in chocolate:D

Yes I think your right. Thanks for your help

kowtow wrote: »
    Yup

Yes I understand the tax system perfectly. All my work is through the books. As you said I’m wondering rates for a large herds with plenty of responsibility mainly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

It's called Daddy tax and is usually charged and paid for in chocolate:D

It's the one that is daft enough to drive back from Limerick to West Cork to fill her car up at the Creamery that gets me.

You'd think at least she would have cottoned on and added a couple of Jerry cans.

Must be three quarters empty by the time she gets back there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭farmertipp

Where are ye ?I'd have an interest in getting someone to do some milking ab.nd would be very fair. I'm in sth tipp

farmertipp wrote: »
    Where are ye ?I'd have an interest in getting someone to do some milking ab.nd would be very fair. I'm in sth tipp

I'm too far away anyway, thanks for the offer anyway though ðŸ‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Iansheridan18

Wouldn't the milker need insurance too?
    Milking 470 cows, that would be roughly €3000 worth of milk daily, if something were to go wrong with 3 days milk in the tank, one would need a fairly robust insurance policy to take the sting out of that.

The farmer should have cover on his farm policy to cover the milker under the employers liability section of his policy

under the material damage section, the farmer can cover his bulk milk including for contamination by antibiotics getting into the milk or the milk going bad in the tank

Source: I'm an insurance broker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

The farmer should have cover on his farm policy to cover the milker under the employers liability section of his policy

under the material damage section, the farmer can cover his bulk milk including for contamination by antibiotics getting into the milk or the milk going bad in the tank

Does the insurance covering antibiotics in milk only cover one mishap and you are refused cover after that?

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Does the insurance covering antibiotics in milk only cover one mishap and you are refused cover after that?

Depends on the insurer, we have access to Axa's new policy which is launching this month.
    They haven't set a limit on the amount of claims that can be had against milk

They also have a protection on the single farm payment from the EU incase you lose some because of contaminated milk etc

A lot of milking is done on contract. How does insurance work out in this case?

the farmer just has to let the insurer know how much he will be paying out in EL wages regardless of if its to a specific person or say €5,000 a year to a company, he just noted how much he is paying out and the €13,000,000 Employers liability will automatically extend to whomever is working his land/milking his cows etc

Just a quick note, if a farmer doesn't mention that he has people coming in & working and a fella slips and finds the farmer negligent, the farmer is paying that in court out of his own pocket

the farmer just has to let the insurer know how much he will be paying out in EL wages regardless of if its to a specific person or say €5,000 a year to a company, he just noted how much he is paying out and the €13,000,000 Employers liability will automatically extend to whomever is working his land/milking his cows etc

Just a quick note, if a farmer doesn't mention that he has people coming in & working and a fella slips and finds the farmer negligent, the farmer is paying that in court out of his own pocket

That covers the person it does it cover the person doing something wrong 're milking and how does that effect premiums

It covers the employers liability aspect of the farm in case the contractor gets injured

if the contractor messes up and contaminated the milk, that can be covered under the material damage part of the policy.

Farm insurance sounds like a headache but from a brokers point of view its quite straight forward as we deal with the farm on a section by section basis

Long story short, you tell your broker what you need on the policy and they will get it added on for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

farmertipp wrote: »

Where you based. I'll be home in June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Was talking to someone last night working on a dairy farm. Milking over 300 cows in a ten unit double up. Milking takes 8.5 hours. Every second weekend off. What money would he be on?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was talking to someone last night working on a dairy farm. Milking over 300 cows in a ten unit double up. Milking takes 8.5 hours. Every second weekend off. What money would he be on?

500 per day!!

He said he starts at 4.30 am. I was talking to him at 7pm on his way home

The price of the extra labour would pay for a decent parlour.
    Other thing I can never understand is starting at 4.30 you will never keep lads working those hours. Fair enough if you want to work them yourself. The labour issue on irish dairy farmers is mostly on the side of the dairy farmers

He said 4.30 but I mightnt believe that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

That story is the exception I would say, and the farmer in question is at nothing if he expects that arrangement to last long-term. The labour issue is 2 fold, there certainly is a shortage of staff for dairyfarms in Ireland and its in the benefit of the industry overall if we do try to address this and make it more attractive, however alot of that starts inside the gate and with the farmer himself, he cannot ever expect to entice a potential employee to his farm when there are countless other dairyfarms who will offer alot better conditions. Actually on the dairy labour issue, and word on the much publicized trial scheme last yr in waterford/kk for the people drawing down the dole to go milking cows???